DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I directed to claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 08/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/24/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) dated 01/13/2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maret (US 20210137624 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Maret teaches a surgical robotic system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a robotic arm (13, 14, 15) including a surgical instrument (10a, 10b, 10c) coupled thereto (see Fig. 1, [0018]; robotic manipulators 13, 14, and 15 having surgical instruments 10a, 10b, and 10c);
a user console (12) including:
a handle (17, 18) communicatively coupled to at least one of the robotic arm or the surgical instrument (see [0018]; surgeon console 12 has two input devices such as handles 17 and 18, in use, the surgeon selectively assigns the two handles 17, 18 to two of the robotic manipulators 13, 14,15); and
a computer (23/30) configured to:
receive physiological signals from a sensor (34) monitoring a clinician (see [0060]; memory coupled with the system's control unit stores instructions executable by the processor to receive input from the sensors 34);
determine a physiological response of the clinician based on the received physiological signals (see [0060]; determine whether a change in the data received from the sensors is indicative of an increase or decrease in the surgeon's focus of emotional arousal/stress);
determine a phase or a task of a surgical procedure based on at least one of surgical sensor data or a user command to perform the task (see Fig. 10, [0071]; the algorithm may make use of context input to take into account the context surrounding the change in sensed physiological parameters including distance between instruments, procedure type or task, detection of the presence or expansion of a pool of blood or the presence of smoke in the endoscopic view, or input relating to other factors that may be relevant, [0086]; analysis of procedure data including motion of the instruments, the procedure being performed, motion of the input handles, motion scaling settings selected, etc., with data on the sensed user parameters); and
adjust at least one function of the surgical robotic system based on at least one of the physiological response of the clinician or the phase or task of the surgical procedure (see [0060]; if it is determined that a change in the data received from the sensors is indicative of an increase or decrease in the surgeon's focus or emotional arousal/stress, an adjustment to the scaling factor is made, and the motion of the robotic manipulator is commanded based on input from the user input device, as scaled using the adjusted scaling factor).
Regarding claim 2, Maret teaches the surgical robotic system of claim 1, wherein the computer (23/30) is configured to adjust at least one function of the surgical robotic system based on both of the physiological response of the clinician (see Fig. 10, [0059]; the control system is configured to dynamically change the motion scaling factor based on data from the sensors that monitor the surgeon) and the phase or task of the surgical procedure (see Fig. 10, [0071]; the algorithm may make use of context input to take into account the context surrounding the change in sensed physiological parameters including distance between instruments, procedure type or task, detection of the presence or expansion of a pool of blood or the presence of smoke in the endoscopic view, or input relating to other factors that may be relevant, [0086]; analysis of procedure data including motion of the instruments, the procedure being performed, motion of the input handles, motion scaling settings selected, etc., with data on the sensed user parameters).
Regarding claim 3, Maret teaches the surgical robotic system of claim 1, wherein the sensor (34) monitoring the clinician includes at least one of a wearable sensor configured to be worn by the clinician (see [0085]; the sensors may be incorporated into a wearable device),
an audio sensor configured to monitor vocal variations of the clinician (see [0080-0081]; sensor 34 may be an auditory sensor in order to monitor tone/volume of voice or frequency of verbal communication), or
image sensors configured to monitor images of the clinician (see [0074-0075]; the sensor may be an image sensor positioned to capture images of at least one of the user's eyes).
Regarding claim 4, Maret teaches the surgical robotic system of claim 1, wherein the physiological signals include at least one of heart rate (see [0076-0077]; change in heart rate or blood pressure), temperature (see [0084]; options include sensors that measure skin temperature or EMG), blood flow (see [0076-0077]; change in heart rate or blood pressure), or vocal variations (see [0080-0081]; tone/volume of voice or frequency of verbal communication).
