DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“pressure control element” in claim 1.
“heat exchange element” in claim 1.
“heat absorption element” in claim 2.
“control unit” in claim 5.
“system” in claim 15.
“plurality of heat expelling elements” in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 10-11, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorenzo (US 20210285690), hereinafter referred to as Lorenzo, in view of Takahashi (JP S5810491), hereinafter referred to as Takahashi.
Re claim 1 and 17-18, Lorenzo a heat exchange element, comprising
an outer flow element (1),
an inner flow element (2) arranged within the outer flow element,
an element flow path (path inside 1 and 2) comprising forward flow path (see e.g. Fig 1, arrow going down) and a return flow path (see e.g. Fig 1, arrow going up), wherein.
the forward flow path is arranged between the outer flow element and the inner flow element (see e.g. Fig 1),
the return flow path is arranged within the inner flow element (see e.g. Fig 1),
the element flow path is configured to guide a working fluid from the forward flow path to the return flow path (see e.g. Fig 1), and
Lorenzo does not teach the limitation of a pressure control element, arranged fluidically between the forward flow path and the return flow path.
However, Takahashi teaches a heat exchanger comprising a pressure control element (e.g. 20), arranged fluidically between a forward flow path and a return flow path (see Fig 2).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person or ordinary skill in the art to have modified Lorenzo and integrated a pressure control element, arranged fluidically between the forward flow path and the return flow path, as taught by Takahashi, in order to improve efficiency (see Takahashi abstract).
Moreover, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by and/or obvious over the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Re claim 3, Lorenzo, as modified, teaches the heat exchange element according to claim 1. Takahashi further teaches wherein the pressure control element has at least a first position having a first fluid return opening and second position having a second fluid return opening, wherein the second fluid return opening is greater than the first fluid return opening (inherent that a valve has at least two positions one where the open position is 100% and another where the open position is 0%).
Re claim 5, Lorenzo, as modified, teaches the heat exchange element according to claim 1. Takahashi further teaches further comprising a control unit configured to control the pressure control element (e.g. description, “the pressure of the spring 16 can be controlled by adjusting the natsuto 19”).
Re claim 10, Lorenzo, as modified, teaches the heat exchange element according to claim 1. Lorenzo further teaches the forward flow path has an annular cross section and the return flow path as a circular cross section (see Fig 2).
Re claim 11, Lorenzo, as modified, teaches the heat exchange element according to claim 1. Takahashi further teaches wherein the pressure control element is arranged at a distal outer end of the inner flow element (e.g. see Fig 1-2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-9, 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (see PTO-892)14.
/NELSON J NIEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 06/19/2026