DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 8/25/2026 has been placed of record in the file.
Claims 1, 4, 12, 30, and 35 have been amended.
The rejection of claim 35 under 35 U.S.C. 101 is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claims 5 and 31 have been canceled.
Claims 36 and 37 have been added.
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 28-30, and 32-37 are now pending.
The applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-12, 28-30, and 32-37 have been considered but are moot in view of the following new grounds of rejection.
The IDS filed 5/26/2026 and the IDS filed 8/25/2026 have been considered.
Response to Amendment
Claims have been amended to further define the structure of the hardware device. The amendment proves a change in scope to the independent claims as the independent claims now explicitly state a first processing element located apart from a second processing element, etc. However, none of the amended claims show a patentable distinction over the prior art as evidenced by the following new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 28-30, and 32-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0259638), hereinafter referred to as Yang, in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0114014) as listed on the Notice of References Cited dated 5/28/2026, hereinafter referred to as Chen.
Yang disclosed techniques for obfuscated handling of confidential information. In an analogous art, Chen disclosed techniques for protecting AI model parameters. Both systems are directed toward the obfuscation of AI model parameters.
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a hardware device, data representing a machine learning model comprising a plurality of model parameters for inference operations, wherein the hardware device comprises a set of computation units arranged in one or more processing elements (paragraph 67, neural network parameters loaded into ALUs and parameters used for inferencing); obtaining instructions for performing obfuscating operations configured to obfuscate one or more measurable characteristics of the machine learning model when the machine learning model is executed by the one or more processing elements (paragraph 41, obfuscating operations); causing a first portion of the set of computation units located in a first processing element of the one or more processing elements to perform the inference operations of the machine learning model (paragraph 47, real computations); and causing a second portion of the set of computation units located in a processing element of the one or more processing elements to perform the obfuscating operations concurrently with the first portion of the set of computation units performing the inference operations (paragraph 47, producing noise to obfuscate).
Yang does not explicitly state that the one or more processing elements are a plurality of processing elements, the second portion of computation units located in a second processing element, wherein the first processing element is located apart from the second processing element. However, implementing a hardware device in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Chen. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yang by adding the ability that the one or more processing elements are a plurality of processing elements, the second portion of computation units located in a second processing element, wherein the first processing element is located apart from the second processing element as provided by Chen (see paragraph 98, TEE provides obfuscation while non-TEE handles inference requests). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that providing obfuscation in this way would assist in ensuring the privacy of AI model parameters (see Chen, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yang and Chen discloses wherein the machine learning model is a neural network, wherein the obfuscating operations are configured to obscure at least one of a number of network layers of the neural network, a number of nodes in a network layer of the neural network, a nodal operation for a node in a network layer of the neural network, or a weight value associated with a node in a network layer of the neural network (Yang, paragraph 67, parameters configure neurons or layers of neural network).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yang and Chen discloses wherein the one or more measurable characteristics of the machine learning model comprises at least one of a power profile, an electromagnetic profile, or a time profile (Yang, paragraph 51, obfuscation changes SPA, DPA, etc.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yang and Chen discloses the second processing element is an additional processing element integrated within the hardware device to execute the obfuscating operations (Chen, paragraph 98, TEE).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yang and Chen discloses wherein the obfuscating operations include an obfuscating nodal operation for a particular node in a network layer to be performed concurrently with a corresponding nodal operation for the particular node (Yang, paragraph 67, neurons of neural network, and paragraph 47, real computations and producing noise to obfuscate).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yang and Chen discloses wherein obfuscating nodal operation specifies an activation function for the particular node that is different from an actual activation function of the particular node (Yang, paragraph 72, activations from neurons, and paragraph 47, real computations and producing noise to obfuscate).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Yang and Chen discloses wherein causing the second portion of the set of computation units to perform the obfuscating operations concurrently with the first portion of the set of computation units performing the inference operations comprises assigning the obfuscating operations to a dedicated processing element that performs the obfuscating operations (Yang, paragraph 76, dedicated computational resource).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Yang and Chen discloses wherein the dedicated processing element includes one or more processing elements or computation units that are additionally incorporated into a hardware device and are configured to perform substantially only corresponding obfuscating operations (Yang, paragraph 76, separate computational hardware that includes ALUs).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Yang and Chen discloses wherein causing the second portion of the set of computation units to perform the obfuscating operations concurrently with the first portion of the set of computation units performing the inference operations comprises: assigning the obfuscating operations to one or more processing elements that also perform inference operations for one or more machine learning models; and reassigning a subset of the inference operations from the one or more processing elements to other processing elements of the hardware device (Yang, paragraph 47, multiple stages perform computational operations but only one is real).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yang and Chen discloses wherein the neural network is configured to perform human face recognition tasks for unlocking devices (Yang, paragraph 131, image recognition, where facial recognition for unlocking devices was common in the art).
