DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The claims contain minor informalities.
In claim 1, the language “… (c) a second receptacle mounted on the mounting plate …” should be changed for clarity.
Claim 6 depends on itself and should be revised to depend on claim 5.
Claim 7 depends on itself and should be revised to depend on one of claims 1, 5 or 6.
Claim 11 should be revised for clarity by deleting a second period at the end “… when the device is placed on the skin of the subject.[[.]]”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 3, the limitation “… configured to interact to maintain the grip of the fastener …” lacks proper antecedent basis. Examiner suggests to revise this as “… configured to interact to maintain [[the grip of]] tension along the fastener …”
Claim 11 calls for “… and along the channel of the mounting plate.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 5-7 mention a channel, but claim 11 does not depend on any of these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettigrew; Alastair Morrison (GB 2219034 A) in view of Waller; Stephen (US 20090157000 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pettigrew discloses a device for securing a medical line to a subject (p. 1, lines 1-5, a tube attachment device; p. 3, lines 25-30, tube attachment device 1);
the device comprising: (a) a fastener comprising (i) a band capable of encircling the line cross-sectionally and having teeth formed on one side of the band (p. 4, lines 10-20, Figs 3 to 11 show alternative embodiments. In Figs 3, 4, 6, 10 and 11 the clamping means is in the form of an anchoring stud 9 and tie 10 of plastics material; p. 5, lines 25-30, For both types, the tie 10 has a ratchet strip 12 and a head 13 provided with an internal barb (not shown)); and
(ii) a first receptacle comprising a first opening capable of receiving the band lengthwise and a first pawl configured to engage with the teeth of the band and to lock the fastener around the line (p. 5, lines 25-30, There are two types of anchoring stud 9 and tie 10 arrangements shown in Figs 5 to 8, 10 and 11 of the accompanying drawings. For both types, the tie 10 has a ratchet strip 12 and a head 13 provided with an internal barb (not shown));
(b) a mounting plate comprising a front face and a rear face (p. 4, lines 1-5, The tube attachment device 1 of the present invention comprises a base 2 with an adhesive surface 3 for attachment to the skin … The base 2 is a disc-shaped portion of fabric adhesive tape; p. 4, lines 15-20, The anchoring stud 9 may be provided with a root portion which is either embedded between layers of fabric 15 or adhesive tape 6 (See Figs 5 to 8 and 10) or passes through the entire thickness to project on the underside as a lower stud 11 (see Figs 4 and 6));
(c) a second receptacle mounted the mounting plate, comprising a second opening capable of receiving the band lengthwise and a second pawl configured to engage with the teeth of the band and to couple the fastener to the mounting plate (p. 6, lines 5-15, Referring to Fig 11, there is shown a second embodiment of the anchoring stud 9 and tie 10 arrangement in which the tube 8 is remote of the base 2. The aperture of the anchoring stud 9 of this embodiment is provided with a barb (not shown) which interengages with the ratchet strip 12 of the tie 10); and
(e) a chemical or mechanical securement element on the rear face of the mounting plate and configured to secure the mounting plate to the subject (p. 4, lines 1-5, The tube attachment device 1 of the present invention comprises a base 2 with an adhesive surface 3 for attachment to the skin).
Pettigrew teaches the invention substantially as claimed by Applicant except for (d) an aperture through the mounting plate. Waller discloses a barrier system and device for securing a medical line to a subject (¶ [0004], [0006], [0027], [0036] FIGS. 1A-1D … barrier device 10; ¶ [0061] FIGS. 4A-4B illustrate another embodiment of a barrier device 150 that has many features in common with the barrier device 10 of FIGS. 1A-1D, device 50 of FIGS. 2A-2D, and device 100 of FIGS. 3A-3C);
the device comprising: (a) a fastener capable of encircling the line cross-sectionally (¶ [0061], The barrier device 150 is shown to include a fastener 152 that fastens the medical device 48 to the barrier device 150; ¶ [0062] The fastener 152 is disposed on the base member 154 in a position that allows for receiving the medical device 48. The fastener 152 is configured similarly to a "C" clamp that can be manually opened by hand to receive the medical device 48); and
(b) a mounting plate comprising a front face and a rear face (¶ [0061], Briefly, the barrier device 150 is formed from a body 153 that has a base member 154);
(d) an aperture through the mounting plate to accommodate the medical line passing through the device from the rear to front (¶ [0061], Briefly, the barrier device 150 is formed from a body 153 that has a base member 154 with a base opening 156 that is coupled to a top member 158 with a top opening 160); and
(e) a chemical or mechanical securement element on the rear face of the mounting plate and configured to secure the mounting plate to the subject (¶ [0043] FIG. 1D … The device 10 is applied to the skin 40 and adhered thereto by having adhesive 42 applied to a portion, annular area, or entire base 24 of the device 10 ¶ [0051] FIG. 2D … adhesive 82 applied to a portion, annular area, or entire base 64 of the device 50).
