DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to the amendment filed 6/1/2026. Applicant amened claims 1 – 10; claims 1 – 10 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant in response to an objection to the specification amended the title of the invention. The amended title is accepted and the previous objection to the specification is withdrawn.
Examiner notes the limitation “the armature (7) is guided in a guide geometry (13)” is broadly interpreted. The armature restrained in movement by an element encompassing the armature will read on the limitation “the armature (7) is guided in a guide geometry (13)”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2, 4, 7, 9 - 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent to Ueda et al. (4,170,339).
Regarding claim 1, Ueda et al. disclose a shut-off valve (Fig. 1) including a solenoid assembly (40, Fig. 1), which comprises a solenoid actuator having a solenoid (40, Fig. 1) and an armature (34, Fig. 1), which is pre- tensioned by a spring element (42, Fig. 1) with a pre-tensioning force acting in a closing direction, wherein the armature (34, Fig. 1) is movable along an axis (rotational motion about the pivot) of movement in an opening direction to open the shut-off valve via a magnetic force against the pre-tensioning force of the spring element (42, Fig. 1), to open a fluidic connection between a fluid inlet (14, Fig. 1) and a fluid outlet (16, Fig. 1), which is blocked without the magnetic force, by a magnetic force pulling on the armature (34, Fig. 1), wherein the solenoid assembly is designed in such a way that a purposefully asymmetrical magnetic force distribution results relative to the axis of movement, by means of surfaces 52 and 53, of the armature (34, Fig. 1), and wherein the armature (34, Fig. 1) is guided in a guide geometry – between the pivot point and the element 46 - configured to allow the armature (34, Fig. 1) to tilt relative to the guide geometry during opening of the shut-off valve.
Regarding claim 2, Ueda et al. disclose the armature (34, Fig. 1) movable along its axis of movement is configured to can also be tilted by the asymmetric magnetic force distribution relative to its axis of movement by means of surfaces 52, 53.
Regarding claim 4, Ueda et al. disclose the armature (34, Fig. 1) has an asymmetrical shape relative to its axis of movement because of the pivot.
Regarding claim 7, Ueda et al. disclose a central (with respect to the valve member 18) outlet passage (16, Fig. 1) and a decentral inlet passage (14, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Ueda et al. disclose a method of operating a shut-off valve (Fig. 1) wherein the armature (34, Fig. 1) is tilted by the asymmetric magnetic force distribution when the shut-off valve (Fig. 1) is opened to realize a greater flow of fluid.
Regarding claim 10 , Ueda et al. disclose a solenoid assembly (Fig. 1)
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent to Seltner et al. (11,521,773).
Regarding claim 1, Seltner et al. disclose a shut-off valve (Fig. 1) including a solenoid assembly, which comprises a solenoid actuator having a solenoid (MS, Fig. 1) and an armature (A, Fig. 1), which is pre- tensioned by a spring element (RS, Fig. 1) with a pre-tensioning force acting in a closing direction, wherein the armature (A, Fig. 1) is movable along an axis of movement in an opening direction to open the shut-off valve via a magnetic force against the pre-tensioning force of the spring element (RS, Fig. 1), to open a fluidic connection between a fluid inlet (FA1, Fig. 1) and a fluid outlet (FA2, Fig. 1), which is blocked without the magnetic force, by a magnetic force pulling on the armature (A, Fig. 1), wherein the solenoid assembly is designed in such a way that a purposefully asymmetrical magnetic force distribution results relative to the axis of movement (Fig. 4) and wherein the armature (34, Fig. 1) is guided in a guide (SSF Fig. 4) configured to allow the armature (A, Fig. 1) to tilt relative to the guide geometry during opening of the shut-off valve.
Regarding claim 8, Seltner et al. disclose shut-off valve (Fig. 1) is designed as a seat valve with a closed position in which the armature (A, Fig. 1) is symmetrically arranged relative to its axis of movement (Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5 – 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/UMASHANKAR VENKATESAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753