The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is in reply to papers filed on 6/3/2026. Claims 1-7, 9-15, and 17-22 are pending. Claims 1, 13, and 21-22 is/are independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 1/10/2025 and 3/19/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites “traces all” in the second to last clause but this should be changed to “trace all”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
an administration function (ADMF) configured to generate a tracing
request for tracing a target user equipment (UE);
a short message service function (SMSF) configured to cooperate with said ADMF to receive said generated tracing request and is further configured to:
receive a user activation signal along with at least one user equipment (UE) identifier from said target UE through a network function;
receive an event for each mobile originated (MO) message and mobile terminated (MT) message from said network function;
forward said received tracing request and said received event for each MO message and MT message to a centralized lawful interception function (CLIF); and
transmit said generated provisioning information to a law enforcement monitoring facility (LEMF), via an identified mediation and delivery function (MDF).
in claim 1.
receive, from an administration function (ADMF), a request for tracing a target user equipment (UE);
receive, via a short message service function (SMSF), an event for each
mobile originated (MO) message and mobile terminated (MT) message from a network function;
transmit said generated provisioning information to a law enforcement monitoring facility (LEMF), via an identified mediation and delivery function (MDF)
in claim 21.
Examiner would like to point out that but for the interpretation of these elements under 112(f), a rejection under 101 would have issued.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 9-15, and 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “generate a provisioning information based on comparison”. However, it is not clear whether comparison is referring to the compare introduced earlier in the same clause or some other comparison operation.
Independent claims 13, 21-22 have the same error and are rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
The dependent claims inherit the limitations of their respective independent claims and are rejected for the same reasons as their respective independent claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 12-15, 17, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffpauir et al. U.S. Publication 20220377113 (hereinafter “Hoffpauir”) in view of Gauthier et al. U.S. Publication 20130303110 (hereinafter “Gauthier”), further in view of Attanasio et al. U.S. Publication 20130057388 (hereinafter “Attanasio”).
As per claim 1, Hoffpauir discloses
A system [system para. 38] for providing centralized interception in a network, [combination of network communication device 104-107 and control system including administrator device 106, para. 4 are representative of centralized lawful interception; the combination of components is centralized because law enforcement comes to this system to request the interceptions; the network is the communications medium through which the law enforcement and the interception system communicate, see figure 1 the multiple network communication devices and control system and law enforcement node communicate with each other over the network] said system comprising:
an administration function (ADMF) [the administrator device 106 functionality, para. 43; function of a control system, para. 9; administrator device 106 generates and sends intercept provisioning message 222 indicating when the intercept is to be performed to network communications device 104; any combination of software and hardware, e.g., circuit implemented components may be used to implement the functions, para 80;] configured to generate [the administrator device 106 generates and sends intercept provisioning message 222, para 43] a tracing request for tracing [intercept provisioning message 222, para. 43] a target user equipment (UE); [target, para 44; target UE 1 118, para. 45]
Hoffpauir [0038] FIG. 1 is a drawing of an exemplary communications system 100 in accordance with an exemplary embodiment. Exemplary communications system 100 includes a control system 102 including an administrative device 106 and a security device 108.
Hoffpauir para. 43 step 220 the administrator device 106 generates and sends intercept provisioning message 222 including the encrypted target ID and time information indicating when the intercept is to be performed, e.g., an expiration date. In step 224 the network communications device 104 receives message 222 and recovers the communicated information.
a service function [ intercept application of network communication device 104, para. 45; any combination of software and hardware, e.g., circuit implemented components may be used to implement the functions, para 80 ] configured to cooperate [ receiving and executing the intercept command is cooperating ]with said ADMF to receive [network communications device 104 receives message 222 and recovers the communicated information, para 43] said generated tracing request and is further configured to:
receive a user activation signal along with at least one user equipment (UE) identifier [user activation signal disclosed by the communication that includes the identifier corresponding to the target UE; user equipment (UE) identifier disclosed by the identifier corresponding to target device UE 1 118; “detects the identifier corresponding to target UE 1 118 and performs an interception”, para. 45; stores interception data/information in active memory 114, para. 45;] from said target UE through a network function; [ network function disclosed by network interface; Network communications device 400 includes …one or more network interfaces (network interface 1 404]
Hoffpauir [0045] In step 258 the intercept application of network communication device 104 starts monitoring for the target, e.g. monitoring communications for the identifier corresponding to target device UE 1 118. In steps 260 and steps 262, UE 1 118 and UE 2 120 establish a communications session and start transmitting communications data and information 264 over a communications path including network communications device 104, which is monitoring for communications corresponding to UE 1 118, which is an intercept target. In step 266 the intercept application on network communications device 104 detects the identifier corresponding to target UE 1 118 and performs an interception. In step 268 the intercept application in network communications device 104 stores interception data/information in active memory 114. In step 270 the intercept application of network communications device 104 generates and sends a copy of the intercepted communications 272 to administrator device 106. In step 274 the administrator device 106 receives the copy of intercepted communications 272, and in step 275 the administrator device 106 stores the received intercepted communications. In step 276 the law enforcement node 116 generates and sends a request for content message 277 to the administrator device 106 requesting intercepted content corresponding to UE 1 118 target. In step 278 the administrator device 106 receives the request for content 277, and in response, in step 270 the administrator device 106 generates and sends content 280 corresponding to the interception of communications 264 to law enforcement node 116. In step 281 law enforcement node 116 receives and recovers content 280, which includes the copy of the intercepted communications corresponding to target UE 1 118.
store [set of target identifiers received by the network communications device are stored in encrypted form in the storage device, para 14, 43; loads the stored encrypted target identifier (ciphertext communicating the target ID) of provisioning message 222, from storage device 112 into active message 114, para 44; this means that the provisioning message was stored in a database on the source device] said received tracing request, [provisioning message 222, para 44] and said received at least one user equipment (UE) identifier [with the received encrypted target identifier, 9;] in a database;[ database, para 94; stored in encrypted form in the storage device, para 14; and to load (256 or 954) the unencrypted version of the first target identifier into said memory (114]
Hoffpauir [0009] In one exemplary embodiment interception target information is supplied from a control system, e.g., from an administrative device or function of a control system, in encrypted form, into the operating system administrator accessible storage device of the network communications device, which is to act as a point of interception (POI)…stored in the storage device with the received encrypted target identifier or identifiers.
[0014] The set of target identifiers received by the network communications device are stored in encrypted form in the storage device to facilitate reloading of active memory in the network communications device in the event the plain text versions of the intercept target identifiers are lost from active memory due to a power glitch of for other reasons causing a memory reset
Hoffpauir para 41 Network communications device 104 includes an operating system administrator accessible storage device 112 and an active memory 114. Storage device 112, which is accessible by a system administration of network communications device 104, includes memory, e.g., non-volatile memory, which may, and sometime does, include an encrypted list of communications intercept targets and corresponding time information indicating when the intercepts are to be performed.
Para 43 In step 220 the administrator device 106 generates and sends intercept provisioning message 222 including the encrypted target ID and time information indicating when the intercept is to be performed, e.g., an expiration date. In step 224 the network communications device 104 receives message 222 and recovers the communicated information. In step 226 the network communications device 104 stores the received encrypted target identifier (ciphertext communicating the target ID) in operating system administrator accessible storage device 112. In step 228 the network communications device 104 stores the received time information, e.g., expiration date, for performing interception of the target, in operating system administrator accessible storage device 112, along with the encrypted target ID. In step 230 the network communications device 104 generates and sends provisioning acknowledgment message 232 to administrator device 106 acknowledging receipt of the intercept provisioning message 222.
