DETAILED ACTION
Miscellaneous
Claims pending: 1-7, 9-21,
Claims amended: 2-5, 9-10,
Claims cancelled: 8,
New claims: 11-21,
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: “displaye” appears to be misspelled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
7.44 Claimed Subject Matter Not in Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claim(s) 3, 12, 18, is/are objected, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
For example, claim 3, states that the “…before displaying, in response to a favorite creation operation performed on a the first page, the multimedia resources that are in a favorited state according to the multimedia types, the method further comprises: displaying multimedia resources of a target multimedia type that are in the favorited state on the first page; and correspondingly, in response to a favorite creation operation performed on a first page, displaying the multimedia resources that are in a favorited state according to the multimedia types comprises: in response to the favorite creation operation performed on the first page, displaying by default the multimedia resources of the target multimedia type that are in the favorited state.” which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention
Further action required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 12-13, 18-19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
For claims 3, 12, 18, the claimed preamble claims “before displaying, in response to a favorite creation operation performed on a the first page, the multimedia resources that are in a favorited state according to the multimedia types, the method further comprises: displaying multimedia resources of a target multimedia type that are in the favorited state on the first page; and correspondingly, in response to a favorite creation operation performed on a first page, displaying the multimedia resources that are in a favorited state according to the multimedia types comprises: in response to the favorite creation operation performed on the first page, displaying by default the multimedia resources of the target multimedia type that are in the favorited state.”, the claim limitation describe steps or acts performed in different order which appear to contradict other claim language.
Further action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-10, 12-16, 18-21, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20090083824) to (McCarthy) in view of (US 20050149972) to (Knudson).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 9-10, McCarthy teach a favorite processing method, comprising: in response to a favorite creation operation performed on a first page, displaying multimedia resources that are in a favorite state according to multimedia types; receiving a selection operation for at least one multimedia resource belonging to a same multimedia type. (Fig 1-3, 5, P. 11-12, 51, 56, 58, The favored channels include a first channel and a second channel. The instructions are operable for generating a mosaic object. The mosaic object includes instructions to retrieve a first multimedia content stream associated with the first channel and a second multimedia content stream associated with the second channel. The mosaic object includes instructions to generate a display stream comprising a mosaic template including a first viewport and a second viewport. The first multimedia content stream plays within the first viewport, and the second multimedia content stream plays within the second viewport. The mosaic favorites application is operable to respond to receiving a mosaic favorites request associated with a user. The mosaic favorites application generates a mosaic favorites object that includes the user definable data and instructions. The user definable data and instructions are operable when executed to generate a display stream. FIGS. 2 and 3, buttons 360, 370, 380 and 390 of remote control 300 may be used to navigate through the selection list of the plurality of video thumbnails 205 and 210 on the display. The select button 320 of the remote control 300 may be used to select the thumbnail 210 to view the associated program content to the exclusion of the other thumbnails 205).
McCarthy further teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having instructions stored therein, wherein the instructions, when running on a terminal device, cause the terminal device to; a favorite processing device, comprising: a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and runnable on the processor, wherein the processor, when executing the computer program, implements the method. (Fig. 5, P. 11-12, 36-38, 42, 47).
Knudson further teach generating a target favorite based on the at least one multimedia resource, wherein a favorite category of the target favorite is determined based on a multimedia type of a multimedia resource contained in the target favorite. (Fig. 2, 4-6, P. 46-47, 48, 50, option of creating a favorites channel list at step 104, step 106, the preferred media type is ascertained by the program guide, Step 108 allows the viewer to select channels from a constrained list of channels. More particularly, when the user exercises an option of selecting a channel, the program guide will access favorite channels that carry the preferred media type only. The user is provided with several options for selecting channels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCarthy by generating a target favorite based on the at least one multimedia resource, wherein a favorite category of the target favorite is determined based on a multimedia type of a multimedia resource contained in the target favorite as taught by Knudson in order to provide a program guide system with increased capability to discriminate among favorite channels relating to a plurality of different media.
Regarding claims 3, 12, 18, Mccarthy in view of Knudson teach the method, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the device the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to, target favorite, the at least one multimedia resource,
Knudson further teach before displaying, in response to a favorite creation operation performed on a the first page, the multimedia resources that are in a favorited state according to the multimedia types, the method further comprises: displaying multimedia resources of a target multimedia type that are in the favorited state on the first page; and correspondingly, in response to a favorite creation operation performed on a first page, displaying the multimedia resources that are in a favorited state according to the multimedia types comprises: in response to the favorite creation operation performed on the first page, displaying by default the multimedia resources of the target multimedia type that are in the favorited state. (Fig 1- 5, 10, P. 11-12, 48-49, 51, 53, 56, 58, -explanation from claim 1 teach generating target favorite, Knudson further teach the favorite channels selection screen 130 may provide a channels list 132, with listings for each channel available to the user. The listing may display information about the channel, such as the channel number 136, the channel name 138, and the media type 140 associated with the channel, … user may view the favorite channels selected hereinabove on a separate screen, such as favorite channels screen 142, wherein a favorite channels list 144 is displayed, Fig 10, Channels 198a, 198b, and 198c are favorite channels of the preferred media type, i.e., television, amongst other media types).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCarthy in view of Knudson by before displaying, in response to a favorite creation operation performed on a the first page, the multimedia resources that are in a favorited state according to the multimedia types, the method further comprises: displaying multimedia resources of a target multimedia type that are in the favorited state on the first page; and correspondingly, in response to a favorite creation operation performed on a first page, displaying the multimedia resources that are in a favorited state according to the multimedia types comprises: in response to the favorite creation operation performed on the first page, displaying by default the multimedia resources of the target multimedia type that are in the favorited state as taught by Knudson in order to provide a program guide system with increased capability to discriminate among favorite channels relating to a plurality of different media.
