DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment(s)
The preliminary amendment filed January 13th, 2025, has been acknowledged and entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record on file.
Information Disclosure Statement(s)
The Information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on January 13th, 2025 has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5, 7-10 and 12-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 3, the reference “based on that” is indefinite and an instance of improper antecedent basis, that is unclear which prior reference the term “that” gives antecedent basis to, the examiner suggests to have the reference be amended to “based on [[that]]the obtained parameter sets”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1, line 10, the reference, “sync sample box” must be given a clear definition to what the term includes and refers to, there is not given clear definition of the term in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2, line 2, the reference, “based on that” is indefinite and an instance of improper antecedent basis, that is unclear which prior reference the term “that” gives antecedent basis to, the examiner suggests to have the reference be amended to “based on [[that]]”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2, line 2, the reference “the track is ‘gpel’ or ‘gpcl’” must be given clear definition or un-abbreviation to what the terms gpel and gpcl, each refers to or defines, hence, to avoid 112(b) indefiniteness issue, the claim itself doesn’t provide a clear understanding and definition to what these terms pertain or define. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3, line 2, the reference, “based on that” is indefinite and an instance of improper antecedent basis, that is unclear which prior reference the term “that” gives antecedent basis to, the examiner suggests to have the reference be amended to “based on [[that]]”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3, line 2, the reference “the track is ‘gpel’ or ‘gpcl’” must be given clear definition or un-abbreviation to what the terms gpel and gpcl, each refers to or defines, hence, to avoid 112(b) indefiniteness issue, the claim itself doesn’t provide a clear understanding and definition to what these terms pertain or define. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4, line 2, the reference, “based on that” is indefinite and an instance of improper antecedent basis, that is unclear which prior reference the term “that” gives antecedent basis to, the examiner suggests to have the reference be amended to “based on [[that]]”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4, line 4, the reference “based on that” is indefinite and an instance of improper antecedent basis, that is unclear which prior reference the term “that” gives antecedent basis to, the examiner suggests to have the reference be amended to “based on [[that]]the obtained parameter sets”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4, line 2, the reference “the track is ‘gpel’ or ‘gpcl’” must be given clear definition or un-abbreviation to what the terms gpel and gpcl, each refers to or defines, hence, to avoid 112(b) indefiniteness issue, the claim itself doesn’t provide a clear understanding and definition to what these terms pertain or define. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5, line 2, the references “a sample entry type ‘gpeg’…a sample entry type ‘gpcg’…with a sample entry type ‘gpeb’ or ‘gpcb’” must be given clear definition or un-abbreviation to what the terms gpeg, gpcg, gpeb and gpcb, each refers to or defines, hence, to avoid 112(b) indefiniteness issue, the claim itself doesn’t provide a clear understanding and definition to what these terms pertain or define. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7, line 2, the reference, “based on that” is indefinite and an instance of improper antecedent basis, that is unclear which prior reference the term “that” gives antecedent basis to, the examiner suggests to have the reference be amended to “based on [[that]]”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7, line 2, the references “a sample entry type ‘gpcg’” must be given clear definition or un-abbreviation to what the term gpcg refers to or defines; to avoid 112(b) indefiniteness issue, the claim itself doesn’t provide a clear understanding and definition to what these terms pertain or define. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8, line 2, the reference, “based on that” is indefinite and an instance of improper antecedent basis, that is unclear which prior reference the term “that” gives antecedent basis to, the examiner suggests to have the reference be amended to “based on [[that]]”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8, line 5, the reference “based on that” is indefinite and an instance of improper antecedent basis, that is unclear which prior reference the term “that” gives antecedent basis to, the examiner suggests to have the reference be amended to “based on [[that]]the obtained parameter sets”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9, line 2, the reference, “based on that” is indefinite and an instance of improper antecedent basis, that is unclear which prior reference the term “that” gives antecedent basis to, the examiner suggests to have the reference be amended to “based on [[that]]”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10, line 5, the reference “based on that” is indefinite and an instance of improper antecedent basis, that is unclear which prior reference the term “that” gives antecedent basis to, the examiner suggests to have the reference be amended to “based on [[that]]the obtained parameter sets”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12, line 2, the reference, “based on that” is indefinite and an instance of improper antecedent basis, that is unclear which prior reference the term “that” gives antecedent basis to, the examiner suggests to have the reference be amended to “based on [[that]]”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12, line 3, the reference, “’gpel’ or ‘gpcl’” must be given clear definition or un-abbreviation to what the terms gpel and gpcl, each refers to or defines; to avoid 112(b) indefiniteness issue, the claim itself doesn’t provide a clear understanding and definition to what these terms pertain or define. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13, line 2, the reference, “based on that” is indefinite and an instance of improper antecedent basis, that is unclear which prior reference the term “that” gives antecedent basis to, the examiner suggests to have the reference be amended to “based on [[that]]”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13, line 4, the reference, “based on that” is indefinite and an instance of improper antecedent basis, that is unclear which prior reference the term “that” gives antecedent basis to, the examiner suggests to have the reference be amended to “based on [[that]]the obtained parameter sets”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13, line 2, the reference “the track is ‘gpel’ or ‘gpcl’” must be given clear definition or un-abbreviation to what the terms gpel and gpcl, each refers to or defines, hence, to avoid 112(b) indefiniteness issue, the claim itself doesn’t provide a clear understanding and definition to what these terms pertain or define. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14, line 2, the reference, “based on that” is indefinite and an instance of improper antecedent basis, that is unclear which prior reference the term “that” gives antecedent basis to, the examiner suggests to have the reference be amended to “based on [[that]]”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14, line 5, the reference, “based on that” is indefinite and an instance of improper antecedent basis, that is unclear which prior reference the term “that” gives antecedent basis to, the examiner suggests to have the reference be amended to “based on [[that]]the obtained parameter sets”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more nor an integration of the judicial exceptions into a practical application. The limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, mathematical concepts, operations, relationships. The claimed invention merely performs point cloud data gathering, entry and decoding process on the point cloud for determining parameters of a sample entry according to some condition. See analysis below for more details.
Regarding Independent Claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-9,
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 1 is directed to a process/method, which falls within one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter). Please see MPEP §2106.04.
Step 2A Prong 1 Analysis: Claim 1 recites, in part:
“decoding the first sample and one or more samples that follow the first sample in decoding order, based on the obtained parameter sets,
wherein the parameter sets are obtained from either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample, based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track, a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes.”
The limitations as drafted, are processes that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of the limitation in the mind which falls within the “Mathematical Concept” grouping of abstract ideas. Please see MPEP §2106.04. The limitations of:
“decoding….based on the obtained parameter sets” is a step of mathematical operation using mathematical concept and relationship to perform math on point cloud data obtained (the limitation already includes point cloud data as being already obtained and the condition on which they were obtained, merely a specification to support the decoding step).
“wherein the parameter sets …group boxes” are giving condition to which the parameter sets are being obtained based on, merely a specification to the data of which the decoding step uses, hence, still part of the decoding step which is a mathematical operation using mathematical concept and relationship.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. particular, the claim recites the following additional element(s) –
“a reception apparatus of point cloud data, the method comprising:
obtaining parameter sets necessary for a random access, from the point cloud data, based on that a request for the random access from a first sample within the point cloud data is occurred”
The additional element “a reception apparatus of point cloud data” - recited at a high level of generality (of a generic apparatus for processing data).
The additional elements include steps of insignificant extra-solution/post-solution activities of data gathering, data generating, data transmitting, etc. [acquiring data/information, transmitting data/info., outputting data/information, displaying data/info., converting data/info., generating data/info., etc.].
