DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8, 11-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Raeis Hosseiny et al. (US 2021/0229509 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Raeis discloses a first electronic device (e.g. Fig. 1: mobile device 120) in a wireless communication system (e.g. Fig. 1: 125 & [0019]), comprising:
a transceiver (e.g. Fig. 1: 130 & [0025]); and a controller (e.g. Fig. 1: 121 & [0024]), wherein the controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to control to:
transmit, to a second electronic device (e.g. Fig. 1: 105), a first message for activating autonomous driving- based parking (RSPA) of the second electronic device (e.g. [0048]: the process begins with starting up application on the mobile device, and authenticate the mobile device and/or the app with the vehicle; thus, message is sent from the mobile device and/or the app to the vehicle to request authentication or perform authentication for communication connection. And, this communication and/or initial connection is broadly interpreted as the first message for activating the second electronic device);
receive, from the second electronic device, measurement information (e.g. Figs. 1, 5 & 6 and [0053]: phone control unit 107 receives measurement information between vehicle and obstacles at/near the target parking position) for ultra-wideband (UWB) ranging performed by the second electronic device (e.g. [0044]: radar/ranging sensor 230);
determine a target location where the second electronic device is to perform the autonomous driving-based parking based on the measurement information about the UWB ranging (e.g. Fig. 7: 710, 715, 720 and [0060-0065]); and
transmit, to the second electronic device, a second message instructing the second electronic device to start the autonomous driving-based parking and including information about the target location (e.g. Fig. 7: 725 & [0040]).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, discloses the controller is configured to control to transmit, to the second electronic device, a third message instructing the second electronic device to reset the target location for the autonomous driving-based parking (e.g. [0040-0041]: user can set a new target position anytime).
Regarding claim 6, Raeis discloses the first electronic device is a mobile terminal (e.g. Fig. 1: 120), and the second electronic device is a vehicle (e.g. Fig. 1: 105).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Raeis discloses a second electronic device (e.g. Fig. 1: vehicle 105) in a wireless communication system (e.g. Fig. 1: 125 & [0019]: vehicle control unit 165 in communication with network 125), comprising:
a transceiver (e.g. Fig. 1: 160); and a controller (e.g. Fig. 1: 165, 117 & [0029]), wherein the controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to control to:
receive, from a first electronic device, a first message for activating autonomous driving- based parking (RSPA) of the second electronic device (e.g. [0048]: the process begins with starting up application on the mobile device, and authenticate the mobile device and/or the app with the vehicle; thus, message is sent from the mobile device and/or the app to the vehicle to request authentication or perform authentication. And, this communication and/or initial connection is broadly interpreted as the first message for activating the second electronic device);
transmit, to the first electronic device, measurement information (e.g. Figs. 1, 5 & 6 and [0053]: phone control unit 107 receives measurement information between vehicle and obstacles at/near the target parking position) for ultra-wideband (UWB) ranging performed by the second electronic device (e.g. [0044]: radar/ranging sensor 230); and
receive, from the first electronic device, a second message instructing the second electronic device to start the autonomous driving-based parking and including information about a target location where the second electronic device is to perform the autonomous driving-based parking (e.g. Fig. 7: 725 & [0040]).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Raeis discloses the controller is configured to control to receive, from the first electronic device, a third message instructing the second electronic device to reset the target location for the autonomous driving-based parking (e.g. [0040-0041]: user can set a new target position anytime).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 9-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raeis Hosseiny et al. (US 2021/0229509 A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 2022/0201932 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 9 and 13, Raeis fails to disclose, but Kiriya teaches the controller is configured to, when the second electronic device arrives at the target location (e.g. Fig. 5: S102 & [0081) and a deactivation timer does not expire (e.g. Fig. 5: S108[Wingdings font/0xE0]No), control to receive, from the second electronic device, a fourth message instructing the second electronic device to stop moving (e.g. Fig. 5: S104, S106, S108, S109, S110: without instruction from user to adjust parking position, the vehicle is stopped when arrived at parking position).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Raeis with the teachings of Kiriya to further receive control from user to adjust delicate movement of the vehicle after the vehicle automatically parked at a designated position so as to improve convenience in driving (e.g. [0004]).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Kiriya teaches, when the second electronic device arrives at the target location and a deactivation timer expires, transmitting, to the first electronic device, a fifth message indicating that the autonomous driving-based parking of the second electronic device is deactivated (e.g. Fig. 5: S106, S108[Wingdings font/0xE0]yes, S109, S110).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raeis Hosseiny et al. (US 2021/0229509 A1) in view of Qiao (US 2022/0242369 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Raeis fails to disclose, but Qiao teaches the measurement information about the UWB ranging includes at least one of a distance (height) from a center point in the second electronic device to a ground, a distance from the center point in the second electronic device to the first electronic device, an angle of arrival (AOA) azimuth for the first electronic device from the center point in the second electronic device, and an AoA elevation value for the first electronic device from the center point of the second electronic device. (e.g. [0023]: measure distance from mobile phone to the vehicle by using UWB ranging function).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Raeis with the teachings of Qiao to determine communication distance between the mobile phone and the vehicle so as to ensure the mobile phone and the vehicle are within a good communication distance before controlling the vehicle with the mobile phone (e.g. [0026-0028]).
Conclusion
/KAM WAN MA/Examiner, Art Unit 2688