DETAILED ACTION
Applicant(s) Response to Official Action
The response filed on 04/01/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Presented arguments have been fully considered, but are rendered moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendment(s) initiated by the applicant(s).
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites “compromises” and should recite “comprises”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention and further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d), as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 35 recites the same limitation found in independent claim 21:
"… wherein at least one of the imaging assemblies is designated as a controller imaging assembly amongst the network of imaging assemblies and configured to coordinate the lighting and imaging sequence of the target …" (emphasis added to accentuate insufficient antecedent basis). The features: “at least one of the imaging assemblies” and “a controller imaging assembly” were previously recited, causing a lack of clarity since the features could be interpreted as different elements or the same elements, and therefore renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 35 recites the same limitation found in independent claim 21 and thus fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-31, 33, 35, 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basler et al., hereinafter referred to as Basler (US 2019/0212135 A1) in view of Hoff et al., hereinafter referred to as Hoff (US 2016/0373640 A1) in further view of Singh et al., hereinafter referred to as Singh (EP-3354532-A1).
As per claim 21, Basler discloses a photogrammetry scanner system (Basler: Fig. 1, 100) for capturing images of a target comprising:
a modular frame (Basler: Figs. 1-2 & Paras. [0026]-[0028] disclose the plurality of towers 120 positioned around the object and connected to one another, which creates a daisy chain of towers [modular frame].);
a plurality of image sensors (210) connected to and spaced apart on the frame (Basler: Fig. 2, 210 & Para. [0027]); and
a plurality of light emitting devices (220, 230) connected to and spaced apart on the frame and configured to project light in a lighting pattern (Basler: Fig. 2 & Paras. [0027]-[0029], [0033] disclose each tower comprises a set of cameras, a light source 220 and a projector 230 to project light in a lighting pattern.),
wherein at least one of the plurality of image sensors (210) and at least one of the plurality of light emitting devices (220, 230) form an imaging assembly in a network of imaging assemblies (Basler: Figs. 1-2 & Paras. [0027]-[0029] disclose each tower hosting at least one of the plurality of image sensors and at least one of the plurality of light emitting devices forming an imaging assembly in a network of imaging assemblies.),
wherein each imaging assembly is configured to communicate with one or more other imaging assemblies within the network of imaging assemblies (Basler: Para. [0027] discloses a daisy chain of towers is configured via the network device 250. The towers are connected to the computer 110 which communicates with the towers 120.), each imaging assembly further includes a processing assembly (240) configured to facilitate independent operation of the respective imaging assembly within the network of imaging assemblies (Basler: Paras. [0027]-[0029] disclose a microcomputer 240 included in each tower.), and
wherein the scanner system is configured to:
generate a virtual map (images generated in interface 400) of a configuration of the scanner system, wherein the map is a live map based on the network of imaging assemblies connected to the frame (Basler: Fig. 4 & Paras. [0027], [0032] disclose a user interface 400 generating images of an object, representing each camera, having a unique identifier that identifies which tower the camera is in and what position the camera is in the tower; and a clock that is used to coordinate capture of image data by the one or more cameras 210.);
perform a coordinated lighting and imaging sequence of the target, wherein the plurality of light emitting devices project light in the lighting pattern and one or more images of the target are captured by the plurality of image sensors (Basler: Paras. [0033]-[0038] disclose the computer 110 can initiate a single-capture process or a multi-capture process that performs a coordinated lighting and imaging sequence of a three-dimensional object [target], wherein the plurality of light emitting devices project light in a lighting pattern and one or more images of the target are captured by the cameras.);
wherein at least one of the imaging assemblies is (Basler: Paras. [0035]-[0037] disclose “cause the light sources to emit light onto the three dimensional object … cause the projectors to project a pattern … cause, based on the synchronized clocks, each camera in the sets of cameras to capture an image of the three dimensional object [target]”.);
However, Basler does not explicitly disclose “… wherein at least one of the imaging assemblies is designated as a controller imaging assembly amongst the network of imaging assemblies … and each imaging assembly is configured to periodically announce its presence in the system via a status signal, and wherein if a status signal is not received by either the controller imaging assembly or any one of the other imaging assemblies, the relevant imaging assembly is removed from the map of the system.”.
