DETAILED ACTION
The current office action is in response to the communication filed on 1/10/25.
The applicant amended claims 1-4, 6, 8-14, 16 and 18-24 and cancelled claims 5, 7, 15 and 17 in the Preliminary Amendment received on 1/10/25.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-14, 16 and 18-24 are pending.
The Examiner recommends filing a written authorization for Internet communication in response to the present action. Doing so permits the USPTO to communicate with Applicant using Internet email to schedule interviews or discuss other aspects of the application. Without a written authorization in place, the USPTO cannot respond to Internet correspondence received from Applicant. The preferred method of providing authorization is by filing form PTO/SB/439, available at: https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms. See MPEP § 502.03 for other methods of providing written authorization.
Paper Submitted
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file:
Information Disclosure Statement(s) as received on 1/10/25 are considered by the Examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The Examiner recommends the following title: “SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR AUTOMATED NETWORK CHANGE IMPACT ANALYSIS USING KEY PERFORMANCE INDICATORS.”
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Typically abbreviations/acronyms are used after an expansion is provided to the abbreviations/acronyms. However, in the Specification, “UI,” “IP,” “DSP,” “CSV,” etc. are used before they are expanded. It is suggested to use expansions before using their abbreviations/acronyms. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11, 18, 21-22 and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation “…the change impact…” in claim 1, line 12, should be “…[[the]] a respective change impact…” (emphasis added) in order to resolve the lack of antecedent basis in the limitations. Appropriate correction is required.
The limitation “…the visual representation…” in claim 3, lines 1-2, should be “…[[the]] a visual representation…” (emphasis added) in order to resolve the lack of antecedent basis in the limitations. Appropriate correction is required. Similar corrections are required in claim 10, lines 1-2 and claim 21, line 2.
The limitation “…wherein the user is configured to:…” in claim 6, lines 1-2, should be “…wherein the interface further allows the user to:…” (emphasis added) in order to avoid confusion and/or misinterpretation of the claim limitations. Appropriate correction is required.
The limitation “…predefined options such as per day…” in claim 8, lines 2-3, should be “…predefined options comprising per day…” (emphasis added) in order to avoid confusion and/or misinterpretation of the claim limitations. Appropriate correction is required. Similar corrections are required in claim 18, line 3.
The limitation “…the list of KPIs…” in claim 9, line 2, should be “…the KPIs…” (emphasis added) in order to resolve the lack of antecedent basis in the limitations. Appropriate correction is required.
The limitation “…depicting the impact…” in claim 10, line 3, should be “…depicting [[the]] an impact…” (emphasis added) in order to resolve the lack of antecedent basis in the limitations. Appropriate correction is required. Similar corrections are required in claim 21, line 3.
The limitation “…representing the change impact…” in claim 10, line 4, should be “…representing [[the]] a change impact…” (emphasis added) in order to resolve the lack of antecedent basis in the limitations. Appropriate correction is required. Similar corrections are required in claim 21, line 4.
The limitation “…summarizing the analysis…” in claim 11, line 3, should be “…summarizing the automated change impact analysis…” (emphasis added) in order to resolve the lack of antecedent basis in the limitations. Appropriate correction is required. Similar corrections are required in claim 22, line 3.
The limitation “…the change impact data…” in claim 11, line 6, should be “…[[the]] change impact data…” (emphasis added) in order to resolve the lack of antecedent basis in the limitations. Appropriate correction is required. Similar corrections are required in claim 22, line 6.
The limitation “…the network…” in claim 24, line 4, should be “…[[the]] a network…” (emphasis added) in order to resolve the lack of antecedent basis in the limitations. Appropriate correction is required.
All dependent claims are objected to as having the same deficiencies as the claims they depend from.
Note: For examination purposes, the claims will be interpreted based on the claim language suggested by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11 and 23 lack the necessary physical articles or objects to constitute a machine or a manufacture within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 101. They are clearly not a series of steps or acts to be a process nor are they a combination of chemical compounds to be a composition of matter. As such, they fail to fall within a statutory category.
