DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 17-24 in the reply filed on October 6, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 6, 2026.
Claims 17-24 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “a noise light reflected by the first reflective optical modulation element without being phase-modulated by the cells” recited by claim 17 is confusing and indefinite. It is not clear what considered to be “without phase-modulated by the cells” since the cells “each having an independently set phase modulation amount” as recited in earlier part of the claim. The light reflected by the reflective modulation element having these cells has to be phase modulated by each of the cells by the independently set phase amount. So, it is not clear what considered to be the noise light that is not phase modulated by the cells.
The phrase “single element” recited in claim 23 is confusing and indefinite since it is not clear what considered to be the single element.
The phrase “the optical computing section transmits the signal light and internally includes a light diffraction layer having the optical modulation element” recited in claim 24 is confusing and indefinite. It appears to be in contradiction to the phrase “signal light generated when reflected light beams” recited in claim 17 (base claim). It is not clear how the signal is transmitted by the optical computing section yet it is also reflected by the cells of the reflective optical modulation element. Further, it is not clear how does the “light diffraction layer” relate to the cells of the optical modulation element.
The scopes of the claims therefore are unclear. Clarification and correction are required. Claims 18-24 inherit the rejection from its based claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication by Lee (US 2020/0242463 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by New et al (US 2010/0085496 A1).
Lee et al teaches, with regard to claim 17, an optical neural network serves as the optical computing device that is comprised of an optical computing section including a first active phase modulator (120b, Figure 9) serves as the first reflective optical modulation element having cells, (please see Figure 2) each having an independently set phase modulation amount (Fi,j) (please see paragraph [0057]) wherein the first reflective optical modulation element emits a signal light generated when reflected light beams phase modulated by the cells interfere with each other (please see paragraph [0061]) wherein the signal light is emitted in a signal direction. The signal light outputted from the optical computing section is detected by an optical sensor (140).
The optical sensor has a plurality of light sensing pixels, (please see paragraph [0006]). This reference however does not teach explicitly that the sensor generates an electrical signal indicating a result of the detection. New in the same field of endeavor teaches an optical processor that is comprised of computing section including a reflective phase modulator wherein a sensor comprises a CMOS sensor (please see paragraph [0041]) is used to detect the output signal light. The CMOS sensor would generate electrical signal to indicate the result of the detection. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of New et al to modify the device of Lee to utilize a CMOS sensor as the image sensor to detect the signal light for the benefit of generating electrical signal to indicate the result of the detection.
These references further do not teach explicitly about the optical computing device would also include a noise light reflected from the first reflective optical modulation element without being phase-modulated by the cells. This feature however is rejected under 35 USC 112, second paragraph, for the reasons set forth above. This reference therefore can only be examined in the broadest interpretation.
It is implicitly true that the light reflected by the cells of the first reflective optical modulation element or the active phase modulator (120b, Figure 9) is phase modulated by the set phase amount of the cells, (please see Figure 2). The interference of the light beams modulated by the cells may be destructively interfered so that noise light may correspond to the destructively interfered light. The impact of the noise light on the sensor and therefor the electrical signal would be smaller than the impact in the state where the signal direction aligned with the noise direction. Furthermore, a noise light implicitly, if existed, has to be not aligned in the direction of the signal light for otherwise it would not be identified as “noise light”. The noise light therefore may be directed to surface of the waveguide, taught by Lee, to be totally internal reflected in the waveguide. This means the impact of the noise light on the sensor and therefor the electrical signal would be smaller than the impact in the state where the signal direction aligned with the noise direction.
With regard to claim 18, Lee teaches that the optical sensor (140, Figure 9) is an image sensor. New et al teaches that the sensor may be a CMOS sensor that implicitly include photoelectric conversion units. The image sensor may be disposed such that the noise light does not enter one of the photoelectric conversion units to which that the signal light enters at an intensity equal to or greater that a detection limit of the one at the intensity.
With regard to claim 19, Lee teaches that the optical sensor is disposed such that an incidence surface of the optical sensor crosses an optical axis of the signal light emitted from the optical computing section and a point at which the incidence surface across the optical axis does not cross an optical axis of the noise light emitted from optical computing section.
With regard to claim 20, Lee teaches that the optical computing device further comprises a passive phase modulator (130a, please see Figure 9) which may function as a mirror, (please see paragraph [0100]). The optical computing device also comprises a second active phase modulator (120c) serves as the second reflective optical modulation element disposed such that an incidence/emission surface of the of the second reflective optical modulation element crosses an optical axis of the signal light emitted from the firs reflective optical modulation element and reflected by the mirror. A point at which the incidence/emission surface crosses the optical axis does not cross either an optical axis of the noise light emitted from the first reflective optical modulation element and reflected by the mirror or an optical axis of the noise light emitted from the first reflective optical modulation element.
With regard to claim 21, Lee teaches that the optical computing device further comprises a passive phase modulator (130a, please see Figure 9) which may function as a mirror, (please see paragraph [0100]). The optical computing device also comprises a second active phase modulator (120c) serves as the second reflective optical modulation element disposed such that an incidence/emission surface of the of the second reflective optical modulation element crosses an optical axis of the signal light emitted from the firs reflective optical modulation element and reflected by the mirror. At least part of the noise light emitted from the first reflective optical modulation element that are destructively interfered will not enter the incidence/emission surface of the second reflective optical modulation element (120c).
With regard to claim 22, these references do not teach explicitly that the mirror has a reflecting surface that is nonparallel to an incidence/emission surface of the first reflective optical modulation element and an incidence/emission surface of the second reflective optical modulation element. However, such modification is considered to be obvious to one skilled in the art specifically for the purpose to direct the noise light, if any, not entering the sensor.
With regard to claim 23, Lee teaches that the active phase modulators (120b and 120c, please see Figure 9) may be formed on a waveguide (150). They can be regarded as a single element with the waveguide or it would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to make them into a single element. Since making the separated elements into a single entity or making a single element into separated parts are considered to be obvious matters of design choices to one skilled in the art since these arrangements would function the same.
With regard to claim 24, this claim is rejected under 35 USC 112, second paragraph, for the reasons set forth above. It can only be examined in the broadest interpretation. Lee teaches that the active phase modulator or the reflective optical modulator comprises a plurality of cells (please see Figure 2) that each has a phase modulation amount, (Fi,j) (please see paragraph [0057]) wherein the reflective optical modulation element emits a signal light generated when reflected light beams phase modulated by the cells interfere with each other (please see paragraph [0061]). This means the cells with the phase modulation pattern therefore serves as a diffraction layer.
AUDREY Y. CHANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/AUDREY Y CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872