DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of invention I, claims 1-18, in the reply filed on 6/19/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the method claim directly corresponds to and implements the same features recited in the system claims, such that examination would substantially overlap, and accordingly there is no serious burden to search Claims 1-20 together, and thus, unelected Group II (Claims 19-20) should remain pending in the application.
Examiner finds that such argument is not persuasive because it relies on the assumption that the search and examination of the inventions would be about the same; however, the issues raised in the examination of apparatus claims are divergent from those raised in the examination of process claims. Further, while there may be some overlap in the searches of the inventions, there is no reason to believe that the difference in the searches would be at most, slight. A serious search burden exists if restriction were not required because the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries). In particular, the process, a method for curing a tire in a mold, and the apparatus, tire curing systems, require searching different classes/subclasses and employing different search queries. Therefore, based on the additional work involved in searching and examining the distinct inventions together, restriction of the distinct inventions is clear.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old appears to be illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 3, ln 1 recites “wherein the power from” which appears to be a misstatement of “wherein the power is from”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bridgestone (JP 2012-25126) in view of Okada et al (US 2009/0308861).
Regarding Claim 1, Bridgestone Corp discloses a waterless tire curing system for curing a tire in a mold utilizing a bladder disposed in an interior of the mold (English Machine Translation: pg 3, para 10-14; pg 4, para 3-5, vulcanizing a green tire using steam, bladder, and a mold), the tire curing system comprising: a mold platen including a first induction coil, the first induction coil configured to produce a first electromagnetic field to induce a first eddy current in the mold platen (Fig. 1; pg 3, para 12-18; pg 4, para 3-5, molding container, 6, comprises a pair of electromagnetic induction coils, 14, which at least inherently produces an electromagnetic field when energized and is capable of producing an eddy current within plate, 7, because the coil pair is located within the plate, as shown.); a mold jacket including a second induction coil, the second induction coil configured to produce a second electromagnetic field to induce a second eddy current in the mold jacket (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 3-5, electromagnetic induction coil, 16, which at least inherently produces an electromagnetic field when energized and is capable of producing an eddy current within container ring, 10, with paired induction heating element, 13.); and a gas supply system configured to provide a heated pressurized gas and circulate the heated pressurized gas through the bladder to expand the bladder and force the tire into contact with an interior surface of the mold (Fig. 1; pg 3, para 12-18; pg 4, para 3-6; pressurized steam supplied to expand the bladder, 4, to form a tire with a steam flow jacket with heat from induction heating elements, 11 12 13.), wherein a first heat energy generated by the first eddy current induced in the mold platen is transferred to the mold and the tire (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 3-6, induction heating element, 11.), a second heat energy generated by the second eddy current induced in the mold jacket is transferred to the mold and the tire (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 3-6, induction heating element, 12.), and a third heat energy from the heated pressurized gas is transferred to the bladder and the tire (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 2-6, induction heating element, 13, forming a steam flow jacket with heat from induction coil, 16, into the bladder.), the first heat energy, the second heat energy, and the third heat energy effective to cure the tire (pg 3, para 12-18; green tire is vulcanized.); but does not specifically disclose that the gas is nitrogen. However, Okada discloses induction coils for use in curing a tire using pressured nitrogen gas to inflate a bladder (para [0069]-[0073]). To a person of ordinary skill in the art, substituting nitrogen gas as taught by Okada would have been obvious for use in the waterless tire curing system as in Bridgestone Corp in order to improve heating efficiency of the tire through the bladder (para [0070], [0087]), because Bridgestone Corp and Okada are directed towards tire curing systems.
Regarding Claim 2, Okada further discloses the waterless tire curing system of Claim 1, wherein the first induction coil and the second induction coil include a material is selected from a group consisting of silver, gold, copper (para [0059]), magnesium, aluminum (para [0013], [0059]), tungsten, molybdenum, beryllium, and zinc.