Regarding claim(s) 4, 13, 19, Mccarthy in view of Knudson teach the method, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the device the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to, the first page, the at least one favorite, before generating a target favorite based on the at least one multimedia resource.
Knudson further teach in response to a trigger operation that switches from target multimedia type to a first multimedia type, displaying a multimedia resource of the first multimedia type that is in the favorited state. (Fig 1- 5, 10, P. 11-12, 48-49, 51, 53, 56, 58, FIGS. 2 and 3, buttons 360, 370, 380 and 390 of remote control 300 may be used to navigate through the selection list of the plurality of video thumbnails 205 and 210 on the display. The select button 320 of the remote control 300 may be used to select the thumbnail 210 to view the associated program content to the exclusion of the other thumbnails 205,…user may view the favorite channels selected hereinabove on a separate screen, such as favorite channels screen 142, wherein a favorite channels list 144 is displayed, Fig 10, Channels 198a, 198b, and 198c are favorite channels of the preferred media type, i.e., television, amongst other media types, in the case wherein a user use the remote buttons to select switching from target multimedia type to a first multimedia type reads on claim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCarthy in view of Knudson by in response to a trigger operation that switches from target multimedia type to a first multimedia type, displaying a multimedia resource of the first multimedia type that is in the favorited state as taught by Knudson in order to provide a program guide system with increased capability to discriminate among favorite channels relating to a plurality of different media.
Regarding claim(s) 5, 14, 20, Mccarthy in view of Knudson teach the method, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the device the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to, target favorite, the at least one multimedia resource,
Knudson further teach after generating target favorite based on at least one multimedia resource, displaying the at least one multimedia resource contained in the target favorite. (Fig 1- 5, P. 11-12, 48, 51, 56, 58, -explanation from claim 1 teach generating target favorite, Knudson further teach the favorite channels selection screen 130 may provide a channels list 132, with listings for each channel available to the user. The listing may display information about the channel, such as the channel number 136, the channel name 138, and the media type 140 associated with the channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCarthy in view of Knudson by after generating target favorite based on at least one multimedia resource, displaying the at least one multimedia resource contained in the target favorite as taught by Knudson in order to provide a program guide system with increased capability to discriminate among favorite channels relating to a plurality of different media.
Regarding claim(s) 6, 15, 21, Mccarthy in view of Knudson teach the method, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the device the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to, the first page.
Knudson further teach displaying at least one favorite on first page, wherein multimedia resources contained in favorites of different favorite categories belong to different multimedia types. (Fig. 4-5, P. 48, The favorite channels selection screen 130 may provide a channels list 132, with listings for each channel available to the user. The listing may display information about the channel, such as the channel number 136, the channel name 138, and the media type 140 associated with the channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCarthy in view of Knudson by displaying at least one favorite on first page, wherein multimedia resources contained in favorites of different favorite categories belong to different multimedia types as taught by Knudson in order to provide a program guide system with increased capability to discriminate among favorite channels relating to a plurality of different media.
Regarding claim(s) 7, 16, Mccarthy in view of Knudson teach the method, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the device the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to, the first page, the at least one favorite,
Knudson further teach wherein each of at least one favorite has a corresponding category icon, and wherein the category icon is used to identify a favorite category of the corresponding favorite. (Fig.4-5, 10, P. 48-49, 53, 56, user may view the favorite channels selected hereinabove on a separate screen, such as favorite channels screen 142, wherein a favorite channels list 144 is displayed, Fig 10, Channels 198a, 198b, and 198c are favorite channels of the preferred media type, i.e., television, amongst other media types).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCarthy in view of Knudson by wherein each of at least one favorite has a corresponding category icon, and wherein the category icon is used to identify a favorite category of the corresponding favorite as taught by Knudson in order to provide a program guide system with increased capability to discriminate among favorite channels relating to a plurality of different media.
Claim(s) 2, 11, 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20090083824) to (McCarthy) in view of (US 20050149972) to (Knudson) in view of (US 20260017312) to (Tang).
Regarding claims 2, 11, 17, Mccarthy in view of Knudson teach the method, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the device the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to.
Tang further teach in response to a favorite creation operation performed on a first page, displaying the multimedia resources that are in a favorited state according to the multimedia types, comprises: navigating from a user personal homepage to a resource display page in response to a trigger operation on a favorite creation control on the user personal homepage, and displaying the multimedia resources that are in the favorited state according to the multimedia types on the resource display page. (Fig 2-5, P. 43-44, 48, 55-64, 76, 89-90, displaying the favorites to be created corresponding to the first content label in the form of a bottom prompt bar on the user personal homepage …user can locate and show a multimedia work collection in a favorited state having an update by triggering the first viewing entry so that the user can conveniently view the favorited multimedia work collection having an update).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCarthy in view of Knudson by wherein each of at least one favorite has a corresponding category icon, and wherein the category icon is used to identify a favorite category of the corresponding favorite as taught by Tang in order to enrich the interactive functions related to multimedia works to enhance the use experience of a user.
Conclusion
/RONG LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421