DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendments, filed 3/16/2026, to claims 1, 3, 11-12 acknowledged by Examiner. Additionally, applicant cancelled claim 21.
Claims 1-20 are now pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new grounds rejection using Locke (WO 2020018735 A1) as a teaching reference has been made below that addresses the amended and argued language.
Examiner’s Notes
All references relied up on and not cited in the current Form 892 may be found in previous 892's or IDS'.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 1/10/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
See the attached IDS wherein the lined-out NPL citations may be viewed. Examiner reviewed all the currently uploaded documents and did not see a copy of the lined-out NPL documents. Please properly upload them or note where Examiner may have missed the copy in the currently uploaded documents.
Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Note, Applicant’s Remarks states that the missing NPL references have been reuploaded/resubmitted for proper IDS formality; however, there does not seem to be any resubmitted documents with the response dated 3/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 12-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke (US 20200385614 A1), henceforth Locke’614, in view of Locke (WO 2020018735 A1), henceforth Locke’735.
Regarding claim 1, Locke’614 discloses a system 600 for treating a tissue site with negative pressure (Figure 6A-6B, dressing 616 in Figure 6A incorporates negative pressure wound therapy, [0142), the system 600 comprising:
a dressing 616 (Figures 6A and [0141]) comprising:
a cover 632 configured to be disposed over the tissue site (Figure 6A-6B, drape 632 is a cover positioned over the tissue site [0141]); and
a tissue interface 634 (Fig. 6A and [0154], manifold 634) configured to be positioned adjacent to the cover ([0154] manifold 634 secured by drape 632 thus adjacent therein);
a wound contact layer 110 configured to be positioned adjacent to the tissue interface 634 (Figure 6A, [0153] adhesive 110 being a wound contact layer may be positioned on the periphery of the drape 632, manifold 634 is seen in the center of the drape 632 thus they are adjacent each other in their construction); and
a dressing interface 630 configured to be coupled to the cover 634 to fluidly couple the tissue interface 634 (Fig. 6A and [0158-0159, 0142, 0154] wherein dressing interface 630 is coupled to the cover 632 and enables fluid coupling with the tissue site and thus the manifold 634 therein) and the wound contact layer 110 to a therapy unit 610 and to transmit electromagnetic radiation through the cover 632 ([0162, 0163] and Fig. 6A light, being electromagnetic radiation, provided from therapy unit 610 via lumen 614 to drape 632 to active the wound contact layer 110).
Locke’614 does not disclose the wound contact layer including a lightguide configured to receive and distribute electromagnetic radiation from the dressing interface and wherein the lightguide includes a central portion with a plurality of apertures and a peripheral portion, the tissue interface configured to be disposed on the central portion and the cover configured to couple to the peripheral portion.
However, Locke’735 teaches an analogous light deactivated adhesive dressing (Fig. 5A-5B and [0043]), wherein the dressing comprises an analogous wound contact layer 504 (Fig. 5A-5B and [0043], contacts a skin thus wound of a user), the wound contact layer 504 including a lightguide 512 configured to receive and distribute electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 5A-5B and [0043-0044], light pipe element 512 receives and distributes light) from the dressing interface 516/520 (Fig. 5A-5B, [0043-0044] light received from UV device 520 through an interface hole 516) the lightguide 512 includes a central portion with a plurality of apertures (Fig. 5A-5B, there is a central portion therein, wherein see [0044] the lightguide 512 is a mesh thus having a plurality of apertures therein) and a peripheral portion (Fig. 5A-5B, peripheral edges), a tissue interface configured to be disposed on the central portion (Fig. 5A-5B and Fig. 7C, see [0048-0051] wherein there is analogous tissue interface being an absorbent dressing, wherein as shown in the other embodiment of Fig. 7C, this may be placed over a central portion of the analogous lightguide 716) and an analogous cover 508 configured to couple to the peripheral portion (Fig. 5A-5B, the analogous cover 508 shows being coupled to the periphery of the lightguide 512).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the lightguide 512 as taught by Locke’735 to the invention of Locke’614 such that as combined they provide “the wound contact layer including a lightguide configured to receive and distribute electromagnetic radiation from the dressing interface and wherein the lightguide includes a central portion with a plurality of apertures and a peripheral portion, the tissue interface configured to be disposed on the central portion and the cover configured to couple to the peripheral portion”, wherein the lightguide 512 provides an improved curing of a light dependent adhesive by reducing the deactivation time of the light sensitive adhesive (Locke’735 [0043-0044]).
