Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tillo (US 20070000570).
Regarding claim-1. Tillo discloses a conveyor device (Fig.1A) used in manufacturing equipment ([0004]) to convey various types of containers (17, Fig.3-4), such as an ampule, varying in diameter (Sizes and Shapes, [0002], [0049-0050]), the conveyor device comprising:
a lower belt conveying element (2’ having finger 20/21, Fig.3-4) that supports a body on an upstream side and a bottom surface of each of the containers to be conveyed; and
an upper belt conveying element (2 having fingers 20/21, Fig.3-4) that supports the body on a downstream side of each of the containers to be conveyed,
wherein the lower belt conveying element and upper belt conveying element are respectively on a front side and a rear side of each of the containers (Fig.2-4),
wherein the lower belt conveying element and upper belt conveying element has a distance (13, Fig.2) therebetween, wherein the distance is adjusted to allow for conveying the containers varying in diameter (Fig.2A-D.
Regarding claim-2. Tillo discloses further comprising pulleys (gears defined at 22 and 23, Fig.3-4) over which a lower belt (chain 2’) and an upper belt (chain 2) are wound respectively, wherein the pulleys have therebetween an angle which is adjustable according to the distance for conveyance (Fig.2A-D, 3-4).
Regarding claim-3. Tillo discloses further comprising: a type change plate (defined at circular plate 22/23 by which gear rotates) that is provided on the pulleys (gears) and configured to adjust the distance when a container (17) having a different diameter is conveyed (fingers 20 and 21 adjusted to accommodate different Sizes and Shapes of goods 17, See Fig.2A-D, 3-4, [0002], [0049-0050]).
Regarding claim-4. Tillo discloses a conveyor device (Fig.1A) comprising:
a first conveying element (finger 20/21, Fig.3-4) and a second conveying element (finger 20/21, Fig.3-4) that hold each of containers; and
a first belt body (chain 2) and a second belt body (chain 2’) on which the first and second conveying elements are provided (Fig.3-4), respectively,
wherein a relative position between the first (2) and second belt (2’) bodies is adjustable to alter a distance between the first conveying element (20/21) and the second conveying element (20/21) according to a diameter of each of the containers (17), and each of the containers having the diameters is held by the first and second conveying elements and conveyed from upstream to downstream (fingers 20 and 21 adjusted to accommodate different Sizes and Shapes of goods 17, See Fig.2A-D, 3-4, [0002], [0049-0050]).
Regarding claim-5. Tillo discloses a conveyor device (Fig.1A) comprising:
a first conveying element and a second conveying element (fingers 20/21) that hold each of containers (17) (Fig.3-4);
a first belt body (2) and a second belt body (2’) on which the first and second conveying elements are provided (Fig.3-4), respectively; and
a first pulley (gear defined at 23) and a second pulley (gear defined at 22) over which the first and second belt bodies are wound respectively (Fig.3-4), wherein a relative position between the first and second pulleys is changed to adjust a relative position between the first and second belt bodies (2 and 2’), thereby altering a distance between the first and second conveying elements (20/21) according to diameters the container (17), and each of the containers having the diameters is held by the first and second conveying elements and conveyed from upstream to downstream (fingers 20 and 21 adjusted to accommodate different Sizes and Shapes of goods 17, See Fig.2A-D, 3-4, [0002], [0049-0050]).
Regarding claim-6, and 12-13. Tillo discloses wherein center positions of the containers (17) substantially remain unchanged (See Fig.2A-D, 3-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tillo (US 20070000570) in view Wilfried (US 7117989)
Regarding claim-10. Tillo further comprising: a driving shaft (22 and 23) that passes through the first and second pulleys (gears) (Fig.3-4); a driven shaft that is rotated by the first and second pulleys being rotated (motor rotates gears) (Fig.2-3); and
But Tillo lacks an adjustment mechanism that changes a distance between the driving and driven pulleys to adjust tensions of the first and second belt bodies. However, providing a belt/chain tension adjustment mechanism is conventional well-known feature and it would be obvious for a skilled person in the art to apply belt/chain tensioning mechanism for purpose to prevents chain slack and ensuring smooth, reliable, and efficient operation.
Wilfried discloses a chain conveying system (Fig.1) and also teaches a chain tensioning mechanism via tensioning cylinder (6) (Fig.1, Col.3 line33-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to additionally/explicitly provide Tillo with chain adjustment tensioning mechanism for purpose to prevents chain slack and ensuring smooth, reliable, and efficient conveying operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7-9, and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651