Further, Hoff is in the same field of endeavor and teaches wherein at least one of the imaging assemblies is designated as a controller imaging assembly amongst the network of imaging assemblies and configured to coordinate the lighting and imaging sequence of the target (Hoff: Para. [0060] discloses “One camera module 103 (e.g., the first camera module 103a) in the daisy chain may be configured as a master camera module [designated controller imaging assembly] that allows the camera array 101 to act as one entity by controlling clock signals for other camera modules”, and Hoff: Para. [0064] discloses using those clock signals to “synchronize start operations and stop operations of the camera modules [coordinate the lighting and imaging sequence of the target]”.);
each imaging assembly is configured to periodically announce its presence in the system via a status signal, and wherein if a status signal is not received by either a controller imaging assembly or any one of the other imaging assemblies, the relevant imaging assembly is removed from the system (Hoff: Para. [0065] discloses “an overall status indicator 121 may be connected to one of the camera modules 103 [claimed each imaging assembly] to indicate a status of at least one of the camera modules 103 or an overall status of the camera array 101. This may also be referred to as heartbeat monitoring [periodically announce its presence in the system via a status signal]” and Hoff: Paras. [0037], [0066], [0068] disclose that a camera module 103 may be removed from the camera array 101 easily if the status signal indicates that the camera module is faulty.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Basler and Hoff before him or her, to modify the network of towers of Basler to include the status signal designated controller imaging assembly feature as described in Hoff. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve network synchronization by providing a configuration that decentralizes the system and reduced hardware overhead.
However, Basler-Hoff do not explicitly disclose “… the relevant imaging assembly is removed from the map of the system.”
Furthermore, Singh is in the same field of endeavor and teaches each imaging assembly is configured to periodically announce its presence in the system via a status signal, and wherein if a status signal is not received by either the controller imaging assembly or any one of the other imaging assemblies, the relevant imaging assembly is removed from the map of the system (Singh: Para. [0108] discloses “Each BSDU 57 and CU 59 transmits a heartbeat message at a set frequency [each imaging assembly is configured to periodically announce its presence in the system via a status signal] … If no heartbeat is received from any particular device for a certain predetermined period, then an alarm is generated showing that the device in question is unresponsive” and Singh: Paras. [0097], [0129] disclose a visual map of the positions of various devices and their current status, and if the faulty devices are replaced with new ones, the system will automatically calibrate to recognise the new devices and use them in message relaying [if a status signal is not received, the relevant imaging assembly is removed from the map of the system]”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Basler-Hoff and Singh before him or her, to modify the network of Basler-Hoff to include the heartbeat status signal and mapping feature as described in Singh. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the reliability of the system by providing a configuration that continuously monitors the health of active nodes to dynamically update the system representation, thereby ensuring that unresponsive nodes are identified and ignored prior to triggering a synchronized network-wide sequence.