A system and user equipment in claims 1 and 23 comprise an interface (software), a data parameter engine (software), and a processing engine (software); thus, the claim does not meet the definition of a machine and thereby does not fall under any of the patent eligible statutory categories. A machine is “a concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices”.
All dependent claims are rejected to as having the same deficiencies as the claims they depend from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-12, 14 and 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by “Trivedi et al.” (US PGPUB 2024/0160835) (Hereinafter Trivedi).
With respect to claim 1, Trivedi teaches a system (system 100; Fig. 1, [0023]) for implementing automated change impact analysis in a network (Abstract), the system comprising:
an interface (generating a graphical user interface that is output to a display by way of a terminal associated with network management platform for a user; Fig. 1, [0027]) configured to allow a user to select a plurality of parameters (causing a report detail and node selection interface to be displayed. The report detail and node selection interface is configured to receive user inputs regarding one or more parameters that correspond to various report detail options and user inputs that correspond to node selection(s) for which the report is to be generated; Figs. 1 and 3, [0035], [0056]-[0058]) and key performance indicators (KPIs) (causing the appropriately linked KPIs to be included in the list of KPIs according to the KPI group that is selected for display in the graphical user interface. One or more of the KPIs are selected for inclusion in the performance report from the list of KPIs to a performance report generation workspace in the graphical user interface; Figs. 1 and 4, [0041]-[0042], [0070]) from a selection menu for examination (one or more parameter selection inputs are received by way of a drill-down menu in the report detail and node selection interface; Figs. 1 and 3-4, [0036]) and specify a time period and frequency of analysis (causing the graphical user interface to display a scheduling interface. Processing one or more user inputs associated with a duration and/or frequency that the performance report is to be run and/or a format by which the performance report is to be output; Figs. 1 and 5, [0043], [0077]-[0079]);
a data parameter engine configured to store and manage the plurality of parameters and the KPIs (data repository has information stored therein that includes stored system data, rules defining various KPIs, network functions capable of being implemented in the network involving one or more of network usage, timing, connected devices, location, network resource consumption, cost data, example network KPIs, KPI monitoring profiles corresponding to one or more users, KPI evaluation profiles corresponding to one or more users, etc.; Fig. 1, [0026], [0028], [0030], [0033], [0071], [0085]);
a processing engine coupled to the data parameter engine, the processing engine is configured to determine a true average impact data for each selected KPI (causes the performance report to be generated based on the input parameter(s), node selection input(s), duration input(s), frequency input(s), and/or report format selection(s). The generated performance report is then optionally output based on the selected format, and the generated performance report is caused to be included in a list of performance reports available for selection by way of the graphical user interface; Figs. 1-2 and 7, [0047], [0050], [0102]-[0103]); and
a database coupled to the processing engine for storing the true average impact data representing the change impact for each selected KPI for said time period (data repository has information stored therein that includes stored system data, rules defining various KPIs, network functions capable of being implemented in the network involving one or more of network usage, timing, connected devices, location, network resource consumption, cost data, example network KPIs, KPI monitoring profiles corresponding to one or more users, KPI evaluation profiles corresponding to one or more users, etc.; Figs. 1-2 and 7, [0026], [0028], [0030], [0033], [0047], [0050], [0071], [0085], [0102]-[0103]).
With respect to claim 3, Trivedi teaches the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the visual representation of the true average impact data is displayed on the interface (graphical user interface 200 is a performance report list. The performance report list comprises a list of performance reports that are pre-existing and available for viewing and/or modification. The performance report list includes high level details regarding the information included in the performance report such as report name, report type, domain, network service provider name, node, technology, duration, frequency, and geography/aggregation level; Figs. 1-2, [0050], [0085]).
With respect to claim 4, Trivedi teaches the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the selection menu includes at least a geographic region, a list of customized cells, one or more vendors, and/or one or more technologies (graphical user interface 300 comprises a plurality of parameter input fields and a plurality of node and aggregation selection input fields. The plurality of parameter input fields comprise one or more fields configured to receive a report name, report type, a report mode, a domain, a network service provider name, a network technology, or some other suitable detail. The plurality of node and aggregation selection inputs comprise fields to receive an input indicative of at least one of a geographical location, a cluster name, a node aggregation level, a country level, a region, a state/prefecture, a city, a group center, a site status, a node aggregation, a frequency band, a site category, an interface name, an exclusion category, or some other suitable parameter for identifying a node or group of nodes.; Figs. 1 and 3, [0057]-[0058], [0061]-[0063]).
