DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Nicholas (WO 2020/007853A1) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Nicholas (WO 2020/007853A1)
In regards to claim 1, Champagne teaches a composition for cooling and lubricating a propulsion system of an electric or hybrid vehicle comprising a base oil i) and a diester ii) (abstract). The diester can have the same or different R-groups (Ra or Rb, i.e., prepared from same or different monocarboxylic acid(s)), such as saturated or unsaturated, linear or branched alkyl groups having from 2 to 11 or from 3 to 8 carbon atoms from acids such as propanoic acid up to dodecanoic acid (page 4 line 21 – page 5 line 10 and page 16 lines 27 – 32). The diester can be prepared from mono propylene glycol (i.e., 1,2 propane diol or 1,3 propanediol) etc. (page 17 lines 3 – 10). The groups Ra, Rb can be octyl groups, i.e., providing a nonanoic acid (page 17 lines 23 – 31). The ester has a kinematic viscosity of from 5 to 18 mm2/s (cSt) at 40℃, and from 1.5 to 9.3 cSt or from 2 to 4 cSt at 100℃ (page 18 lines 11 – 15). Champagne teaches method of lubricating and cooling the propulsion system of the electric or hybrid vehicle (page 34 lines 13 – 19).
In regards to claim 2, Champagne teaches the method having the claimed limitation as previously stated.
In regards to claim 3, Champagne teaches the method wherein the diester is present in the composition at from 1 to 30% or from 10 to 25% (page 20 lines 1 – 4).
In regards to claim 4, Champagne teaches the method comprising the diester which is present at from 5 to 30% as previously stated. The base oil can be present at amounts of preferably from 90% or more in the composition (page 20 lines 4 – 6).
In regards to claim 5, Champagne teaches the method and propulsion system for electric and hybrid vehicle having a battery and/or power electronic component such as lithium ion or nickel cadmium battery (page 6 lines 7 – 22).
In regards to claim 6, Champagne teaches the method wherein the diester would have carbon content within the claimed range when the R groups are C8 and the diol is propylene glycol.
In regards to claim 7, Champagne teaches the method wherein the diester has the claimed structure as previously discussed (page 11 lines 10 – 26).
In regards to claim 8, Champagne teaches the method wherein the diester has the claimed kinematic viscosity as previously stated.
In regards to claims 9 – 14, Champagne teaches the method wherein the diester is prepared from the claimed ingredients as previously discussed.
In regards to claim 15, Champagne teaches the method wherein the composition can comprise the additives of the claim such as friction modifier, antiwear, antioxidant, detergent, dispersant, EP agent etc. (page 26 lines 1 – 11).
In regards to claims 16, 17, Champagne teaches the method having the claimed limitations as previously discussed.
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771