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea. Please see MPEP §2106.04.(d).III.C.
Step 2B Analysis: there are no additional elements, such as for these additional elements as indicated above, that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Please see MPEP §2106.05. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Please see MPEP §2106.05
For all of the foregoing reasons, claim 1 does not comply with the requirements of 35 USC 101.
Accordingly, the dependent claims 2-9 do not provide elements that overcome the deficiencies of the independent claim 1.
Moreover, claim 2 recites, in part,
“wherein, based on that the sample entry type of the track is…from the sample entry of the track.”
recites, in part, wherein clause that merely provides unlimiting further specification that provide well-known generality, high level of generality further specification limitation to the limitation each depends on, such as what the sample entry type is based on.
Moreover, claim 3 recites, in part,
“wherein, based on that the sample entry type of the track is…does not comprise the sync sample box.”
recites, in part, wherein clause that merely provides unlimiting further specification that provide well-known generality, high level of generality further specification limitation to the limitation each depends on, such as what the sample entry type is based on a condition as recited.
Moreover, claim 4 recites, in part,
“wherein, based on that the sample entry type of the track is…point cloud data comprises the sync sample box and the first sample is indicated as a sync sample.”
recites, in part, wherein clause that merely provides unlimiting further specification that provide well-known generality, high level of generality further specification limitation to the limitation each depends on, such as basing on a certain sample type, the parameters are obtained according to a condition, which is merely data gathering additional element.
Moreover, claim 5 recites, in part,
“wherein the sync sample is present…a sample entry type ‘gpeb’ or ‘gpcb’”.
recites, in part, wherein clause that merely provides unlimiting further specification that provide well-known generality, high level of generality further specification limitation to the limitation each depends on, such as specifying that the sync sample box is present according to certain rule and condition.
Moreover, claim 6 recites, in part,
“wherein the sync sample is present…does not contain geometry component”.
recites, in part, wherein clause that merely provides unlimiting further specification that provide well-known generality, high level of generality further specification limitation to the limitation each depends on, such as specifying that the sync sample box is constrained according to certain rule and condition.
Moreover, claim 7 recites, in part,
“wherein, based on that samples in a track…in an associated track are treated as sync samples”.
recites, in part, wherein clause that merely provides unlimiting further specification that provide well-known generality, high level of generality further specification limitation to the limitation each depends on, such as specifying that basing on a type of samples in a track.
Moreover, claim 8 recites, in part,
“wherein, based on that…is not indicated as the sync sample, the parameter sets are…comprises the parameter set sample group boxes”.
recites, in part, wherein clause that merely provides unlimiting further specification that provide well-known generality, high level of generality further specification limitation to the limitation each depends on, such as specifying that basing on that the point cloud data does not comprises certain information, and the parameter sets are obtained according to certain rule, condition, merely specifying the way the data being obtained.
Moreover, claim 9 recites, in part,
“wherein, based on that the point cloud data…the decoding are not performed”.
recites, in part, wherein clause that merely provides unlimiting further specification that provides well-known generality, high level of generality further specification limitation to the limitation each depends on, such as specifying a condition to what the decoding performs or not.
Accordingly, the dependent claims 1-9 are not patent eligible under 101.
Regarding independent claim 10:
The independent claim 10 recites analogous limitations to the independent claim 1, hence, is 101 ineligible for the same reasons regarding these limitations. Moreover, claim 10 further recited additional elements of “memory; and at least one processor, the processor configured to” including generic computer and computer components recited at high level of generality. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected under 101.
Regarding independent claim 11 and its dependent claims 12-14:
The independent claim 11 recites analogous limitations to the independent claim 1, hence, is 101 ineligible for the same reasons regarding these limitations. The independent claim 11, further recited additional elements of insignificant extra-solution activities of data gathering of “storing a bitstream…or more tracks”, “generating a geometry-based…on the tracks”. The dependent claims 12-14, recite analogous limitations to the dependent claims 2-9, hence are 101 ineligible under the same reasons.
Regarding independent claim 15:
The independent claim 15 recites analogous limitations to the independent claim 11, hence, is 101 ineligible for the same reasons regarding these limitations. Moreover, claim 15 further recited additional elements of “memory; and at least one processor, the processor configured to” including generic computer and computer components recited at high level of generality. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected under 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye-Kui Wang et. al. (“US 2016/0234526 A1” hereinafter as “Wang”) in view of Lauri Ilola et. al. (“US 2020/0381022 A1” hereinafter as “Ilola”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a method performed by a reception apparatus of data (Title shows “Placement of Parameter Sets and Sync Samples in Video Coding”; moreover, Abstract discloses “file formats and parsing and coding of video data”), the method comprising: obtaining parameter sets necessary for a random access (Par. [0042] discloses “determine whether conditions associated with random access points have been satisfied for a particular bitstream, Such as conditions associated with parameter sets”), from the data (Par. [0042] discloses “a video coder may not be able to accurately and/or consistently determine whether conditions associated with random access points have been satisfied for a particular bitstream”), based on that a request for the random access (Par. [0080] discloses “router 36 may be responsible for providing coded video data to destination device 14 in a requested format”; moreover, Par. [0085] discloses “a random access point is interpreted differently by different devices (e.g., where different devices may include a device responsible for encoding/packaging video data and a device responsible for parsing/decoding video data), a file may not be delivered and/or played back properly” indicating a request for a random access) from a first sample within the data is occurred (Pars. [0088-0089] discloses “Random Access Point (RAP)…sample in a track that starts at ISAU of a SAP of type 1 or 2 or 3 as defined…informally, a sample, from which when decoding starts, the sample itself and all samples following in composition order can be correctly decoded”); and decoding the first sample (Par. [0089] discloses “informally, a sample, from which when decoding starts, the sample itself and all samples following in composition order can be correctly decoded”) and one or more samples that follow the first sample in decoding order (Par. [0045] discloses “a video decoder may decode parameter set data for the video data only in the sample entry for the sample or in a sample occurring in decoding order between the sample and a previous sample in decoding order”), based on the obtained parameter sets (Par. [0045] discloses “a video decoder may decode parameter set data for the video data only in the sample entry for the sample or in a sample occurring in decoding order”), wherein the parameter sets are obtained from either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample (“or” indicates a selection, therefore, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “a predetermined sample” which is disclosed in Par. [0084] of “parameter sets may include an SPS, PPS, or VPS... a parameter set sample may be a sample in a parameter set stream that includes parameter set NAL units that are to be considered as present in a video elementary stream at the same instance in time”), based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track (Par. [0083] discloses “a sample entry may provide a description of a corresponding sample. For example, a sample entry may include a four-character code that describes a characteristic of the corresponding sample, Such as a format of the corresponding sample. Example sample entries for AVC and SVC tracks are included”), a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes (“or” indicates a selection, therefore, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “a presence of parameter set sample group boxes” which is disclosed in Par. Par. [0039] discloses “the ISOBMFF enables sample-specific metadata to be specified with various mechanisms. Specific boxes within the Sample Table box (“stbl"’) have been standardized to respond to common needs. For example, a Sync Sample box ('stss') is used to list random access samples (as described below) of the track”; [0045] of “the video decoder may determine parameter set data needed for decoding the video data of the non-sync sample only from the sample entry for the non-sync sample….For example, in the event that a sample is not a sync sample and parameter set data is included in any other location of the bitstream than those specified, the video decoder 30 may reject the file as non-conforming and may not decode the sample”).
However, Wang does not explicitly teach the data being point cloud data.
