DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-18 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority application No. KR10-2022-0075791 filed on 06/21/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“collision detection unit configured to detect...”
“torque measurement part configured to measure...”
“difference value calculation part configured to calculate...”
“collision determination part configured to determine...” in claim 1. “reference value setting part configured to set...” in claim 2.
“measurement position storage part configured to...” in claim 3 and 4.
“acceleration time setting unit configured to set...” in claim 6.
“measurement period setting part configured to set...” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maki et al. (US 20130166064).
Regarding claim 10:
Maki teaches an operation method of a substrate transfer apparatus (see at least abstract), the operation method comprising:
moving an end-effector on which a substrate is supported by providing power through a motor (see at least ¶0052);
measuring a torque value of the motor several times with a time difference (transfer monitoring means detects torque value of motor, see at least ¶0009-0010);
calculating a torque difference value between two measured torque measurement values (differential value, see at least ¶0009-0010); and
determining collision of the end-effector based on the calculated torque difference value (see at least ¶0071, ¶0102-0106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki et al. (US 20130166064) in view of Muneto (US 2018/0311836).
Regarding claim 1:
Maki teaches a substrate transfer apparatus comprising:
an end-effector on which a substrate is supported (see at least Fig. 5a, abstract, ¶0002);
a motor configured to provide power for movement of the end-effector (see at least ¶0052);
a collision detection unit configured to detect collision of the end-effector (transfer monitoring means, see at least ¶0009-0010, ¶0064-0071); and
a control unit configured to control driving of the motor (control means 10)
wherein the collision detection unit comprises:
a torque measurement part configured to measure a torque value of the motor (transfer monitoring means detects torque value of motor, see at least ¶0009-0010);
a difference value calculation part configured to calculate a torque difference value between two torque measurement values measured with a time difference (differential value, see at least ¶0009-0010); and
a collision determination part configured to determine the collision of the end-effector based on the torque difference value (see at least ¶0071, ¶0102-0106).
Maki does not explicitly teach controlling the driving of the motor depending on the collision detection of the collision detection unit.
However, the Examiner notes that modifying operation of a robot upon detecting a collision is conventional in the art.
For example, Muneto teaches a system and method of monitoring a robotic manipulator, including detecting a collision has occurred based on a torque differential and stopping the robot when a collision has been detected (See at least abstract, ¶0013-0014, ¶0084)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the robotic collision detection system and method as taught by Maki with the conventional technique of stopping a robot upon detecting a collision as taught by Muneto in order to prevent damage to the robot and the external environment upon detecting a collision.
Regarding claim 2:
Muneto further teaches wherein the collision detection unit further comprises a reference value setting part configured to set a collision determination reference value,
wherein the collision determination part is configured to determine that the end-effector has collided when the torque difference value is equal to or greater than the collision determination reference value, and
the control unit is configured to stop the driving of the motor or drive the motor in a reverse direction when the collision determination part determines that the end-effector has collided (see at least abstract, ¶0019-0021, ¶0084).
Regarding claim 4:
Maki further teaches wherein the collision detection unit further comprises a measurement value storage part configured to store the measured torque value of the motor,
wherein the torque measurement part is configured to measure the torque value of the motor at a predetermined period, and
the difference value calculation part is configured to calculate a torque difference value between a current period torque measurement value and a proximate period torque measurement value for each of the predetermined periods (see at least ¶0009-0010, ¶0067, ¶0097, ¶0102-0106, Fig. 3, 10, 11).
Regarding claim 5:
Maki teaches the limitations as in claim 2 above.
Maki does not explicitly teach controlling the transfer apparatus in terms of speed and acceleration.
However, in the normal operation as taught by Maki in at least Fig. 11a, the motor is controlled in a conventional manner which would produce motion as in claim 5.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention to modify the robot control system and method as taught by Maki and Muneto by implementing conventional control of the robot arm including acceleration, constant speed motion, and deceleration based on torque values, as at least suggested by Maki in order to operate the robot in a conventional manner, allowing for alternating motion, reversing, and stopping.
Regarding claims 8-9:
Maki further teaches torque measurement throughout the cycle (see at least Figs. 3, 10, 11).
Regarding claims 11, 13, 14, 17, and 18, the combination of Maki and Muneto teaches a method as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki and Muneto as applied to claim 2 and 11 above, and further in view of Sano et al. (US 6,429,617).
Regarding claim 3 and 10:
Maki teaches the limitations as in claim 2 above. Maki further teaches wherein the collision detection unit further comprises a measurement position storage part configured to record a measurement position of the torque value (see at least ¶0009-0010, ¶0067, ¶0097, Fig. 3, 10, 11).
Maki is silent as to stopping the driving of the motor after driving the motor to a previous measurement position.
Sano teaches a system and method controlling a robot, including detecting a collision based on torques, wherein a measurement position storage part is configured to record a measurement position of the torque value and wherein the control unit is configured to stop the driving of the motor after driving the motor to a previous measurement position (see at least abstract, column 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the robot collision detection system and method as taught by Maki and Muneto with the reversing process as taught by Sano in order to mitigate damage caused by a collision and retreat to a known, safe position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Ryan Rink/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619