With respect to claim 8, Trivedi teaches the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein said time period for analysis is selected by the user from a set of predefined options such as per day, Billing Busy Hour (BBH), and Network Busy Hour (NBH) (causing the graphical user interface to display a scheduling interface. Processing one or more user inputs associated with a duration and/or frequency that the performance report is to be run and/or a format by which the performance report is to be output. The frequency is one or more of every 15 minutes, daily, weekly, monthly, hourly, at a bouncing busy hour, at a network busy hour, at a busiest day, or some other custom frequency timing; Figs. 1 and 5, [0043], [0077]-[0079]).
With respect to claim 9, Trivedi teaches the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processing engine filters the list of KPIs based on a pre-defined criteria (Based on the user inputs receive by way of the parameter input fields and the node selection and aggregation selection input fields in graphical user interface 200, network management platform 101 causes graphical user interface 400 to display and populate a list of one or more KPIs associated with monitoring the communication network. The KPIs included in the KPI list in user interface 400 are those that network management platform 101 recognizes as being associated with the one or more parameter selection inputs and the node selection inputs; Figs. 1 and 4, [0040]-[0042], [0070]-[0071]).
With respect to claim 10, Trivedi teaches the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the visual representation of change impact data is one or more of the following: a time-series chart depicting the impact for each KPI over said time period; a heatmap visually representing the change impact across selected geographic region(s) or customized cell(s); and a table summarizing calculated change impact data for each KPI (graphical user interface 200 is a performance report list. The performance report list comprises a list of performance reports that are pre-existing and available for viewing and/or modification. The performance report list includes high level details regarding the information included in the performance report such as report name, report type, domain, network service provider name, node, technology, duration, frequency, and geography/aggregation level; Figs. 1-2, [0050], [0085], [0103]-[0104]).
With respect to claim 11, Trivedi teaches the system as claimed in claim 8, further comprising: generating a detailed report summarizing the analysis, including: the plurality of parameters; calculated impact values for each KPI; visual representation of the change impact data; and a table summarizing the calculated impact values for each KPI (graphical user interface 200 is a performance report list. The performance report list comprises a list of performance reports that are pre-existing and available for viewing and/or modification. The performance report list includes high level details regarding the information included in the performance report such as report name, report type, domain, network service provider name, node, technology, duration, frequency, and geography/aggregation level; Figs. 1-2, [0050], [0085], [0103]-[0104]).
With respect to claim 12, Trivedi teaches a method for implementing automated change impact analysis in a network (Abstract), the method comprising:
displaying, by an interface (generating a graphical user interface that is output to a display by way of a terminal associated with network management platform for a user; Fig. 1, [0027]), a selection menu for enabling a selection of a plurality of parameters by a user (causing a report detail and node selection interface to be displayed. The report detail and node selection interface is configured to receive user inputs regarding one or more parameters that correspond to various report detail options and user inputs that correspond to node selection(s) for which the report is to be generated; Figs. 1 and 3, [0035], [0056]-[0058]);
presenting, based on the selection, a list of key performance indicators (KPIs) corresponding to the plurality of parameters within the interface (causing the appropriately linked KPIs to be included in the list of KPIs according to the KPI group that is selected for display in the graphical user interface. One or more of the KPIs are selected for inclusion in the performance report from the list of KPIs to a performance report generation workspace in the graphical user interface; Figs. 1 and 4, [0041]-[0042], [0070]);
receiving an input by the user to select one or more KPIs from said list of KPIs and a time period for processing (causing the graphical user interface to display a scheduling interface. Processing one or more user inputs associated with a duration and/or frequency that the performance report is to be run and/or a format by which the performance report is to be output; Figs. 1 and 4-5, [0041]-[0043], [0070], [0077]-[0079]);
determining, by a processing engine, a true average impact data corresponding to each of the one or more selected KPIs (causing the graphical user interface to display a scheduling interface. Processing one or more user inputs associated with a duration and/or frequency that the performance report is to be run and/or a format by which the performance report is to be output; Figs. 1 and 5, [0043], [0077]-[0079]); and
displaying, by the interface, a visual representation of the true average impact data representing a change for each of the one or more selected KPIs for said time period (graphical user interface 200 is a performance report list. The performance report list comprises a list of performance reports that are pre-existing and available for viewing and/or modification. The performance report list includes high level details regarding the information included in the performance report such as report name, report type, domain, network service provider name, node, technology, duration, frequency, and geography/aggregation level; Figs. 1-2, [0050], [0085], [0103]-[0104]).