Regarding claim 2, Locke’614/Locke’735 discloses the invention of claim 1 above.
Locke’614 further discloses wherein the cover 632 is configured to block ambient electromagnetic radiation (Figure 6B and [0153] cover 632 comprises a compound film 652 which has a top layer 692 being a light blocking layer 692 thus being configured to block ambient light).
Regarding claim 3, Locke’614/Locke’735 discloses the invention of claim 1 above.
Locke’614 further discloses the wound contact layer 110 comprises a switchable adhesive 110 configured to transition between a first tack and a second tack in response to exposure to the electromagnetic radiation from the dressing interface 630 (see [0003, 0070, 0165] the adhesive 110 is a switchable adhesive that changes phases/tacks based on application of light wavelengths, being electromagnetic radiation), the switchable adhesive 110 comprising a surface of the wound contact layer (Figure 6B, adhesive 110 forms a bottom surface therein).
Locke’735 as combined also further teaches the lightguide 512 comprises a first surface of the wound contact layer and a switchable adhesive 504 configured to transition between a first tack and a second tack in response to exposure to the electromagnetic radiation from the dressing interface, the switchable adhesive 504 comprising a second surface of the wound contact layer, the second surface being opposite of the first surface (Fig. 5A-5B, the switchable adhesive 504 is a second surface opposite the lightguide 512 being a first surface, see [0043-0044] the adhesive 504 is a switchable adhesive as claimed).
Regarding claim 4, Locke’614/Locke’735 discloses the invention of claim 3 above.
Locke’614/Locke’735 further discloses wherein the lightguide 512 is configured to distribute the electromagnetic radiation from the dressing interface 630 to the switchable adhesive 110 (Locke’614 provides for the dressing interface sending EM radiation/light to the switchable adhesive, [0162, 0163] and Fig. 6A light, being electromagnetic radiation, provided from therapy unit 610 via lumen 614 to drape 632 to active the wound contact layer 110) (Locke’735 Fig. 5A-5B and [0043-0044] that EM radiation sent through the analogous dressing interface 516 enables the lightguide 512 to distribute EM radiation to the switchable adhesive 504).
Regarding claim 5, Locke’614/Locke’735 discloses the invention of claim 4 above.
Locke’614 further discloses the electromagnetic radiation comprises a first electromagnetic radiation and the switchable adhesive 110 is further configured to transition from the second tack to a third tack in response to exposure to a second electromagnetic radiation from the dressing interface 630 (Fig. 10-11, electromagnetic radiation comprises a first light that alters the switchable adhesive from a first to second tack/state, and then a second different light to change the second tack/state to a third tack/state).
Regarding claim 6, Locke’614/Locke’735 discloses the invention of claim 1 above.
Locke’735 further discloses wherein the lightguide 512 is further configured to distribute a therapeutic electromagnetic radiation to the tissue site (Fig. 5A-5B [0043-0044] the lightguide 512 brings EM radiation/light all through the dressing, thus is capable of sending EM light if placed on a tissue site).
Regarding claim 7, Locke’614/Locke’735 discloses the invention of claim 1 above.
Locke’614 further discloses wherein the wound contact layer 110 further comprises a central portion and a periphery ([0153] adhesive 110 only positioned around a periphery of the drape, thus having a central portion being a void, and the periphery being the adhesive 110 around the edges of the drape), the tissue interface 634 configured to be positioned adjacent to the central portion of the wound contact layer 110 (Fig. 6A, manifold/interface 634 positioned at a center of the drape therein, thus adjacent to the central void of adhesive 110).
Regarding claim 8, Locke’614/Locke’735 discloses the invention of claim 7 above.
Locke’614 further discloses wherein the dressing interface 630 comprises a first opening (see [0159], a first opening being a primary channel), the first opening configured to be fluidly coupled to the tissue interface 634 ([0159] first primary channel fluidly coupled to the tissue site 620 and manifold 634).
Locke’614 does not disclose the dressing interface 630 includes a second opening and the second opening configured to couple to the periphery of the wound contact layer 110.