Hoffpauir [0044] In step 236 the network communications device 104 loads the stored encrypted target identifier (ciphertext communicating the target ID) of provisioning message 222, from storage device 112 into active message 114.
Para 94 The POI will keep the ciphertext in an internal database and sent a decryption request to the LISE. The LISE will determine if the POI is authorized to decrypt and send the plaintext target back to the POI to reside in memory only. This way the target is only unencrypted in memory and not stored anywhere in the system. An attacker would need to gain access to the POI active memory to determine the target list rather than just looking in the database.
Hoffpauir para 115 and operating the network communications device (104) to receive (254 or 954) an unencrypted version (plain text version of target identifier) (252) of the first target identifier (e.g. from the security device (108)) and to load (256 or 954) the unencrypted version of the first target identifier into said memory (114)
receive an event [“performs an interception” and the result is receiving communication, para. 45] for each mobile originated (MO) message and mobile terminated (MT) message [UE 1 118 and UE 2 120 establish a communications session, para 45; any message from one mobile to another would disclose mobile originated (MO) message and mobile terminated (MT) message] from said network function; [ network function disclosed by network interface; Network communications device 400 includes …one or more network interfaces (network interface 1 404]
forward [step 270 the intercept application of network communications device 104 generates and sends a copy of the intercepted communications 272 to administrator device 106, para. 45] said received event for each MO message and MT message [UE 1 118 and UE 2 120 establish a communications session, para 45; any message from one mobile to another would disclose event and mobile originated (MO) message and mobile terminated (MT) message, and these messages would make up part of the intercepted communications 272 being sent to administrator device] to a centralized lawful interception function (CLIF); and [centralized lawful interception function (CLIF) =administrator device 106, para. 45;]
said CLIF [administrator device 106, para. 45] coupled [step 270 the intercept application of network communications device 104 generates and sends a copy of the intercepted communications 272 to administrator device 106, para. 45] to said service function [ intercept application of network communication device 104, para. 45; ] to receive [administrator device 106 receives the copy of intercepted communications 272, and in step 275 the administrator device 106 stores the received intercepted communications;] said event, [administrator device 106 receives the copy of intercepted communications 272] and is configured to:
transmit [administrator device 106 generates and sends content 280 corresponding to the interception of communications 264 to law enforcement node 116, para. 45] said generated provisioning information [content 280 corresponding to the interception of communications 264, para. 45] to a law enforcement monitoring facility (LEMF) ,[ law enforcement node 116, para. 45]]
Hoffpauir [0045] In step 258 the intercept application of network communication device 104 starts monitoring for the target, e.g. monitoring communications for the identifier corresponding to target device UE 1 118. In steps 260 and steps 262, UE 1 118 and UE 2 120 establish a communications session and start transmitting communications data and information 264 over a communications path including network communications device 104, which is monitoring for communications corresponding to UE 1 118, which is an intercept target. In step 266 the intercept application on network communications device 104 detects the identifier corresponding to target UE 1 118 and performs an interception. In step 268 the intercept application in network communications device 104 stores interception data/information in active memory 114. In step 270 the intercept application of network communications device 104 generates and sends a copy of the intercepted communications 272 to administrator device 106. In step 274 the administrator device 106 receives the copy of intercepted communications 272, and in step 275 the administrator device 106 stores the received intercepted communications. In step 276 the law enforcement node 116 generates and sends a request for content message 277 to the administrator device 106 requesting intercepted content corresponding to UE 1 118 target. In step 278 the administrator device 106 receives the request for content 277, and in response, in step 270 the administrator device 106 generates and sends content 280 corresponding to the interception of communications 264 to law enforcement node 116. In step 281 law enforcement node 116 receives and recovers content 280, which includes the copy of the intercepted communications corresponding to target UE 1 118.
However, Hoffpauir does not expressly disclose
a short message service function (SMSF) configured to cooperate with said ADMF to receive said generated tracing request and is further configured to:
forward said received tracing request and said received event for each MO message and MT message to a centralized lawful interception function (CLIF); and
said CLIF coupled to said SMSF to receive said tracing request and said event, and is configured to:
extract a plurality of information from said received event;
compare said at least one user equipment (UE) identifier stored in said database corresponding to said tracing request with said extracted plurality of information and traces all related details of said target UE and at least one UE communicating with said target UE to generate a provisioning information based on comparison; and
transmit said generated provisioning information to a law enforcement monitoring facility (LEMF), via an identified mediation and delivery function (MDF).
Gauthier discloses gathering and analyzing short messages
Gauthier [0013] In order to detect other wireless devices 16 used by the target user 24, the communication intercept system 12 also includes a data collection function 28,…, the data collection function 28 collects … … a text messaging log for texts sent and/or received by the wireless device 16
[detect usage patterns for target users, para 17]
extract a plurality of information [detect usage patterns for target users, para 17] from said received event; [ data collection function 28 operates to collect usage data from the wireless devices 16-1 through 16-N, para 13]
[detect usage patterns for target users, such as the target user 24, based on the usage data collected for known wireless devices of the target users, para 17; this is device information extracted (usage pattern detection processing pattern for target user described at para. 17 and 22) from the information collected by the data collection function 28 described in para. 13]
compare said at least one user equipment (UE) identifier [device communication history is collected at para. 13 and this is performed using information that identifies the known wireless device (para. 11) which discloses at least one user equipment identifier; when the collected information is retrieved and compared (para. 23) and filtered by device to report to authorized authority (notify authority of matching wireless device, para. 3) this discloses the comparing operation;] stored in said database [target users stored in the usage patterns repository 3628, para. 22; information that identifies the known wireless device (para. 11) is stored in order to collect device data and respond to the authorities with the device information] corresponding to said tracing request [this is the device that was requested to be traced, para 17] with said extracted plurality of information [this is device information extracted (usage pattern detection processing pattern for target user described at para. 17 and 22) from the information collected by the data collection function 28 described in para. 13] and traces all related details of said target UE and at least one UE communicating [identify phone numbers called/texted from the wireless device 16-1, para. 16, 21] with said target UE [collects … a text messaging log for texts sent and/or received by the wireless device 16, para 13] to generate a provisioning information [ this is the information that is returned to the authority, para 3] based on comparison; and
Gauthier para. 3 In one embodiment, an authorized authority is notified of the matching wireless device and/or communications to and/or from the matching wireless device are automatically intercepted and delivered to the authorized authority.
Gauthier [0011] Upon receiving and, in some embodiments, verifying the intercept request, the administration function 20 sends an intercept request to one or more Intercept Control Elements (ICEs) 26 in the cellular communication network 14. The intercept request includes information that identifies the known wireless device of the target user 24, which again in this example is the wireless device 16-1.
Gauthier [0013] In order to detect other wireless devices 16 used by the target user 24, the communication intercept system 12 also includes a data collection function 28, a usage pattern detection function 30, and a matching function 32. The data collection function 28 operates to collect usage data from the wireless devices 16-1 through 16-N and store the usage data in a usage data repository 34. … For each wireless device 16, the data collection function 28 collects one or more of the following: location information that defines a geographic location of the wireless device 16 (e.g., Global Positioning System (GPS) data … a text messaging log for texts sent and/or received by the wireless device 16, or any combination thereof.