The limitations of claims 14, 18 and 20-22 are rejected in the analysis of claims 4 and 8-11 respectively and these claims are rejected on that basis.
With respect to claim 19, Trivedi teaches the method as claimed in claim 12, wherein the selection menu includes a drop-down menu (selection inputs are received by way of a drill-down menu; [0036], [0061], [0063]-[0064], [0093], [0095]).
The limitations of claims 23 and 24 are rejected in the analysis of claim 12 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trivedi in view of “Nagar et al.” (US PGPUB 2023/0236922) (Hereinafter Nagar).
With respect to claim 2, Trivedi teaches the system as claimed in claim 1. Trivedi does not teach wherein a Machine Learning (ML) module is configured to identify and remove anomalies in the determined true average impact data.
However, Nagar teaches wherein a Machine Learning (ML) module is configured to identify and remove anomalies in the determined true average impact data (utilizing natural language input in the processing and evaluation of informational logs to eliminate or mitigate the anomalies; [0083]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate removing anomalies to Trivedi because Trivedi discloses determining anomalies ([0019]) and Nagar suggests removing anomalies ([0083]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nagar in the Trivedi system in order to ensure validity and stability of a network.
The limitations of claim 13 are rejected in the analysis of claim 2 above and this claim is rejected on that basis.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trivedi in view of “Trivedi et al.” (US PGPUB 2023/0246901) (Hereinafter Trivedi2).
With respect to claim 6, Trivedi teaches the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the user is configured to: select at least one vendor and at least one technology from a predefined list or enter custom specifications for analysis (graphical user interface 300 comprises a plurality of parameter input fields and a plurality of node and aggregation selection input fields. The plurality of parameter input fields comprise one or more fields configured to receive a report name, report type, a report mode, a domain, a network service provider name, a network technology, or some other suitable detail. The plurality of node and aggregation selection inputs comprise fields to receive an input indicative of at least one of a geographical location, a cluster name, a node aggregation level, a country level, a region, a state/prefecture, a city, a group center, a site status, a node aggregation, a frequency band, a site category, an interface name, an exclusion category, or some other suitable parameter for identifying a node or group of nodes.; Figs. 1 and 3, [0057]-[0058], [0061]-[0063]).
Trivedi does not teach select KPIs for analysis based on downlink, uplink, latency, and/or total traffic.
However, Trivedi2 teaches select KPIs for analysis based on downlink, uplink, latency, and/or total traffic (a user wants to detect and/or predict anomalies for one KPI according to network traffic; [0032]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selecting KPIs for analysis based on different criteria to Trivedi because Trivedi discloses determining anomalies ([0019]) and Trivedi2 suggests selecting KPIs for analysis based on different criteria ([0032]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Trivedi2 in the Trivedi system in order to improve network performance analysis.
The limitations of claim 16 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6 above and this claim is rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Dhaka et al. US 2024/0205097. Discloses providing new site impact analysis for network improvement.
Ponnada et al. US 2019/0147096. Discloses generating and rendering interactive analysis.
Singh et al. US 2019/0102719. Discloses graphical user interfaces for dynamic information technology performance analytics and recommendations.
Asba et al. US 2020/0236006. Discloses guided interface for configuring key performance indicators.
/JOHNNY B AGUIAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447
June 17, 2026