Claim Objections
Claims 2-3, 5, 8, and 10-11 are objected to as claim 1 positively recites the limitation “a punctiform narrowing,” claims 2-3 depend on claim 1 and recite the limitations as “the narrowing,” and claims 5, 8, and 10-11 depend on claim 1 and recite the limitations as “the at least one narrowing.” To prevent potential confusion, the same terminology should be used in each recitation of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a punctiform narrowing” on line 10. It is unclear how the term “punctiform” is intended to be interpreted in this context, as “a punctiform narrowing” is not a term known in the art, not defined in the specification, and in its typical definition “punctiform” appears to relate to points in space or dots. For the purpose of examination, the limitation has been assumed to read “a narrowing.”
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the continuation" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, it has been assumed the limitation should read “a continuation.”
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the articulation" in line 11-12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, it has been assumed the limitation should read “an articulation.”
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 7 recites the broad recitation “at least one articulation bore” in claim 1 from which claim 7 depends, and the claim also recites “the articulation bores” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Particularly, it is unclear if claim 7 is intended to narrow the scope to a plurality of bores, or if the claim is intended to continue the prior scope of one or more.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “a punctiform narrowing” on line 6. It is unclear how the term “punctiform” is intended to be interpreted in this context, as “a punctiform narrowing” is not a term known in the art, not defined in the specification, and in its typical definition “punctiform” appears to relate to points in space or dots. For the purpose of examination, the limitation has been assumed to read “a narrowing.”
Claim 9 recites the limitation " the continuation " in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, it has been assumed the limitation should read “a continuation.”
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the articulation" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, it has been assumed the limitation should read “an articulation.”
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/993,642 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-2, 4, and 6-11 of instant application is not patentably distinct from claims 1-11 of reference application as provided below.
Claim Comparison, differences are in bold.
Instant Application
Reference Application
1. A wiper, for a motor vehicle, comprising a cowling including a central mount and at least one end cap disposed in the continuation of the central mount; at least one adapter element fastened to the central mount, the adapter element including a central core and two legs at opposite edges of the central core, one of the at least one end caps being pivotally articulated to the adapter element; wherein the adapter element has a punctiform narrowing of at least one of the two legs at the articulation of the end cap on the adapter element, the narrowing extending from at least one articulation bore to the central core of the adapter element.
1. A windshield wiper, in particular for a vehicle, comprising:- a cowl including a central mount and at least one end cap disposed in the continuation of the central mount; at least one yoke mounted in pivotable articulation with the central mount wherein the at least one end cap is pivotably articulated on the at least one yoke.
2. The wiper as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one yoke includes a central core, two lateral flanks extending from opposite edges of the central core and at least one pair of claws a longitudinal end of the at least one yoke.
3. The wiper as claimed in claim 2, wherein the at least one yoke includes at least one articulation bore formed in at least one of the two lateral flanks of the yoke.
5. The wiper as claimed claim 3, wherein the yoke has a narrowing at certain points of the at least one yoke at the articulation of the end cap on the yoke, the narrowing extending from the at least one articulation bore to the central core of the yoke.
Claim 2 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 6 of the reference application.
Claim 4 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 4 of the reference application.
Claim 6 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 7 of the reference application.
Claim 7 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 8 of the reference application.
Claim 8 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 9 of the reference application.
Claim 9 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 1-3 and 5 of the reference application.
Claim 10 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 11 of the reference application.
Claim 11 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 12 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vacher et al. US 2006024875 A1 (herein Vacher).