As per claim 37, Basler discloses a method of photogrammetry scanning (Basler: Abstract), the method includes:
providing a photogrammetry scanner system (Fig. 1, 100) having a plurality of image sensors (210) and a plurality of light emitting devices (220, 230) connected to and spaced apart on a frame (Basler: Figs. 1-2 & Paras. [0026]-[0028] disclose the plurality of towers 120 positioned around the object and connected to one another, which creates a daisy chain of towers [frame] that have a plurality of cameras 210 and light emitting devices (220, 230).), wherein at least one of the plurality of image sensors and at least one of the plurality of light emitting devices form an imaging assembly in a network of imaging assemblies (Basler: Figs. 1-2 & Paras. [0027]-[0029] disclose each tower hosting at least one of the plurality of image sensors and at least one of the plurality of light emitting devices forming an imaging assembly in a network of imaging assemblies.), wherein each imaging assembly is configured to communicate with one or more other imaging assemblies within the network of imaging assemblies (Basler: Para. [0027] discloses a daisy chain of towers is configured via the network device 250. The towers are connected to the computer 110 which communicates with the towers 120.), each imaging assembly further includes a processing assembly (240) configured to facilitate independent operation of the respective imaging assembly within the network of imaging assemblies (Basler: Paras. [0027]-[0029] disclose a microcomputer 240 included in each tower.) ,
generating a virtual map (images generated in interface 400) of a configuration of the photogrammetry scanner system, wherein the map is a live map based on the network of imaging assemblies connected to the frame (Basler: Fig. 4 & Paras. [0027], [0032] disclose a user interface 400 generating images of an object, representing each camera, having a unique identifier that identifies which tower the camera is in and what position the camera is in the tower; and a clock that is used to coordinate capture of image data by the one or more cameras 210.);
activating the photogrammetry scanner system to perform a coordinated lighting and imaging sequence of a target, wherein the plurality of light emitting devices project light in a lighting pattern and one or more images of the target are captured by the plurality of image sensors (Basler: Paras. [0033]-[0038] disclose the computer 110 can initiate a single-capture process or a multi-capture process that performs a coordinated lighting and imaging sequence of a three-dimensional object [target], wherein the plurality of light emitting devices project light in a lighting pattern and one or more images of the target are captured by the cameras.); and
However, Basler does not explicitly disclose “… each imaging assembly is configured to periodically announce its presence in the system via a status signal, and wherein if a status signal is not received by either a controller imaging assembly or any one of the other imaging assemblies, the relevant imaging assembly is removed from the map of the system … designating at least one of the imaging assemblies as the controller imaging assembly amongst the network of imaging assemblies and configured to coordinate the lighting and imaging sequence of the target.”
Further, Hoff is in the same field of endeavor and teaches each imaging assembly is configured to periodically announce its presence in the system via a status signal, and wherein if a status signal is not received by either a controller imaging assembly or any one of the other imaging assemblies, the relevant imaging assembly is removed from the system (Hoff: Para. [0065] discloses “an overall status indicator 121 may be connected to one of the camera modules 103 [claimed each imaging assembly] to indicate a status of at least one of the camera modules 103 or an overall status of the camera array 101. This may also be referred to as heartbeat monitoring [periodically announce its presence in the system via a status signal]” and Hoff: Paras. [0037], [0066], [0068] disclose that a camera module 103 may be removed from the camera array 101 easily if the status signal indicates that the camera module is faulty.);
wherein at least one of the imaging assemblies is designated as a controller imaging assembly amongst the network of imaging assemblies and configured to coordinate the lighting and imaging sequence of the target (Hoff: Para. [0060] discloses “One camera module 103 (e.g., the first camera module 103a) in the daisy chain may be configured as a master camera module [designated controller imaging assembly] that allows the camera array 101 to act as one entity by controlling clock signals for other camera modules”, and Hoff: Para. [0064] discloses using those clock signals to “synchronize start operations and stop operations of the camera modules [coordinate the lighting and imaging sequence of the target]”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Basler and Hoff before him or her, to modify the network of towers of Basler to include the status signal designated controller imaging assembly feature as described in Hoff. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve network synchronization by providing a configuration that decentralizes the system and reduced hardware overhead.
However, Basler-Hoff do not explicitly disclose “… the relevant imaging assembly is removed from the map of the system.”
Furthermore, Singh is in the same field of endeavor and teaches each imaging assembly is configured to periodically announce its presence in the system via a status signal, and wherein if a status signal is not received by either the controller imaging assembly or any one of the other imaging assemblies, the relevant imaging assembly is removed from the map of the system (Singh: Para. [0108] discloses “Each BSDU 57 and CU 59 transmits a heartbeat message at a set frequency [each imaging assembly is configured to periodically announce its presence in the system via a status signal] … If no heartbeat is received from any particular device for a certain predetermined period, then an alarm is generated showing that the device in question is unresponsive” and Singh: Paras. [0097], [0129] disclose a visual map of the positions of various devices and their current status, and if the faulty devices are replaced with new ones, the system will automatically calibrate to recognise the new devices and use them in message relaying [if a status signal is not received, the relevant imaging assembly is removed from the map of the system]”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Basler-Hoff and Singh before him or her, to modify the network of Basler-Hoff to include the heartbeat status signal and mapping feature as described in Singh. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the reliability of the system by providing a configuration that continuously monitors the health of active nodes to dynamically update the system representation, thereby ensuring that unresponsive nodes are identified and ignored prior to triggering a synchronized network-wide sequence.
