DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show any structure described in the specification, aside from the basic example of computer architecture in the last figure. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, and thus each of claims 2-5 and 11-15 by way of dependence, recites performing modulation on the carrier frequency to obtain a dual-frequency label signal. However, the specification, and later dependent claim 4, requires that two carrier frequencies are used for the dual-frequency label signal. If two carrier frequencies are required for the dual-frequency label signal, it cannot at the same time be obtained from a singular carrier. Thus, the claim language is indefinite for not clearly pointing out the subject matter regarded as the invention for the dual-frequency label signal, i.e., two carrier frequencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 11, 12, 14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shang et al. (“Shang”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0065303).
Regarding claim 1, Shang discloses a multi-wavelength label signal processing method, performed by a signal sending end of a dense wavelength division multiplexing system, the signal sending end being connected to a signal receiving end (paragraphs 0043-0047), and the method comprising: acquiring a service spectrum width of an optical service (paragraph 0048); determining a carrier frequency according to the service spectrum width and a preset carrier frequency range (paragraphs 0047-0049 and fig. 1 and paragraph 0111, the different wavelength label frequencies represent different service wavelengths and the attribute information for the wavelength label at that frequency includes width of the channel; the wavelength label frequencies to be used are inherently known in advance of their use, i.e., are a preset range); performing modulation processing on wavelength information of the optical service according to the carrier frequency to obtain a single-frequency label signal or a dual-frequency label signal and sending the single-frequency label signal or the dual-frequency label signal to the signal receiving end (paragraph 0047, and paragraph 0060, for the case of two subcarrier channel having dual wavelength label frequencies), so that the signal receiving end obtains optical power and the wavelength information according to the single-frequency label signal or the dual-frequency label signal (paragraphs 0049-0053 and fig. 10 and paragraph 0117, detecting the wavelength label information according to amplitude change of wavelength label frequency reads on obtaining optical power).
Regarding claim 6, Shang discloses a multi-wavelength label signal processing method, performed by a signal receiving end of a dense wavelength division multiplexing system, the signal receiving end being connected to a signal sending end (paragraphs 0043-0048), and the method comprising: receiving a wavelength label signal within a preset carrier frequency range, and demodulating the wavelength label signal according to the preset carrier frequency range, to obtain a service spectrum width and wavelength information (paragraphs 0047-0049, the different wavelength label frequencies represent different service wavelengths and the attribute information for the wavelength label at that frequency includes width of the channel; the wavelength label frequencies to be used are inherently known in advance of their use, i.e., are a preset range); determining the wavelength label signal as a single-frequency label signal or a dual-frequency label signal according to the service spectrum width (paragraphs 0047-0049, the different wavelength label frequencies represent different service wavelengths and fig. 1 and paragraph 0111, and paragraph 0060, for the case of two subcarrier channel having dual wavelength label frequencies); and obtaining optical power according to the single-frequency label signal or the dual-frequency label signal (paragraphs 0049-0053 and fig. 10 and paragraph 0117, detecting the wavelength label information according to amplitude change of wavelength label frequency reads on obtaining optical power).
Regarding claim 11, Shang discloses a controller, comprising a memory, a processor and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the processor, when executing the computer program, implements the multi-wavelength label signal processing method according to claim 1 (paragraph 0123, and see citations above for claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, Shang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing computer executable instructions, wherein the computer executable instructions are used for executing the multi-wavelength label signal processing method according to claim 1 (paragraph 0123, and see citations above for claim 1).
Regarding claim 14, Shang discloses the multi-wavelength label signal processing method according to claim 1, wherein sending the single-frequency label signal or the dual-frequency label signal to the signal receiving end, so that the signal receiving end obtains optical power and the wavelength information according to the single-frequency label signal or the dual-frequency label signal, comprises: sending the single-frequency label signal or the dual-frequency label signal to the signal receiving end (paragraph 0047, and paragraph 0060, for the case of two subcarrier channel having dual wavelength label frequencies), so that the signal receiving end demodulates the single-frequency label signal or the dual-frequency label signal to obtain service spectrum width and the wavelength information (paragraphs 0047-0049, the different wavelength label frequencies represent different service wavelengths and the attribute information for the wavelength label at that frequency includes width of the channel), and determines the optical power corresponding to the single-frequency label signal or the dual-frequency label signal according to the service spectrum width (paragraphs 0049-0053 and fig. 10 and paragraph 0117, detecting the wavelength label information according to amplitude change of wavelength label frequency reads on obtaining optical power).
Regarding claim 19, Shang discloses a controller, comprising a memory, a processor and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the processor, when executing the computer program, implements the multi-wavelength label signal processing method according to claim 6 (paragraph 0123, and see citations above for claim 6).
Regarding claim 20, Shang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing computer executable instructions, wherein the computer executable instructions are used for executing the multi-wavelength label signal processing method according to claim 6 (paragraph 0123, and see citations above for claim 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shang (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0065303) in view of Dou et al. (“Dou”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0315724).
Regarding claim 16, Shang discloses the multi-wavelength label signal processing method according to claim 6, and mentions 16QAM and QPSK as example modulations (paragraph 0087), but does not disclose that the wavelength label signal comprises at least one of: a single-frequency label signal that is modulated using an on-off keying format, or a dual-frequency label signal modulated using a binary frequency shift keying format. Dou discloses a finite number of predictable solutions to problem of modulating an optical signal with data, i.e., OOK, QPSK and 16QAM as modulation options for optical communications (paragraph 0005). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known modulation formats with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try the OOK modulation for the wavelength label signal modulation of Shang, since it’s one of a finite number of predictable solutions for modulating an optical signal with data.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2-5, 13 and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wavelength channel ID using two or more tones – US Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0062549.
Ancillary ID data in WDM system – US Patent No. 6574016.
Optical label switching for packet routing – US Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0146300.
/NATHAN M CORS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634