DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6 and 7, filed on May 8, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 10, and 11 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the claim amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0277982 A1 to Choi et al.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6 and 7, filed on May 8, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 2 and 12-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the claim amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0277982 A1 to Choi et al.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6 and 7, filed on May 8, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 3-9 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the claim amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0277982 A1 to Choi et al.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plurality of concentric magnetic rings, wherein in each of the top half and bottom half each concentric ring has an opposing polarity of its neighboring ring, and wherein a pattern of polarity of neighboring concentric rings is the same for both the top half and the bottom” must be shown or the features canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0258420 A1 to Yamazawa in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0042965 A1 to Atallah et al. and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0277982 A1 to Choi et al.
Yamazawa discloses a Wind Power Generation Device, comprising:
a base (6) including a generator (7) housed therein (see Figure 2);
a pinion gear (81) connected to the generator via a shaft (71, see Figure 2);
a bull gear (82) in mechanical communication with the pinion gear (see Figure 2);
a rotating shaft (2) rigidly connected to the magnetic bull gear (see Figure 2);
a wind turbine blade (4) connected to the rotating shaft (see Figure 2) and including a photovoltaic (PV) panel (5); and
an energy storage device (9) electrically coupled to the generator and the PV panel (see paragraph [0044]),
wherein rotation of the wind turbine blade and rotating shaft is transferred to the generator via the magnetic bull gear and magnetic pinion gear to produce electrical energy.
However, it fails to disclose:
said pinion gear and said bull gear being magnetic gears;
a stationary shaft coupled to the base, wherein the rotating shaft rotates about the stationary shaft; and
a magnetic bearing including an top half secured to the rotating shaft and a bottom half secured the stationary shaft, each of the top half and bottom half including a plurality of concentric magnetic rings, wherein in each of the top half and bottom half each concentric ring has an opposing polarity of its neighboring ring, and wherein a pattern of polarity of neighboring concentric rings is the same for both the top half and the bottom have to lift the rotating shaft relative to the stationary shaft and to limit lateral movement of the rotating shaft relative to the stationary shaft.
Atallah et al. discloses:
a wind turbine power train, comprising magnetic gearing (see paragraphs [0002]-[0006], [0016], [0017], [0019]-[0021], [0023], [0024], [0026], [0027], [0029]-[0031], [0033]-[0035], [0040], [0041], [0044], [0047]-[0049], [0057]-[0066], and [0068]; see Figures 7-10).
Choi et al. discloses Magnet Configurations for Magnetic Levitation of Wind Turbines and Other Apparatus, comprising:
a stationary shaft (118), wherein a rotating shaft (104) rotates about the stationary shaft (see Figure 1A); and
a magnetic bearing (see Figure 1A) including an top half secured to the rotating shaft and a bottom half secured the stationary shaft, each of the top half and bottom half including a plurality of concentric magnetic rings, wherein in each of the top half and bottom half each concentric ring has an opposing polarity of its neighboring ring, and wherein a pattern of polarity of neighboring concentric rings is the same for both the top half and the bottom have to lift the rotating shaft relative to the stationary shaft and to limit lateral movement of the rotating shaft relative to the stationary shaft.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to:
use the magnetic gearing disclosed by Atallah et al. on the gears of the drivetrain of the wind power generation device disclosed by Yamazawa, for the purpose of providing “a number of advantages over mechanical gears, such as reduced wear, lubricant-free operation, reduced maintenance costs, and inherent overload protection” (see paragraph [0003]); and
use the stationary and rotating shaft arrangement and magnetic bearing disclosed by Choi et al. on the wind power generation device disclosed by Yamazawa, for the purpose of “reducing friction between the turbine support and a turbine rotor” (see Abstract).
With regards to claim 10, Yamazawa in view of Atallah et al. and Choi et al. disclose:
the magnetic bearing is a lower bearing proximate the magnetic bull gear and further comprising an upper bearing proximate a top of the rotating shaft.