Gauthier [0017] The usage pattern detection function 30 generally operates to detect usage patterns for target users, such as the target user 24, based on the usage data collected for known wireless devices of the target users and store those individual usage patterns for the target user 24 in a usage patterns repository 36. In one embodiment, in response to receiving an intercept request from the requesting authority 18 and, depending on the particular embodiment, verifying the intercept request, the administration function 20 notifies the usage pattern detection function 30 of a target user and a known wireless device of the target user subject to the intercept request. Using the target user 24 as an example, the usage pattern detection function 30 then processes the usage data collected from the wireless device 16-1 (i.e., the known wireless device of the target user 24) to detect one or more individual usage patterns for the target user 24
Gauthier [0022] The matching function 32 generally operates to compare the usage data collected by the data collection function 28 and stored in the usage data repository 34 to the individual usage patterns of the target users stored in the usage patterns repository 36.
Gauthier [0023] FIG. 2 … administration function 20, receives an intercept request from the requesting authority 18 to intercept communications to and from the target user 24 (step 100). In response, the usage pattern detection function 30 then detects one or more individual usage patterns for the target user 24 based on usage data collected from a known wireless device of the target user 24, which for this discussion is the wireless device 16-1 (step 102). The one or more individual usage patterns for the target user 24 are stored in the usage patterns repository 36. The matching function 32 compares the one or more individual usage patterns for the target user 24 to usage data collected from the other wireless devices 16
Gauthier also discloses delivering intercept data to authorities via an identified mediation and delivery function (MDF).[ return corresponding intercept data to the delivery function 22…… delivery function 22 then returns the intercept data to the requesting authority 18, para 12; identified mediation is disclosed because the intercept data is determined to be sent to the delivery function and the delivery function facilitates delivery to the requesting authority.
]
Gauthier [0012] In response to the intercept request from the administration function 20 of the communication intercept system 12, the ICEs 26 intercept communications to and from the wireless device 16-1 of the target user 24 and return corresponding intercept data to the delivery function 22 of the communication intercept system 12. The delivery function 22 then returns the intercept data to the requesting authority 18. The intercept data may include, for example, the content of a call to or from the wireless device 16-1 of the target user 24.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoffpauir with the technique for collecting short messages and extracting and comparing usage patterns of devices being monitored and forwarding intercept data to authorities via delivery function of Gauthier to include a short message service function (SMSF) configured to cooperate with said ADMF to receive said generated tracing request and is further configured to:
said CLIF coupled to said SMSF to receive said event, and is configured to:
extract a plurality of information from said received event;
compare said at least one user equipment (UE) identifier stored in said database corresponding to said tracing request with said extracted plurality of information and traces all related details of said target UE and at least one UE communicating with said target UE to generate a provisioning information based on comparison; and
transmit said generated provisioning information to a law enforcement monitoring facility (LEMF), via an identified mediation and delivery function (MDF).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to properly identify the device being traced and its messages from among data collected from a network, and provide a specialized mediation and delivery function to deliver intercept data to authorities. The system of the primary reference can be modified to collect more data to determine device usage patterns and to identify the device usage data based on the identifier of the device in order to properly provide the device message history to the authorities.
However, the combination of Hoffpauir and Gauthier does not expressly disclose
forward said received tracing request and said received event for each MO message and MT message to a centralized lawful interception function (CLIF); and
said CLIF coupled to said SMSF to receive said tracing request and said event, and is configured to:
Attanasio discloses receive a tracing request and forwarding the request to a central unit
[the technique for forwarding a tracing request and receiving a tracing request is shown in figure 8 of the Attanasio reference, which shows an intermediary ADMF receiving the tracing request and forwarding it ]
Attanasio [0138] A user, e.g. an investigator of a Law Enforcement Agency, LEA, uses the Law Enforcement Management Function, LEMF, 152 to send a request for intercepting RFID data traffic, i.e. a request for Lawful Interception (LI) activation, through the enhanced RFID Data Manager 124. The request specifies one or more target things as one or more target identities which moves in a location L. The intercept request is sent through the first Handover Interface, HI1, located between the LEMF 152 and the Intercept Mediation and Delivery Unit, IMDU, 154 comprising the Administration Function unit, ADMF, 158. Thus, the request involves a request to get "all things information", i.e. get things details associated with the target identity currently under inspection.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hoffpauir and Gauthier with the technique for receive a tracing request and forwarding the request to a central unit of Attanasio to include
forward said received tracing request and said received event for each MO message and MT message to a centralized lawful interception function (CLIF); and
said CLIF coupled to said SMSF to receive said tracing request and said event, and is configured to:
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to provide notice to the administrator device of which interception request the intercepted data belongs to. Without this information the administrator device will not efficiently determine which interception request the intercepted data is provided in response to. The system of the primary reference can be modified so that the network communications device sends a copy of the intercept request with the intercepted data to the administrator device.
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Hoffpauir discloses
wherein said ADMF includes a lawful interception provisioning function (LIPF), ), [administrator device 106 generates and sends content 280 corresponding to the interception of communications 264 to law enforcement node 116, para. 45] and a lawful interception control function (LICF). [administrator device 106 generates and sends intercept provisioning message 222 indicating when the intercept is to be performed to network communications device 104; any combination of software and hardware, e.g., circuit implemented components may be used to implement the functions, para 80; this is a function of the administrative device to control other components to intercept ]
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Hoffpauir discloses
wherein said service function [ intercept application of network communication device 104, para. 45; any combination of software and hardware, e.g., circuit implemented components may be used to implement the functions, para 80 ] sends said event [step 270 the intercept application of network communications device 104 generates and sends a copy of the intercepted communications 272 to administrator device 106, para. 45]] for each mobile originated (MO) and mobile terminated (MT) message [UE 1 118 and UE 2 120 establish a communications session, para 45; any message from one mobile to another would disclose mobile originated (MO) message and mobile terminated (MT) message, and these messages would make up part of the intercepted communications 272 being sent to administrator device] to said CLIF over a communication fabric.[ cloud networks, nodes, servers, cloud service servers, ... communications network which are partners, e.g., a MVNO network and a MNO network, para 116]
[centralized lawful interception function (CLIF) =administrator device 106, para. 45;]
However, Hoffpauir does not expressly disclose wherein said SMSF
sends said event for each mobile originated (MO) and mobile terminated (MT) message to said CLIF over a communication fabric.
Gauthier discloses gathering and analyzing short messages
Gauthier [0013] In order to detect other wireless devices 16 used by the target user 24, the communication intercept system 12 also includes a data collection function 28,…, the data collection function 28 collects … … a text messaging log for texts sent and/or received by the wireless device 16
[detect usage patterns for target users, para 17]
For the reasons discussed with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoffpauir with the technique for gathering and analyzing short messages of Gauthier to include wherein said SMSF sends said event for each mobile originated (MO) and mobile terminated (MT) message to said CLIF over a communication fabric.
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Hoffpauir discloses wherein said ADMF [the administrator device 106 functionality, para. 43; function of a control system, para. 9; administrator device 106 generates and sends intercept provisioning message 222 indicating when the intercept is to be performed to network communications device 104] is configured to generate said tracing request for said target UE [request for content including an identifier corresponding to an interception target, para 13] on receiving a warrant [In response to an authorized request for content, para 13; warrant, para. 2] from a law enforcement agency (LEA).