Vacher Figure 5a
Regarding independent claim 1, Vacher teaches a wiper (20), for a motor vehicle (abstract), comprising: a cowling (48) including a central mount (78a) and at least one end cap (52) disposed in a continuation of the central mount (78a); at least one adapter element (24) fastened to the central mount (78a), the adapter element (24) including a central core (the open space bounded by 60a) and two legs (60) at opposite edges of the central core (the open space bounded by 60a), one of the at least one end caps (52) being pivotally articulated (element 56 is a pivot that engages with 24, abstract) to the adapter element (24); wherein the adapter element (24) has a narrowing (74) of at least one of the two legs (60) at an articulation (interface of 72 and 56) of the end cap (52) on the adapter element (24), the narrowing (74) extending from at least one articulation bore (72) to the central core (the open space bounded by 60a) of the adapter element (24).
Vacher Figure 5a, annotated
Regarding claim 2, Vacher teaches the narrowing (74) includes at least one substantially planar mounting surface (see annotated fig 5a), the at least one mounting surface (see annotated fig 5a) being inclined toward a median plan of the adapter element (24).
Regarding claim 3, Vacher teaches the narrowing (74) includes two mounting surfaces (see annotated fig 5a) disposed oppositely with respect to the median plane of the adapter element (24).
Regarding claim 4, Vacher teaches the at least one end cap (52) includes two articulation studs (56) extending top-to-tail from a lower surface (58) of the at least one end cap (52) so as to constitute an articulation axis (axis running through the center of both elements 56), the articulation studs (56) being push-fitted (see fig 5b) in the at least one articulation bore (72) of the adapter element (24).
Regarding claim 5, Vacher teaches the at least one narrowing (74) is at least partially constituted by at least one mounting surface (see annotated fig 5a) formed in the adapter element (24).
Regarding claim 6, Vacher teaches each at least one mounting surface is bordered by two guide surfaces (see annotated fig 5a), the at least one mounting surface (see annotated fig 5a) and the two guide surfaces (see annotated fig 5a) together forming a channel (narrowing 74 is a channel), the two guide surfaces (see annotated fig 5a) being substantially planar.
Regarding claim 7, Vacher teaches the channel extends (narrowing 74 is a channel) from the articulation bores (72) to the central core (the open space bounded by 60a) of the adapter element (24).
Regarding independent claim 9, Vacher teaches a wiper system (abstract) comprising a wiper (22), the wiper (22) including a cowling (48) including a central mount (78a) and at least one end cap (52) disposed in the continuation of the central mount (78a), at least one adapter element (24) fastened to the central mount (78a), the adapter element (24) including a central core (the open space bounded by 60a) and two legs (60) extending from opposite edges of the central core (the open space bounded by 60a), one of the at least one end caps (52) being pivotally articulated (element 56 is a pivot, abstract) to the adapter element (24), wherein the adapter element (24) has a narrowing (74) of at least one of the two legs (60) at the articulation of the end cap (52) on the adapter element (24), the narrowing (74) extending from at least one articulation bore (72) to the central core (the open space bounded by 60a) of the adapter element (24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vacher et al. US 2006024875 A1 (herein Vacher).
Regarding claim 8, Vacher is silent on the angle of the narrowing. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to filing date of instant application, to incline the narrowing at an angle of between 5 and 20 degrees since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). Further applicant does not appear to place criticality on the angle range only specifying that the angle “in one configuration the narrowing is between 5-20 degrees” (instant specification para 26).
Regarding claim 10, Vacher is silent on the angle of the narrowing. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to filing date of instant application, to incline the narrowing at an angle of between 10 and 15 degrees since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). Further applicant does not appear to place criticality on the angle range only specifying that the angle “in one configuration the narrowing is between 5-20 degrees, preferably between 10-15 degrees” (instant specification para 26).
Regarding claim 11, Vacher is silent on the angle of the narrowing. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to filing date of instant application, to incline the narrowing at an angle of 13 degrees since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). Further applicant does not appear to place criticality on the angle value only specifying that the angle “in one configuration the narrowing is between 5-20 degrees, preferably between 10-15 degrees, and more preferably of 13 degrees” (instant specification para 26).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Scorsiroli EP 0490833 A1 as it relates to end caps with pivots and adaptors with guide channels and articulation bores.
/G.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723