DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The abstract exceeds the 150 word limit.
Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US11027716 (“Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses (see fig. 4) a solenoid valve installed in a valve block (401) for controlling flow between a first flow path (401A) and a second flow path (401B) of the valve block, comprising:
a seat member (460) having an orifice (460a) that fluidly connects the first flow path and the second flow path;
an armature (450) configured to selectively open and close the orifice through a forward (downward with bias of spring 440, relative to the orientation of fig. 4) and backward (upward against force of spring 440, relative to the orientation of fig. 4) movement so as to selectively form a main flow path connecting the first flow path and the second flow path;
a magnet core (430) configured to provide a driving force capable of causing movement of the armature for selective formation of the main flow path;
a filter member (480) installed so as to filter out impurities contained in oil flowing between the first flow path and the second flow path; and
a check valve structure (490) configured to form a unidirectional auxiliary flow path (see specification col. 14, lines 41-43) connecting the first flow path and the second flow path,
wherein the check valve structure comprises:
one or more oil passages (480b) provided in the filter member; and
a lip seal (490) disposed in a space connected to the oil passage, and
wherein the lip seal is disposed in a space (see fig. 4) between the filter member and the valve block so as to be installed in a state supported by the filter member and the valve block (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the filter member (480) comprises a lip seal support portion (bottom surface of filter member 480, relative to the orientation of fig. 4) for supporting the lip seal (490), and
wherein the lip seal is disposed in a space between the lip seal support portion and the valve block (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the first flow path (401A) is located near a side surface (radial surface) of the filter member (480) and the second flow path (401B) is located near a lower end (bottom end, relative to the orientation of fig. 4) of the filter member, and
wherein the lip seal (490) is configured to form a unidirectional auxiliary flow path (see flow “F” in fig. 4) leading from the first flow path to the second flow path.
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the lip seal (490) is configured to be installed in a normal state or an upside-down state (see configuration of fig. 4) in a space (spaced defined between a bottom surface of filter member 480, relative to the orientation of fig. 4, and a recess bottom surface of valve block 401) between the filter member (480) and the valve block (401), so as to selectively form a unidirectional auxiliary flow path (see flow “F” in fig. 4) leading from the first flow path (401A) to the second flow path (401B) or a unidirectional auxiliary flow path leading from the second flow path to the first flow path.
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses a solenoid valve installed in a valve block (401) to control flow between a first flow path (401A) and a second flow path (401B) of the valve block, comprising:
a seat member (460) having an orifice (460A) that can fluidly connect the first flow path and the second flow path;
an armature (450) configured to selectively open and close the orifice by a forward (downward, relative to the orientation of fig. 4) and backward (upward, relative to the orientation of fig. 4) movement so as to selectively form a main flow path (passing through 401A, 460A and 401B) connecting the first flow path and the second flow path;
a magnet core (430) that provides a driving force capable of causing the armature to move for selective formation of the main flow path;
a filter member (480) installed so as to filter out impurities contained in oil flowing between the first flow path and the second flow path; and
a lip seal (490) installed between the filter member and the valve block and configured to form a unidirectional auxiliary flow path (see flow “F”) connecting the first flow path and the second flow path.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of JP2016102563 (“Misuno”).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the second flow path (401B) is located near a lower end (bottom end, relative to the orientation of fig. 4) of the filter member (480) and the first flow path (401A) is located near a side surface (radial surface) of the filter member, and wherein the lip seal is configured to form a unidirectional auxiliary flow path leading from the first flow path to the second flow path.
Lee does not disclose the unidirectional auxiliary flow path leading from the lower end of the filter member towards a side surface of the filter member.
However, Misuno teaches a lip seal (230) which is reversibly installed (see figs. 10 and 12) within a solenoid valve.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Lee by installing the lip seal in reverse configuration, as taught by Misuno, to allow for different configurations of fluid flow through the solenoid valve.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 3 and 12, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the solenoid valve, wherein the inclined protrusion is configured to come into contact with the lip seal support portion, in combination with the remainder limitations of the claim and base claim.
Regarding claim 5, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the solenoid valve, wherein the filter member comprises the lip seal support portion, a transverse extension portion extending transversely from one end of the lip seal support portion, a plurality of filter support portions connected to the transverse extension portion, and a filter fixed to the filter support portions, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim(s).
Claims 4, 6, 7 and 13 are allowable because they depend on an allowable claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US10723335, US6679567, US11313488, US5167442, US10737676 and US2019/0077388 disclose a solenoid having an integrated resilient check valve.
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753