DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-19, and 22-24 were filed with the Preliminary Amendment dated 01/13/2025. Claims 5, 10, 20, and 21 were canceled.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the control means (claim 1) and pressure monitoring device (claim 1, claim 14) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “the gas outlet means” should be changed to “a gas outlet means” to correct for a lack of antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP2602454 (“Siemens”).
With regard to claim 12, Siemens discloses a method to compress and displace a gas (“compressed gas” para [0009]) stored in a sealed storage container (11) by introducing a liquid (32) from a liquid source (17) into the storage container (11), introducing a gas (12) from a gas source (13) into the storage container (11) to a desired substantially constant pressure within the storage container (11) (paras [0022] and [0035]), wherein the gas (12) and the liquid (32) are immiscible (water is immiscible) so that the gas (12) fills a space in the storage container (11) over the liquid surface (32) (see Fig 1), and maintaining the substantially constant pressure by controlling the amount of liquid (32) and gas (12) being introduced into and withdrawn from the storage container (11) (paras [0022] [0035]).
With regard to claim 13, Siemens discloses that when a given volume of the gas (12)is drawn- off from the storage container (11), it is replaced by an substantially equal volume of the liquid (32/30) pumped into the storage container (11) at a pressure that maintains the gas pressure for the remaining gas in the storage container (11) at the substantially constant pressure, regardless of how much gas is removed through a gas outlet means (pipe leading to 15 in Fig 1; see also paras [0022] [0035]), and wherein when a given volume of gas (12) is injected into the storage container (11), a similar volume of liquid (32/30) is expelled from the storage container (11) to maintain the substantially constant pressure (liquid is removed via 29/31; see also paras [0036] [0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2602454 (“Siemens”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0013735 (“McBride”).
With regard to claim 1, Siemens discloses an apparatus (Fig 1) comprising respective sources of a gas (12) and a liquid (32), a sealed storage container (11), gas inlet and outlet means (pipe for 13/15) of the storage container (11), liquid inlet and outlet means (pipe at 29) of the storage container (11), and control means (18; para [0038]) in order to maintain a substantially constant pressure in the storage container (11; paras [0022] [0035]) by control of the amount of the gas (12) and liquid (32) being transferred to and withdrawn from the storage container (11) by way of the respective inlet and outlet means (pipes at 13/15 and 29), wherein the gas (inert gas [0059] and water [0035]) are immiscible) and the liquid are immiscible so that the gas (12) fills a space in the storage container (11) over the liquid surface (30/32, see Fig 1).
Siemens discloses all the claimed features with the exception of explicitly disclosing that the control means (18) includes a pressure monitoring device. However, Siemens does disclose controlling gas and fluid flow based on pressure (see, for example, paras [0022] [0035]).
McBride teaches that it is known in the art to modify a control means (222) for a apparatus for a storage container (201) to include a pressure monitoring device (pressure sensors) for the purpose of controlling the pressure in the tank and controlling the compressed gas input/output (see para [0013]: “may be equipped with sensors for detecting and reporting flow, volume, temperature, pressure, strain, or other qualities of the vessel's contents” and para [0127]: “the control system 222 may receive telemetry from sensors monitoring various aspects of the operation of system 200, and may provide signals to control valve actuators, valves, motors, and other electromechanical/electronic devices.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a control means with a pressure monitoring device and sensors as taught by McBride in place of the control means of Siemens, since the control means are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 2, Siemens discloses that the sealed storage container (11) is an underground container (see Fig 1; also see [0033]).
With regard to claim 3, Siemens discloses that the underground container (11) is grouted with a concrete-like material into a chamber excavated in the ground (see Fig 1; see also para [0017]: “concrete jacket”; and para [0033]).
With regard to claim 4, Siemens discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing the container is circular cylindrical with hemispherical ends.
Siemens discloses that the container (11) is circular cylindrical with at least one end that is hemispherical (see Fig 1 and paras [0031] [0033] – “cylindrical”)
McBride teaches that it is known in the art to modify a tank (102) to be circular cylindrical with both ends hemispherical (see Fig 1B).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a container with both ends hemispherical as taught by McBride in place of the container shape of Siemens, since the container shapes are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 6, Siemens discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing the container is installed underground in a substantially horizontal orientation.