As per claim 22, Basler discloses the photogrammetry scanner system according to claim 1, wherein the scanner system is configured to perform the coordinated lighting and imaging sequence of the target based on the map of the network of imaging assemblies (Basler: Paras. [0034]-[0038] disclose the camera clocks are synchronized and then the projectors and cameras are caused to emit a pattern and acquire an image based on the synchronized clocks.).
As per claim 23, Basler discloses the photogrammetry scanner system according to claim 1, wherein the frame is a modular frame comprising one or more arms (120) for supporting at least one of the imaging assemblies (Basler: Fig. 2 & Para. [0027] disclose the daisy chain of towers comprises a plurality towers 120 supporting the imaging assemblies.).
As per claim 24, Basler discloses the photogrammetry system according to claim 3, wherein the one or more arms of the frame are dynamically configurable relative to one another so as to create a different frame arrangement for capturing one or more images of the target (Basler: Para. [0030] discloses “The angles between directions of the one or more cameras 210 and the light source 220 can be adjustable to ensure that the at least a portion of the object 130, illuminated by the light source 220, is within a viewing area of the one or more cameras 210 … cameras 210 and the light source 220 can be mounted such that they move together. For example … can be supported by a physical support structure that allows movement in the pan/tilt directions … are permitted to move up and down or left and right in one plane. In addition, motorized pan/tilt heads can be used to remotely control the movement of the one or more cameras 210 and the light source 220.”).
As per claim 25, Basler discloses the photogrammetry scanner system according to claim 1, wherein the projection of light from the plurality of light emitting devices is synchronised to the image capture sequence of the plurality of image sensors (Basler: Paras. [0027]-[0030] disclose wherein the projection of light from the plurality of light emitting devices is synchronized to the image capture sequence of the plurality of image sensors using clocks and microcomputer 240.).
As per claim 26, Basler discloses the photogrammetry scanner system according to claim 1, wherein the image capture sequence comprises activating a light emitting device of an imaging assembly and subsequently capturing an image via the image sensor of the imaging assembly (Basler: Paras. [0027]-[0030] disclose using clocks and microcomputer 240 to activate a light emitting device of an imaging assembly and subsequently capturing an image via the image sensor of the imaging assembly.).
As per claim 27, Basler discloses the photogrammetry scanner system according to claim 1, wherein an arrangement of the plurality of image sensors and the plurality of light emitting devices comprises each image sensor of the plurality of image sensors being adjacent a light emitting device of the plurality of light emitting devices (Basler: Figs. 2-3 & Paras. [0027]-[0029] disclose an arrangement of the plurality of image sensors and the plurality of light emitting devices comprises each image sensor of the plurality of image sensors being adjacent a light emitting device 230 of the plurality of light emitting devices (220, 230).).
As per claim 28, Basler discloses the photogrammetry scanner system according to claim 1, wherein each image sensor of the plurality of image sensors is offset from every other image sensor of the plurality of image sensors in three dimensions (Basler: Figs. 2-3 & Paras. [0027]-[0029] disclose as shown in figure 2, each image sensor 210 of the plurality of image sensors 210 is offset from every other image sensor of the plurality of image sensors (see figure 3) of each tower 120 in three dimensions.).
As per claim 29, Basler discloses the photogrammetry scanner system according to claim 1, wherein each image sensor of the plurality of image sensors has a coordinate in three-dimensional space that is unique in each of three dimensions relative to the coordinates of every other image sensor of the plurality of image sensors (Basler: Figs. 2-3 & Paras. [0027], [0030], [0033] disclose each image sensor of the plurality of image sensors has a coordinate in three-dimensional space that is unique (e.g., unique identifier of “x003x004” can identify a camera as contained within tower 3 in position 4) in each of three dimensions relative to the coordinates of every other image sensor of the plurality of image sensors.).
