This document is responsive to applicant’s amendments filed 3/2/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20190002169, hereinafter 169.
Regarding claim 1, 169 discloses:
A stage of a rocket, comprising: a body (see fig 2), and at least 3 foldable propulsion units spaced evenly around a circumference of the body (see fig 2), wherein each propulsion unit comprises: a folding beam; at least one motor mounted to the folding beam, and at least one propeller mounted to the at least one motor, and configured to generate a thrust to propel the rocket (see fig 2).
Regarding claim 13, 169 discloses:
A rocket system, comprising: a payload (see at least Background); a first stage comprising: a body; and at least 3 foldable propulsion units evenly spaced around a circumference of the body (see fig 2), and a second stage (see at least Background).
Regarding claim 15, see the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, see the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 2, 4, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over KR 20190002169, hereinafter 169.
Regarding claim 2, 169 discloses:
The rocket stage of claim 1 further comprising a plurality of foldable airbrakes spaced around a circumference of the body (3), wherein each airbrake comprises at least one airbrake actuator (inherent), configured to actuate the plurality of foldable airbrakes.
Although folding covers 3 are not explicitly disclosed as airbrakes controlled by actuators, the covers inherently function as airbrakes and necessarily would require actuators to achieve the step of “outer drone cover of the rocket booster is opened”. If one does not consider the above to be inherent, then one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have taken the disclosure as a whole to make obvious controlling the covers that deploy perpendicularly from the rocket body with actuators to achieve the disclosed function and action.
Regarding claim 4, 169 discloses:
The rocket stage of claim 1, wherein each foldable propulsion unit further comprises at least one beam actuator, configured to unfold the folding beam (actuators are inherent to the disclosed function of “the folded arm of the drone is unfolded”).
Alternatively, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to achieve the disclosed function via actuators.
Regarding claim 14, see the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, see the rejection of claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5-11, 14, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20190002169, hereinafter 169 in view of Nawojczyk (US PG Pub 2021/0047058).
Regarding claim 2, 169 discloses the device of claim 1 and discloses an airbrake device (see fig 2, ref 3), but does not specifically disclose: plurality of foldable airbrakes spaced around a circumference of the body, wherein each airbrake comprises at least one airbrake actuator, configured to actuate the plurality of foldable airbrakes.
Nawojczyk teaches a similar device having a plurality of foldable airbrakes spaced around a circumference of the body, wherein each airbrake comprises at least one airbrake actuator, configured to actuate the plurality of foldable airbrakes (see at least paragraphs 0009 and 0348). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the specific airbrake system taught by Nawojczyk with the rocket of 169 yielding the predictable result of providing reusable braking with less fuel burn than firing active propulsion (see paragraph 0348).
Regarding claim 3, utilizing an altitude sensor to deploy the airbrake device of Nawojczyk is considered inherent to the operation of the airbrakes as described by Nawojczyk for the purpose of a controlled descent.
Regarding claim 5, 169 as modified discloses:
The rocket stage of claim 3, further comprising at least one second sensor configured to sense at least one flight characteristic of the rocket (see GPS of 169).
Regarding claim 6, in order for the device of 169 to operate as intended in figure 2 and the disclosure and/or as described by Nawojczyk, the actuator would necessarily be configured to unfold the folding beam as claimed and such an operation is obvious if not inherent.
Regarding claim 7, 169 as modified discloses:
The rocket stage of claim 5, wherein the at least one second sensor is selected from: an altimeter (a GPS senses altitude), a pressure sensor, an accelerometer, a gyroscope,and a magnetometer.
Regarding claim 8, 169 discloses the function of moving the vehicle to arrive at a destination via the arms and make obvious that the controller is configured to control the folding and unfolding of each foldable propulsion unit based on measurements received from the second sensor or the first sensor for the purpose of the vehicle functioning as described.
Regarding claim 9, 169 discloses the function of moving the vehicle to arrive at a destination via the arms and make obvious that the controller is configured to control the plurality of foldable propulsion units for the purpose of the vehicle functioning as described.
Regarding claim 10, 169 discloses the function of moving the vehicle to arrive at a destination via the arms and make obvious that the controller is configured to control the plurality of foldable propulsion units to change at least one of pitch, roll, and yaw for the purpose of the vehicle functioning as described.
Regarding claim 11, 169 discloses the device of claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose: wherein each foldable propulsion unit further comprises at least one servo, and the controller is configured to control the at least one servo to change a pitch of the at least one propeller. The examiner takes Official Notice that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select a variable pitch propeller (and associated servo) instead of a fixed pitch propeller for the purpose of controlling thrust via pitch instead of speed. Both means of thrust control are common and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art of aerospace.
Regarding claim 14, see the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, see the rejections of claims 2 and 3.
Regarding claim 20, see the rejection of claim 10.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20190002169, hereinafter 169 in view of Argemi Samso et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0017242).
Regarding claim 12, 169 discloses the rocket of claim 1, but does not disclose:
further comprising a plurality of stabilizer fins, spaced around a circumference of the body.
Samso teaches a similar device having control surfaces for stability (see paragraph 0074). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the control surfaces of Samso with the rocket of 169 for the purpose of providing stability and control.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is found in the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD G DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644