Waller constrains a medical line at more than one point along its length and also reduces the risk of infection for a skin-penetrating device (¶ [0002]- [0004], [0010], adhering a barrier device to the skin with the adhesive composition so as to form an anti-microbial barrier with respect to the incision and medical device that inhibits microbes from infecting the incision). One would be motivated to modify Pettigrew with Waller’s plate aperture to reduce the risk of infections and to more securely hold the medical line since Pettigrew describes several embodiments which alter the mounting plate’s shape (Figs. 1, 7, 8, 10). Pettigrew also discloses that the device is used in combination with a cannula (p. 3, lines 30-35, and due to their required attachment to various pieces of skin penetrating apparatus, eg a cannula; p. 6, lines 25-30, This is particularly useful as end pieces to tubes, eg a cannula, would obstruct the threading of any such device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Pettigrew with Waller’s plate aperture to avoid infections and to more securely hold the medical line.
Regarding claims 2-4 and 12, Pettigrew discloses that the fastener is a zip tie; wherein the first pawl and the teeth of the band are configured to interact to maintain the grip of the fastener around the medical line; wherein the first pawl and the teeth of the band are configured to interact to prevent backsliding and/or removal of the band from the first receptacle (p. 5, lines 25-30, For both types, the tie 10 has a ratchet strip 12 and a head 13 provided with an internal barb (not shown)); and
a system comprising:(a) the device of claim 1; and(b) a medical line (p. 5, lines 30-35, Referring to Fig. 5 to 8 and 10, the tie 10 is inserted through an unobstructed aperture 14 of the anchoring means and slipped noose-like on itself and tightened over the tube 8 to be attached).
Regarding claims 13-15 and 17, Pettigrew discloses that the fastener is securely tightened around the medical line, and wherein the fastener is coupled to the second receptacle (p. 5, lines 30-35, Referring to Fig. 5 to 8 and 10, the tie 10 is inserted through an unobstructed aperture 14 of the anchoring means and slipped noose-like on itself and tightened over the tube 8 to be attached. The barb and ratchet mechanism of the tie 10 engage and hold the tube 8 firmly in position).
Pettigrew lacks a percutaneous drain or a catheter and a plate aperture. Waller discloses that the medical line is a percutaneous drain or a catheter (¶ [0032] The barrier device is configured to receive a percutaneous medical device; ¶ [0043] FIG. 1D … The device 10 is adhered to the skin 40 such that the conduit 22 is aligned with a percutaneous incision 46 that extends into tissue under the skin 40; ¶ [0059], The device 100 is adhered to the skin 40 such that the conduit 112 is aligned with a percutaneous incision 46 that extends into tissue under the skin 40);
wherein the medical line extends from an opening in the subject through the aperture, through the fastener and along the channel of the mounting plate (¶ [0061] FIGS. 4A-4B … The barrier device 150 is shown to include a fastener 152 that fastens the medical device 48 to the barrier device 150 … The base opening 156 is in fluid communication with the top opening 160 via a conduit 162; ¶ [0062] The fastener 152 is disposed on the base member 154 in a position that allows for receiving the medical device 48);
wherein the mounting plate is adhered to the skin of the subject such that the aperture is placed over the opening in the subject (¶ [0043] FIG. 1D … The device 10 is applied to the skin 40 and adhered thereto by having adhesive 42 applied to a portion, annular area, or entire base 24 of the device 10).
Waller seals a region of the patient’s skin around a skin-penetrating cannula to reduce the risk of infections (¶ [0002]- [0004], [0010]). Regarding the rationale and motivation to modify Pettigrew with Waller’s catheter and plate aperture, see the discussion of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 16, Pettigrew discloses a method of securing a medical line to a subject using the device of claim 1 (p. 5, lines 30-35, Referring to Fig. 5 to 8 and 10, the tie 10 is inserted through an unobstructed aperture 14 of the anchoring means);
the method comprising:(a) securing the rear face of the mounting plate of the device to the subject via the securement element (p. 4, lines 1-5, The tube attachment device 1 of the present invention comprises a base 2 with an adhesive surface 3 for attachment to the skin … The base 2 is a disc-shaped portion of fabric adhesive tape);
(c) tightening the fastener around the medical line (p. 5, lines 30-35, Referring to Fig. 5 to 8 and 10, the tie 10 is inserted through an unobstructed aperture 14 of the anchoring means and slipped noose-like on itself and tightened over the tube 8 to be attached. The barb and ratchet mechanism of the tie 10 engage and hold the tube 8 firmly in position); and
(d) coupling the fastener to the second receptacle, thereby securing the medical line in place on the subject (p. 6, lines 10-15, the barb of the anchoring stud 9 securely engages the free end of the ratchet strip 12). Pettigrew teaches the invention substantially as claimed by Applicant except for an aperture of the mounting plate that aligns with an opening in the subject. Waller discloses a device and method wherein the aperture of the mounting plate is aligned with an opening in the subject; and (b) placing the medical line through the aperture and into the opening in a subject (¶ [0061], Briefly, the barrier device 150 is formed from a body 153 that has a base member 154 with a base opening 156 that is coupled to a top member 158 with a top opening 160).