Ilola teaches the data being point cloud data (Par. [0220] discloses “accessing the point cloud compression coded bitstream. The point cloud compression coded bitstream includes a texture information bitstream, a geometry information bitstream, and an auxiliary metadata bitstream As shown in block 42, the apparatus includes means, such as the processing circuitry 12, for causing storage of the point cloud compression coded bitstream”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Wang of having a method performed by a reception apparatus of data, the method comprising: obtaining parameter sets necessary for a random access, from the data, based on that a request for the random access from a first sample within the data is occurred; and decoding the first sample and one or more samples that follow the first sample in decoding order, based on the obtained parameter sets, wherein the parameter sets are obtained from either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample, based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track, a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes, with the teachings of Ilola of having the data being point cloud data.
Wherein having Wang’s method of having the data being point cloud data.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding, and further to improve coding compression with considering point cloud data information such as temporal data and geometry data for increased coding efficiency. Since both Wang and Ilola perform data compression and storing for efficient random access. Wherein Wang’s system improves coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding (see Wang’s Par. [0061]), and Ilola’s system improves coding compression with considering point cloud data information such as temporal data and geometry data for increased coding efficiency (see Ilola’s Par. [0186]).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches a reception apparatus of data, the apparatus comprising (Title shows “Placement of Parameter Sets and Sync Samples in Video Coding”; moreover, Abstract discloses “file formats and parsing and coding of video data”): memory; and at least one processor, the processor configured to (Par. [0014] discloses “a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprises instructions stored thereon that, when executed, cause one or more processors…”): obtain parameter sets necessary for a random access (Par. [0042] discloses “determine whether conditions associated with random access points have been satisfied for a particular bitstream, Such as conditions associated with parameter sets”), from the data (Par. [0042] discloses “a video coder may not be able to accurately and/or consistently determine whether conditions associated with random access points have been satisfied for a particular bitstream”), based on that a request for the random access (Par. [0080] discloses “router 36 may be responsible for providing coded video data to destination device 14 in a requested format”; moreover, Par. [0085] discloses “a random access point is interpreted differently by different devices (e.g., where different devices may include a device responsible for encoding/packaging video data and a device responsible for parsing/decoding video data), a file may not be delivered and/or played back properly” indicating a request for a random access) from a first sample within the data is occurred (Pars. [0088-0089] discloses “Random Access Point (RAP)…sample in a track that starts at ISAU of a SAP of type 1 or 2 or 3 as defined…informally, a sample, from which when decoding starts, the sample itself and all samples following in composition order can be correctly decoded”); and decode the first sample (Par. [0089] discloses “informally, a sample, from which when decoding starts, the sample itself and all samples following in composition order can be correctly decoded”) and one or more samples that follow the first sample in decoding order (Par. [0045] discloses “a video decoder may decode parameter set data for the video data only in the sample entry for the sample or in a sample occurring in decoding order between the sample and a previous sample in decoding order”), based on the obtained parameter sets (Par. [0045] discloses “a video decoder may decode parameter set data for the video data only in the sample entry for the sample or in a sample occurring in decoding order”), wherein the parameter sets are obtained from either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample (“or” indicates a selection, therefore, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “a predetermined sample” which is disclosed in Par. [0084] of “parameter sets may include an SPS, PPS, or VPS... a parameter set sample may be a sample in a parameter set stream that includes parameter set NAL units that are to be considered as present in a video elementary stream at the same instance in time”), based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track (Par. [0083] discloses “a sample entry may provide a description of a corresponding sample. For example, a sample entry may include a four-character code that describes a characteristic of the corresponding sample, Such as a format of the corresponding sample. Example sample entries for AVC and SVC tracks are included”), a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes (“or” indicates a selection, therefore, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “a presence of parameter set sample group boxes” which is disclosed in Par. Par. [0039] discloses “the ISOBMFF enables sample-specific metadata to be specified with various mechanisms. Specific boxes within the Sample Table box (“stbl’) have been standardized to respond to common needs. For example, a Sync Sample box ("stss') is used to list random access samples (as described below) of the track”; [0045] of “the video decoder may determine parameter set data needed for decoding the video data of the non-sync sample only from the sample entry for the non-sync sample….For example, in the event that a sample is not a sync sample and parameter set data is included in any other location of the bitstream than those specified, the video decoder 30 may reject the file as non-conforming and may not decode the sample”).
However, Wang does not explicitly teach the data being point cloud data.
Ilola teaches the data being point cloud data (Par. [0220] discloses “accessing the point cloud compression coded bitstream. The point cloud compression coded bitstream includes a texture information bitstream, a geometry information bitstream, and an auxiliary metadata bitstream As shown in block 42, the apparatus includes means , such as the processing circuitry 12, for causing storage of the point cloud compression coded bitstream”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Wang of having a reception apparatus of point cloud data comprising instructions to obtain parameter sets necessary for a random access, from the data, based on that a request for the random access from a first sample within the data is occurred; and decode the first sample and one or more samples that follow the first sample in decoding order, based on the obtained parameter sets, wherein the parameter sets are obtained from either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample, based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track, a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes, with the teachings of Ilola of having the data being point cloud data.
Wherein having Wang’s method of having the data being point cloud data.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding, and further to improve coding compression with considering point cloud data information such as temporal data and geometry data for increased coding efficiency. Since both Wang and Ilola perform data compression and storing for efficient random access. Wherein Wang’s system improves coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding (see Wang’s Par. [0061]), and Ilola’s system improves coding compression with considering point cloud data information such as temporal data and geometry data for increased coding efficiency (see Ilola’s Par. [0186]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye-Kui Wang et. al. (“US 2016/0234526 A1” hereinafter as “Wang”) in view of Lauri Ilola et. al. (“US 2020/0381022 A1” hereinafter as “Ilola”) and Yaxian Bai et. al. (“US 2022/0366611 A1” hereinafter as “Bai”).
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Ilola teaches the method of claim 1, Wang teaches the parameter sets are obtained from the sample entry of the track (Par. [0205] discloses “video decoder 30 may be configured to decode parameter set data for non-sync samples only from a sample entry associated with”).
However, Wang in view of Ilola does not explicitly teach wherein, based on that the sample entry type of the track is 'gpel' or 'gpcl'.
Bai teaches wherein, based on that the sample entry type of the track is 'gpel' or 'gpcl' (“or” indicates a selection, therefore, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “gpcl” which is disclosed in Par. [0088] discloses “mandatory : One of ‘ gpel , “ gpeg ' , ' gpcl , ‘ gpcg ’ , ' gpes ” , “ gpcs ’ , ‘ gpei ' and ' gpci ' sample entry is mandatory”; furthermore, Pars. [0094-0096] disclose “the sample entry of type ‘gpcl' is further extended to indicate spatial scalability functionality of G - PCC data . When the decoder is to decode and render a point cloud with its LoD”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Wang in view of Ilola of having a method performed by a reception apparatus of data, the method comprising: obtaining parameter sets necessary for a random access, from the data, based on that a request for the random access from a first sample within the data is occurred; and decoding the first sample and one or more samples that follow the first sample in decoding order, based on the obtained parameter sets, wherein the parameter sets are obtained from either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample, based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track, a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes, the parameter sets are obtained from the sample entry of the track, with the teachings of Bai of having wherein, based on that the sample entry type of the track is 'gpel' or 'gpcl'.
Wherein having Wang’s method of having wherein, based on that the sample entry type of the track is 'gpel' or 'gpcl'.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding, and further to improve point cloud compression processing for dynamically varying point clouds with different entry types for an efficient compress method. Since both Wang and Bai perform data compression and storing for efficient random access. Wherein Wang’s system improves coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding (see Wang’s Par. [0061]), and Bai’s system improves point cloud compression processing for dynamically varying point clouds with different entry types for an efficient compress method (see Bai’s Par. [0023]).
