DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10, 12, 14-15, and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Van Handel (US 2017/0272833) and Bernstein et al. (US 2016/0277802).
Regarding claim 1, Van Handel teaches a method for playing live stream content, comprising:
presenting target media content in a media content presentation page ([0084], “Referring to the exemplary screen shot of FIG. 8, note the list of recently watched shows 802. More precisely, element 802 shows a filter list with up and down carrots whereon ‘recently watched’ has been selected; the box art icons of the recently watched shows are in a row at the bottom of the screen and discussed further below. Other items that could have been selected on the filter list 802 include ‘favorites,’ ‘sports,’ etc.” Fig. 8);
displaying a target panel, in response to a first interactive operation acting in the media content presentation page, wherein a preset associated region of the target panel is configured for displaying a ready-to-view live stream list of a user ([0084], “Referring to the exemplary screen shot of FIG. 8, note the list of recently watched shows 802. More precisely, element 802 shows a filter list with up and down carrots whereon ‘recently watched’ has been selected; the box art icons of the recently watched shows are in a row at the bottom of the screen and discussed further below. Other items that could have been selected on the filter list 802 include ‘favorites,’ ‘sports,’ etc.” [0066], “Content or data normally streamed over the cable modem can be received and distributed by the CPE 106, such as for example packetized video (e.g., IPTV).” [0077], “When the user brings up the application, he or she can scroll back and forth across live channels.” Fig. 8); and
playing a target live stream content in a live stream page, in response to a playback operation acting on a first live stream content identification in the ready-to-view live stream list, wherein the playback operation acts on a first live stream content identification in the ready-to-view live stream list, and the target live stream content corresponds to the first live stream content identification ([0088], “One or more embodiments advantageously provide a quick way to leave a VOD or DVR session to check a football score, the weather, etc., then resume the VOD or DVR session exactly where the viewer left off. If the user left the VOD or DVR session to tune to a linear channel, currently, the only way to resume it is to go through a series of Menus and Box Art icons to find the same asset and resume it from where it left off.”).
Del Val does not expressly teach wherein the media content presentation page is a live stream page of a live stream room or a host, and the target media content is live stream content presented in the live stream page.
Bernstein teaches wherein a media content presentation page is a live stream page of a live stream room or a host, and target media content is live stream content presented in the live stream page ([0028], “An interactive streaming application 132 may be configured to enable a user of the computing device 102 to start a real-time video stream and share the real-time video stream via a social media platform. A video stream is live or real-time when the source of the video stream is a video capture device rather than storage media.” [0066], “In some implementations, the system may select a few live video streams for the head of the list with a large preview of the broadcast and the remainder may have thumbnail views. In some implementations, the preview may include a few seconds of video from the live video stream, e.g., a few seconds of the video that are associated with a large quantity of signals of appreciation. The previews may be selectable, so that the user can join a live video stream by selecting the preview or thumbnail in the area 405. Once a user joins a live video stream, the user may be presented with a user interface similar to that of FIG. 3B, discussed above.” [0061], Fig. 4A).