As per claim 30, Basler discloses the photogrammetry scanner system according to claim 1, wherein a light emitting device of the plurality of light emitting devices is independently controllable relative to another light emitting device of the plurality of light emitting devices (Basler: Paras. [0028], [0030] disclose angles between directions of the one or more cameras 210 and the light source 220 can be adjustable and motorized pan/tilt heads can be used to remotely control the movement of the one or more cameras 210 and the light source 220.).
As per claim 31, Basler discloses the photogrammetry scanner system according to claim 1, wherein each light emitting device of the plurality of light emitting devices comprises a plurality of lights emitting light at different wavelengths (Basler: Para. [0052] discloses each light emitting device of the plurality of light emitting devices can comprise a plurality of lights emitting light at infrared and visible wavelengths.).
As per claim 33, Basler-Hoff-Singh disclose the photogrammetry scanner system according to claim 1, wherein the photogrammetry scanner system further comprises an orientation sensor and/or an acceleration sensor configured to determine and track scanner location and orientation (Basler: Paras. [0028], [0030] disclose angles between directions of the one or more cameras 210 and the light source 220 can be adjustable and motorized pan/tilt heads can be used to remotely control the movement of the one or more cameras 210 and the light source 220 and Hoff: Paras. [0038], [0043], [0048], [0064] disclose that the camera modules 103 include gyroscope and/or accelerometer sensors that measures their orientation and/or acceleration and are synchronized to assist with alignment of the object within their field of view of the image sensors.).
As per claim 35, Basler-Hoff-Singh disclose the photogrammetry scanner system according to claim 1 (Basler: Abstract), wherein at least one of the imaging assemblies is designated as a controller imaging assembly amongst the network of imaging assemblies and configured to coordinate the lighting and imaging sequence of the target (Hoff: Para. [0060] discloses “One camera module 103 (e.g., the first camera module 103a) in the daisy chain may be configured as a master camera module [designated controller imaging assembly] that allows the camera array 101 to act as one entity by controlling clock signals for other camera modules”, and Hoff: Para. [0064] discloses using those clock signals to “synchronize start operations and stop operations of the camera modules [coordinate the lighting and imaging sequence of the target]”.).
As per claim 38, Basler-Hoff-Singh disclose the method as claimed in claim 17, wherein the map of the network of imaging assemblies connected to the frame is dynamically updated for each new imaging assembly that is added or removed during operation of the photogrammetry scanner system (Basler: Fig. 4 & Paras. [0027], [0032]-[0033] disclose a user interface 400 generating images of an object, representing each camera, having a unique identifier that identifies which tower the camera is in and what position the camera is in the tower; and a clock that is used to coordinate capture of image data by the one or more cameras 210 and Singh: Paras. [0097], [0129] disclose a visual map of the positions of various devices and their current status, and if the faulty devices are replaced with new ones, the system will automatically calibrate to recognise the new devices and use them in message relaying [dynamically updated for each new imaging assembly that is added or removed during operation]”.).
As per claim 39, Basler discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein the scanner system is configured to perform the coordinated lighting and imaging sequence of the target based on the generated map of the network of imaging assemblies (Basler: Fig. 4 & Paras. [0027], [0032]-[0033] disclose a user interface 400 generating images of an object, representing each camera, having a unique identifier that identifies which tower the camera is in and what position the camera is in the tower; and a clock that is used to coordinate capture of image data by the one or more cameras 210 and the user interface 400.).
As per claim 40, Basler discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein the method includes dynamically varying an angle or orientation of each of the plurality of image sensors to track the target (Basler: Para. [0030] discloses “The angles between directions of the one or more cameras 210 and the light source 220 can be adjustable to ensure that the at least a portion of the object 130, illuminated by the light source 220, is within a viewing area of the one or more cameras 210 … cameras 210 and the light source 220 can be mounted such that they move together. For example … can be supported by a physical support structure that allows movement in the pan/tilt directions … are permitted to move up and down or left and right in one plane. In addition, motorized pan/tilt heads can be used to remotely control the movement of the one or more cameras 210 and the light source 220.”).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basler in view of Hoff in view of Singh in further view of Venkataraman et al., hereinafter referred to as Venkataraman (US 2023/0152087 A1).