Claims 3-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye-Kui Wang et. al. (“US 2016/0234526 A1” hereinafter as “Wang”) in view of Lauri Ilola et. al. (“US 2020/0381022 A1” hereinafter as “Ilola”) and Seijin OH (“US 2021/0029187 A1” hereinafter as “OH”).
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Ilola teaches the method of claim 1, Wang teaches the point cloud data does not comprise the sync sample box (Par. [0039] discloses “Specific boxes within the Sample Table box (“stbl’) have been standardized to respond to common needs”; Par. [0205] discloses “decode parameter set data for non-sync samples only from a sample entry associated with the non-sync sample”; furthermore, Par. [0153] discloses “the non-sync sample itself, a previous sample that is a sync sample, or in samples occurring between the non-sync sample and the previous sync sample. wherein, the parameter set data for decoding the video data of the non-sync sample is included only in the sample entry for the non-sync sample”).
However, Wang in view of Ilola does not explicitly teach wherein, based on that the sample entry type of the track is 'gpel' or 'gpcl'.
OH teaches wherein, based on that the sample entry type of the track is 'gpel' or 'gpcl' (“or” indicates a selection, the examiner selects “gpel” for mapping which disclosed in OH’s Par. [0592] of “when the sample entry type is ‘gpel’, all geometry parameter sets, attribute parameter sets or tile inventories are included in the setupUint array”; furthermore, Par. [0634] discloses “each sample may optionally contain zero or more TLV encapsulation structure carrying parameter sets. In one embodiment, a sample may be self-contained (e.g., a sync sample)”; wherein, each sample may contain zero parameter sets, would be non-contained sample of a non-sync sample).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Wang in view of Ilola of having a method performed by a reception apparatus of data, the method comprising: obtaining parameter sets necessary for a random access, from the data, based on that a request for the random access from a first sample within the data is occurred; and decoding the first sample and one or more samples that follow the first sample in decoding order, based on the obtained parameter sets, wherein the parameter sets are obtained from either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample, based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track, a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes, the point cloud data does not comprise the sync sample box, with the teachings of OH of having wherein, based on that the sample entry type of the track is 'gpel' or 'gpcl'.
Wherein having Wang’s method of having wherein, based on that the sample entry type of the track is 'gpel' or 'gpcl'.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding, and further to improve point cloud data transmission with using of encapsulation structure that provides efficiency in storing of data. Since both Wang and OH perform data compression and storing for efficient reception of data. Wherein Wang’s system improves coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding (see Wang’s Par. [0061]), and OH’s system improves point cloud data transmission with using of encapsulation structure that provides efficiency in storing of data (see OH’s Par. [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Ilola teaches the method of claim 1, Wang teaches wherein, the parameter sets are obtained from the sample entry of the track or the first sample (“or” indicates a selection, therefore, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “from the sample entry of the track” which is disclosed in [0084] of “sync sample in a parameter set track may indicate that all parameter sets needed from that decoding time forward in the video elementary stream are in that or succeeding parameter stream samples” indicating the parameter sets area associated with track of the stream sample [sample entry]), based on that the data comprises the sync sample box and the first sample is indicated as a sync sample (Par. [0098] discloses “the sync sample table indicates which sample are in fact random access points. Using this table, you can locate which is the first sync sample prior to the specified time…” wherein, the sync sample table is analogous to the recited sync sample box, and the first sync sample being located prior to the specified time is analogous to the recited first sample is indicated as a sync sample).
However, Wang does not explicitly teach the data being point cloud data.
Ilola teaches the data being point cloud data (Par. [0220] discloses “accessing the point cloud compression coded bitstream. The point cloud compression coded bitstream includes a texture information bitstream, a geometry information bitstream, and an auxiliary metadata bitstream As shown in block 42, the apparatus includes means , such as the processing circuitry 12, for causing storage of the point cloud compression coded bitstream”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Wang of having a method performed by a reception apparatus of data, the method comprising: obtaining parameter sets necessary for a random access, from the data, based on that a request for the random access from a first sample within the data is occurred; and decoding the first sample and one or more samples that follow the first sample in decoding order, based on the obtained parameter sets, wherein the parameter sets are obtained from either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample, based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track, a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes, wherein, the parameter sets are obtained from the sample entry of the track or the first sample, based on that the data comprises the sync sample box and the first sample is indicated as a sync sample, with the teachings of Ilola of having the data being point cloud data.
Wherein having Wang’s method of having the data being point cloud data.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding, and further to improve coding compression with considering point cloud data information such as temporal data and geometry data for increased coding efficiency. Since both Wang and Ilola perform data compression and storing for efficient random access. Wherein Wang’s system improves coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding (see Wang’s Par. [0061]), and Ilola’s system improves coding compression with considering point cloud data information such as temporal data and geometry data for increased coding efficiency (see Ilola’s Par. [0186]).
However, Wang and Ilola does not explicitly teach based on that the sample entry type of the track is not ‘gpel’ or ‘gpcl’.
OH teaches based on that the sample entry type of the track is not ‘gpel’ or ‘gpcl’ (“or” indicates a selection, the examiner selects “gpcl” for mapping which disclosed in OH’s Par. [0592] of “when the sample entry type is ‘gpel’, all geometry parameter sets, attribute parameter sets or tile inventories are included in the setupUint array”; Par. [0634] discloses “each sample may optionally contain zero or more TLV encapsulating structure carrying parameter sets” wherein, when the entry is gpel which is not gpcl, then the parameter sets are being stored in the setupUnit array which can include zero sample type of a non-sync type).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Wang in view of Ilola of having a method performed by a reception apparatus of data, the method comprising: obtaining parameter sets necessary for a random access, from the data, based on that a request for the random access from a first sample within the data is occurred; and decoding the first sample and one or more samples that follow the first sample in decoding order, based on the obtained parameter sets, wherein the parameter sets are obtained from either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample, based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track, a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes, wherein, the parameter sets are obtained from the sample entry of the track or the first sample, based on that the data comprises the sync sample box and the first sample is indicated as a sync sample, with the teachings of OH of wherein based on that the sample entry type of the track is not ‘gpel’ or ‘gpcl’.
Wherein having Wang’s method of having wherein, based on that the sample entry type of the track is not ‘gpel’ or ‘gpcl’.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding, and further to improve point cloud data transmission with using of encapsulation structure that provides efficiency in storing of data. Since both Wang and OH perform data compression and storing for efficient reception of data. Wherein Wang’s system improves coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding (see Wang’s Par. [0061]), and OH’s system improves point cloud data transmission with using of encapsulation structure that provides efficiency in storing of data (see OH’s Par. [0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Wang in view of Ilola and OH teaches the method of claim 4.
However, Wang in view of Ilola does not explicitly teach wherein the sync sample box is constrained to be not present in a track with a sample entry type ‘gpcg’ that does not contain geometry component.