In view of Bernstein’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Del Val wherein the media content presentation page is a live stream page of a live stream room or a host, and the target media content is live stream content presented in the live stream page. The modification would enable users to access and view live stream hosts. The modification would serve to enhance the user experience.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches wherein the target media content comprises live stream content (Van Handel: [0066], “Content or data normally streamed over the cable modem can be received and distributed by the CPE 106, such as for example packetized video (e.g., IPTV).” [0077], “When the user brings up the application, he or she can scroll back and forth across live channels.”), the method further comprises:
adding a media content identification of the target media content to the ready-to-view live stream list of the user, in response to a ready-to-view live stream addition operation for the target media content, wherein the media content identification is a live stream content identification (Van Handel: [0079], “In one or more embodiments, when the user plays a VOD or DVR asset, the asset is added to the channel surfer's ‘Recently Viewed’ filter at the point where the asset is bookmarked (thus, on a PAUSE or a STOP of the asset). Therefore, the user could be watching a Recorded Show or VOD asset, press PAUSE, tune to a sporting event to catch the live score, then bring up the channel surfer app and press PLAY to automatically resume the ‘Session’ he or she was watching.”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches wherein
the target panel comprises at least one of
a first panel in which an addition control for the target media content is displayed and
a second panel in which an addition control for the target media content is not displayed (Van Handel: [0079], “In one or more embodiments, when the user plays a VOD or DVR asset, the asset is added to the channel surfer's ‘Recently Viewed’ filter at the point where the asset is bookmarked (thus, on a PAUSE or a STOP of the asset). Therefore, the user could be watching a Recorded Show or VOD asset, press PAUSE, tune to a sporting event to catch the live score, then bring up the channel surfer app and press PLAY to automatically resume the ‘Session’ he or she was watching.” [0084], “Referring to the exemplary screen shot of FIG. 8, note the list of recently watched shows 802. More precisely, element 802 shows a filter list with up and down carrots whereon ‘recently watched’ has been selected; the box art icons of the recently watched shows are in a row at the bottom of the screen and discussed further below.”); and
the addition control is configured for triggering the execution of the ready-to-view live stream addition operation (Van Handel: [0079], “In one or more embodiments, when the user plays a VOD or DVR asset, the asset is added to the channel surfer's ‘Recently Viewed’ filter at the point where the asset is bookmarked (thus, on a PAUSE or a STOP of the asset). Therefore, the user could be watching a Recorded Show or VOD asset, press PAUSE, tune to a sporting event to catch the live score, then bring up the channel surfer app and press PLAY to automatically resume the ‘Session’ he or she was watching.”).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach
wherein the ready-to-view live stream list is configured for displaying the live stream content identification of the live stream content that has not ended (Van Handel: [0084], “Referring to the exemplary screen shot of FIG. 8, note the list of recently watched shows 802. More precisely, element 802 shows a filter list with up and down carrots whereon ‘recently watched’ has been selected; the box art icons of the recently watched shows are in a row at the bottom of the screen and discussed further below. Other items that could have been selected on the filter list 802 include ‘favorites,’ ‘sports,’ etc.” [0066], “Content or data normally streamed over the cable modem can be received and distributed by the CPE 106, such as for example packetized video (e.g., IPTV).” [0077], “When the user brings up the application, he or she can scroll back and forth across live channels.” Fig. 8).
However, the combination as presently combined does not expressly teach for each live stream content identification in the ready-to-view live stream list, when the live stream of current live stream content corresponding to a current live stream content identification has ended, removing the current live stream content identification from the ready-to-view live stream list; and when a host of the current live stream content restarts a live stream, re-adding the current live stream content identification to the ready-to-view live stream list, or not re-adding the current live stream content identification to the ready-to-view live stream list.
Bernstein teaches:
for each live stream content identification in a stream list, when a live stream of current live stream content corresponding to a current live stream content identification has ended, removing the current live stream content identification from the stream list ([0085], “When the broadcaster ends the video stream the system may remove the broadcast from the global list (755).”); and
when a host of the current live stream content starts a live stream, adding the current live stream content identification to the ready-to-view live stream list ([0066], “The video streams in area 405 may be from a global list of in-progress video streams, for example at a social media server such as server 160 of FIG. 1. The server may select the in-progress video streams because the user is following the broadcaster or because the video streams relate to an interest of the user.”).
In view of Bernstein’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include, when the live stream of current live stream content corresponding to a current live stream content identification has ended, removing the current live stream content identification from the ready-to-view live stream list; and when a host of the current live stream content restarts a live stream, re-adding the current live stream content identification to the ready-to-view live stream list, or not re-adding the current live stream content identification to the ready-to-view live stream list. The modification would serve to facilitate user navigation and discovery of content for viewing.
Regarding claims 9 and 20, the combination teaches wherein after the displaying the target panel, the method further comprises:
deleting the second live stream content identification in the ready-to-view live stream list, in response to a deletion operation acting in the ready-to-view live stream list, wherein the second live stream content identification corresponds to the deletion operation (Van Handel: [0081], “in at least some instances, an expired VOD asset is purged from the list at the moment it is expired (either by rental window or asset license expiration), and/or a deleted DVR asset is purged from the list at the moment the user deletes it.”).
