Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/13/25 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2015/0093567 (JEON).
Regarding claim 1: The reference discloses a resin molded article comprising a resin derived from a used paper diaper. See [0016] and [0056-57].
Regarding claim 8: The resin molded article has a decorative layer on its surface. See [0058].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0093567 (JEON).
Regarding claims 2-4: The reference discloses the molded article comprises pulp, a water absorbent material and a calcium compound. The amounts of the materials meet the 0.1 parts by mass or more limitation. See [0017] and [0022].
Regarding claim 6: The resin may be formed into thin sheets. The thickness of the sheets would depend on the calender selected. See [0057].
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0093567 (JEON) in view of US 2004/0130052 (SUZUKI ET AL).
Regarding claim 5: The Jeon reference discloses the molded article as described in the above 102 rejection. It is recognized that the reference does not specify a colorant added to the resin. However, the Suzuki reference discloses it is known to add colorants to a molded resin part formed from recycled resin. See [0050]. The amount of colorant added is dependent on the user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add colorant to the molded resin of the Jeon reference. One would be motivated by the reasoned expectation of obtaining a decorative part.
Regarding claim 7: The Jeon reference discloses the resin is extrusion molded. However, the Suzuki reference discloses that resin parts can be shaped by extrusion molding or injection molding. See [0052]. Substituting one known method of shaping for another would yield expected results.
/ELIZABETH E MULVANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785