[0002] Law enforcement is allowed to legally intercept the communications of various entities, including individuals and business, under certain circumstances. For example, a court order, warrant or law may authorize the legal monitoring of communications
Hoffpauir [0013] The interception application monitors communication sessions for the target identifier or identifiers stored in active memory. Upon detecting a communications session corresponding to a target identifier in active memory, the interception application, running at the network communications device, intercepts, e.g., copies, data in a communication session corresponding to the detected target identifier and provides it to another device for storage. The another device in some embodiments is part of the control system, e.g., an administrative device of the control system, which stores the intercepted content and makes it available to law enforcement entities. In response to an authorized request for content corresponding to an identified target, the administrator device provides the stored content of the intercepted communications session, corresponding to the target identifier supplied by law enforcement, to a law enforcement entity. In various embodiments this involves a request for content from a law enforcement node being received by an administrator device, said request for content including an identifier corresponding to an interception target, and the administrator device returns stored content corresponding to an intercepted communications session in response to the request for intercepted content.
As per claim 12, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Hoffpauir discloses further comprising receiving, by a triggering function, [triggering function can be disclosed by a combination of the processor 602 in figure 5 and some combination of software and hardware depicted in figure 5; any combination of software and hardware, e.g., circuit implemented components may be used to implement the functions, para 80] said tracing request from LIPF [LIPF can be network interface, para 56; Data/information 624 includes a received message 626 from a law enforcement node conveying information identifying an intercept target, para 56 ] and triggering POI [ Para 43 In step 220 the administrator device 106 generates and sends intercept provisioning message 222 including the encrypted target ID and time information indicating when the intercept is to be performed, e.g., an expiration date. ]
[From the WO 2024201495 A1 publication of the specification:
[0016] In an embodiment, the ADMF includes a lawful interception provisioning function (LIPF), and a lawful interception control function (LICF).
Para 90 Further, the LIPF module (304) is configured to send the intercept provisioning to a mediation and delivery function module (MDF) module (314) and a corresponding point of interception (POI) module (312).
]
Hoffpauir [0056] FIG. 5 is a drawing of an exemplary administrator node 600 in accordance with an exemplary embodiment. Administrator node 600 is, e.g., administrator node 106 of control system 102 FIG. 2. Exemplary administrator node 600 includes a processor 602, e.g., a CPU, a network interface 604,
However, Hoffpauir does not expressly disclose
includes a triggering function that is configured to receive said tracing request from
LIPF and is further configured to trigger POI based on type of data to be sent by said POI to said identified MDF.
Gauthier discloses intercept request is based on the content of the call to be sent to the delivery function
delivering intercept data to authorities via an identified mediation and delivery function (MDF).[ return corresponding intercept data to the delivery function 22…… delivery function 22 then returns the intercept data to the requesting authority 18, para 12; identified MDF is disclosed because the intercept data is determined to be sent to the delivery function and the delivery function facilitates delivery to the requesting authority.
based on type of data to be sent by said POI to said identified MDF is disclosed because intercept request from the administration function 20 triggers an intercept at the ICEs for content of a call; type of data is call content data in the example of para 12
]
[0012] In response to the intercept request from the administration function 20 of the communication intercept system 12, the ICEs 26 intercept communications to and from the wireless device 16-1 of the target user 24 and return corresponding intercept data to the delivery function 22 of the communication intercept system 12. The delivery function 22 then returns the intercept data to the requesting authority 18. The intercept data may include, for example, the content of a call to or from the wireless device 16-1 of the target user 24.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoffpauir with the technique for intercept request is based on the content of the call to be sent to the delivery function of Gauthier to include includes a triggering function that is configured to receive said tracing request from LIPF and is further configured to trigger POI based on type of data to be sent by said POI to said identified MDF.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to properly receive an intercept request and respond to intercept based on the type of data to be sent to delivery function for delivery to the law enforcement. The system of the primary reference can be modified to intercept data after receiving the interception request and triggering interceptions based on the data type to be sent to the delivery function.
As per claim 13, the claim(s) is/are directed to a method with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 1, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 1. Claim 13 also recites, and Hoffpauir discloses,
A method of providing centralized lawful interception in a network, said method comprising:
[combination of network communication device 104-107 and control system 102 including administrator device 106, para. 4 are representative of centralized lawful interception; the combination of components is centralized because law enforcement comes to this system to request the interceptions; the network is the communications medium through which the law enforcement and the interception system communicate, see figure 1 the multiple network communication devices and control system and law enforcement node communicate with each other over the network]
[0001] The present application relates to lawful targeted interception of communications and, more particularly, to methods and apparatus of intercepting communications while reducing the risk of disclosure of the identity of one or more interception targets to individuals with access to network devices being used to implement interception of communications.
As per claim 14, the claim(s) is/are directed to a method with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 5, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 5.
As per claim 15, the claim(s) is/are directed to a method with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 7, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 7.
As per claim 17, the claim(s) is/are directed to a method with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 9, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 9.
As per claim 20, the claim(s) is/are directed to a method with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 12, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 12.
As per claim 21, Hoffpauir discloses
A centralized lawful interception function (CLIF) [combination of network communication device 104-107 and administrator device 106, para. 4; function of a control system, para. 9; the combination of components is centralized because law enforcement comes to this system to request the interceptions; any combination of software and hardware, e.g., circuit implemented components may be used to implement the functions, para 80] for providing centralized lawful interception [the interceptions are requested by law enforcement authority, para. 43 ] in a network [network interface, para. 56], said CLIF comprising a processing unit [network communications device 104, para. 43-45; a processor of the network communications device, para. 50 ] configured to:
Hoffpauir [0038] FIG. 1 is a drawing of an exemplary communications system 100 in accordance with an exemplary embodiment. Exemplary communications system 100 includes a control system 102 including an administrative device 106 and a security device 108. In various embodiments, the security device 108 is or includes a Lawful Intercept Secrets Engine 110.
[0009] In one exemplary embodiment interception target information is supplied from a control system, e.g., from an administrative device or function of a control system
para. 123 In addition to being directed to a computer program product, some embodiments are directed to a processor configured to implement one or more of the various functions, steps, acts and/or operations of one or more methods described above
[0043] In step 202, law enforcement node 202 generates and sends an intercept target request message 204 to administrator device 106 of control system 102, requesting that communications corresponding to a target included in message 204 be intercepted
Hoffpauir para. 45 In step 270 the intercept application of network communications device 104 generates and sends a copy of the intercepted communications 272 to administrator device 106. In step 274 the administrator device 106 receives the copy of intercepted communications 272, and in step 275 the administrator device 106 stores the received intercepted communications. In step 276 the law enforcement node 116 generates and sends a request for content message 277 to the administrator device 106 requesting intercepted content corresponding to UE 1 118 target. In step 278 the administrator device 106 receives the request for content 277, and in response, in step 270 the administrator device 106 generates and sends content 280 corresponding to the interception of communications 264 to law enforcement node 116. In step 281 law enforcement node 116 receives and recovers content 280, which includes the copy of the intercepted communications corresponding to target UE 1 118.