With regards to claim 11, Yamazawa discloses:
the upper bearing being a ball bearing or roller bearing.
With regards to claim 12, Choi et al. discloses:
a second magnetic levitating bearing (see Figure 1A), wherein the magnetic levitating bearing levitates the rotating shaft relative to the stationary shaft (see Figure 1A).
With regards to claim 13, Choi et al. discloses:
the second magnetic levitating bearing includes a top half and a bottom half (see Figure 1A), and a polarity of magnets in the bottom half is arranged to oppose a polarity of magnets in the top half to levigate the top half relative to the bottom half.
With regards to claim 14, Choi et al. discloses:
the top half is secured to the rotating shaft and the bottom half is secured to the stationary shaft (see Figure 1A).
With regards to claim 15, Choi et al. discloses:
the top half includes concentric rings of magnets, wherein each ring has an opposing polarity of its neighboring ring (see Figure 1A).
With regards to claim 16, Choi et al. discloses:
the bottom half includes concentric rings of magnets, wherein each ring has an opposing polarity to its neighboring ring (see Figure 1A), wherein the concentric rings of the bottom half to limit lateral movement of the concentric rings of the top half (see Figure 1A).
With regards to claim 17, Choi et al. discloses:
a magnetic lift bearing (see Figure 1A).
With regards to claim 18, Choi et al. discloses:
the magnetic lifting bearing includes a top half and a bottom half (see Figure 1A), and a polarity of magnets in the top half is arranged to attract a polarity of magnets in the top half to lift the bottom half in the direction of the top half (see Figure 1A).
With regards to claim 19, Choi et al. discloses:
the top half is secured to the stationary shaft and the bottom half is secured to the rotating shaft (see Figure 1A).
With regards to claim 20, Choi et al. discloses:
the top half includes concentric rings of magnets (see Figure 1A), wherein each ring has an opposing polarity of its neighboring ring wherein the concentric rings of the bottom half to limit lateral movement of the concentric rings of the top half (see Figure 1A).
Claims 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0258420 A1 to Yamazawa in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0042965 A1 to Atallah et al. and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0277982 A1 to Choi et al. as applied to claims 1 and 10-20, above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0230333 A1 to Kashyap.
Yamazawa in view of Atallah et al. and Choi et al. disclose a Wind Power Generation Device as described in paragraph 10 above.
However, it fails to disclose a brush housing secured to the rotating shaft.
Kashyap discloses a Solar-Paneled Windmill, comprising:
a brush housing (see Figure 2) secured to the rotating shaft.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the brush housing disclosed by Kashyap on the wind power generation device disclosed by Yamazawa in view of Atallah et al. and Choi et al., for the purpose of housing brushes.
With regards to claim 4, Kashyap disclose:
a pair of brushes (90) mounted in the brush housing and in electrical communication with the PV panel.
With regards to claim 5, Choi et al. discloses:
a cap (see Figures 1, 4, and 7) mounted to the stationary shaft.
With regards to claim 6, Yamazawa in view of Atallah et al., Choi et al., and Kashyap disclose:
at least two pins, each pin configured for electrical communication to one of the pair of brushes while the brushes rotate with the rotating shaft about the at least two pins.
With regards to claim 7, Yamazawa in view of Atallah et al., Choi et al., and Kashyap disclose:
the pins being in electrical communication via a wire with an energy storage device such that electrical energy generated by the PV panel is transmitted via the pair of brushes, pins, and wire to the energy storage device.
With regards to claim 8, Yamazawa discloses:
the energy storage device is one or more of a battery, a flywheel, or a supercapacitor.
With regards to claim 9, Kashyap discloses:
a plurality of PV panels connected electrically in series, wherein a positive polarity connection of the plurality of PV panels is connected to one of the pair of brushes and a negative polarity connection of the plurality of PV panels is connected to a second of the pair of brushes (see Figure 2).
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PEDRO J CUEVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896 February 3, 2026