DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 33-37, 42-46 and 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2020/0296365).
Regarding claim 33, Chen discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code (e.g. see ¶ [0032]); wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: determine a virtual boundary that separates a picture, or a portion of the picture, into a first area and a second area (see 520 in fig. 5); and determine to perform filtering of at least one pixel of the first area with coding information of the second area derived from the first area or with the coding information of the second area set to at least one value (see “sample on other side” is padded in 530 of fig. 5), when the coding information of the second area is to be used to perform the filtering of the at least one pixel of the first area (see “outside sample is replaced by a padded sample” form first area in 540 of fig. 5), or not perform the filtering of the at least one pixel of the first area, when the coding information of the second area is to be used to perform the filtering of the at least one pixel of the first area (e.g. see “accessing samples location at the other side of VB is forbidden” in ¶ [0024]), wherein the filtering of the at least one pixel of the first area comprises at least one of: bilateral filtering for luma, bilateral filtering for chroma, deblocking filtering (see 130 in fig. 1A), sample adaptive offset edge offset filtering; cross-component sample adaptive offset filtering, cross-component adaptive loop filtering, or cross-component chroma mode (CCCM).
Regarding claim 34, Chen further discloses wherein the filtering of the at least one pixel of the first area comprises in-loop filtering (see 132 in fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 35, Chen further discloses to: pad pixels in the second area from pixels in the first area (see 530 in fig. 5), in response to the pixels in the second area being used to perform the filtering of the at least one pixel of the first area (see 530 in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 36, Chen further discloses to: replace pixels in the second area with pixels extrapolated from the first area, in response to pixels in the second area being used to perform the filtering of the at least one pixel in the first area (see 530 in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 37, Chen further discloses to: determine a first output of the filtering of the at least one pixel of the first area, when coding information of the first area and the coding information of the second area are available for the filtering of the at least one pixel of the first area (see 530 in fig. 5); and determine a second output of the filtering of the at least one pixel of the first area, when the coding information of the second area is not available for the filtering of the at least one pixel of the first area (e.g. see ¶ [0024]).
Regarding claim 42, Chen further discloses to: determine whether to perform the filtering of the at least one pixel of the first area without using the coding information of the second area (e.g. see ¶ [0024]), and determine whether to perform filtering of the at least one pixel of the second area without using coding information of the first area (e.g. see ¶ [0015]), in response to determination of a common option related to the filtering of the at least one pixel of the first area and the filtering of the at least one pixel of the second area (e.g. see ¶ [0024]), wherein the common option comprises at least one of: determining not to perform filtering of the at least one pixel of the first area, and determining not to perform filtering of the at least one pixel of the second area; determining to perform filtering of the at least one pixel of the first area with padding the coding information of the first area; and determining to perform filtering of the at least one pixel of the second area with padding coding information of the second area (e.g. see ¶ [0015]).
Regarding claim 43, Chen further discloses to: perform filtering of at least one pixel of the second area using coding information of the first area and the coding information of the second area (e.g. see ¶ [0015]).
Regarding claim 44, Chen further discloses wherein the filtering of the at least one pixel of the first area further comprises adaptive loop filtering (see 132 in fig. 1A; see 530 in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 45, Chen further discloses to cause the apparatus at least to one of: disable the filtering of the at least one pixel of the first area up to a number of pixel positions from the virtual boundary; or perform the filtering of the at least one pixel of the first area up to a number of pixel positions form from the virtual boundary (see 530 in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 46, Chen further discloses to perform at least one of: set pixel values of the second area to be equal to a pixel value of the first area next to the virtual boundary (e.g. see ¶ [0024]); set pixel values of the second area to be equal to a mean of pixel values of the first area; or set pixel values of the second area to be equal to a median of pixel values of the first area; wherein the coding information of the second area comprises the set pixel values of the second area.
Regarding claim 51, the claim(s) recites a method with analogous limitations to claim 33, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
Regarding claim 50, Chen does not discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: determine the at least one value with a bit depth BD. determine the at least one value as 2^(BD-1).
Although it is not explicitly recited, it is conventional in the art wherein bit depth are at least one value as 2^(BD-1). The Examiner takes official notice that bit depth are at least one value as 2^(BD-1) is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate such bit depth of 2^(BD-1) for the benefit of utilizing industries standards on bit depth selections for compatibility purposes.
Claims 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Lim et al. (US 2012/0314771).
Regarding claim 38, Chen does not disclose to determine a difference between the first output and the second output; and determine an output of filtering at least one pixel of the second area, using at least partially the difference or an approximation of the difference.
However, Lim discloses a compression and decompression system to determine a difference between a first output and a second output (see 5310 in fig. 53; e.g. see ¶ [0293]); and determine an output of filtering at least one pixel of the second area, using at least partially the difference or an approximation of the difference (e.g. see ¶ [0293]).
Given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate Lim teachings of selecting optimum filter mode from a plurality of filtering mode into Chen filtering mode for the benefit of utilizing the best filtering scheme on a virtual boundary for reducing residual errors.
Regarding claim 39, Chen does not disclose to determine a difference between the first output and the second output; determine an initial output of filtering at least one pixel of the second area; and determine a final output of the filtering of the at least one pixel of the second area, with subtracting at least partially the difference from the initial output.
However, Lim discloses a compression and decompression system to determine a difference between the first output and the second output (see 5310 in fig. 53; e.g. see ¶ [0293]); determine an initial output of filtering at least one pixel of the second area; and determine a final output of the filtering of the at least one pixel of the second area, with subtracting at least partially the difference from the initial output (e.g. see ¶ [0293]).
Given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate Lim teachings of selecting optimum filter mode from a plurality of filtering mode into Chen filtering mode for the benefit of utilizing the best filtering scheme on a virtual boundary for reducing residual errors.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 40-41 and 47-49 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. Philippe et al. (US 2013/0103408), discloses Adaptive Linear Predictive Coding/Decoding.
2. Koh et al. (US 2013/0070862), discloses video coding with optimum loop filter selection.
3. Lin et al. (US 2019/0297350), discloses sample adaptive offset (SAO) filtering method for a reconstructed projection-based frame.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 33-51 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD T TORRENTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485