DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 9, recite that both magnets are magnetized in a first and second direction yet also requires the magnets to have mutually different magnetization directions. It is unclear whether each magnet possesses dual perpendicular magnetization vectors or whether each magnet is magnetized in a single, distinct direction. The internal contradiction prevents determination of the metes and bounds of the claims. Additionally, the phrase “coupled to each other in a third direction” is ambiguous because it does not specify if the third direction refers to a spatial axis of arrangement or a vector of coupling forces. It is also unclear how this third direction relates to the other two directions. Clarification is required.
Claim 2, the phrase “generate a bias magnetic field with respect to the magnetic sensor” makes it unclear if the claims requires the sensor as part of the claimed structure or its only stating its indented use.
Clams 3-8 are rejected as having the same deficiencies as Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vig et al. [US 5781005].
Claim 1, Vig et al. teaches a magnet module for use in a magnetic sensor, the magnetic sensor being configured to output a signal representing a detected magnetic field [col 1, lines 10-20], the magnet module comprising a first magnet and a second magnet, both of the first magnet and the second magnet being magnetized in a first direction and a second direction, the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction [col. 3, line 5-15 and col. 7, line 1-10],the first magnet and the second magnet being provided separately and coupled to each other [col 7, lines 1-10] in a third direction to have mutually different magnetization directions [col 3, lines 5-15], the third direction being perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction [coll 7, lines 20-25].
Claim 2, Vig et al. teaches the magnet module of claim 1, wherein when viewed in plan in the second direction, a width of a neutral zone between the first magnet and the second magnet is narrower than a width of a neutral zone in each of the first and second magnets [see col. 13, lines 1-10 and Fig 10, col 9, lines 1-20].
Claim 3. Vig et al. teaches the magnet module of claim 1, wherein the first magnet and the second magnet are configured to generate a bias magnetic field with respect to the magnetic sensor [col 8, lines 35-45, col. 9, lines 1-20].
Claim 4, Vig et al. teaches the magnet module of claim 1, further comprising a bonding member bonding the first magnet and the second magnet together [col 7, line 1-20].
Claim 5, Vig et al. teaches the magnet module of claim 4, wherein the bonding member includes either an epoxy resin or a silicone resin [col 7, line 1-20; wherein bonding of magnets to pole pieces is conventional].
Claim 6, Vig et al. teaches the magnet module of claim 1, further comprising a magnet-covering resin member covering the first magnet and the second magnet [Fig. 42, col. 14, lines 1-10].
Claim 7, Vig et al. teaches the magnet module of claim 1 , wherein the magnet module has a dimension equal to or less than 5 mm as measured in the first direction and a dimension equal to or less than 5 mm as measured in the third direction [col 10, line 1-10, col. 11, line 1-10].
Claim 8, Vig et al. teaches the sensor module comprising the magnet module of claim 1, the magnetic sensor; and a sensor-covering resin member covering the magnet module and the magnetic sensor [col. 7, line 1-10; Fig. 20 and Fig. 42, col 14, lines 1-10].
Claim 9 is rejected using the same rationale as Claim 1.
Conclusion
/BERNARD ROJAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837