OH teaches wherein the sync sample box is constrained to be not present in a track with a sample entry type ‘gpcg’ (Pars. [0757-0760] disclose “track of G-PCC bitstream in a file will be described…the parameter reference_type of TrackReferenceTypeBox identifies the type of component (i.e., geometry, attributes…’gpcs’: the reference track(s) contain the attributes G-PCC component, ‘gpcg’: the reference track(s) contain the geometry G-PCC component” wherein, the track can have types of gpcs or gpcg for the TrackReferencceTypeBox [sync sample box as claimed], wherein the type gpcs is not constrained/contained with the type gpcg) that does not contain geometry component (Pars. [0757-0760] disclose “track of G-PCC bitstream in a file will be described…the parameter reference_type of TrackReferenceTypeBox identifies the type of component (i.e., geometry, attributes…’gpcs’: the reference track(s) contain the attributes G-PCC component, ‘gpcg’: the reference track(s) contain the geometry G-PCC component” wherein, the gpcs type contains attributes instead of geometry component).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Wang in view of Ilola of having a method performed by a reception apparatus of data, the method comprising: obtaining parameter sets necessary for a random access, from the data, based on that a request for the random access from a first sample within the data is occurred; and decoding the first sample and one or more samples that follow the first sample in decoding order, based on the obtained parameter sets, wherein the parameter sets are obtained from either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample, based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track, a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes, wherein, the parameter sets are obtained from the sample entry of the track or the first sample, wherein the sync sample box is constrained to be not present in a track with a sample entry type ‘gpcg’ that does not contain geometry component, with the teachings of OH of wherein the sync sample box is constrained to be not present in a track with a sample entry type ‘gpcg’ that does not contain geometry component.
Wherein having Wang’s method of having wherein the sync sample box is constrained to be not present in a track with a sample entry type ‘gpcg’ that does not contain geometry component.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding, and further to improve point cloud data transmission with using of encapsulation structure that provides efficiency in storing of data. Since both Wang and OH perform data compression and storing for efficient reception of data. Wherein Wang’s system improves coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding (see Wang’s Par. [0061]), and OH’s system improves point cloud data transmission with using of encapsulation structure that provides efficiency in storing of data (see OH’s Par. [0034]).
Regarding claim 7, Wang in view of Ilola and OH teaches the method of claim 4.
However, Wang in view of Ilola does not explicitly teach wherein, based on that samples in a track with a sample entry type ‘gpcg’ that contains geometry component are indicated as sync samples, corresponding samples in an associated track are treated as sync samples.
OH teaches wherein, based on that samples in a track with a sample entry type ‘gpcg’ that contains geometry component (Pars. [0757-0760] disclose “track of G-PCC bitstream in a file will be described…the parameter reference_type of TrackReferenceTypeBox identifies the type of component (i.e., geometry, attributes…’gpcs’: the reference track(s) contain the attributes G-PCC component, ‘gpcg’: the reference track(s) contain the geometry G-PCC component”) are indicated as sync samples (Pars. [0757-0760] disclose “‘gpcg’: the reference track(s) contain the geometry G-PCC component”; Par. [0634] discloses “when GPCCComponent TypeBox is present in the sample entry, each sample contains one TLV encapsulation structure carrying one geometry or attribute slice. In addition, each sample may optionally contain zero or more TLV encapsulation structure carrying parameter sets . In one embodiment, a sample may be self-contained (e.g. , a sync sample…)”), corresponding samples in an associated track are treated as sync sample (Pars. [0757-0760] discloses “‘gpcg’: the reference track(s) contain the geometry G-PCC component”; Pars. [0557-0558] discloses “the syntax of a sample format given when a G-PCC bitstream is stored in a single track…each G-PCC sample corresponds to a single point cloud frame, and may be composed of one or more TLV encapsulation structures belonging to the same presentation time. Each TLV encapsulation structure may contain a single type of TLV payload (or referred to as G - PCC payload), for example, a geometry slice or an attribute slice. In addition, a sample may be self-contained (e.g. a sync sample…)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Wang in view of Ilola of having a method performed by a reception apparatus of data, the method comprising: obtaining parameter sets necessary for a random access, from the data, based on that a request for the random access from a first sample within the data is occurred; and decoding the first sample and one or more samples that follow the first sample in decoding order, based on the obtained parameter sets, wherein the parameter sets are obtained from either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample, based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track, a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes, wherein, the parameter sets are obtained from the sample entry of the track or the first sample, with the teachings of OH of wherein, based on that samples in a track with a sample entry type ‘gpcg’ that contains geometry component are indicated as sync samples, corresponding samples in an associated track are treated as sync samples.
Wherein having Wang’s method of having wherein, based on that samples in a track with a sample entry type ‘gpcg’ that contains geometry component are indicated as sync samples, corresponding samples in an associated track are treated as sync samples.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding, and further to improve point cloud data transmission with using of encapsulation structure that provides efficiency in storing of data. Since both Wang and OH perform data compression and storing for efficient reception of data. Wherein Wang’s system improves coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding (see Wang’s Par. [0061]), and OH’s system improves point cloud data transmission with using of encapsulation structure that provides efficiency in storing of data (see OH’s Par. [0034]).
Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Ilola and OH teaches the method of claim 4, Wang teaches wherein, based on that the point cloud data does not comprise the sync sample box or the first sample is not indicated as the sync sample (“or” indicates a selection, therefore, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “based on that the point cloud data does not comprise the sync sample box” which is disclosed in Wang’s Par. [0045] of “based on determining that the sample is not a sync sample, a video decoder may decode parameter set data for the video data only in the sample entry for the sample or in a sample occurring in decoding order between the sample and a previous sample in decoding order that is a sync sample, inclusive”), the parameter sets are obtained from the first sample or samples that precede the first sample in decoding order (“or” indicates a selection, hence, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “samples that precede the first sample in decoding order” which is taught in Wang’s Par. [0045] of “based on determining that the sample is not a sync sample, a video decoder may decode parameter set data for the video data only in the sample entry for the sample or in a sample occurring in decoding order between the sample and a previous sample in decoding order that is a sync sample, inclusive”), based on that the point cloud data comprises the parameter set sample group boxes (Par. [0039] discloses “the ISOBMFF enables sample-specific metadata to be specified with various mechanisms. Specific boxes within the Sample Table box (“stbl’) have been standardized to respond to common needs. For example, a Sync Sample box ("stss') is used to list random access samples (as described below) of the track”).
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Ilola and OH teaches the method of claim 8, Wang teaches wherein, based on that the point cloud data does not comprise the parameter set sample group boxes (Par. [0140] discloses “Likewise, to decode the video data of the non-sync sample, all of the parameter set data needed to decode the video data of the non-sync sample is determined from the sample entry for the non-sync sample… to decode the video data of the non-sync sample, parameter set data for the video data is determined only from the sample entry for the non-sync sample” wherein, point cloud with non-sync samples does not contain sync samples, and contain non-sync parameter set data only), the obtaining of the parameter sets and the decoding are not performed (Par. [0140] discloses “therefore, the parameter set data for decoding the video data of the non-sync sample is included only in the sample entry for the non-sync sample, the non-sync sample itself, a previous sample that is a sync sample, or in Samples occurring between the non-sync sample and the previous sync sample. Likewise, to decode the video data of the non-sync sample, all of the parameter set data needed to decode the video data of the non-sync sample is determined from the sample entry for the non-sync sample” wherein, non-sync sample would not perform decoding containing sync samples).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye-Kui Wang et. al. (“US 2016/0234526 A1” hereinafter as “Wang”) in view of Lauri Ilola et. al. (“US 2020/0381022 A1” hereinafter as “Ilola”) further in view of Seijin OH (“US 2021/0029187 A1” hereinafter as “OH”) and Srinivas Gudumasu et. al. (“US 2023/0281923 A1” hereinafter as “Gudumasu”).