However, Locke’735 does provide for the EM radiation 520 to be provided through a dressing interface 516 being a second opening configured to couple to the periphery of the wound contact layer 504 (Fig. 5A-5B and [0043-0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the dressing interface 630 with a second opening and the second opening configured to couple to the periphery of the wound contact layer as taught by the dressing interface 516 of Locke’735, providing an improved light delivery as Locke’735 provides that this location provides increasing efficiency of the light through lightguide 512 (Locke’735 [0044]).
Regarding claim 10, Locke’614/ Locke’735 discloses the invention of claim 1 above.
Locke’614 further discloses wherein the cover 632 is configured to be removable from the dressing 616 ([0141] film 692 of the cover 632 is removably coupled to the dressing 616/drape layer 694).
Regarding claim 12, Locke’614 discloses a method of treating a tissue site (Figure 6A, [0142]), the method comprising:
placing a dressing 616 adjacent to the tissue site 620 (Fig. 6A, [0142-0143]), the dressing 616 comprising:
a cover 632 configured to be disposed over the tissue site 620 (Fig. 6A, drape 132);
a tissue interface 634 configured to be positioned adjacent to the cover 632 (Fig. 6A and [0154], manifold 634 being a tissue interface); and
a wound contact layer 110 configured to be positioned adjacent to the tissue interface 634 (Figure 6A, [0153] adhesive 110 being a wound contact layer may be positioned on the periphery of the drape 632, manifold 634 is seen in the center of the drape 632 thus they are adjacent each other in their construction), the wound contact layer 110 comprising:
a switchable adhesive 110 configured to transition between a first tack and a second tack in response to exposure to the electromagnetic radiation (see [0003, 0070, 0165] the adhesive 110 is a switchable adhesive that changes phases/tacks based on application of light wavelengths, being electromagnetic radiation);
coupling a dressing interface 630 to the dressing 616 (Fig. 6A, connector 630), the dressing interface 630 configured to deliver negative pressure and electromagnetic radiation to the dressing ([0162] delivers EM radiation being light from the tube 614 seen attached therein in Fig. 6A);
delivering a first electromagnetic radiation to the wound contact layer 110 through the dressing interface 630 (Fig. 10 and [0163]); and
operating an electromagnetic radiation source to deliver a second electromagnetic radiation to the wound contact layer through the dressing interface (Fig. 10 and [0165], second light also applied via dedicated light device, 114 being the 614 tubing through the dressing interface 6A).
Locke’614 does not disclose a lightguide configured to receive and distribute electromagnetic radiation being a part of the wound contact layer configured to be positioned adjacent to the tissue interface 634, wherein the lightguide includes a central portion with a plurality of apertures and a peripheral portion, the tissue interface configured to be disposed on the central portion and the cover configured to couple to the peripheral portion.
However, Locke’735 teaches an analogous light deactivated adhesive dressing (Fig. 5A-5B and [0043]), wherein the dressing comprises an analogous wound contact layer 504 (Fig. 5A-5B and [0043], contacts a skin thus wound of a user), the wound contact layer 504 including a lightguide 512 configured to receive and distribute electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 5A-5B and [0043-0044], light pipe element 512 receives and distributes light) from the dressing interface 516/520 (Fig. 5A-5B, [0043-0044] light received from UV device 520 through an interface hole 516), the lightguide 512 includes a central portion with a plurality of apertures (Fig. 5A-5B, there is a central portion therein, wherein see [0044] the lightguide 512 is a mesh thus having a plurality of apertures therein) and a peripheral portion (Fig. 5A-5B, peripheral edges), a tissue interface 708 configured to be disposed on the central portion (Fig. 5A-5B and Fig. 7C, see [0048-0051] wherein there is analogous tissue interface 708 being an absorbent dressing, wherein as shown in the other embodiment of Fig. 7C, this may be placed over a central portion of the analogous lightguide 716, thus also being configured to be positioned adjacent to the tissue interface 708) and an analogous cover 508 configured to couple to the peripheral portion (Fig. 5A-5B, the analogous cover 508 shows being coupled to the periphery of the lightguide 512).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the lightguide 512 as taught by Locke’735 to the invention of Locke’614 such that as combined they provide “a lightguide configured to receive and distribute electromagnetic radiation being a part of the wound contact layer configured to be positioned adjacent to the tissue interface, wherein the lightguide includes a central portion with a plurality of apertures and a peripheral portion, the tissue interface configured to be disposed on the central portion and the cover configured to couple to the peripheral portion”, wherein the lightguide 512 provides an improved curing of a light dependent adhesive by reducing the deactivation time of the light sensitive adhesive (Locke’735 [0043-0044]).