Regarding Claim 3, Okada further discloses the waterless tire curing system of Claim 1, wherein the first induction coil and the second induction coil are formed from a material having a high thermal diffusivity (para [0013], [0059], [0087]-[0095], aluminum and copper are taught as coil materials, which Applicant claims as suitable materials (instant para [0018]).); but does not specifically disclose a diffusivity equal to or greater than 4.0 x10-5 m2/s. To a person of ordinary skill in the art, varying the diffusivity of the materials would have been obvious through routine experimentation in order to optimize the heating efficiency of the tire at low cost (para [0005], [0016]-[0020]).
Regarding Claim 4, Bridgestone Corp further discloses the waterless tire curing system of Claim 1, wherein an insulating material surrounds at least a portion of the first induction coil and the second induction coil (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 2-6; pg 4, para 15; insulating elements, 17 18 19, and induction coils, 14 15 16.).
Regarding Claim 5, Okada further discloses the waterless tire curing system of Claim 4, wherein the insulating material has a thermal diffusivity (para [0062], [0085], radiation of heat is suppressed with heat insulating material.); but does not specifically disclose diffusivity equal to or less than 7.0 x10^-6 m2/s. To a person of ordinary skill in the art, varying the diffusivity of the insulator would have been obvious through routine experimentation in order to optimize the heating efficiency of the tire at low cost (para [0085]-[0086]).
Regarding Claim 11, Bridgestone Corp discloses a tire curing system for curing a tire in a mold utilizing a bladder disposed in an interior of the mold (English Machine Translation: pg 3, para 10-14; pg 4, para 3-5, vulcanizing a green tire using steam, bladder, and a mold), the tire curing system comprising: a mold platen including a first induction coil, the first induction coil configured to produce a first electromagnetic field to induce a first eddy current in the mold platen (Fig. 1; pg 3, para 12-18; pg 4, para 3-5, molding container, 6, comprises a pair of electromagnetic induction coils, 14, which at least inherently produces an electromagnetic field when energized and is capable of producing an eddy current within plate, 7, because the coil pair is located within the plate, as shown.), a mold jacket including a second induction coil, the second induction coil configured to produce a second electromagnetic field to induce a second eddy current in the mold jacket (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 3-5, electromagnetic induction coil, 16, which at least inherently produces an electromagnetic field when energized and is capable of producing an eddy current within container ring, 10, with paired induction heating element, 13.); a nitrogen supply system configured to provide a heated pressurized nitrogen gas and circulate the heated pressurized nitrogen gas through the bladder to expand the bladder and force the tire into contact with an interior surface of the mold (Fig. 1; pg 3, para 12-18; pg 4, para 3-6; pressurized steam supplied to expand the bladder, 4, to form a tire with a steam flow jacket with heat from induction heating elements, 11 12 15.), wherein a first heat energy generated by the first eddy current induced in the mold platen is transferred to the mold and the tire (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 3-6, induction heating element, 11.), a second heat energy generated by the second eddy current induced in the mold jacket is transferred to the mold and the tire (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 3-6, induction heating element, 12.), and a third heat energy from the heated pressurized nitrogen gas is transferred to the bladder and the tire (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 2-6, induction heating element, 13, forming a steam flow jacket with heat from induction coil, 16, into the bladder.), the first heat energy, the second heat energy, and the third heat energy effective to cure the tire (pg 3, para 12-18; green tire is vulcanized.); and a control system configured to monitor and control a temperature of the mold by control of the first electromagnetic field generated by the first induction coil and the second electromagnetic field generated by the second induction coil, and to monitor and control a temperature, a pressure, and a flow rate of the heated pressurized nitrogen gas circulated through the bladder by control of the nitrogen supply system (pg 4, para 1-6; pg 4, para 11-14, controlling heat generated by induction coils and electromagnetic induction heaters with finely controlled temperature based on temperature sensors, to control supply of steam, pressurized steam, and steam flow.); but does not specifically disclose that the gas is nitrogen. However, Okada discloses induction coils for use in curing a tire using pressured nitrogen gas to inflate a bladder (para [0069]-[0073]). To a person of ordinary skill in the art, substituting nitrogen gas as taught by Okada would have been obvious for use in the waterless tire curing system as in Bridgestone Corp in order to improve heating efficiency of the tire through the bladder (para [0070], [0087]), because Bridgestone Corp and Okada are directed towards tire curing systems.
