DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to amendment filed on 01/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 10-12 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over limure et al. (US 2024/0061525) in view of Hatano (US 2005/0168439).
Regarding claim 1, limure discloses an information processing device (100, figs.
1-4) comprising:
a processor (200, fig. 3, paras. 0026-0030) configured to detect a position, among a plurality of positions of a plate-shaped body (100), at which pressure is applied
based on a first signal (from 152) from a first sensor indicating a pressure applied to the plate-shaped body (100) and a second signal (from 160) from a second sensor indicating an inclination direction of the plate-shaped body.
Iimure does not specifically disclose the first sensor is stacked beneath the second sensor.
In a similar field of endeavor of sensing device, Hatano disclose a first sensor (a pressure sensor 27, fig. 2, para. 0025) is stacked beneath a second sensor (distortion sensors 25a to 25d to be transmitted to a controller as the tilt signal, para. 0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the position as taught by Hatano in the system of limure in order to improve the operability.
Regarding claim 2, limure discloses the processor updates a threshold for
determining whether or not the pressure is applied to the plate-shaped body on a basis
of the first signal (paras. 0028-0030 and 0061-0063).
Regarding claim 7, limure discloses the second signal is an angle signal (para.
0022).
Regarding claim 10, limure discloses the processor controls presentation of
tactile information on a basis of a detected result (paras. 0039-0041).
Regarding claim 11, limure discloses the processor changes a form of the
tactile information to be presented depending on the detected position (paras. 0039-
0041).
Regarding claim 12, limure discloses the processor controls presentation of
video information on a basis of a detected result (paras. 0039-0041).
Regarding claim 16, limure discloses an information processing method of an
information processing device (100, figs. 1-4) including a processor (200, fig. 3,
paras. 0026-0030), the information processing method comprising:
detecting, by the processor, among a plurality of positions of a plate-shaped body (100), at which pressure is applied based on a first signal (from 152) from a first sensor indicating a pressure applied to the plate-shaped body (100) and a second signal (from 160) from a second sensor indicating an inclination direction of the plate-shaped body.
Iimure does not specifically disclose the first sensor is stacked beneath the second sensor.
In a similar field of endeavor of sensing device, Hatano disclose a first sensor (a pressure sensor 27, fig. 2, para. 0025) is stacked beneath a second sensor (distortion sensors 25a to 25d to be transmitted to a controller as the tilt signal, para. 0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the position as taught by Hatano in the system of limure in order to improve the operability.
Regarding claim 17, limure discloses an information processing device (100, figs.
1-4) comprising:
a plate-shaped body (100);
a first sensor (152) configured to output a first signal indicating a pressure
applied to the plate- shaped body; and
a second sensor (160) configured to output a second signal indicating an
inclination direction of the plate-shaped body (paras. 0026-0030);
wherein a processor (100) detects, among a plurality of positions of the plate-shaped body, a position at which pressure is applied based on the first signal and second signal (paras. 0026-0030).
Iimure does not specifically disclose the first sensor is stacked beneath the second sensor.
In a similar field of endeavor of sensing device, Hatano disclose a first sensor (a pressure sensor 27, fig. 2, para. 0025) is stacked beneath a second sensor (distortion sensors 25a to 25d to be transmitted to a controller as the tilt signal, para. 0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the position as taught by Hatano in the system of limure in order to improve the operability.
Regarding claim 18, limure discloses a first member (152, figs. 2A-B) configured
to support the plate-shaped body; and
a second member (160) interposed between the first sensor and the plate-
shaped body, wherein
the first member has a Young's modulus larger than a Young's modulus of the
second member (paras. 0021-0023 and 0080).
Regarding claim 19, limure discloses the second sensor is fixed to the plate-
shaped body (paras. 0021-0023 and 0080).
Regarding claim 20, limure discloses an actuator configured to vibrate the plate-
shaped body, wherein the actuator is arranged between the plate-shaped body and the
first sensor (paras. 0021-0023 and 0080).
Claims 3-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over limure et al. in view of Hatano and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2023/0040492).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of limure and Hatano discloses the processing unit sets, as the threshold, a smallest value out of values of a plurality of signals after the first signal (paras. 0028- 0030 and 0061-0063 of Iimure).
The combination of limure and Hatano does not specifically disclose the signal is subjected to filter processing by a plurality of filters having different characteristics.
In a similar field of endeavor of detection device, Huang discloses signal is
subjected to filter processing by a plurality of filters having different characteristics
(para. 0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the filter processing as
taught by Huang in the system of limure and Hatano in order to improve accuracy of sensor data (para. 0047 of Huang).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of limure, Hatano and Huang discloses the plurality of
filters is a plurality of low-pass filters having different cutoff frequencies (para. 0047 of
Huang).
Regarding claim 5, the combination, Hatano of limure and Huang discloses the
processing unit performs offset removal processing on the second signal (paras. 0084-
0088 of Huang).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of limure, Hatano and Huang discloses the offset
removal processing is processing of gradually or stepwise bringing the second signal
closer to 0 with a lapse of time (paras. 0084-0088 of Huang).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of limure and Huang discloses the second
signal is an angular velocity signal (para. 0038 of Huang).
Claims 9 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
limure in view of Hatano and further in view of Yokoyama et al. (US 2022/0335454).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of limure and Hatano discloses the processing unit detects a region to which a pressure is applied out of regions obtained by dividing the plate-shaped body into plurality sections as the position to which the pressure is applied (para. 0081).
limure does not specifically disclose dividing the plate-shaped body into nine
sections.
In a similar field of endeavor of detection device, Yokoyama discloses dividing
the plate-shaped body (100, fig. 1, para. 0036) into nine sections (140).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the filter processing as
taught by Huang in the system of limure and Hatano in order to make it possible to achieve a variety of representations of tactile senses (para. 0039 of Yokoyama).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of limure, Hatano and Yokoyama discloses the processing unit changes a presentation position of the video information depending on the detected position (paras. 0038-0039 of Yokoyama).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of limure, Hatano and Yokoyama discloses the processing unit changes a size of presentation of the video information depending on the pressure applied to the plate-shaped body (paras. 0038-0039 of Yokoyama).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of limure, Hatano and Yokoyama discloses the processing unit sets a center of gravity position between the detected position and a
position to which a pressure is applied to another plate-shaped body adjacent to the
plate-shaped body as a presentation position of the video information (paras. 0038-0039 of Yokoyama).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629