Regarding claims 10 and 21, the combination teaches wherein after the playing the target live stream content in the live stream page, the method further comprises:
in response to a live stream content switching operation acting in the live stream page, switching the live stream content played in the live stream page according to a live content stream of the live stream page (Van Handel: [0088], “One or more embodiments advantageously provide a quick way to leave a VOD or DVR session to check a football score, the weather, etc., then resume the VOD or DVR session exactly where the viewer left off. If the user left the VOD or DVR session to tune to a linear channel, currently, the only way to resume it is to go through a series of Menus and Box Art icons to find the same asset and resume it from where it left off.”),
wherein the live content stream contains live stream content corresponding to each live stream content identification in the ready-to-view live stream list (Van Handel: [0084], “Referring to the exemplary screen shot of FIG. 8, note the list of recently watched shows 802. More precisely, element 802 shows a filter list with up and down carrots whereon ‘recently watched’ has been selected; the box art icons of the recently watched shows are in a row at the bottom of the screen and discussed further below. Other items that could have been selected on the filter list 802 include ‘favorites,’ ‘sports,’ etc.” [0066], “Content or data normally streamed over the cable modem can be received and distributed by the CPE 106, such as for example packetized video (e.g., IPTV).” [0077], “When the user brings up the application, he or she can scroll back and forth across live channels.” Fig. 8).
Regarding claims 12 and 22, the combination teaches wherein the live stream content identification comprises a live stream card for displaying at least one of a second image corresponding to the respective live stream content and interaction status information in a respective live stream room, the second image comprising a live stream cover or a preview image (Van Handel: [0084], “The box art icons 806, 810, 812 that show channel numbers work in the usual way (linear channels). The box art icons 808, 814 that show a progress bar are VOD or DVR sessions in accordance with aspects of invention.”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches an electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory, communicatively connected with the at least one processor; wherein the memory stores a computer program executable by the at least one processor; and the computer program is executed by the at least one processor to enable the at least one processor to perform a method for playing the live stream content (Van Handel: [0133]-[0135], Fig. 7). The rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC §103 is similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores computer instructions for causing a processor, when executed, to perform a method for playing the live stream content (Van Handel: [0133]-[0135], Fig. 7). The rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC §103 is similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 15.
Claim(s) 4 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Van Handel, Bernstein, Christie et al. (US 2022/0321940), and Radloff et al. (US 2006/0267995).
Regarding claim 4, Van Handel teaches the adding the media content identification of the target media content to the ready-to-view live stream list of the user comprises: displaying the ready-to-view live stream list in the preset associated region of the target panel, and displaying the media content identification of the target media content in the ready-to-view live stream list ([0084], “Referring to the exemplary screen shot of FIG. 8, note the list of recently watched shows 802. More precisely, element 802 shows a filter list with up and down carrots whereon ‘recently watched’ has been selected; the box art icons of the recently watched shows are in a row at the bottom of the screen and discussed further below. Other items that could have been selected on the filter list 802 include ‘favorites,’ ‘sports,’ etc.” [0066], “Content or data normally streamed over the cable modem can be received and distributed by the CPE 106, such as for example packetized video (e.g., IPTV).” [0077], “When the user brings up the application, he or she can scroll back and forth across live channels.” Fig. 8).
However, Van Handel does not expressly teach wherein the ready-to-view live stream addition operation acts on the addition control displayed in the first panel, the displaying the target panel comprises: in response to that the ready-to-view live stream list of the user is empty, displaying the target panel, wherein the ready-to-view live stream list of the user is not displayed.
Christie teaches an addition control displayed in a panel ([0187], “Selection of the My Stuff element 3632 may be selected to add the series and/or episode to the viewer's My Stuff category (as previously discussed).” Fig. 36).
In view of Christie’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Handel wherein the ready-to-view live stream addition operation acts on the addition control displayed in the first panel in order to enable users to proactively choose to add content to a ready-to-view live stream list. The modification would serve to enhance the user experience.
The combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach the displaying the target panel comprises: in response to that the ready-to-view live stream list of the user is empty, displaying the target panel, wherein the ready-to-view live stream list of the user is not displayed.