Regarding claim 12, Yang discloses a system comprising a hardware device and one or more storage devices storing instructions that when executed by the hardware device cause the hardware device to perform operations, the operations comprising: receiving, by the hardware device, data representing a machine learning model comprising a plurality of model parameters for inference operations, wherein the hardware device comprises a set of computation units arranged in one or more processing elements (paragraph 67, neural network parameters loaded into ALUs and parameters used for inferencing); obtaining instructions for performing obfuscating operations configured to obfuscate one or more measurable characteristics of the machine learning model when the machine learning model is executed by the one or more processing elements (paragraph 41, obfuscating operations); causing a first portion of the set of computation units located in a first processing element of the one or more processing elements to perform the inference operations of the machine learning model (paragraph 47, real computations); and causing a second portion of the set of computation units located in a processing element of the one or more processing elements to perform the obfuscating operations concurrently with the first portion of the set of computation units performing the inference operations (paragraph 47, producing noise to obfuscate).
Yang does not explicitly state that the one or more processing elements are a plurality of processing elements, the second portion of computation units located in a second processing element, wherein the first processing element is located apart from the second processing element. However, implementing a hardware device in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Chen. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yang by adding the ability that the one or more processing elements are a plurality of processing elements, the second portion of computation units located in a second processing element, wherein the first processing element is located apart from the second processing element as provided by Chen (see paragraph 98, TEE provides obfuscation while non-TEE handles inference requests). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that providing obfuscation in this way would assist in ensuring the privacy of AI model parameters (see Chen, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Yang and Chen discloses wherein the machine learning model is a neural network, wherein the obfuscating operations are configured to obscure at least one of a number of network layers of the neural network, a number of nodes in a network layer of the neural network, a nodal operation for a node in a network layer of the neural network, or a weight value associated with a node in a network layer of the neural network (Yang, paragraph 67, parameters configure neurons or layers of neural network).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Yang and Chen discloses wherein the one or more measurable characteristics of the machine learning model comprises at least one of a power profile, an electromagnetic profile, or a time profile (Yang, paragraph 51, obfuscation changes SPA, DPA, etc.).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Yang and Chen discloses wherein the second processing element is an additional processing element integrated within the hardware device to execute the obfuscating operations (Chen, paragraph 98, TEE).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Yang and Chen discloses wherein the obfuscating operations include an obfuscating nodal operation for a particular node in a network layer to be performed concurrently with a corresponding nodal operation for the particular node (Yang, paragraph 67, neurons of neural network, and paragraph 47, real computations and producing noise to obfuscate).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Yang and Chen discloses wherein obfuscating nodal operation specifies an activation function for the particular node that is different from an actual activation function of the particular node (Yang, paragraph 72, activations from neurons, and paragraph 47, real computations and producing noise to obfuscate).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Yang and Chen discloses wherein causing the second portion of the set of computation units to perform the obfuscating operations concurrently with the first portion of the set of computation units performing the inference operations comprises assigning the obfuscating operations to a dedicated processing element that performs the obfuscating operations (Yang, paragraph 76, dedicated computational resource).
Regarding claim 35, Yang discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing instructions that when executed by one or more computers cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising: receiving, by a hardware device, data representing a machine learning model comprising a plurality of model parameters for inference operations, wherein the hardware device comprises a set of computation units arranged in one or more processing elements (paragraph 67, neural network parameters loaded into ALUs and parameters used for inferencing); obtaining instructions for performing obfuscating operations configured to obfuscate one or more measurable characteristics of the machine learning model when the machine learning model is executed by the one or more processing elements (paragraph 41, obfuscating operations); causing a first portion of the set of computation units located in a first processing element of the one or more processing elements to perform the inference operations of the machine learning model (paragraph 47, real computations); and causing a second portion of the set of computation units located in a processing element of the one or more processing elements to perform the obfuscating operations concurrently with the first portion of the set of computation units performing the inference operations (paragraph 47, producing noise to obfuscate).
Yang does not explicitly state that the one or more processing elements are a plurality of processing elements, the second portion of computation units located in a second processing element, wherein the first processing element is located apart from the second processing element. However, implementing a hardware device in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Chen. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yang by adding the ability that the one or more processing elements are a plurality of processing elements, the second portion of computation units located in a second processing element, wherein the first processing element is located apart from the second processing element as provided by Chen (see paragraph 98, TEE provides obfuscation while non-TEE handles inference requests). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that providing obfuscation in this way would assist in ensuring the privacy of AI model parameters (see Chen, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Yang and Chen discloses wherein performing the obfuscating operations concurrently comprises executing the obfuscating operations during a first time period that at least partially overlaps with a second time period in which the inference operations are executed (Chen, paragraph 98, TEE and non-TEE operations overlap).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Yang and Chen discloses wherein performing the obfuscating operations comprises: executing an obfuscating activation function on the second portion of the set of computation units that is different from an actual activation function being executed by the first portion of the set of computation units (Yang, paragraph 47, producing noise to obfuscate).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Victor Lesniewski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493