Regarding claim 5, Maret teaches the surgical robotic system of claim 1, wherein the computer is configured to:
determine a level of the physiological response of the clinician (see [0060]; determine whether a change in the data received from the sensors is indicative of an increase or decrease in the surgeon's focus of emotional arousal/stress);
determine whether the level of the physiological response of the clinician exceeds a preconfigured threshold (see [0066-0068]; the system considers whether the change in the parameter is one of the following: greater than a predetermined percentage change or a change that brings the sensed parameter above a defined threshold); and
notify a second clinician in response to the level of the physiological response of the clinician exceeding the preconfigured threshold (see [0072]; feedback to the user may be optionally given to notify the user of a change in the scaling factor and may seek and obtain affirmatory user input before making the scaling adjustment, [0048]; feedback may be in the form of an auditory alert, wherein it can be appreciated that an auditory alert would notify a second clinician in the vicinity of the change in scaling factor due to a change in parameter).
Regarding claim 6, Maret teaches the surgical robotic system of claim 1, wherein the computer is configured to adjust at least one function of the surgical robotic system by selecting a color to illuminate an indicator light based on at least one of the physiological response of the clinician or the phase or task of the surgical procedure (see [0048]; feedback to the user may be optionally given to notify the user of a change in the scaling factor including a textual or graphical indication displayed on the image display; wherein a graphical indication displayed on the image display must necessarily include a color).
Regarding claim 7, Maret teaches the surgical robotic system of claim 1, wherein the computer is configured to adjust at least one function of the surgical robotic system (Fig. 10) by changing a volume level of at least one of audible alarms or music based on at least one of the physiological response of the clinician or the phase or task of the surgical procedure (see [0048]; feedback to the user may be optionally given to notify the user of a change in the scaling factor including an auditory alert sounding).
Regarding claim 8, Maret teaches the surgical robotic system of claim 1, wherein the computer is configured to adjust at least one function of the surgical robotic system (Fig. 10) by changing a maximum speed limit of the robotic arm or range of motion of the robotic arm based on at least one of the physiological response of the clinician or the phase or task of the surgical procedure (see [0003]; a scaling factor is applied between the velocity of motion of the user input given at the input devices and the resulting velocity at which the corresponding robotic manipulator moves the surgical instrument, [0059]; the control system is configured to dynamically change the motion scaling factor based on data from the sensors that monitor the surgeon, [0041]; scaling factors may be dynamically adjusted based on information determined by the system relating to the operative site in the patient anatomy).
Regarding claim 9, Maret teaches the surgical robotic system of claim 1, wherein the computer is configured to adjust at least one function of the surgical robotic system (Fig. 10) by restricting movement of the robotic arm to a preconfigured workspace based on at least one of the physiological response of the clinician or the phase or task of the surgical procedure (see [0044-0045]; memory stores instructions executable by the processor to receive the input, determine the distance between the end effectors, apply a scaling factor based on the determined distance, and command motion of the robotic manipulator based on input from the user input device, as scaled using the applied scaling factor; after determining the distance between two or more instruments, the system obtains the relevant scaling factors and adjusts or maintains the motion scaling based on this distance, for example, when the surgeon is working in a tighter space and the instrument tips are determined to be at or below a predetermined separation distance, the system would reduce motion scaling; which would effectively restrict the movement of the robotic arm to the workspace).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Anderson et al (US 20180092706 A1) which teaches an immersive three-dimensional display for robotic surgery.
Collings et al (US 10420554 B2) which teaches a system for personalization of powered surgical devices.
Penny et al (US 20210000558 A1) which teaches dynamic scaling for a robotic surgical system.
Ferber et al (US 20210369143 A1) which teaches a method and system utilizing pattern recognition for detecting atypical movements during physical activity.
Shelton IV et al (US 20220233119 A1) which teaches a method of adjusting a surgical parameter based on biomarker measurements.
Nowlin et al (US 20240197421 A1) which teaches a teleoperated surgical system with surgeon skill level based instrument control.
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796