Regarding claim 13, Locke’614 in view of Locke’735 discloses the invention of claim 12 above.
Locke’614 further discloses wherein delivering the first electromagnetic radiation to the wound contact layer cures the switchable adhesive from the first tack to the second tack (Fig. 10 and [0031]).
Regarding claim 14, Locke’614 in view of Locke’735 discloses the invention of claim 12 above.
Locke’614 further discloses wherein the second electromagnetic radiation is a therapeutic electromagnetic radiation configured to treat the tissue site 620 ([0165] UV light may be the second EM radiation, being a therapeutic radiation that implicitly disinfects as seen in Fig. 6A and [00161-00162] the light may travel all throughout the drape thus also going to the manifold 634 being at the tissue site).
Regarding claim 15, Locke’614 in view of Locke’735 discloses the invention of claim 12 above.
Locke’614 further discloses operating the electromagnetic radiation source to deliver a third electromagnetic radiation to the wound contact layer 110 wherein the third electromagnetic radiation is configured to switch the switchable adhesive 110 from the second tack to a third tack (Fig. 10 and [0165]).
Regarding claim 16, Locke’614 in view of Locke’735 discloses the invention of claim 15 above.
Locke’614 further discloses removing the dressing 615 from the tissue site 620 when the switchable adhesive 110 has the third tack (Fig. 10 and [0165]).
Regarding claim 17, Locke’614 in view of Locke’735 discloses the invention of claim 16 above.
Locke’614 further discloses wherein the wound contact layer 110 further comprises a central portion and a periphery ([0153] adhesive 110 only positioned around a periphery of the drape, thus having a central portion being a void, and the periphery being the adhesive 110 around the edges of the drape), the tissue interface 634 configured to be positioned adjacent to the central portion of the wound contact layer 110 (Fig. 6A, manifold/interface 634 positioned at a center of the drape therein, thus adjacent to the central void of adhesive 110).
Regarding claim 19, Locke’614 in view of Locke’735 discloses the invention of claim 12 above.
Locke’614 further discloses removing the cover 692/632 from the dressing 616 to expose the dressing to ambient electromagnetic radiation, the switchable adhesive 110 configured to switch from the second tack to a third tack when exposed to the ambient electromagnetic radiation ([0165] the protective film 692 of the cover 632 may be removed to expose the switchable adhesive 110 to ambient light for switching from a second to third tack).
Regarding claim 20, Locke’614 in view of Locke’735 discloses the invention of claim 19 above.
Locke’614 further discloses removing the dressing 616 from the tissue site 620 when the switchable adhesive 110 has the third tack (Fig. 10 and [0165]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke (US 20200385614 A1), henceforth Locke’614 in view of Locke (WO 2020018735 A1), henceforth Locke’735, in view of Locke (WO 2020146306 A1), henceforth Locke’306.
Regarding claim 9, Locke’614/Locke’375 discloses the invention of claim 1 above.
Locke’614 does not disclose a fiber-optic cable configured to couple the dressing interface to the therapy unit.
However, Locke’306 teaches an analogous dressing 616 (Figure 6A, [00141], fully similar shared concept invention by same inventor Locke), wherein there is an analogous wound contact layer comprising an analogous switchable adhesive 140 for contact with an analogous tissue site 620, being at analogous periphery of the drape therein (Fig. 6A, [00142, 00151, 00166]),
wherein the wound contact layer further comprises an analogous lightguide 650 (Fig. 6A and [00160-00161]) configured to receive and distribute the electromagnetic radiation from the analogous dressing interface 630 (Fig. 6A and [00161] receives and distributes light, being EM radiation, from the interface 630 from tubing 614),
wherein the lightguide 650 is a fiber-optic cable configured to couple the dressing 616 interface to an analogous therapy unit 618 for providing light (see [00161-00162]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the lightguide 650 being a fiber optic cable of Locke’306 to the dressing 616 of Locke’614 in order to provide improved light delivery to a switchable adhesive for changing its phase state (Locke’306 [00161-00162]) and as fiber optic cable would reduce leaking of light (see [0079]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke (WO 2020146306 A1), henceforth Locke’306, in view of Locke (WO 2020018735 A1), henceforth Locke’735.
