DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to the claims filed 1/13/2025. Claims 1 – 10 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 1/13/2025 is acknowledged by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Shut-off valve, Method of operating a shut-off valve and solenoid assembly”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2, 4, 7 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication to Sato et al. (2014/0291564).
Regarding claim 1, Sato et al. disclose a valve including a solenoid assembly (Fig. 1), which comprises a solenoid actuator having a solenoid (24, Fig. 1) and an armature (60, Fig. 1), which is pre-tensioned by a spring element (64, Fig. 1) with a pre-tensioning force acting in a closing direction, wherein the armature (60, Fig. 1) is movable along an axis of movement in an opening direction to open the valve via a magnetic force against the pre-tensioning force of the spring element (6, Fig. 1), to open a fluidic connection between a fluid inlet (12, Fig. 1) and a fluid outlet (14, Fig. 1), which is blocked without the magnetic force, by a magnetic force pulling on the armature (60, Fig. 1),wherein the solenoid assembly is designed in such a way that a purposefully asymmetrical magnetic force distribution [para. 111] results relative to the axis of movement of the armature (60, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Sato et al. disclose that the armature (60, Fig. 1) movable along its axis of movement can also be tilted by the asymmetric magnetic force distribution relative to its axis of movement [para. 111].
Regarding claim 4, Sate et al. disclose the armature (60, Fig. 1) has an asymmetrical shape relative to its axis of movement (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, structure of the valve disclosed by Sato et al. is capable of operating in the reverse direction.
“[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 8, Sato et al. disclose the valve is designed as a seat valve (30, Fig. 1) with a closed position in which the armature (60, Fig. 1) is symmetrically arranged relative to its axis of movement.
Regarding claim 9, Sat et al. disclose a method of operating the valve in which the armature (60, Fig. 1) is tilted by the asymmetric magnetic force distribution when the valve is opened inherently to realize a greater flow of fluid.
Regarding claim 10, Sato et al. disclose a solenoid assembly (Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5 - 6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent to Woerner et al. (12,553,536) and US Patent to Walter (5,567,440) both disclosing asymmetrical movement of armatures.
/UMASHANKAR VENKATESAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753