Waller adhesively seals a region of skin around a catheter entry site in order to prevent infections (¶ [0002]- [0004], [0010]). Regarding the rationale and motivation to modify Pettigrew with Waller’s plate aperture, see the discussion of claim 1 above.
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettigrew and Waller in view of Kornerup; Niels (US 5685859 A).
Regarding claims 5-10, Pettigrew and Waller lack an open channel running vertically along the front face of mounting plate, a funnel-shaped aperture and a removable film cover. Kornerup discloses a device for fixating a tube (col. 1, lines 1-10; col. 6, lines 55-65, Reference is now made to FIGS. 5-7 showing a second embodiment of the device 100);
comprising (a) a fastener (col. 7, lines 25-30, Securing strips 143 may be folded to a position substantially covering the elongated section 160 and drainage tube 5, as shown on FIG. 7,);
(b) a mounting plate (col. 7, lines 1-5, The device 100 shown in FIG. 5 generally comprises a plaster component 141 having an oval shape);
(d) an aperture through the mounting plate to accommodate a medical line passing through the device (col. 7, lines 35-40, an aperture 104 through which the drainage tube 5 is passed); and
(e) a chemical or mechanical securement element (col. 7, lines 5-15, A cover sheet 111 covers the adhesive and is to be removed prior to the use of the device 100. The plaster component 141 is provided with a circular aperture delimited by a perimeter 144);
comprising one or more protrusions and/or channels on the front face of the mounting plate; wherein the protrusions and/or channels define locations for positioning the medical line and/or a band on the front face of the mounting plate; wherein the mounting plate comprises an open channel running vertically along the front face of mounting plate for positioning the medical line (col. 7, lines 15-20, The support component 150 is furthermore provided with an elongated section 160 having a groove 165 extending from the central aperture 155);
wherein the aperture comprises a funnel shape with a wider diameter toward the front face of the mounting plate (col. 7, lines 10-15, The support component 150 is preferably made from a sponge-like material and is formed with a central aperture 155 arranged in registration with the aperture in the plaster component 141);
wherein the chemical securement element is a physiologically-compatible adhesive material; further comprising a removable film cover over the adhesive material (col. 7, lines 5-15, A cover sheet 111 covers the adhesive and is to be removed prior to the use of the device 100. The plaster component 141 is provided with a circular aperture delimited by a perimeter 144).
Kornerup reduces bending stress on a medical tube and also protects an adhesive layer before it contacts the patient’s skin. One would be motivated to modify Pettigrew and Waller with Kornerup’s open channel, funnel-shaped aperture and removable film cover to prevent kinking the medical tube and to preserve the adhesive before use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Pettigrew and Waller with Kornerup’s open channel, funnel-shaped aperture and removable film cover to protect the medical tube and adhesive.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettigrew, Waller and Kornerup in view of Bertollo; Nicky et al. (US 20210060302 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Pettigrew, Waller and Kornerup lack a mechanical securement element comprising screws or barbed microneedles. Bertollo discloses a stabilisation system for medical devices (¶ [0001], [0006], [0029], [0076] Referring now to FIGS. 1 to 11 … stabilisation system 10);
comprising a mechanical securement element that is one or more screws or barbed microneedles configure to reside in subcutaneous tissue of the subject when the device is placed on the skin of the subject (¶ [0033] As used herein, the term “micro feature” or “microneedle” is intended to mean a feature or needle/barb which is of a particular dimension, generally in the range of 100-3,000 micrometres (μm) in length or height; ¶ [0086] The microneedles 26, 28 are arranged to penetrate at least an upper layer or region of the skin S or other tissue to which the system 10 is to be secured, initially by pressing the tissue contacting surface 30 of the body 12 downwardly onto the anchorage site on the skin S in order to push the microneedles 26, 28 into the tissue in a minimally invasive manner).
Bertollo fastens a securement device with an alternative technique, and also overcomes problems with straps or adhesives (¶ [0004], Tensioning straps … potentially chaffing the surrounding tissue, and creating general discomfort. The efficacy of adhesives can vary significantly depending on the condition of the patient's skin, and has a tendency to degrade over time). One would be motivated to modify Pettigrew, Waller and Kornerup with Bertollo’s barbed microneedles to fasten the device more reliably. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Pettigrew, Waller and Kornerup with Bertollo’s barbed microneedles to overcome problems with adhesives that degrade over time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Okabe Masato et al. JP 2008215488 A
Hao, Wei-Guo CN 103239792 A
Arellano Cabrera José Antonio et al. WO 2016122305 A2
Schneider; Barry L. US 5073170 A
Bierman; Steven F. US 5855591 A
Kraus; Willibald US 6105908 A
Sakakura, Takayuki US 20010010349 A1
Goodman; Jack US 20080243082 A1
Bierman; Steven F. et al. US 20080249476 A1
Ciccone; Paul US 20110282291 A1
Kilim; Rafael Zvi Karl et al. US 20170261155 A1
Mohlman; Shawn D. US 10439381 B1
Tel 571-272-2590
Fax 571-273-2590
Email Adam.Marcetich@uspto.gov
The Examiner can be reached 8am-4pm Mon-Fri.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Adam Marcetich/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781