[0050] FIG. 3 is a drawing of an exemplary network communications device 400 in accordance with an exemplary embodiment. Network communications device 400 is, e.g., network communications device 104 of FIG. 2. Network communications device 400 includes one or more processors (processor 1 402, e.g., CPU 1, . . . , processor m 403, e.g., CPU m), one or more network interfaces (network interface 1 404, . . . , network interface M 405
Hoffpauir Para. 56. Exemplary administrator node 600 includes a processor 602, e.g., a CPU, a network interface 604
receive, from an administration function (ADMF), [the administrator device 106 functionality, para. 43; function of a control system, para. 9; administrator device 106 generates and sends intercept provisioning message 222 indicating when the intercept is to be performed to network communications device 104] a request [intercept provisioning message 222, para. 43] for tracing a target user equipment (UE); [target, para 44; target UE 1 118, para. 45]
[0009] In one exemplary embodiment interception target information is supplied from a control system, e.g., from an administrative device or function of a control system
Hoffpauir para. 43 step 220 the administrator device 106 generates and sends intercept provisioning message 222 including the encrypted target ID and time information indicating when the intercept is to be performed, e.g., an expiration date. In step 224 the network communications device 104 receives message 222 and recovers the communicated information.
para. 44 generates and sends response message 252 conveying an unencrypted target ID in plain text to the intercept application of the network communications device 104
receive, via a service function ,[ intercept application of network communication device 104, para. 45 ] an event [communications, para. 45] for each
mobile originated (MO) message and mobile terminated (MT) message [UE 1 118 and UE 2 120 establish a communications session, para 45; any message from one mobile to another would disclose mobile originated (MO) message and mobile terminated (MT) message;] from a network function;[ one or more network interfaces, para. 50]
para. 38
At least some of the end node communications devices are mobile devices which may move throughout the communications system,
para. 45 In step 258 the intercept application of network communication device 104 starts monitoring for the target, e.g. monitoring communications for the identifier corresponding to target device UE 1 118.
Hoffpauir [0050] FIG. 3 is a drawing of an exemplary network communications device 400 in accordance with an exemplary embodiment. Network communications device 400 is, e.g., network communications device 104 of FIG. 2. Network communications device 400 includes one or more processors (processor 1 402, e.g., CPU 1, . . . , processor m 403, e.g., CPU m), one or more network interfaces (network interface 1 404, . . . , network interface M 405
extract a plurality of information [detects the identifier corresponding to target UE 1 118 and performs an interception.. stores interception data/information in active memory 114, para. 45;] from said received event;[intercepted communication, para. 45]
Hoffpauir [0045] In step 258 the intercept application of network communication device 104 starts monitoring for the target, e.g. monitoring communications for the identifier corresponding to target device UE 1 118. In steps 260 and steps 262, UE 1 118 and UE 2 120 establish a communications session and start transmitting communications data and information 264 over a communications path including network communications device 104, which is monitoring for communications corresponding to UE 1 118, which is an intercept target. In step 266 the intercept application on network communications device 104 detects the identifier corresponding to target UE 1 118 and performs an interception. In step 268 the intercept application in network communications device 104 stores interception data/information in active memory 114. In step 270 the intercept application of network communications device 104 generates and sends a copy of the intercepted communications 272 to administrator device 106. In step 274 the administrator device 106 receives the copy of intercepted communications 272, and in step 275 the administrator device 106 stores the received intercepted communications. In step 276 the law enforcement node 116 generates and sends a request for content message 277 to the administrator device 106 requesting intercepted content corresponding to UE 1 118 target. In step 278 the administrator device 106 receives the request for content 277, and in response, in step 270 the administrator device 106 generates and sends content 280 corresponding to the interception of communications 264 to law enforcement node 116. In step 281 law enforcement node 116 receives and recovers content 280, which includes the copy of the intercepted communications corresponding to target UE 1 118.
compare, [detects the identifier corresponding to target UE 1 118 and performs an interception, para. 45] at least one user equipment identifier stored in a database [database disclosed by active memory/storage device; stores the unencrypted target identifier in active memory 114, para. 44; the network communications device 104 stores the received encrypted target identifier (ciphertext communicating the target ID) in operating system administrator accessible storage device 112, para. 43; compare disclosed because comparing identifier as stored to detected identifier] corresponding to said tracing request with said extracted plurality of information and trace [law enforcement node 116 receives and recovers content 280, which includes the copy of the intercepted communications corresponding to target UE 1 118, para. 45; the content communication corresponding to target UE 1 118, which shows that network communications device 104 compared and traced all details to provide to the law enforcement] all related details of said target UE and at least one UE [UE 1 118 and UE 2 120 establish a communications session, para 45; the intercept content includes the communication details between the 2 UEs ] communicating with said target UE to generate a provisioning information based on comparison; and
transmit said generated provisioning information [network communications device 104 generates and sends a copy of the intercepted communications 272 to administrator device 106, para. 45; administrator device 106 generates and sends content 280 corresponding to the interception of communications 264 to law enforcement node 116, para. 45] to a law enforcement monitoring facility (LEMF), via an identified mediation and delivery function (MDF).[ identified mediation and delivery function (MDF) disclosed by administrator device 106 ]
[ the administrator device 106 generates and sends content 280 corresponding to the interception of communications 264 to law enforcement node 116, para. 45]
para. 44 In step 256 the intercept application stores the unencrypted target identifier in active memory 114, e.g. in a list of unencrypted target identifiers for which interception is to be performed by the network communication device 104.
However, Hoffpauir does not expressly disclose
receive, via a short message service function (SMSF), an event for each mobile originated (MO) message and mobile terminated (MT) message from a network function;
via an identified mediation and delivery function (MDF)
Gauthier discloses collecting and analyzing text messages
Gauthier [0002] Authorized authorities (e.g., law enforcement agencies) often intercept communications, such as calls, made in cellular communication networks in order to monitor the content of communications to and from target users such as members of gang organizations, members of the mafia, drug dealers, etc. …
system and method for intercepting communications to and from a target user even if the target user uses multiple mobile phones and/or switches to different mobile phones.
Gauthier [0013] In order to detect other wireless devices 16 used by the target user 24, the communication intercept system 12 also includes a data collection function 28, a usage pattern detection function 30, and a matching function 32. The data collection function 28 operates to collect usage data from the wireless devices 16-1 through 16-N and store the usage data in a usage data repository 34…., a text messaging log for texts sent and/or received by the wireless device 16,
[0021] As a final example, the usage pattern detection function 30 may detect a pattern of phone calls and/or text messages for the wireless device 16-1. The pattern of phone calls and/or text messages may, for example, identify phone numbers called/texted from the wireless device 16-1
Gauthier discloses delivering intercept data to authorities via an identified mediation and delivery function (MDF).[ return corresponding intercept data to the delivery function 22…… delivery function 22 then returns the intercept data to the requesting authority 18, para 12; identified mediation is disclosed because the intercept data is determined to be sent to the delivery function and the delivery function facilitates delivery to the requesting authority.
]
[0012] In response to the intercept request from the administration function 20 of the communication intercept system 12, the ICEs 26 intercept communications to and from the wireless device 16-1 of the target user 24 and return corresponding intercept data to the delivery function 22 of the communication intercept system 12. The delivery function 22 then returns the intercept data to the requesting authority 18. The intercept data may include, for example, the content of a call to or from the wireless device 16-1 of the target user 24.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoffpauir with the technique for extracting text communications of the device being monitored along with other devices and forwarding intercept data to authorities via delivery function of Gauthier to include
receive, via a short message service function (SMSF), an event for each mobile originated (MO) message and mobile terminated (MT) message from a network function;
transmit said generated provisioning information to a law enforcement monitoring facility (LEMF), via an identified mediation and delivery function (MDF).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to properly identify the device being traced and its messages from among data collected from a network. The system of the primary reference can be modified to collect more data to determine device usage patterns and to identify the device usage data based on the identifier of the device in order to provide properly provide the device message history to the authorities.