Regarding Claim 12, Okada further discloses the tire curing system of Claim 11, wherein the first induction coil and the second induction coil include a material selected from a group consisting of silver, gold, copper (para [0059]), magnesium, aluminum (para [0013], [0059]), tungsten, molybdenum, beryllium, and zinc.
Regarding Claim 13, Okada further discloses the tire curing system of Claim 11, wherein the first induction coil and the second induction coil are formed from a material having a high thermal diffusivity (para [0013], [0059], [0087]-[0095], aluminum and copper are taught as coil materials, which Applicant claims as suitable materials (instant para [0018]).); but does not specifically disclose a diffusivity equal to or greater than 4.0 x10^-5 m2/s. To a person of ordinary skill in the art, varying the diffusivity of the materials would have been obvious through routine experimentation in order to optimize the heating efficiency of the tire at low cost (para [0005], [0016]-[0020]).
Regarding Claim 14, Bridgestone Corp further discloses the tire curing system of Claim 11, wherein an insulating material surrounds at least a portion of the first induction coil and the second induction coil (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 2-6; pg 4, para 15; insulating elements, 17 18 19, and induction coils, 16.).
Regarding Claim 15, Okada further discloses the tire curing system of Claim 14, wherein the insulating material has a thermal diffusivity (para [0062], [0085], radiation of heat is suppressed with heat insulating material.); but does not specifically disclose diffusivity equal to or less than 7.0 x10-6 m2/s. To a person of ordinary skill in the art, varying the diffusivity of the insulator would have been obvious through routine experimentation in order to optimize the heating efficiency of the tire at low cost (para [0085]-[0086]) equal to or less than 7.0x10-6 m2/s.
Claims 1 6-11 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bridgestone (JP 2012-25126) in view of Mitamuraa et al (US 6551085).
Regarding Claim 1, Bridgestone Corp discloses a waterless tire curing system for curing a tire in a mold utilizing a bladder disposed in an interior of the mold (English Machine Translation: pg 3, para 10-14; pg 4, para 3-5, vulcanizing a green tire using steam, bladder, and a mold), the tire curing system comprising: a mold platen including a first induction coil, the first induction coil configured to produce a first electromagnetic field to induce a first eddy current in the mold platen (Fig. 1; pg 3, para 12-18; pg 4, para 3-5, molding container, 6, comprises a pair of electromagnetic induction coils, 14, which at least inherently produces an electromagnetic field when energized and is capable of producing an eddy current within plate, 7, because the coil pair is located within the plate, as shown.); a mold jacket including a second induction coil, the second induction coil configured to produce a second electromagnetic field to induce a second eddy current in the mold jacket (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 3-5, electromagnetic induction coil, 16, which at least inherently produces an electromagnetic field when energized and is capable of producing an eddy current within container ring, 10, with paired induction heating element, 13.); and a gas supply system configured to provide a heated pressurized gas and circulate the heated pressurized gas through the bladder to expand the bladder and force the tire into contact with an interior surface of the mold (Fig. 1; pg 3, para 12-18; pg 4, para 3-6; pressurized steam supplied to expand the bladder, 4, to form a tire with a steam flow jacket with heat from induction heating elements, 11 15.), wherein a first heat energy generated by the first eddy current induced in the mold platen is transferred to the mold and the tire (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 3-6, induction heating element, 11.), a second heat energy generated by the second eddy current induced in the mold jacket is transferred to the mold and the tire (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 3-6, induction heating element, 12.), and a third heat energy from the heated pressurized gas is transferred to the bladder and the tire (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 2-6, induction heating element, 13, forming a steam flow jacket with heat from induction coil, 16, into the bladder.), the first heat energy, the second heat energy, and the third heat energy effective to cure the tire (pg 3, para 12-18; green tire is vulcanized.); but does not specifically disclose that the gas is nitrogen. However, Mitamura discloses a tire curing system for curing a tire in a mold utilizing a bladder disposed in an interior of the mold (col 1, In 63 to col 2, In 27; col 4, In 10-35), comprising a first induction coil (col 4, In 66 to col 5, In 6), second induction coil (col 6, In 11-24), bladder (col 5, In 7-22), and a nitrogen supply system configured to provide a heated pressurized nitrogen gas and circulate the heated pressurized nitrogen gas through the bladder to expand the bladder and force the tire into contact with an interior surface of the mold (col 4, In 37-65; col 7, In 64 to col 8, In 16, steam or nitrogen may be used as a pressurized medium to inflate the green tire.). To a person of ordinary skill in the art, substituting nitrogen for steam as taught by Mitamura would have been obvious for use with the tire curing system that uses steam as in Bridgestone Corp in order to provide high temperature and high pressure to expand tires having a large wall thickness (Mitamura: col 8, In 46-51), because Bridgestone Corp and Mitamura are directed towards tire curing mold systems comprising induction coils.