Regarding claim 11, Locke’306 discloses a dressing 616 for treating a tissue site (Fig. 6A and [00141]), the dressing 616 comprising:
a sealing member 632 configured to be disposed over the tissue site 620 (Fig. 6A and [00151] drape 632 sealing and disposed over tissue site);
a manifold 634 configured to be positioned adjacent to the sealing member 632 (Fig. 6A and [00150]); and
a distribution layer 650/110 comprising:
an electromagnetic transmission layer 650 configured to receive and distribute electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 6A and [00161] light guide 650 transmits/receives/distributes light, being EM radiation, shown in Fig. 6A being a layer part of base 644); and
an adhesive layer 140 configured to transition between a first tack and a second tack in response to exposure to electromagnetic radiation distributed by the electromagnetic transmission layer 650 ([00166, 0085]).
Locke’306 does not disclose wherein the electromagnetic transmission layer includes a central portion with a plurality of apertures and a peripheral portion, the manifold configured to be disposed on the central portion and the sealing member configured to couple to the peripheral portion.
However, Locke’735 teaches an analogous light deactivated adhesive dressing (Fig. 5A-5B and [0043]), wherein the dressing comprises an analogous adhesive layer 504 (Fig. 5A-5B and [0043], contacts a skin thus wound of a user), the adhesive 504 including an analogous electromagnetic transmission layer 512 configured to receive and distribute electromagnetic radiation for switching adhesive from a first tack to a second tack (Fig. 5A-5B and [0043-0044], light pipe element 512 receives and distributes light) from the dressing interface 516/520 (Fig. 5A-5B, [0043-0044] light received from UV device 520 through an interface hole 516) the electromagnetic transmission layer 512 includes a central portion with a plurality of apertures (Fig. 5A-5B, there is a central portion therein, wherein see [0044] the light pipe 512 is a mesh thus having a plurality of apertures therein) and a peripheral portion (Fig. 5A-5B, peripheral edges), an analogous manifold configured to be disposed on the central portion (Fig. 5A-5B and Fig. 7C, see [0048-0051] wherein there is analogous tissue interface being an absorbent dressing, wherein as shown in the other embodiment of Fig. 7C, this may be placed over a central portion of the analogous light pipe 716) and an analogous sealing member 508 configured to couple to the peripheral portion (Fig. 5A-5B, the analogous cover/sealing member 508 shows being coupled to the periphery of the light pipe 512).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have further provided the electromagnetic transmission layer 512 as taught by Locke’735 to the electromagnetic transmission layer 650 of Locke’306 such that as combined they provide “wherein the electromagnetic transmission layer includes a central portion with a plurality of apertures and a peripheral portion, the manifold configured to be disposed on the central portion and the sealing member configured to couple to the peripheral portion”, wherein the light pipe 512 provides an improved curing of a light dependent adhesive by reducing the deactivation time of the light sensitive adhesive (Locke’735 [0043-0044]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke’614 (US 20200385614 A1) in view of Locke (WO 2020018735 A1), henceforth Locke’735, in further view of Pratt (WO 2021079241 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Locke’614 in view of Locke’735 discloses the invention of claim 17 above.
Locke’614 discloses coupling the dressing interface 630 to the dressing 616 comprises disposing a first opening (primary channel) of the dressing interface 630 adjacent to the tissue interface 634 (see [0159] first opening being a primary channel of the dressing interface extending through an aperture to the tissue interface 634).
Locke’614 in view of Locke’735 is silent on the method of coupling the dressing interface to the dressing comprises disposing a second opening of the dressing interface adjacent to the periphery of the wound contact layer.
Locke’614 does disclose that the wound contact layer has a periphery being around the edges of the drape (see [0153]), and also delivering the light of the invention via tube 614 through the interface 630 (see [0162], Figure 6A).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pratt teaches an analogous dressing with analogous switch adhesive analogous disposed about a periphery that changes state when exposed to light (see [0092]), wherein the light is configured to be exposed adjacent to the periphery of the wound contact layer/adhesive therein (see [0092, 0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the opening of the dressing interface 630 for delivering light of Locke’614 to thus be a second opening disposed adjacent to the periphery of the wound contact layer as taught by Pratt in order to provide an improved switch adhesive device as the light would be sent directly to the switch adhesive (Pratt [0092] “In this manner, drape 222 may be easier to completely remove from a patient than alternative LSA bandages”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN S ALBERS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786
/RACHAEL E BREDEFELD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786