Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 26-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US PUB 2023/0184868).
As per claim 1, Yang teaches the invention as claimed including a method of wireless communication [Fig. 1], comprising:
performing a first measurement of a wavefront received at a first antenna of a base station configured to provide a wireless communication access to user devices in a coverage area [par. 29, 47-48, 56-57];
performing a second measurement of the wavefront received at a second antenna of the base station, wherein the first antenna and the second antenna are separated by a separation distance along a direction [par. 29, 47-48, 56-57];
deriving a compensation factor from the first measurement and the second measurement [correction values 231, par. 59], wherein the compensation factor is used for estimating an estimated angle of arrival (AOA) [par. 59-61, 66-68]; and
performing subsequent communication by applying the compensation factor to an outgoing or an incoming signal waveform to or from a user device [external device, par. 69-80].
As per claim 2, Yang teaches wherein the compensation factor is applied to a component of the incoming signal waveform received via the first antenna or the second antenna, or the compensation factor is applied to a component of an outgoing signal waveform transmitted via the first antenna or the second antenna [par. 63-69].
As per claim 3, Yang teaches wherein the compensation factor is applied by:
applying a first compensation factor to a first component of the incoming signal waveform received via the first antenna and a second compensation factor to a second component of the incoming signal waveform received via the second antenna, or applying a first compensation factor to a first component of the outgoing signal waveform transmitted via the first antenna and a second compensation factor to a second component of the outgoing signal waveform transmitted via the second antenna [par. 66, 72].
As per claim 4, Yang teaches wherein an amplitude or a phase of the compensation factor is a function of frequency [par. 82, 92].
As per claim 5, Yang teaches wherein the compensation factor is stored in a calibration table and periodically estimated [par. 63-65, 102-108].
As per claim 6, Yang teaches wherein cloud computing resources are used to estimate the AOA or to determine the compensation factor for the user devices [par. 63-72].
As per claim 26, Yang teaches wherein an amplitude or a phase of the compensation factor is a function of frequency [par. 82-92].
As per claim 27, Yang teaches wherein the compensation factor is stored in a calibration table and periodically estimated [par. 63-65, 102-108].
As per claim 28, Yang teaches wherein an amplitude or a phase of the compensation factor is a function of frequency [par. 82-92].
As per claim 29, Yang teaches wherein the compensation factor is stored in a calibration table and periodically estimated [par. 63-65, 102-108].
As per claims 30-38, since they are apparatus claim of claims 1-5 and 26-29, they are rejected for the same basis as claims 1-5 and 26-29 set forth above.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http:/Awww.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https:/Awww.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https:/Awww.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643