Regarding Claim 6, Bridgestone Corp further discloses the waterless tire curing system of Claim 1, wherein the gas supply system includes a flow path for a gas from a source of nitrogen to the bladder, the flow path including two heaters in series configured to heat the gas (Fig. 1; pg 3, para 12-18; pg 4, para 3-6; pressurized steam supplied to expand the bladder, 4, to form a tire with a steam flow jacket with heat from induction heating elements, 11 12 15.); but does not specifically disclose that the gas is nitrogen and the two heaters having decreasing kilowatt ratings in a direction of the flow path. However, regarding nitrogen, Mitamura discloses a tire curing system for curing a tire in a mold utilizing a bladder disposed in an interior of the mold (col 1, In 63 to col 2, In 27; col 4, In 10-35), comprising a first induction coil (col 4, In 66 to col 5, In 6), second induction coil (col 6, In 11-24), bladder (col 5, In 7-22), and a nitrogen supply system configured to provide a heated pressurized nitrogen gas and circulate the heated pressurized nitrogen gas through the bladder to expand the bladder and force the tire into contact with an interior surface of the mold (col 4, In 37-65; col 7, In 64 to col 8, In 16, steam or nitrogen may be used as a pressurized medium to inflate the green tire.). To a person of ordinary skill in the art, substituting nitrogen for steam as taught by Mitamura would have been obvious for use with the tire curing system that uses steam as in Bridgestone Corp in order to provide high temperature and high pressure to expand tires having a large wall thickness (Mitamura: col 8, In 46-51), because Bridgestone Corp and Mitamura are directed towards tire curing mold systems comprising induction coils. Further, regarding kilowatt ratings, Bridgestone Corp discloses further discloses finely controlled temperature of the surface to control vulcanization of the tire for desired thickness of tire sections (pg 4, para 9-13). To a person of ordinary skill in the art, varying the power provided to the induction heaters or induction coils would have been obvious through routine experimentation to optimize the heat provided to the tire surface or bladder for vulcanizing according to the desired thickness of the tire or tire molding regions (Bridgestone Corp: pg 4, para 2).
Regarding Claim 7, Bridgestone Corp further discloses the waterless tire curing system of Claim 6, wherein the gas supply system includes an auxiliary flow path in fluid communication with the interior of the bladder, the auxiliary flow path including an auxiliary pump and an auxiliary heater configured to facilitate regulating at least one of the third heat energy (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 3-6, induction heating element, 15, forming a steam flow jacket with heat from induction element, 11 13.) and a pressure of the gas in the bladder (Fig. 1; pg 3, para 12-18; pg 4, para 3-6; pressurized steam supplied to expand the bladder, 4, to form a tire with a steam flow jacket with heat from induction heating elements, 11 13.); but does not specifically disclose nitrogen supply system provides the heated pressurized nitrogen gas at about a minimum of 207.5 degrees Centigrade, 420 pounds per square inch, and 5 ft^3 minute; but does not specifically disclose that the gas is nitrogen. However, Mitamura discloses a tire curing system for curing a tire in a mold utilizing a bladder disposed in an interior of the mold (col 1, In 63 to col 2, In 27; col 4, In 10-35), comprising a first induction coil (col 4, In 66 to col 5, In 6), second induction coil (col 6, In 11-24), bladder (col 5, In 7-22), and a nitrogen supply system configured to provide a heated pressurized nitrogen gas and circulate the heated pressurized nitrogen gas through the bladder to expand the bladder and force the tire into contact with an interior surface of the mold (col 4, In 37-65; col 7, In 64 to col 8, In 16, steam or nitrogen may be used as a pressurized medium to inflate the green tire.). To a person of ordinary skill in the art, substituting nitrogen for steam as taught by Mitamura would have been obvious for use with the tire curing system that uses steam as in Bridgestone Corp in order to provide high temperature and high pressure to expand tires having a large wall thickness (Mitamura: col 8, In 46-51), because Bridgestone Corp and Mitamura are directed towards tire curing mold systems comprising induction coils.