The container (11) of Siemens is installed underground (para [0033]), but in a vertical orientation (see Fig 1).
McBride teaches that it is known in the art to install containers (138) underground in a horizontal orientation (see Fig 1D and para [0118]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to orient an underground container in a horizontal orientation as taught by McBride in place of the vertical orientation of Siemens, since the orientations are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 7, Siemens (as modified by McBride) discloses that the substantially horizontally orientated container (see orientation of 138 in Fig 1D of McBride) is installed in a tunnel excavated into rising ground (container 11 in Siemens, 138 in McBride are inherently in a tunnel – which is a passageway under the earth – and “into rising ground” is broadly recited and met by the ground rising above at least a portion of the container (see Fig 1 of Siemens and Fig 1D of McBride).
With regard to claim 8, Siemens discloses that the container (11) is installed underground in a substantially vertical position (see Fig 1).
With regard to claim 11, Siemens (as modified by McBride above for claim 1) discloses that the control means includes a control system (18 in Siemens, 222 in McBride) and the control system monitors and responds to signals from the pressure monitoring device and further sensor devices and/or transducers (as modified above for claim 11, McBride: see para [0013]: “may be equipped with sensors for detecting and reporting flow, volume, temperature, pressure, strain, or other qualities of the vessel's contents” and para [0127]: “the control system 222 may receive telemetry from sensors monitoring various aspects of the operation of system 200, and may provide signals to control valve actuators, valves, motors, and other electromechanical/electronic devices.”).
With regard to claim 14 (which depends from claim 12), Siemens discloses that said maintaining includes monitoring the substantially constant pressure by a control system (18; para [0038]), and causing appropriate inputs and outputs of gas and liquid by appropriately activating and adjusting one or more pumps and/or valves (para [0038]) “control unit 18 …controls the gas compressor 14, the compressed gas turbine 16, the liquid pump 37, and the pump 31”).
Siemens discloses all the claimed features with the exception of explicitly disclosing the control system including a pressure monitoring device.
However, Siemens does disclose controlling gas and fluid flow based on pressure (see, for example, paras [0022] [0035]).
McBride teaches that it is known in the art to modify a control system (222) for a storage container (201) to include a pressure monitoring device (pressure sensors) for the purpose of controlling the pressure in the tank and controlling the compressed gas input/output (see para [0013]: “may be equipped with sensors for detecting and reporting flow, volume, temperature, pressure, strain, or other qualities of the vessel's contents” and para [0127]: “the control system 222 may receive telemetry from sensors monitoring various aspects of the operation of system 200, and may provide signals to control valve actuators, valves, motors, and other electromechanical/electronic devices.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a control system with a pressure monitoring device and sensors as taught by McBride in place of the control means of Siemens, since the control means are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 15-17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2602454 (“Siemens”) in view of EP 3091147 (“Ryu”).
With regard to claim 15, Siemens discloses further comprising excavating a hole in the ground (“artificially created cavern” para [0009]) and installing the storage container (11) in the excavated hole in a substantially vertical orientation (see Fig 1) and a grout material (see Fig 1; see also para [0017]: “concrete jacket”; and para [0033]) so that the surrounding ground carries some of the strain resulting from pressurizing the container (see para [0010]).
Siemens discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing subsequently filling any void space between the container and the surrounding ground with a grout material so that the surrounding ground carries some of the strain resulting from pressurizing the container.
Ryu teaches that it is known in the art to subsequently fill any void space between the container and surrounding ground with a grout material (“place backfill material” step 14, Fig 12; backfill material is concrete – para [0069]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to install the underground container according to the method as taught by Ryu, in place of the installation method of Siemens since the installation methods are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 16, Siemens discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing the storage container is prefabricated and lowered complete into the excavated hole prior to grouting it into place.