As per claim 22, the claim(s) is/are directed to a computer program product with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 1, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 1. Claim 22 also recites, and Hoffpauir discloses, A computer program product [the memory 410 is a computer program product, para. 79] comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium [non-transitory computer readable medium para. 120] comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, [instructions and processors, para. 120] cause the one or more processors to execute a method for providing centralized lawful interception [combination of network communication device 104-107 and administrator device 106, para. 4, performs the centralized lawful interception; the combination of components is centralized because law enforcement comes to this system to request the interceptions; ] in a network,[ perform one or more of the steps of the above-described method(s) para. 120] said method comprising:
[0079] When implemented in software the components include code, which when executed by a processor, e.g., processor 402, configure the processor to implement the function corresponding to the component. In embodiments where the assembly of components 1000 is stored in the memory 410, the memory 410 is a computer program product comprising a computer readable medium comprising code, e.g., individual code for each component, for causing at least one computer, e.g., processor 402, to implement the functions to which the components correspond.
Hoffpauir [0115] Non-Transitory Computer Readable Medium Embodiment 1. A non-transitory computer readable medium (410) including machine executable instructions which when executed by a processor (402) of a network communications device (104 or 400), through which communications passes, control the network communications device to perform the steps of:
Hoffpauir [0120] In various embodiments nodes and/or elements described herein are implemented using one or more components to perform the steps corresponding to one or more methods, for example, message reception, message generation, signal generation, signal processing, sending, comparing, determining and/or transmission steps. Thus, in some embodiments various features are implemented using components or in some embodiment's logic such as for example logic circuits. Such components may be implemented using software, hardware or a combination of software and hardware. Many of the above described methods or method steps can be implemented using machine executable instructions, such as software, included in a machine readable medium such as a memory device, e.g., RAM, floppy disk, etc. to control a machine, e.g., general purpose computer with or without additional hardware, to implement all or portions of the above described methods, e.g., in one or more nodes. Accordingly, among other things, various embodiments are directed to a machine-readable medium, e.g., a non-transitory computer readable medium, including machine executable instructions for causing a machine, e.g., processor and associated hardware, to perform one or more of the steps of the above-described method(s).
Claim 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffpauir in view of Gauthier, further in view of Attanasio, further in view of Qiao et al. U.S. Publication 20200092424 (hereinafter “Qiao”).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Hoffpauir discloses
wherein said plurality of information [this is the subsequent intercepted communications associated with the detected target device identifier in para 45] includes at least one user equipment (UE) identifier of said target UE, [ “detects the identifier corresponding to target UE 1 118 and performs an interception”, para. 45. stores interception data/information in active memory 114, para. 45; UE 1 118 and UE 2 120 establish a communications session, para 45; any message from one mobile to another would make up part of the intercepted communications 272 being sent to administrator device] at least one user equipment (UE) identifier of said at least one UE communicating with said target UE, [this is the 2nd detected device that is communicating with the target device of the interception; the retrieved copies of messages of the target device would have identifier of the devices it was communicated with such as a phone number] message payload,[ copy of intercepted communications 272, para 45]
However, the combination of Hoffpauir, Gauthier, and Attanasio does not expressly disclose wherein said plurality of information includes at least one user equipment (UE) identifier of said target UE, at least one user equipment (UE) identifier of said at least one UE communicating with said target UE, message payload, location information, and public land mobile network (PLMN) information.
Qiao discloses gathering and communicating location information and public land mobile network (PLMN) information.
[0224] In response to the message received from the SMF, the PCF may select a CHF based on the information received from the SMF, and/or the UE subscription information received from a UDR, and/or local configuration and operator policies, and/or other information for the PDU session. As an example, the PCF may select a CHF based on one or more combination information received from the SMF. As an example, the PCF may select a CHF based on the PLMN identifier received from the SMF. As an example, the PCF may select a CHF based on the network slice information (e.g. S-NSSAI(s) and/or network slice instance identifier(s)). As an example, the PCF may select a CHF based on the user location information. As an example, the PCF may select a CHF based on the information of the SMF. As an example, the PCF may select a CHF based on the Access Type and the RAT type received from the SMF.
[0223] If dynamic PCC is deployed and a PCF ID is provided by the AMF, the SMF may performs PCF selection procedure by selecting a PCF (e.g. based on the PCF identifier received). The SMF may perform an SM Policy Association Establishment procedure to establish a PDU Session with the selected PCF and get the default PCC Rules for the PDU Session. The PDU session may be identified by the PDU Session ID. The message sent to the PCF by the SMF may comprise at least one of: at least one UE identity (e.g. SUPI, PEI, and/or GPSI), at least one UE IP address (e.g. UE IPv4 address and/or UE IPv6 network prefix), Default 5QI and default ARP, Type of PDU Session (e.g. IPv4, IPv6, IPv4v6, Ethernet, Unstructured); Access Type (e.g. 3GPP access); RAT Type (e.g. 3GPP-NR-FDD); a PLMN identifier; an application identifier; an allocated application instance identifier; DNN, S-NSSAI(s) and/or network slice instance identifier(s), PDU Session ID, user location information, or information of the SMF for the PDU session (e.g. SMF identifier, IP address or FQDN of the SMF).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hoffpauir, Gauthier, and Attanasio with the technique for gathering and communicating location information and public land mobile network (PLMN) information of Qiao to include
wherein said plurality of information includes at least one user equipment (UE) identifier of said target UE, at least one user equipment (UE) identifier of said at least one UE communicating with said target UE, message payload, location information, and public land mobile network (PLMN) information.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to extract and communicate location information and public land mobile network information from intercepted network usage data and provide such intercepted information to a receiving party, so that the receiving party can determine the whereabouts of the party being targeted.
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Hoffpauir discloses
wherein said tracing request includes a message type,[ time information indicating when the intercept is to be performed, e.g., an expiration date, para 33; indicating that the intercept is to be performed makes this a message type information] a mediation and delivery function (MDF) identifier, [mediation and delivery function (MDF) disclosed by the administrator device 106; mediation and delivery function (MDF) is not defined in the specification; sends provisioning acknowledgment message 232 to administrator device 106 acknowledging receipt of the intercept provisioning message 222, para 33; this means that an identifier for the administrator device was included in the intercept provisioning message, otherwise no acknowledging receipt can be sent back to the administrator device] and a correlation information. [correlation information is not explicitly defined in the specification; correlation information can be disclosed by the encrypted target ID; including the encrypted target ID, para 33; the target ID is used by administrator device to ensure that the network communications device will understand which device is the subject of the communication]
Hoffpauir [0043] In step 202, law enforcement node 202 generates and sends an intercept target request message 204 to administrator device 106 of control system 102, requesting that communications corresponding to a target included in message 204 be intercepted. In step 108 administrator device 106 receives the intercept target request message 204 and recovers or determines an intercept target identifier (ID) based on the received message 204, e.g., receives an intercept target ID in the received message 204 or obtains an intercept target ID corresponding to the intercept target, e.g., matches a received name/address, phone number and/or e-mail address with a stored identifier, e.g., a device identifier. In step 208 the administrator device 106 generates and sends a target encryption request message 210 including a target ID in plain text to security device 108. In step 212 the security device 108 receives the target encryption request 210 and recovers the unencrypted target identifier. In step 213 the security device 108 encrypts the target identifier generating an encrypted target identifier, e.g., ciphertext conveying the intercept target identifier. In step 214, the security device 108 generates and sends message 216 communicating the encrypted target ID, to the administrator device 106. In step 218 the administrator device 106 receives message 216 and recovers the encrypted target ID. In step 220 the administrator device 106 generates and sends intercept provisioning message 222 including the encrypted target ID and time information indicating when the intercept is to be performed, e.g., an expiration date. In step 224 the network communications device 104 receives message 222 and recovers the communicated information. In step 226 the network communications device 104 stores the received encrypted target identifier (ciphertext communicating the target ID) in operating system administrator accessible storage device 112. In step 228 the network communications device 104 stores the received time information, e.g., expiration date, for performing interception of the target, in operating system administrator accessible storage device 112, along with the encrypted target ID. In step 230 the network communications device 104 generates and sends provisioning acknowledgment message 232 to administrator device 106 acknowledging receipt of the intercept provisioning message 222.