Regarding Claim 8, Bridgestone Corp further discloses the waterless tire curing system of Claim 1, wherein the gas supply system provides the heated pressurized gas and flow (Fig. 1; pg 3, para 12-18; pg 4, para 3-6; pressurized steam supplied to expand the bladder, 4, to form a tire with a steam flow jacket with heat from induction heating elements, but does not specifically disclose nitrogen supply system provides the heated pressurized nitrogen gas at about a minimum of 207.5 degrees Centigrade, 420 pounds per square inch, and 5 ft^3 minute. However, regarding nitrogen, Mitamura discloses a tire curing system for curing a tire in a mold utilizing a bladder disposed in an interior of the mold (col 1, In 63 to col 2, In 27; col 4, In 10-35), comprising a first induction coil (col 4, In 66 to col 5, In 6), second induction coil (col 6, In 11-24), bladder (col 5, In 7-22), and a nitrogen supply system configured to provide a heated pressurized nitrogen gas and circulate the heated pressurized nitrogen gas through the bladder to expand the bladder and force the tire into contact with an interior surface of the mold (col 4, In 37-65; col 7, In 64 to col 8, In 16, steam or nitrogen may be used as a pressurized medium to inflate the green tire.) at a temperature of around 200 degrees Centigrade (col 2, In 28-30). To a person of ordinary skill in the art, substituting nitrogen for steam and varying the temperature as taught by Mitamura would have been obvious through routine experimentation for use with the tire curing system that uses steam as in Bridgestone Corp in order to optimize provision of temperature to expand tires having a large wall thickness (Mitamura: col 8, In 46-51), because Bridgestone Corp and Mitamura are directed towards tire curing mold systems comprising induction coils. Further, Bridgestone Corp discloses further discloses finely controlled temperature of the surface to control vulcanization of the tire for desired thickness of tire sections (pg 4, para 9-13). To a person of ordinary skill in the art, varying pressure and flow rate of the gas would have been obvious through routine experimentation to optimize the pressured needed to inflate the bladder to produce and vulcanize the tire according to the desired thickness of the tire or tire molding regions (Bridgestone Corp: pg 4, para 2).
Regarding Claim 9, Bridgestone Corp further discloses the waterless tire curing system of Claim 1, further comprising a control system, the control system configured to monitor and control a temperature of the mold by control of the first electromagnetic field generated by the first induction coil, by control of the second electromagnetic field generated by the second induction coil, and to monitor and control a temperature, a pressure, and a flow rate the heated pressurized nitrogen gas by control of the nitrogen supply system (pg 4, para 1-6; pg 4, para 11-14, controlling heat generated by induction coils and electromagnetic induction heaters with finely controlled temperature based on temperature sensors, to control supply of steam, pressurized steam, and steam flow.).
Regarding Claim 10, Bridgestone Corp further discloses the waterless tire curing system of Claim 9, wherein the control system includes at least one sensor configured to measure the temperature of an object selected from a group consisting of the first induction coil, the second induction coil, the mold platen, the mold jacket, the mold, the bladder, the heated pressurized nitrogen gas, and the tire (pg 3, para 9; pg 4, para 13; temperature sensor disposed on the surface of the mold); but does not specifically disclose that the temperature sensor is a thermal couple. To a person of ordinary skill in the art, selecting among known types of temperature sensors would have been obvious through routine experimentation in order to optimize control of the vulcanization process for desired thickness of the tire regions (pg 4, para 2).