Ryu teaches that it is known in the art to install a container underground by the method of installing the prefabricated container (segments are prefabricated and installed and coupled completely prior to grouting) into the hole (Fig 12, step 8) prior to grouting it into place (“place backfill material” step 14, Fig 12; backfill material is concrete – para [0069]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to install the underground container with the method as taught by Ryu, in place of the installation method of Siemens since the installation methods are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Alternatively, if the phrase “prefabricated and lowered complete” is construed as requiring the container to be completely formed prior to lowering and not just prior to grouting in place, the following alternative rejection is offered.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to install the underground container, entirely in one complete piece since the installation methods (in segments or in a single complete piece) are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 17, Siemens discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing the storage container is installed by, initially, lowering a lowest part of the container into the excavated hole until it is almost below ground, and subsequently attaching one or more container subsections until the container is complete and below the surface of the ground, such that the complete container is assembled during the installation procedure and can subsequently be grouted into place by filling the voids between the container and the surrounding ground with grout.
Ryu teaches that it is known in the art to install a container underground by the method of installing, initially, lowering a lowest part of the container (launch lower segment, step 8, Fig 12) into the excavated hole until it is almost below ground, and subsequently attaching one or more container subsections until the container is complete (Fig 12, step 8: “then sequentially couple body segment and upper segment”) and below the surface of the ground, such that the complete container is assembled during the installation procedure and can subsequently be grouted into place by filling the voids between the container and the surrounding ground with grout (“place backfill material” step 14, Fig 12; backfill material is concrete – para [0069]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to install the underground container according to the method as taught by Ryu, in place of the installation method of Siemens since the installation methods are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 22, Siemens discloses a shell (wall 27) of the storage container installed in an excavated space underground (see Fig 1) and grouted into place (concrete jacket para [0017]), there being intimate contact between the shell of the storage container and the ground (see Fig 1), transmits pressure when the storage container is charged with pressurized gas and liquid to the surrounding geological formation(s), thereby minimizing the mass of material needed for the storage container (para [0033] and Fig 1).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2602454 (“Siemens”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0013735 (“McBride”) and further in view of EP 3091147 (“Ryu”).
With regard to claim 18, Siemens discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing wherein the installation of the storage container is by excavating a trench-like hole and installing the storage container in a substantially horizontal orientation and then back-filling the hole and subsequently filling any void space between the container and the surrounding ground with a grout material so that the surrounding ground carries some of the strain resulting from pressurizing the container.
Siemens does disclose the installation of the storage container is by excavating a trench-like hole (“artificially created cavern” para [0009] is considered to be a “trench-like hole”) and installing the storage container (11).
McBride teaches that it is known in the art to install containers (138) underground in a horizontal orientation (see Fig 1D and para [0118]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to orient an underground container in a horizontal orientation as taught by McBride in place of the vertical orientation of Siemens, since the orientations are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Ryu teaches that it is known in the art to subsequently fill any void space between the container and surrounding ground with a grout material (“place backfill material” step 14, Fig 12; backfill material is concrete – para [0069]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to install the underground container according to the method as taught by Ryu, in place of the installation method of Siemens since the installation methods are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 19, Siemens discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing the installation of the storage container is by inserting the storage container in a substantially horizontal tunnel and subsequently filling any void space between the container and the surrounding ground with a grout material so that the surrounding ground carries some of the strain resulting from pressurizing the container.
Siemens does disclose installing the storage container (11) into a tunnel (“artificially created cavern” para [0009] is considered to be a “tunnel”) and installing the storage container (11).
McBride teaches that it is known in the art to install containers (138) underground in a horizontal orientation (see Fig 1D and para [0118]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to orient an underground container in a horizontal orientation as taught by McBride in place of the vertical orientation of Siemens, since the orientations are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Ryu teaches that it is known in the art to subsequently fill any void space between the container and surrounding ground with a grout material (“place backfill material” step 14, Fig 12; backfill material is concrete – para [0069]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to install the underground container according to the method as taught by Ryu, in place of the installation method of Siemens since the installation methods are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 23, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pat. No. 1,938,956 discloses a storage container with a liquid volume and gas volume.
/JESSICA CAHILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753