DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bonini et al. (US 2015/0151425), hereinafter referred to as Bonini.
Regarding claim 1, Bonini discloses a window blind headrail (145), wherein the headrail includes a headrail body (145) that defines a longitudinal axis;
wherein the headrail body (145) includes a front wall;
wherein the headrail further includes a pair of end covers (135, 140), the end covers being slidably coupled to the front wall of the headrail body (Fig 3);
wherein the end covers (135, 140) slide axially along the front wall (paragraph [0074]); and
wherein each end cover has an extended configuration in which a part of the end cover projects beyond a respective end of the headrail body (Fig 4; paragraph [0074]).
Regarding claim 2, Bonini discloses wherein each end cover (135, 140) has a cross-sectional shape which corresponds to the cross-sectional shape of the front wall of the headrail body (145) (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 4, Bonini discloses wherein the front wall of the headrail body includes one or more upper engagement portions that extend axially along at least a portion of the front wall (wall above groove; Fig 2); and each of the end covers engages the or a respective one of the upper engagement portions.
Regarding claim 6, Bonini discloses wherein the upper engagement portion includes a downwardly projecting skirt (wall below groove; Fig 2) and each of the end covers is slidably coupled to the or a respective one of the downwardly projecting skirts.
Regarding claim 8, Bonini discloses wherein the front wall of the headrail body includes one or more lower engagement portions (wall below groove) that extends axially along at least a portion of the front wall and each of the end covers engages the or a respective one of the lower engagement portions (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 9, Bonini discloses wherein the front wall includes a single lower engagement portion (wall below groove) that extends the entire length of the front wall.
Claims 1-2, 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Attal (US 5,042,548).
Regarding claim 1, Attal discloses a window blind headrail, wherein the headrail (Fig 1) includes a headrail body (22) that defines a longitudinal axis (Fig 2);
wherein the headrail body includes a front wall (44);
wherein the headrail further includes a pair of end covers (42); the end covers being slidably coupled (via 90) to the front wall (44) of the headrail body;
wherein the end covers slide axially along the front wall (via 90);
and wherein each end cover has an extended configuration in which a part of the end cover projects beyond a respective end of the headrail body (42 has a portion extending beyond the end of 44).
Regarding claim 2, Attal discloses wherein each end cover has a cross-sectional shape (shape of 90) which corresponds to the cross-sectional shape (of 68) of the front wall (44) of the headrail body.
Regarding claim 4, Attal discloses the front wall of the headrail body includes one or more upper engagement portions (68) that extend axially along at least a portion of the front wall (Fig 2); and each of the end covers engages the or a respective one of the upper engagement portions.
Regarding claim 5, Attal discloses wherein the front wall includes a single upper engagement portion (68) that extends the entire length of the front wall.
Regarding claim 6, Attal discloses wherein the upper engagement portion (68) includes a downwardly projecting skirt (64) and each of the end covers is slidably coupled to the or a respective one of the downwardly projecting skirts (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 7, Attal discloses wherein each of the end covers includes a skirt (90) receiving portion which forms a snap-fit with the or a respective one of the downwardly projecting skirts (col 1, lines 54-59; elements are snapped together).
Regarding claim 8, Attal discloses wherein the front wall of the headrail body includes one or more lower engagement portions (70) that extends axially along at least a portion of the front wall and each of the end covers engages the or a respective one of the lower engagement portions (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 9, Attal discloses wherein the front wall includes a single lower engagement portion (70) that extends the entire length of the front wall.
Regarding claim 10, Attal discloses wherein the or each lower engagement portion (70) includes an upwardly projecting rib (66) and each of the end covers is slidably coupled to the or a respective one of the upwardly projecting ribs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Attal, as applied in claim 1 above, in further view of Schaefer (US 3,372,728).
Regarding claim 3, Attal fails to disclose wherein the front wall of the headrail body is curved and each of the end covers defines a complementary curved surface. However, Schaefer teaches that it is known for a headrail to have a curved body that is complementary to a curved surface (31 and 51; Fig 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the elements of Attal with curved complementary shapes since curved shapes are known in the art and the modification of shape would not lead to any new or unpredictable result.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Attal, as applied in claim 10 above, in further view of Benthin (US 5,636,674).
Regarding claim 11, although Attal discloses the end covers couple to the lower engagement portion which includes an upwardly projecting rib, Attal fails to teach wherein each of the end covers includes a rib coupling portion which includes a recess that receives a portion of the or a respective one of the upwardly projecting ribs. However, Benthin teaches end covers having coupling portions that couple to engagement portions and that the coupling portions are rib coupling portions (42) that include a recess (space below 62 extending on 42; Fig 1) that receives a portion of an upwardly projecting rib (rib of 50; Fig 3). Benthin teaches that the configuration provides engagement between the elements. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the end covers of Attal such that it includes a rib coupling portion having a recess in order to engage since it is a known equivalent means of attachment.
Conclusion
/Johnnie A. Shablack/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634