Radloff teaches displaying a panel comprises: in response to that a content list of a user is empty, displaying the panel, wherein the list of the user is not displayed ([0070], “FIG. 4 shows an illustrative screen that may be displayed when the user selects the Set up Playlist button on the No Playlists Set Overlay, selects the Add Icon on the Playlists List, or accesses an existing playlist that contains no programs. The Default Playlist screen shows default information for a playlist when it is empty.” Fig. 4).
In view of Radloff’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein the displaying the target panel comprises: in response to that the ready-to-view live stream list of the user is empty, displaying the target panel, wherein the ready-to-view live stream list of the user is not displayed. The modification would improve the combination by providing a means for assisting users in the utilizing ready-to-view live stream list functionality.
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination as presently combined does not expressly teach: displaying a third panel, in response to a second interactive operation acting in the media content presentation page, wherein the addition control for the target media content is displayed in the third panel.
Christie teaches:
displaying a panel, in response to an interactive operation acting in a media content presentation page ([0185], “FIG. 35 illustrates an embodiment where the viewer has now moved the focus to element 3500. As previously noted, each of the elements is further selectable by a viewer. Assuming the viewer now selects element 3500, further information regarding the selected content is displayed.” [0186], “In various embodiments, selection of the element 3500 causes the display of a landing page for the Mad Men television show as shown in FIG. 36.” Figs. 35-36),
wherein an addition control for target media content is displayed in the panel ([0187], “Selection of the My Stuff element 3632 may be selected to add the series and/or episode to the viewer's My Stuff category (as previously discussed).” Fig. 36).
In view of Christie’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination to include displaying a third panel, in response to a second interactive operation acting in the media content presentation page, wherein the addition control for the target media content is displayed in the third panel. The modification would serve to facilitate user access to additional content information and options pertaining to selected content.
Claim(s) 5-6, 11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Van Handel, Bernstein, and Christie.
Regarding claim 5, Van Handel teaches
the displaying the target panel comprises:
in response to that the ready-to-view live stream list of the user is not empty, displaying the target panel ([0084], “Referring to the exemplary screen shot of FIG. 8, note the list of recently watched shows 802. More precisely, element 802 shows a filter list with up and down carrots whereon ‘recently watched’ has been selected; the box art icons of the recently watched shows are in a row at the bottom of the screen and discussed further below. Other items that could have been selected on the filter list 802 include ‘favorites,’ ‘sports,’ etc.” Fig. 8), and
displaying the ready-to-view live stream list in the preset associated region of the target panel ([0084], “Referring to the exemplary screen shot of FIG. 8, note the list of recently watched shows 802. More precisely, element 802 shows a filter list with up and down carrots whereon ‘recently watched’ has been selected; the box art icons of the recently watched shows are in a row at the bottom of the screen and discussed further below. Other items that could have been selected on the filter list 802 include ‘favorites,’ ‘sports,’ etc.” Fig. 8);
the adding the media content identification of the target media content to the ready-to-view live stream list of the user comprises: adding the media content identification for displaying the target media content to the ready-to-view live stream list ([0079], “In one or more embodiments, when the user plays a VOD or DVR asset, the asset is added to the channel surfer's ‘Recently Viewed’ filter at the point where the asset is bookmarked (thus, on a PAUSE or a STOP of the asset). Therefore, the user could be watching a Recorded Show or VOD asset, press PAUSE, tune to a sporting event to catch the live score, then bring up the channel surfer app and press PLAY to automatically resume the ‘Session’ he or she was watching.”).
However, Van Handel does not expressly teach wherein the ready-to-view live stream addition operation acts on the addition control displayed in the first panel.
Christie teaches an addition control displayed in a panel ([0187], “Selection of the My Stuff element 3632 may be selected to add the series and/or episode to the viewer's My Stuff category (as previously discussed).” Fig. 36).
In view of Christie’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Handel wherein the ready-to-view live stream addition operation acts on the addition control displayed in the first panel. The modification would serve to enhance the user experience.
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Van Handel teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach displaying a third panel, in response to a second interactive operation acting in the media content presentation page, wherein the addition control for the target media content is displayed in the third panel.