However, the combination of Hoffpauir, Gauthier, and Attanasio does not expressly disclose
wherein said tracing request includes a public land mobile network (PLMN) identifier, a message type, a mediation and delivery function (MDF) identifier, and a correlation information.
Qiao discloses communicating public land mobile network (PLMN) information.
[0224] In response to the message received from the SMF, the PCF may select a CHF based on the information received from the SMF, and/or the UE subscription information received from a UDR, and/or local configuration and operator policies, and/or other information for the PDU session. As an example, the PCF may select a CHF based on one or more combination information received from the SMF. As an example, the PCF may select a CHF based on the PLMN identifier received from the SMF. As an example, the PCF may select a CHF based on the network slice information (e.g. S-NSSAI(s) and/or network slice instance identifier(s)). As an example, the PCF may select a CHF based on the user location information. As an example, the PCF may select a CHF based on the information of the SMF. As an example, the PCF may select a CHF based on the Access Type and the RAT type received from the SMF.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hoffpauir, Gauthier, and Attanasio with the technique for communicating public land mobile network (PLMN) information of Qiao to include
wherein said tracing request includes a public land mobile network (PLMN) identifier, a message type, a mediation and delivery function (MDF) identifier, and a correlation information.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to communicate public land mobile network information, so that the receiving party can narrow down the whereabouts of the party being targeted using the public land mobile network information.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffpauir in view of Gauthier, in view of Attanasio, further in view of Li et al. U.S. Publication 20210314266 (hereinafter “Li”), further in view of Qiao.
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Hoffpauir discloses wherein said at least one user equipment (UE) identifier
user equipment (UE) identifier disclosed by the identifier corresponding to target device UE 1 118; “detects the identifier corresponding to target UE 1 118 and performs an interception”, para. 45.
However, the combination of Hoffpauir, Gauthier, and Attanasio does not expressly disclose wherein said at least one user equipment (UE) identifier includes a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), a subscriber concealed identifier (SUCI), and a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI).
Li discloses an UE may be identified by GPSI or SUPI
[0104] In some embodiments, the AF request (e.g. indicative of the policy requirements) sent to the PCF may include information indicating that in-order packet delivery is preferred, required or requested for a traffic flow of a UE. In other words, the information in the AF request may indicate that packets of the traffic flow should be delivered or forwarded in the order that the packets are received. In some cases, the traffic flow may be identified by an application ID which corresponds to a traffic filter pre-configured in the network. In some cases, the traffic flow may be identified by a traffic filter included in the AF request, or otherwise referred to in the AF request. The traffic filter included in the AF request may describe the traffic flow using fields (e.g. 5 tuple (source IP, destination IP, source port, destination port, protocol)) and field values of the packet header. The UE may be identified by information such as UE ID (e.g. GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Identifier) or SUPI (Subscriber Permanent Identifier)), UE address (e.g. IP address, MAC address), or UE group ID (e.g. external group ID or internal group ID). When the UE is identified by a UE group ID, the UE may be a member of the UE group identified by the UE group ID.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hoffpauir, Gauthier, and Attanasio with the technique for an UE may be identified by GPSI or SUPI of Li to include
wherein said at least one user equipment (UE) identifier includes a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the UE to identify itself according to the GPSI or SUPI so that the UE may interoperate with different standards. The system of the primary reference can be modified so that the UE may be identified by GPSI or SUPI.
However, the combination of Hoffpauir, Gauthier, Attanasio and Li does not expressly disclose
wherein said at least one user equipment (UE) identifier includes a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), a subscriber concealed identifier (SUCI), and a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI).
Qiao discloses UE deriving the SUCI
[0181] In an example, the UE 100 may respond with an identity response message including the SUCI. The UE 100 may derive the SUCI by using the provisioned public key of the HPLMN.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hoffpauir, Gauthier, Attanasio and Li with the technique for UE deriving the SUCI of Qiao to include
wherein said at least one user equipment (UE) identifier includes a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), a subscriber concealed identifier (SUCI), and a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to provide mobile devices with SUCI. The system of the primary reference can be modified to provide the mobile devices with SUCI, so that a respective mobile device can provide SUCI to other components that require such SUCI to identify the mobile device.
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffpauir in view of Gauthier, in view of Attanasio, further in view of Cartmell et al. U.S. Publication 20130326631 (hereinafter “Cartmell”).
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Hoffpauir discloses wherein said CLIF is configured to transmit said generated provisioning information
[administrator device 106 generates and sends content 280 corresponding to the interception of communications 264 to law enforcement node 116, para. 45]
However, Hoffpauir does not expressly disclose wherein said CLIF is configured to transmit said generated provisioning information to said identified mediation and delivery function (MDF) over a secured Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) connection.
Gauthier discloses
delivering intercept data to said identified mediation and delivery function (MDF).[ return corresponding intercept data to the delivery function 22…… delivery function 22 then returns the intercept data to the requesting authority 18, para 12]
Gauthier [0012] In response to the intercept request from the administration function 20 of the communication intercept system 12, the ICEs 26 intercept communications to and from the wireless device 16-1 of the target user 24 and return corresponding intercept data to the delivery function 22 of the communication intercept system 12. The delivery function 22 then returns the intercept data to the requesting authority 18. The intercept data may include, for example, the content of a call to or from the wireless device 16-1 of the target user 24.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoffpauir with the technique for forwarding intercept data to authorities via delivery function of Gauthier to include wherein said CLIF is configured to transmit said generated provisioning information to said identified mediation and delivery function (MDF)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to provide a specialized mediation and delivery function to deliver intercept data to authorities. The system of the primary reference can be modified to to properly provide the intercept data to the authorities via the specialized delivery component, so that all such delivery functions are customized at a single component for convenient management.
However, the combination of Hoffpauir, Gauthier, and Attanasio does not expressly disclose wherein said CLIF is configured to transmit said generated provisioning information to said identified mediation and delivery function (MDF) over a secured Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) connection.
Cartmell discloses transferring messages via TCP connection and detecting lost packets
[0144] At 1704, the LEA 1204 may request a lawful intercept action.
