DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 13, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 8 and 9 in the reply filed on September 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “provided by means of at least one sheet of photoacetate” and “obtained by means of photochromic acetate blocks” in claims 8 and 9, respectively.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to independent claim 8, the use of the phrase “desired {emphasis added} by the manufacturer” fails to positively recite a limitation of the instant invention such that the metes and bounds of the instant invention are not clearly defined. The relative term “desired” renders claim 8 indefinite.
With regard to dependent claim 9, the use of the phrase “desired {emphasis added} aesthetic choice” fails to positively recite a limitation of the instant invention such that the metes and bounds of the instant invention are not clearly defined. The relative term “desired” renders claim 9 indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orsi Mazzucchelli et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2015/00852242) in view of Hala et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2009/0029154).
With regard to independent claim 8, although Orsi Mazzucchelli et al teaches a frame for eyeglasses (page 3, paragraph [0047], lines 5-8), provided by means of at least one sheet of acetate (page 3, paragraphs [0041] and [0047], lines 7-8), which are arranged so as to form geometries, patterns, designs and images (page 3, paragraph [0047], lines 1-5), Orsi Mazzucchelli et al fails to teach such a frame wherein said sheet of acetate provides areas which comprise at least one photochromatic pigment and areas lacking photochromatic pigments. In a related endeavor, Hala et al teaches an acetate (page 5, paragraph [0053]) comprising a photochromic dye (page 2, paragraph [0019]) as a structural element of a spectacle frame (page 6, paragraph [0074], lines 11-13), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill ion the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the eyeglass frame, as taught by Orsi Mazzucchelli et al, with the photochromic molding composition for eyeglass frames, as taught by Hala et al, to produce a decorative item.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yasuda et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2005/0012081) teaches a photochromic material and Coles (U.S. Patent Publication 2021/03411749) teaches a color changing eyeglass frame.
/DARRYL J COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
07 October 2026