DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on January 10, 2025 and September 4, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been received and placed in the file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on September, 4, 2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 10, 12, 14, 16-17, and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 5 recites “according to anyone of claim 1,” which should read “according to claim 1.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “optionally free perfume oil,” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the composition is optionally free of perfume oil or if it optionally comprises a component called “free perfume oil.” Clarification by amendment of claim 13 is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 13, 15, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruijthuijsen et al. (WO 2021/018947 A1, February 4, 2021) (hereinafter Gruijthuijsen).
In regard to claim 1, Gruijthuijsen discloses a composite microcapsule slurry including at least one microcapsule having an oil-based core including a hydrophobic material, and a composite shell including a first material and a second material. The first material and the second material are different, the first material is a coacervate, the second material is a polymeric material (Abstract). A “microcapsule”, or the similar, is a core-shell microcapsules (page 2, lines 29-30). According to a particular embodiment, the coacervate is a complex coacervate. The complex coacervate comprises at least a first polyelectrolyte and a second polyelectrolyte (page 3, lines 21-23). A first polyelectrolyte (Polyelectrolyte I) of one charge is preferably selected among proteins (page 23, lines 9-10). Preferably, the protein is selected from the group consisting of a plant protein (page 24, lines 6-8).
The prior art is not anticipatory insofar as one must select plant protein from a list. It would have been obvious, however, to make the combination since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
In regard to claim 2, reciting wherein the polymeric material and the coacervate of the core-shell microcapsule are homogenously distributed within the shell, Gruijthuijsen discloses a process for preparing microcapsules. The process comprises the steps of providing as a dispersion in an aqueous vehicle comprising a first polyelectrolyte, a hydrophobic internal phase comprising at least a polyfunctional monomer and a hydrophobic material to form an oil-in-water emulsion. Then, a second polyelectrolyte in the oil-in-water emulsion and conditions to form a suspension of complex coacervate nodule are provided. Conditions are provided to induce interfacial polymerization of the polyfunctional monomer inside the outer shell to form an inner shell (page 35, lines 13-27). The dispersion of the oil phase into the water phase can be carried out by different well- known techniques. As non-limiting methods, one may cite a Ultrasonic homogenizer and a high pressure homogenizer (APV, SPX Flow, USA) (page 37, lines 18-22). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art to have homogenously distributed the polymeric material and the coacervate in the shell because Gruijthuijsen teaches a known and effective method of preparing microcapsules with a coacervate and polyfunctional polymer using an ultrasonic homogenizer or high pressure homogenizer, which would create a homogenous distribution.
In regard to claim 3, the prior art discloses the protein is selected from the group consisting of a plant protein, preferably, pea proteins, soy proteins, rice proteins, wheat proteins, potato proteins, corn proteins, whey proteins, lupin proteins or mixtures thereof (page 24, lines 6-8).
In regard to claim 4, the prior art discloses the previously discussed microcapsule slurry and a protein selected from a group consisting of a plant protein, preferably, potato proteins (page 24, lines 6-7).
In regard to claim 5, the prior art discloses the second polyelectrolyte is selected from the group consisting of gum arabic, xanthan, alginate salts, cellulose derivatives, for example carboxymethyl cellulose, sodium carboxymethyl guar gum, pectinate salts, carrageenan, polyacrylic and methacrylic acid, xanthan gum and plant gums (page 24, lines 16-20).
In regard to claim 6, the prior art discloses the previously discussed microcapsule slurry and the second polyelectrolyte is gum arabic (page 24, lines 21-22).
In regard to claim 7, the prior art discloses the second polymeric material is selected from the group consisting of polyurea, polyurethane, polyamide, polyester, polyacrylate, polysiloxane, polycarbonate, polysulfonamide, polymers of urea and formaldehyde, melamine and formaldehyde, melamine and urea, or melamine and glyoxal and mixtures thereof (page 25, lines 13-18).
In regard to claim 8, the prior art discloses the hydrophobic material is a hydrophobic active ingredient, and in a preferred embodiment, a perfume oil (page 5, lines 17-19); the first electrolyte is a potato protein (page 24, lines 6-7); the second electrolyte is gum arabic (page 24, lines 21-22); and the second material is polyurea and/or polyurethane (page 25, lines 13-18).
In regard to claim 9, reciting wherein the polymeric material is present in an amount less than 10% by weight, Gruijthuijsen discloses the second material is present in an amount less than 3%, preferably less than 1% by weight based on the total weight of the microcapsule slurry (page 26, lines 16-17). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 A.
In regard to claim 11, Gruijthuijsen discloses a consumer product comprising a consumer product base and the previously discussed microcapsule slurry including at least one microcapsule (claim 10).
In regard to claim 13, the prior art discloses a liquid detergent composition comprising a liquid detergent active base and the previously discussed microcapsule slurry comprising at least one microcapsule (page 46, lines 17-30).
In regard to claim 15, Gruijthuijsen discloses wherein the consumer product is in the form of a home care or a fabric care composition (page 45, line 5).
In regard to claim 18, Gruijthuijsen discloses wherein the liquid detergent active base is selected from the group consisting of an anionic surfactant, a nonionic surfactant, and mixtures thereof, wherein the anionic surfactant is selected from the group consisting of alkylbenzenesulfonate (ABS), secondary alkyl sulfonate (SAS), primary alcohol sulfate (PAS), lauryl ether sulfate (LES), and methyl ester sulfonate (MES), and wherein the nonionic surfactant is selected from the group consisting of alkyl amines, alkanolamide, fatty alcohol poly (ethylene glycol) ether, fatty alcohol ethoxylate (FAE), ethylene oxide (EO), propylene oxide (PO) copolymers, amine oxydes, alkyl polyglucosides, and alkyl polyglucosamides (page 46, lines 20-26).
In regard to claim 19, Gruijthuijsen discloses wherein the consumer product is in the form of a liquid detergent composition and comprises between 85 and 99.95% of a liquid detergent active base (page 47, lines 5-7). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 A.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 11, 13, 15, and 18-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-3, 7, 9, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,383,477 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims recite a more specific version of the instant claims (i.e. the conflicting claims recite the additional components, e.g. a microcapsule slurry that comprises the microcapsule) and thus read on the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-9, 11, 13, 15, and 18-19 are rejected.
Claims 10, 12, 14, 16-17, and 20 are withdrawn.
No claims are allowed.
/E.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614