Cartmell [0170] A TCP connection between the CGW and the LEMF may be sufficiently sized such that each of the X3 messages sent by the CGW may be received by the LEMF. If one or more packets between the CGW and the LEMF are lost, the LEMF may notice this, as the sequence numbers of the received X3 CC Report messages may not be consecutive.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hoffpauir, Gauthier, and Attanasio with the technique for transferring messages via TCP connection and detecting lost packets of Cartmell to include
wherein said CLIF is configured to transmit said generated provisioning information to said identified mediation and delivery function (MDF) over a secured Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) connection.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to transmit the data over a TCP connection and detect lost packets. The system of the primary reference can be modified to transmit the intercept data to the delivery function over a secure TCP connection for forwarding to authorities.
As per claim 17, the claim(s) is/are directed to a method with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 9, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 9.
Claims 10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffpauir in view of Gauthier, in view of Attanasio, further in view of Barese et al. U.S. Publication 20180213007 (hereinafter “Barese”).
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
However, the combination of Hoffpauir, Gauthier, and Attanasio does not expressly disclose wherein said CLIF is configured to retransmit said generated provisioning information after a predefined time interval if any delivery failure occurred.
Barese discloses retransmitting communication contents due to loss of packets when delivering intercepted data to law enforcement
[0071] The MF3 228 is controlled by an administration functionality block 218, ADMF. The MF3 comprises a buffer controller 240 that comprises a communication interface 242 and a processing circuitry 244. The buffer controller controls a buffer arrangement 250 to which the CC is stored to be retransmitted due to loss of packets when delivered to the LEA 80. The buffer arrangement 250 may comprise a great number of buffer storages providing enough storage capacity for storing regular communication traffic of plenty of intercepted targets.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hoffpauir, Gauthier, and Attanasio with the technique for retransmitting communication contents due to loss of packets when delivering intercepted data to law enforcement of Barese to include wherein said CLIF is configured to retransmit said generated provisioning information after a predefined time interval if any delivery failure occurred.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to ensure that the intercepted data is fully transmitted to the law enforcement. The system of the primary reference can be modified to retransmit communication contents due to loss of packets when it is determined that the packets received are missing some packets at the law enforcement. after a predefined time interval is disclosed because the time interval is from beginning the delivery up to when the delivery is examined to determine whether it’s complete. The time interval is not necessarily constant but it’s predetermined according to their communication retransmission protocol.
As per claim 18, the claim(s) is/are directed to a method with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 10, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 10.
Claims 11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffpauir in view of Gauthier, in view of Attanasio, further in view of Erol et al. U.S. Publication 20080220754 (hereinafter “Erol”).
As per claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Hoffpauir discloses
wherein said SMSF acts as a point of interception (POI) [the network communication device is the point of interception; “detects the identifier corresponding to target UE 1 118 and performs an interception”, para. 45; “performs an interception” and the result is receiving communication, para. 45] that derives said generated provisioning information from [the intercepted data is generated based on the intercept request received from the administrative device, para 43,45] said CLIF and delivers [network communications device delivers the intercepted data to the administrative device for forwarding to the authorities, para. 45 ] said derived provisioning information
Hoffpauir [0045] In step 258 the intercept application of network communication device 104 starts monitoring for the target, e.g. monitoring communications for the identifier corresponding to target device UE 1 118. In steps 260 and steps 262, UE 1 118 and UE 2 120 establish a communications session and start transmitting communications data and information 264 over a communications path including network communications device 104, which is monitoring for communications corresponding to UE 1 118, which is an intercept target. In step 266 the intercept application on network communications device 104 detects the identifier corresponding to target UE 1 118 and performs an interception. In step 268 the intercept application in network communications device 104 stores interception data/information in active memory 114. In step 270 the intercept application of network communications device 104 generates and sends a copy of the intercepted communications 272 to administrator device 106. In step 274 the administrator device 106 receives the copy of intercepted communications 272, and in step 275 the administrator device 106 stores the received intercepted communications. In step 276 the law enforcement node 116 generates and sends a request for content message 277 to the administrator device 106 requesting intercepted content corresponding to UE 1 118 target. In step 278 the administrator device 106 receives the request for content 277, and in response, in step 270 the administrator device 106 generates and sends content 280 corresponding to the interception of communications 264 to law enforcement node 116. In step 281 law enforcement node 116 receives and recovers content 280, which includes the copy of the intercepted communications corresponding to target UE 1 118.
However, Hoffpauir does not expressly disclose wherein said SMSF acts as a point of interception (POI) that derives said generated provisioning information from said CLIF and delivers said derived provisioning information to a plurality of mediation and delivery functions (MDFs).
Gauthier discloses
delivering intercept data to a mediation and delivery function (MDF).[ return corresponding intercept data to the delivery function 22…… delivery function 22 then returns the intercept data to the requesting authority 18, para 12]
[0012] In response to the intercept request from the administration function 20 of the communication intercept system 12, the ICEs 26 intercept communications to and from the wireless device 16-1 of the target user 24 and return corresponding intercept data to the delivery function 22 of the communication intercept system 12. The delivery function 22 then returns the intercept data to the requesting authority 18. The intercept data may include, for example, the content of a call to or from the wireless device 16-1 of the target user 24.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoffpauir with the technique for forwarding intercept data to authorities via a delivery function of Gauthier to include wherein said SMSF acts as a point of interception (POI) that derives said generated provisioning information from said CLIF and delivers said derived provisioning information to a mediation and delivery function.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to provide a specialized mediation and delivery function to deliver intercept data to authorities. The system of the primary reference can be modified to transmit the intercept data to the delivery function over a secure TCP connection for forwarding to authorities.
However, the combination of Hoffpauir, Gauthier, and Attanasio does not expressly disclose wherein said SMSF acts as a point of interception (POI) that derives said generated provisioning information from said CLIF and delivers said derived provisioning information to a plurality of mediation and delivery functions (MDFs).
Erol discloses duplicate copies of intercepted packets are sent to one or more Lawful interception Delivery Functions
[0011] Unlike prior art systems in which a dedicated device would need to carry a heavy load of traffic, as all media would be routed through it, the present invention completely avoids a costly new network element and utilizes existing media equipment. For the embodiment disclosed herein, Lawful Interception (LI) of mobile call contents is implemented directly on the Base Station Controllers (BSC) in the system via media forking. Using the method of the invention the BSC creates duplicate copies of any RTP packets incoming into and outgoing from any endpoint that is the target of Lawful Interception. The duplicate copies of these packets are then sent to one or more Lawful interception Delivery Functions (DF). The content and destination of the original copies of the packets is not altered in any way, so LI has no impact on the actual media streams.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hoffpauir, Gauthier, and Attanasio with the technique for duplicate copies of intercepted packets are sent to one or more Lawful interception Delivery Functions of Erol to include
wherein said SMSF acts as a point of interception (POI) that derives said generated provisioning information from said CLIF and delivers said derived provisioning information to a plurality of mediation and delivery functions (MDFs).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification to improve the ability of the system to send the intercepted packets to multiple mediation and delivery functions. The system of the primary reference can be modified to send intercepted data to multiple mediation and delivery functions, in case one of the mediation and delivery functions is not operating then the others can forward the intercepted data to law enforcement.
As per claim 19, the claim(s) is/are directed to a method with limitations which correspond to limitations of claim 11, and is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 11.
Conclusion
/HOWARD H. LOUIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2494
/THEODORE C PARSONS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494