Christie teaches:
displaying a panel, in response to an interactive operation acting in a media content presentation page ([0185], “FIG. 35 illustrates an embodiment where the viewer has now moved the focus to element 3500. As previously noted, each of the elements is further selectable by a viewer. Assuming the viewer now selects element 3500, further information regarding the selected content is displayed.” [0186], “In various embodiments, selection of the element 3500 causes the display of a landing page for the Mad Men television show as shown in FIG. 36.” Figs. 35-36),
wherein an addition control for target media content is displayed in the panel ([0187], “Selection of the My Stuff element 3632 may be selected to add the series and/or episode to the viewer's My Stuff category (as previously discussed).” Fig. 36).
In view of Christie’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Handel to include displaying a third panel, in response to a second interactive operation acting in the media content presentation page, wherein the addition control for the target media content is displayed in the third panel. The modification would serve to facilitate user access to additional content information and options pertaining to selected content.
Regarding claim 11, Van Handel teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the live content stream further comprises recommending live stream content; and the recommending live stream content is arranged behind the live stream content corresponding to each live stream content identification in the ready-to-view live stream list.
Christie teaches:
recommending content ([0163], “As shown in FIG. 20, the side bar 2010 includes multiple elements 2021-2026 that may be highlighted and/or selected by a viewer (e.g., using input via a remote control device). In this example, the displayed elements generally correspond to categories including Favorites 2021, Channel Guide 2022, Friends 2023, Recently Watched 2024. Also shown is a Genius category 2025 that may be selected to provide recommendations based on other content the viewer has watched, liked, purchased, rented, and so on.” Fig. 20); and
the recommending live stream content is arranged behind content in a recently-watched list ([0163], “As shown in FIG. 20, the side bar 2010 includes multiple elements 2021-2026 that may be highlighted and/or selected by a viewer (e.g., using input via a remote control device). In this example, the displayed elements generally correspond to categories including Favorites 2021, Channel Guide 2022, Friends 2023, Recently Watched 2024. Also shown is a Genius category 2025 that may be selected to provide recommendations based on other content the viewer has watched, liked, purchased, rented, and so on.” Fig. 20, that is, Genius category 2025 is below Recently Watched 2024).
In view of Christie’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Handel wherein the live content stream further comprises recommending live stream content; and the recommending live stream content is arranged behind the live stream content corresponding to each live stream content identification in the ready-to-view live stream list. The modification would serve to facilitate content discovery for users. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
5. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Van Handel, Bernstein, and Amacker (US 2009/0063299).
Regarding claim 7, Van Handel teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach:
in response to the ready-to-view live stream addition operation acting on the addition control displayed in the third panel,
controlling a first image in the target media content to move towards a target control, and
reducing a displaying size of the first image during the movement,
wherein the target control is displayed in the media content presentation page;
the target control is configured for triggering the execution of the first interactive operation; and
stopping displaying the first image when the first image move to arrive at a preset displaying position of the target control.
Amacker teaches:
in response to an operation acting on a control displayed in a panel, controlling a first image in target media content to move towards a target control, and reducing a displaying size of the first image during the movement, wherein the target control is displayed in a presentation page; the target control is configured for triggering execution of an operation; and stopping displaying the first image when the first image move to arrive at a preset displaying position of the target control ([0060], “To remove a product from the informal storage space 223, the user may simply drag the reduced-size image of the product off of the product shelf 224 and outside of the informal storage space 223. For example, to remove Book A from the informal storage space 223, the user may drag-and-drop (or drag-and-throw, as discussed above) the reduced-size image 228 of Book A to any region of the web page 312 that is outside of the informal storage space 223, such as the region 340 that is illustrated by dotted lines in FIG. 3. A visual or audible effect may be provided to confirm to the user that the product has been removed from the informal storage space 223.”).
In view of Amacker’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Handel to include, in response to the ready-to-view live stream addition operation acting on the addition control displayed in the third panel, controlling a first image in the target media content to move towards a target control, and reducing a displaying size of the first image during the movement, wherein the target control is displayed in the media content presentation page; the target control is configured for triggering the execution of the first interactive operation; and stopping displaying the first image when the first image move to arrive at a preset displaying position of the target control. The modification would serve to facilitate user removal of content items from the user interface. The modification would serve to enhance the user experience.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL R TELAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426