Regarding Claim 11, Bridgestone Corp discloses a tire curing system for curing a tire in a mold utilizing a bladder disposed in an interior of the mold (English Machine Translation: pg 3, para 10-14; pg 4, para 3-5, vulcanizing a green tire using steam, bladder, and a mold), the tire curing system comprising: a mold platen including a first induction coil, the first induction coil configured to produce a first electromagnetic field to induce a first eddy current in the mold platen (Fig. 1; pg 3, para 12-18; pg 4, para 3-5, molding container, 6, comprises a pair of electromagnetic induction coils, 14, which at least inherently produces an electromagnetic field when energized and is capable of producing an eddy current within plate, 7, because the coil pair is located within the plate, as shown.); a mold jacket including a second induction coil, the second induction coil configured to produce a second electromagnetic field to induce a second eddy current in the mold jacket (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 3-5, electromagnetic induction coil, 16, which at least inherently produces an electromagnetic field when energized and is capable of producing an eddy current within container ring, 10, with paired induction heating element, 13.); a nitrogen supply system configured to provide a heated pressurized nitrogen gas and circulate the heated pressurized nitrogen gas through the bladder to expand the bladder and force the tire into contact with an interior surface of the mold (Fig. 1; pg 3, para 12-18; pg 4, para 3-6; pressurized steam supplied to expand the bladder, 4, to form a tire with a steam flow jacket with heat from induction heating elements, 11 12 13.), wherein a first heat energy generated by the first eddy current induced in the mold platen is transferred to the mold and the tire (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 3-6, induction heating element, 11.), a second heat energy generated by the second eddy current induced in the mold jacket is transferred to the mold and the tire (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 3-6, induction heating element, 12.), and a third heat energy from the heated pressurized nitrogen gas is transferred to the bladder and the tire (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 2-6, induction heating element, 13, forming a steam flow jacket with heat from induction coil, 16, into the bladder.), the first heat energy, the second heat energy, and the third heat energy effective to cure the tire (pg 3, para 12-18; green tire is vulcanized.); and a control system configured to monitor and control a temperature of the mold by control of the first electromagnetic field generated by the first induction coil and the second electromagnetic field generated by the second induction coil, and to monitor and control a temperature, a pressure, and a flow rate of the heated pressurized nitrogen gas circulated through the bladder by control of the nitrogen supply system (pg 4, para 1-6; pg 4, para 11-14, controlling heat generated by induction coils and electromagnetic induction heaters with finely controlled temperature based on temperature sensors, to control supply of steam, pressurized steam, and steam flow.); but does not specifically disclose that the gas is nitrogen. However, Mitamura discloses a tire curing system for curing a tire in a mold utilizing a bladder disposed in an interior of the mold (col 1, In 63 to col 2, In 27; col 4, In 10-35), comprising a first induction coil (col 4, In 66 to col 5, In 6), second induction coil (col 6, In 11-24), bladder (col 5, In 7-22), and a nitrogen supply system configured to provide a heated pressurized nitrogen gas and circulate the heated pressurized nitrogen gas through the bladder to expand the bladder and force the tire into contact with an interior surface of the mold (col 4, In 37-65; col 7, In 64 to col 8, In 16, steam or nitrogen may be used as a pressurized medium to inflate the green tire.). To a person of ordinary skill in the art, substituting nitrogen for steam as taught by Mitamura would have been obvious for use with the tire curing system that uses steam as in Bridgestone Corp in order to provide high temperature and high pressure to expand tires having a large wall thickness (Mitamura: col 8, In 46-51), because Bridgestone Corp and Mitamura are directed towards tire curing mold systems comprising induction coils.