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Ilola and OH teaches the method of claim 4, Wang teaches wherein the sync sample box is present in a track with a sample entry type (Par. [0205] discloses “decode parameter set data for non-sync samples only from a sample entry associated with the non-sync sample, from the non-sync sample itself. from a sync sample prior to the non-sync sample in decoding order” indicating a sample entry type), a track comprising a geometry component and with a sample entry type 'gpcg', or a track with a sample entry type (“or” indicates a selection, hence, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “a track with a sample entry type” for mapping which is taught in Wang’s Par. [0205] discloses “decode parameter set data for non-sync samples only from a sample entry associated with the non-sync sample, from the non-sync sample itself. from a sync sample prior to the non-sync sample in decoding order” indicating a sample entry type with a sample entry).
However, Wang in view of Ilola and OH does not explicitly teach a track with a sample entry type being 'gpeb' or 'gpcb'.
Gudumasu teaches the sample entry type being sample entry type 'gpeg' (Par. [0317] discloses “under the 'gpeg' sample entry, when the tile inventory information is available in the data file, the G-PCC track contains the tile inventory information sample group with grouping type 'gtii' and the tile inventory information may be present in the sample group description entry or in the samples of G-PCC track”); a track with a sample entry type being 'gpeb' or 'gpcb'. (“or” indicates a selection hence, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “gpcb” which is taught in Par. [0318] of “when the G-PCC data file is carried using tile tracks, tile base track with track type 'gpcb' or 'gpeb' may contain the sample group with grouping type 'gtii' and the tile inventory information is available in the tile base track samples”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Wang in view of Ilola and OH of having a method performed by a reception apparatus of data, the method comprising wherein the sync sample box is present in a track with a sample entry type, a track comprising a geometry component and with a sample entry type 'gpcg', or a track with a sample entry type, with the teachings of Gudumasu of wherein the sample entry type being sample entry type 'gpeg'; a track with a sample entry type being 'gpeb' or 'gpcb'.
Wherein having Wang’s method of having wherein the sample entry type being sample entry type 'gpeg'; a track with a sample entry type being 'gpeb' or 'gpcb'.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding, and further to improve capturing point clouds and compression using realistic reconstructions for efficient storing and transmitting point cloud data. Since both Wang and Gudumasu perform data compression and storing for efficient reception of data. Wherein Wang’s system improves coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding (see Wang’s Par. [0061]), and Gudumasu’s system improves capturing point clouds and compression using realistic reconstructions for efficient storing and transmitting point cloud data (see Gudumasu’s Par. [0002]).
Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye-Kui Wang et. al. (“US 2016/0234526 A1” hereinafter as “Wang”) in view of Lauri Ilola et. al. (“US 2020/0381022 A1” hereinafter as “Ilola”) and Srinivas Gudumasu et. al. (“US 2023/0281923 A1” hereinafter as “Gudumasu”).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches a method performed by a transmitting apparatus of data (Title shows “Placement of Parameter Sets and Sync Samples in Video Coding”; moreover, Abstract discloses “file formats and parsing and coding of video data”), the method comprising: storing a bitstream including the data (Par. [0024] discloses “random access may refer to a decoding of a video bitstream starting from a coded picture that is not the first coded picture in the bitstream. Random access to a bitstream is provided in many video applications”) into one or more tracks (Par. [0195] discloses “a sync sample in a parameter set track may indicate that all parameter sets needed from that decoding time forward in the video elementary stream are in that or succeeding parameter stream samples”); and generating a compression file (Par. [0058] discloses “video encoder 20 generally produces a stream of encoded video data. Each individual stream of data (whether audio or video) may be referred to as an elementary stream. An elementary stream is a single, digitally coded (possibly compressed) component of a representation”) based on the tracks (Par. [0195] discloses “a sync sample in a parameter set track may indicate that all parameter sets needed from that decoding time forward in the video elementary stream are in that or succeeding parameter stream samples”), wherein parameter sets necessary (Par. [0042] discloses “determine whether conditions associated with random access points have been satisfied for a particular bitstream, Such as conditions associated with parameter sets”) for a random access (Par. [0080] discloses “router 36 may be responsible for providing coded video data to destination device 14 in a requested format”; moreover, Par. [0085] discloses “a random access point is interpreted differently by different devices (e.g., where different devices may include a device responsible for encoding/packaging video data and a device responsible for parsing/decoding video data), a file may not be delivered and/or played back properly” indicating a request for a random access) from a first sample within the data (Pars. [0088-0089] discloses “Random Access Point (RAP)…sample in a track that starts at ISAU of a SAP of type 1 or 2 or 3 as defined…informally, a sample, from which when decoding starts, the sample itself and all samples following in composition order can be correctly decoded”) are included in either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample (“or” indicates a selection, therefore, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “including the first sample” which is disclosed in Par. [0089] of “informally, a sample, from which when decoding starts, the sample itself and all samples following in composition order can be correctly decoded”; Par. [0045] discloses “a video decoder may decode parameter set data for the video data only in the sample entry for the sample or in a sample occurring in decoding order between the sample and a previous sample in decoding order”), based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track (Par. [0083] discloses “a sample entry may provide a description of a corresponding sample. For example, a sample entry may include a four-character code that describes a characteristic of the corresponding sample, Such as a format of the corresponding sample. Example sample entries for AVC and SVC tracks are included”), a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes (“or” indicates a selection, therefore, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “a presence of parameter set sample group boxes” which is disclosed in Par. Par. [0039] discloses “the ISOBMFF enables sample-specific metadata to be specified with various mechanisms. Specific boxes within the Sample Table box (“stbl’) have been standardized to respond to common needs. For example, a Sync Sample box ("stss') is used to list random access samples (as described below) of the track”; [0045] discloses “the video decoder may determine parameter set data needed for decoding the video data of the non-sync sample only from the sample entry for the non-sync sample….For example, in the event that a sample is not a sync sample and parameter set data is included in any other location of the bitstream than those specified, the video decoder 30 may reject the file as non-conforming and may not decode the sample”).
However, Wang does not explicitly teach the data being point cloud data.
Ilola teaches the data being point cloud data (Par. [0220] discloses “accessing the point cloud compression coded bitstream. The point cloud compression coded bitstream includes a texture information bitstream, a geometry information bitstream, and an auxiliary metadata bitstream As shown in block 42, the apparatus includes means , such as the processing circuitry 12, for causing storage of the point cloud compression coded bitstream”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Wang on Ilola of having a method performed by a transmitting apparatus of data, the method comprising: storing a bitstream including the data into one or more tracks; and generating a compression file based on the tracks, wherein parameter sets necessary for a random access from a first sample within the data are included in either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample, based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track, a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes, with the teachings of Ilola of having the data being point cloud data.
Wherein having Wang’s method of having the data being point cloud data.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding, and further to improve coding compression with considering point cloud data information such as temporal data and geometry data for increased coding efficiency. Since both Wang and Ilola perform data compression and storing for efficient random access. Wherein Wang’s system improves coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding (see Wang’s Par. [0061]), and Ilola’s system improves coding compression with considering point cloud data information such as temporal data and geometry data for increased coding efficiency (see Ilola’s Par. [0186]).
However, Wang in view of Ilola does not explicitly teach generating a geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) file (Par. [0090] discloses “structure of data file for geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC)”; Par. [0100] discloses “when the coded G-PCC geometry data and the coded G-PCC attribute data are stored in separate tracks… Carriage of Geometry-based Point Cloud Compression Data”) based on the tracks (Par. [0099] discloses “when the G-PCC data file is carried in a single track, the G-PCC encoded data is represented by a single track declaration. Single-track encapsulation of G-PCC data may utilize a simple ISOBMFF encapsulation by storing the G-PCC data file in a single track without further processing”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Wang in view of Ilola of having a method performed by a transmitting apparatus of point cloud data, the method comprising: storing a bitstream including the point cloud data into one or more tracks; and generating a compression file based on the tracks, wherein parameter sets necessary for a random access from a first sample within the point cloud data are included in either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample, based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track, a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes, with the teachings of Gudumasu of wherein generating a geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) file.