As per claim 32, Basler-Hoff-Singh disclose the photogrammetry scanner system according to claim 1 (Basler: Abstract),
However, Basler-Hoff-Singh do not explicitly disclose “… wherein a grate is located over the plurality of light emitting devices.”.
Further, Venkataraman is in the same field of endeavor and teaches wherein a grate is located over the plurality of light emitting devices (Venkataraman: Paras. [0086], [0096] disclose light from the light source 302 or light emitting diodes is directly incident on the DOE 306, wherein the DOE is a phase grating such as binary or multilevel gratings. Amplitude gratings can also be utilized.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Basler-Hoff-Singh and Venkataraman before him or her, to modify the photogrammetry scanner system of Basler-Hoff-Singh to include the grate located over the plurality of light emitting devices feature as described in Venkataraman. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve image quality during capture by providing a configuration that manipulates the optical output of the light elements, such as controlling phase or amplitude, to achieve specific illumination patterns or beam shaping.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basler in view of Hoff in view of Singh in further view of Barker (US 2010/0237206 A1).
As per claim 34, Basler-Hoff-Singh disclose the photogrammetry scanner system according to claim 1, wherein the frame comprises (Basler: Paras. [0028], [0030] disclose angles between directions of the one or more cameras 210 and the light source 220 can be adjustable.).
However, Basler-Hoff-Singh do not explicitly disclose “… a plurality of releasably connectable receptacles, each receptacle configured to receive an image sensor and a light emitting device …”.
Further, Barker is in the same field of endeavor and teaches a plurality of releasably connectable receptacles, each receptacle configured to receive an image sensor and a light emitting device (Barker: Paras. [0022], [0024] disclose mount device 10 is intended to releasably and securely mount and position a camera or light to any suitable substrate including a frame, or any other base, with positioning components 8 (releasable locking ball and socket arrangement) as shown in FIG. 1.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Basler-Hoff-Singh and Barker before him or her, to modify the photogrammetry scanner system of Basler-Hoff-Singh to include the releasably connectable receptacles configured to receive an image sensor and a light emitting device feature as described in Barker. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve efficient mounting alignment and user experience by providing a configuration that reduces the amount of time or effort to achieve proper attachment.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basler in view of Hoff in view of Singh in further view of Alvarado-Moya et al., hereinafter referred to as Moya (US 2018/0376061 A1).
As per claim 36, Basler-Hoff-Singh disclose the photogrammetry scanner system according to claim 1, wherein at least one imaging assembly in the network of imaging assemblies is pre-programmed with designated coordinates relative to the frame and, wherein each remaining imaging assembly is configured to determine its coordinates within the frame (Basler: Figs. 2-3 & Paras. [0027], [0030], [0033] disclose each image sensor of the plurality of image sensors has a coordinate in three-dimensional space that is unique (e.g., unique identifier of “x003x004” can identify a camera as contained within tower 3 in position 4) in each of three dimensions relative to the coordinates of every other image sensor of the plurality of image sensors.).
However, Basler-Hoff-Singh do not explicitly disclose “… imaging assembly is configured to determine its coordinates within the frame by communicating with other imaging assemblies and using the pre-programmed imaging assembly as reference.”.
Further, Moya is in the same field of endeavor and teaches imaging assembly is configured to determine its coordinates within the frame by communicating with other imaging assemblies and using the pre-programmed imaging assembly as reference (Moya: Paras. [0050], [0108], [0116] disclose six cameras generating small active signals (such as a Bluetooth signal) and use those signals to triangulate their precise position relative to the other cameras in space. The camera systems may self-calibrate in the field given known positions in space and several sensor units 101 may use a wireless connection by using the relative position of units for mapping.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Basler-Hoff-Singh and Moya before him or her, to modify the photogrammetry scanner system of Basler-Hoff-Singh to include the self-localization and coordinate determination feature as described in Moya. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve operational efficiency and spatial accuracy by providing a configuration that enables precise image stitching or 3D reconstruction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be viewed in the list of cited references.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PEET DHILLON/Primary Examiner
Art Unit: 2488
Date: 05-24-2026