Regarding Claim 16, Bridgestone Corp discloses further discloses the tire curing system of Claim 11, wherein the nitrogen supply system includes a flow path for a nitrogen gas from a source of nitrogen to the bladder, the flow path including two heaters in series configured to heat the nitrogen gas (Fig. 1; pg 3, para 12-18; pg 4, para 3-6; pressurized steam supplied to expand the bladder, 4, to form a tire with a steam flow jacket with heat from induction heating elements, 11 12 but does not specifically disclose that the gas is nitrogen and the two heaters having decreasing kilowatt ratings in a direction of the flow path. However, regarding nitrogen, Mitamura discloses a tire curing system for curing a tire in a mold utilizing a bladder disposed in an interior of the mold (col 1, In 63 to col 2, In 27; col 4, In 10-35), comprising a first induction coil (col 4, In 66 to col 5, In 6), second induction coil (col 6, In 11-24), bladder (col 5, In 7-22), and a nitrogen supply system configured to provide a heated pressurized nitrogen gas and circulate the heated pressurized nitrogen gas through the bladder to expand the bladder and force the tire into contact with an interior surface of the mold (col 4, In 37-65; col 7, In 64 to col 8, In 16, steam or nitrogen may be used as a pressurized medium to inflate the green tire.). To a person of ordinary skill in the art, substituting nitrogen for steam as taught by Mitamura would have been obvious for use with the tire curing system that uses steam as in Bridgestone Corp in order to provide high temperature and high pressure to expand tires having a large wall thickness (Mitamura: col 8, In 46-51), because Bridgestone Corp and Mitamura are directed towards tire curing mold systems comprising induction coils. Further, regarding kilowatt ratings, Bridgestone Corp discloses further discloses finely controlled temperature of the surface to control vulcanization of the tire for desired thickness of tire sections (pg 4, para 9-13). To a person of ordinary skill in the art, varying the power provided to the induction heaters or induction coils would have been obvious through routine experimentation to optimize the heat provided to the tire surface or bladder for vulcanizing according to the desired thickness of the tire or tire molding regions (Bridgestone Corp: pg 4, para 2).
Regarding Claim 17, Bridgestone Corp discloses further discloses the tire curing system of Claim 11, wherein the gas supply system includes an auxiliary flow path in fluid communication with the interior of the bladder, the auxiliary flow path including an auxiliary pump and an auxiliary heater configured to facilitate regulating at least one of the third heat energy (Fig. 1; pg 4, para 3-6, induction heating element, 15, forming a steam flow jacket with heat from induction element, 11 13.) and a pressure of the gas in the bladder (Fig. 1; pg 3, para 12-18; pg 4, para 3-6; pressurized steam supplied to expand the bladder, 4, to form a tire with a steam flow jacket with heat from induction heating elements, 11 13.); but does not specifically disclose nitrogen supply system provides the heated pressurized nitrogen gas at about a minimum of 207.5 degrees Centigrade, 420 pounds per square inch, and 5 ft^3 minute; but does not specifically disclose that the gas is nitrogen. However, Mitamura discloses a tire curing system for curing a tire in a mold utilizing a bladder disposed in an interior of the mold (col 1, In 63 to col 2, In 27; col 4, In 10-35), comprising a first induction coil (col 4, In 66 to col 5, In 6), second induction coil (col 6, In 11-24), bladder (col 5, In 7-22), and a nitrogen supply system configured to provide a heated pressurized nitrogen gas and circulate the heated pressurized nitrogen gas through the bladder to expand the bladder and force the tire into contact with an interior surface of the mold (col 4, In 37-65; col 7, In 64 to col 8, In 16, steam or nitrogen may be used as a pressurized medium to inflate the green tire.). To a person of ordinary skill in the art, substituting nitrogen for steam as taught by Mitamura would have been obvious for use with the tire curing system that uses steam as in Bridgestone Corp in order to provide high temperature and high pressure to expand tires having a large wall thickness (Mitamura: col 8, In 46-51), because Bridgestone Corp and Mitamura are directed towards tire curing mold systems comprising induction coils.
Regarding Claim 18, Bridgestone Corp discloses further discloses the tire curing system of Claim 11, wherein the control system includes at least one sensor configured to measure the temperature of an object selected from a group consisting of the first induction coil, the second induction coil, the mold platen, the mold jacket, the mold, the bladder, the heated pressurized nitrogen gas, and the tire (pg 3, para 9; pg 4, para 13; temperature sensor disposed on the surface of the mold); but does not specifically disclose that the temperature sensor is a thermal couple. To a person of ordinary skill in the art, selecting among known types of temperature sensors would have been obvious through routine experimentation in order to optimize control of the vulcanization process for desired thickness of the tire regions (pg 4, para 2).
Conclusion
/JAMES SANDERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743