Wherein having Wang’s method of having wherein generating a geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) file.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding, and further to improve capturing point clouds and compression using realistic reconstructions for efficient storing and transmitting point cloud data. Since both Wang and Gudumasu perform data compression and storing for efficient reception of data. Wherein Wang’s system improves coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding (see Wang’s Par. [0061]), and Gudumasu’s system improves capturing point clouds and compression using realistic reconstructions for efficient storing and transmitting point cloud data (see Gudumasu’s Par. [0002]).
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches a transmitting apparatus of data, the apparatus comprising (Title shows “Placement of Parameter Sets and Sync Samples in Video Coding”; moreover, Abstract discloses “file formats and parsing and coding of video data”): memory; and at least one processor, the at least one processor configured to (Par. [0014] discloses “a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprises instructions stored thereon that, when executed, cause one or more processors…”): store a bitstream including the data (Par. [0024] discloses “random access may refer to a decoding of a video bitstream starting from a coded picture that is not the first coded picture in the bitstream. Random access to a bitstream is provided in many video applications”) into one or more tracks (Par. [0195] discloses “a sync sample in a parameter set track may indicate that all parameter sets needed from that decoding time forward in the video elementary stream are in that or succeeding parameter stream samples”); and generate a compression file (Par. [0058] discloses “video encoder 20 generally produces a stream of encoded video data. Each individual stream of data (whether audio or video) may be referred to as an elementary stream. An elementary stream is a single, digitally coded (possibly compressed) component of a representation”) based on the tracks (Par. [0195] discloses “a sync sample in a parameter set track may indicate that all parameter sets needed from that decoding time forward in the video elementary stream are in that or succeeding parameter stream samples”), wherein parameter sets necessary (Par. [0042] discloses “determine whether conditions associated with random access points have been satisfied for a particular bitstream, Such as conditions associated with parameter sets”) for a random access (Par. [0080] discloses “router 36 may be responsible for providing coded video data to destination device 14 in a requested format”; moreover, Par. [0085] discloses “a random access point is interpreted differently by different devices (e.g., where different devices may include a device responsible for encoding/packaging video data and a device responsible for parsing/decoding video data), a file may not be delivered and/or played back properly” indicating a request for a random access) from a first sample within the data (Pars. [0088-0089] discloses “Random Access Point (RAP)…sample in a track that starts at ISAU of a SAP of type 1 or 2 or 3 as defined…informally, a sample, from which when decoding starts, the sample itself and all samples following in composition order can be correctly decoded”) are included in either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample (“or” indicates a selection, therefore, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “including the first sample” which is disclosed in Par. [0089] of “informally, a sample, from which when decoding starts, the sample itself and all samples following in composition order can be correctly decoded”; Par. [0045] discloses “a video decoder may decode parameter set data for the video data only in the sample entry for the sample or in a sample occurring in decoding order between the sample and a previous sample in decoding order”), based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track (Par. [0083] discloses “a sample entry may provide a description of a corresponding sample. For example, a sample entry may include a four-character code that describes a characteristic of the corresponding sample, Such as a format of the corresponding sample. Example sample entries for AVC and SVC tracks are included”), a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes (“or” indicates a selection, therefore, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “a presence of parameter set sample group boxes” which is disclosed in Par. Par. [0039] discloses “the ISOBMFF enables sample-specific metadata to be specified with various mechanisms. Specific boxes within the Sample Table box (“stbl’) have been standardized to respond to common needs. For example, a Sync Sample box ("stss') is used to list random access samples (as described below) of the track”; [0045] discloses “the video decoder may determine parameter set data needed for decoding the video data of the non-sync sample only from the sample entry for the non-sync sample….For example, in the event that a sample is not a sync sample and parameter set data is included in any other location of the bitstream than those specified, the video decoder 30 may reject the file as non-conforming and may not decode the sample”).
However, Wang does not explicitly teach the data being point cloud data.
Ilola teaches the data being point cloud data (Par. [0220] discloses “accessing the point cloud compression coded bitstream. The point cloud compression coded bitstream includes a texture information bitstream, a geometry information bitstream, and an auxiliary metadata bitstream As shown in block 42, the apparatus includes means , such as the processing circuitry 12, for causing storage of the point cloud compression coded bitstream”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Wang on Ilola of having a transmitting apparatus of data comprising instructions to store a bitstream including the data into one or more tracks; and generate a compression file based on the tracks, wherein parameter sets necessary for a random access from a first sample within the data are included in either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample, based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track, a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes, with the teachings of Ilola of having the data being point cloud data.
Wherein having Wang’s apparatus of having the data being point cloud data.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding, and further to improve coding compression with considering point cloud data information such as temporal data and geometry data for increased coding efficiency. Since both Wang and Ilola perform data compression and storing for efficient random access. Wherein Wang’s system improves coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding (see Wang’s Par. [0061]), and Ilola’s system improves coding compression with considering point cloud data information such as temporal data and geometry data for increased coding efficiency (see Ilola’s Par. [0186]).
However, Wang in view of Ilola does not explicitly teach generating a geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) file (Par. [0090] discloses “structure of data file for geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC)”; Par. [0100] discloses “when the coded G-PCC geometry data and the coded G-PCC attribute data are stored in separate tracks… Carriage of Geometry-based Point Cloud Compression Data”) based on the tracks (Par. [0099] discloses “when the G-PCC data file is carried in a single track, the G-PCC encoded data is represented by a single track declaration. Single-track encapsulation of G-PCC data may utilize a simple ISOBMFF encapsulation by storing the G-PCC data file in a single track without further processing”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Wang in view of Ilola of having a transmitting apparatus of point cloud data comprising instructions to store a bitstream including the point cloud data into one or more tracks; and generate a compression file based on the tracks, wherein parameter sets necessary for a random access from a first sample within the point cloud data are included in either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample, based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track, a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes, with the teachings of Gudumasu of wherein generating a geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) file.
Wherein having Wang’s method of having wherein generating a geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) file.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding, and further to improve capturing point clouds and compression using realistic reconstructions for efficient storing and transmitting point cloud data. Since both Wang and Gudumasu perform data compression and storing for efficient reception of data. Wherein Wang’s system improves coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding (see Wang’s Par. [0061]), and Gudumasu’s system improves capturing point clouds and compression using realistic reconstructions for efficient storing and transmitting point cloud data (see Gudumasu’s Par. [0002]).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye-Kui Wang et. al. (“US 2016/0234526 A1” hereinafter as “Wang”) in view of Lauri Ilola et. al. (“US 2020/0381022 A1” hereinafter as “Ilola”) further in view of Srinivas Gudumasu et. al. (“US 2023/0281923 A1” hereinafter as “Gudumasu”) and Seijin OH (“US 2021/0029187 A1” hereinafter as “OH”).
Regarding claim 12, Wang in view of Ilola and Gudumasu teaches the method of claim 11, Wang teaches the parameter sets are included in the sample entry of the track (Par. [0084] of “sync sample in a parameter set track may indicate that all parameter sets needed from that decoding time forward in the video elementary stream are in that or succeeding parameter stream samples” indicating the parameter sets area associated with track of the stream sample [sample entry]).
However, Wang in view of Ilola and Gudumasu does not explicitly teach wherein, based on that the sample entry type of the track including the first sample is ‘gpel’ or ‘gpcl’.
OH teaches wherein, based on that the sample entry type of the track including the first sample is ‘gpel’ or ‘gpcl’ (“or” indicates a selection, the examiner selects “gpcl” for mapping which disclosed in OH’s Par. [0592] of “when the sample entry type is ‘gpel’, all geometry parameter sets, attribute parameter sets or tile inventories are included in the setupUint array”; Par. [0634] discloses “each sample may optionally contain zero or more TLV encapsulating structure carrying parameter sets” wherein, when the entry is gpel which is not gpcl, then the parameter sets are being stored in the setupUnit array which can include zero sample type of a non-sync type).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Wang in view of Ilola and Gudumasu of having a method performed by a transmitting apparatus of point cloud data, the method comprising: storing a bitstream including the point cloud data into one or more tracks; and generating a compression file based on the tracks, wherein parameter sets necessary for a random access from a first sample within the point cloud data are included in either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample, based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track, a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes, with the teachings of OH of wherein, based on that the sample entry type of the track including the first sample is ‘gpel’ or ‘gpcl’.
Wherein having Wang’s method of having wherein, based on that the sample entry type of the track including the first sample is ‘gpel’ or ‘gpcl’.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding, and further to improve point cloud data transmission with using of encapsulation structure that provides efficiency in storing of data. Since both Wang and OH perform data compression and storing for efficient reception of data. Wherein Wang’s system improves coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding (see Wang’s Par. [0061]), and OH’s system improves point cloud data transmission with using of encapsulation structure that provides efficiency in storing of data (see OH’s Par. [0034]).
Regarding claim 13, Wang in view of Ilola and Gudumasu teaches the method of claim 11, Wang teaches the method of claim 11, wherein, the parameter sets are included in the sample entry of the track or the first sample (“or” indicates a selection, therefore, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “from the sample entry of the track” which is disclosed in [0084] of “sync sample in a parameter set track may indicate that all parameter sets needed from that decoding time forward in the video elementary stream are in that or succeeding parameter stream samples” indicating the parameter sets area associated with track of the stream sample [sample entry]), based on that the data comprises the sync sample box and the first sample is indicated as a sync sample (Par. [0098] discloses “the sync sample table indicates which sample are in fact random access points. Using this table, you can locate which is the first sync sample prior to the specified time…” wherein, the sync sample table is analogous to the recited sync sample box, and the first sync sample being located prior to the specified time is analogous to the recited first sample is indicated as a sync sample).
However, Wang does not explicitly teach the data being point cloud data.
Ilola teaches the data being point cloud data (Par. [0220] discloses “accessing the point cloud compression coded bitstream. The point cloud compression coded bitstream includes a texture information bitstream, a geometry information bitstream, and an auxiliary metadata bitstream As shown in block 42, the apparatus includes means , such as the processing circuitry 12, for causing storage of the point cloud compression coded bitstream”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Wang on Ilola of having a method performed by a transmitting apparatus of data, the method comprising: storing a bitstream including the data into one or more tracks; and generating a compression file based on the tracks, wherein parameter sets necessary for a random access from a first sample within the data are included in either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample, based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track, a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes, wherein, the parameter sets are included in the sample entry of the track or the first sample, based on that the data comprises the sync sample box and the first sample is indicated as a sync sample, with the teachings of Ilola of having the data being point cloud data.
Wherein having Wang’s method of having the data being point cloud data.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding, and further to improve coding compression with considering point cloud data information such as temporal data and geometry data for increased coding efficiency. Since both Wang and Ilola perform data compression and storing for efficient random access. Wherein Wang’s system improves coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding (see Wang’s Par. [0061]), and Ilola’s system improves coding compression with considering point cloud data information such as temporal data and geometry data for increased coding efficiency (see Ilola’s Par. [0186]).
However, Wang and Ilola does not explicitly teach based on that the sample entry type of the track is not ‘gpel’ or ‘gpcl’.
OH teaches based on that the sample entry type of the track is not ‘gpel’ or ‘gpcl’ (“or” indicates a selection, the examiner selects “gpcl” for mapping which disclosed in OH’s Par. [0592] of “when the sample entry type is ‘gpel’, all geometry parameter sets, attribute parameter sets or tile inventories are included in the setupUint array”; Par. [0634] discloses “each sample may optionally contain zero or more TLV encapsulating structure carrying parameter sets” wherein, when the entry is gpel which is not gpcl, then the parameter sets are being stored in the setupUnit array which can include zero sample type of a non-sync type).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Wang in view of Ilola of having a method performed by a transmitting apparatus of point cloud data, the method comprising: storing a bitstream including the point cloud data into one or more tracks; and generating a compression file based on the tracks, wherein parameter sets necessary for a random access from a first sample within the point cloud data are included in either a sample entry of a track including the first sample or a predetermined sample, based on at least one of a sample entry type of the track, a presence of a sync sample box or a presence of parameter set sample group boxes, with the teachings of OH of wherein based on that the sample entry type of the track is not ‘gpel’ or ‘gpcl’.
Wherein having Wang’s method of having wherein, based on that the sample entry type of the track is not ‘gpel’ or ‘gpcl’.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding, and further to improve point cloud data transmission with using of encapsulation structure that provides efficiency in storing of data. Since both Wang and OH perform data compression and storing for efficient reception of data. Wherein Wang’s system improves coding efficiency by having parameter set including relevant information in appropriate placement for such coding (see Wang’s Par. [0061]), and OH’s system improves point cloud data transmission with using of encapsulation structure that provides efficiency in storing of data (see OH’s Par. [0034]).
Regarding claim 14, Wang in view of Ilola further in view of Gudumasu and OH teaches the method of claim 12, Wang teaches wherein, based on that the point cloud data does not comprise the sync sample box or the first sample is not indicated as the sync sample (“or” indicates a selection, therefore, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “based on that the point cloud data does not comprise the sync sample box” which is disclosed in Wang’s Par. [0045] of “based on determining that the sample is not a sync sample, a video decoder may decode parameter set data for the video data only in the sample entry for the sample or in a sample occurring in decoding order between the sample and a previous sample in decoding order that is a sync sample, inclusive”), the parameter sets are obtained from the first sample or samples that precede the first sample in decoding order (“or” indicates a selection, hence, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “samples that precede the first sample in decoding order” which is taught in Wang’s Par. [0045] of “based on determining that the sample is not a sync sample, a video decoder may decode parameter set data for the video data only in the sample entry for the sample or in a sample occurring in decoding order between the sample and a previous sample in decoding order that is a sync sample, inclusive”), based on that the point cloud data comprises the parameter set sample group boxes (Par. [0039] discloses “the ISOBMFF enables sample-specific metadata to be specified with various mechanisms. Specific boxes within the Sample Table box (“stbl’) have been standardized to respond to common needs. For example, a Sync Sample box ("stss') is used to list random access samples (as described below) of the track”).
Pertinent Prior Art(s)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
HENDRY, Hendry, “US 2025/0159262 A1”, discloses a transmission device of point cloud data, a method performed by the transmission device, a reception device, and a method performed by the reception device are provided. A method performed by a reception device of point cloud data may comprise obtaining a geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) file including the point cloud data and reconstructing the point cloud based on temporal scalability information. The temporal scalability information may include information about multiple temporal level tracks for the file, and the information about multiple temporal level tracks may be determined based on a sample entry type of a track.
Hannuksela, Miska et. al., “US 12088971 B2”, discloses a method for writing, in a container file, two or more subpicture tracks; writing, in the container file, a base track, which is intended to be resolved into a video bitstream; indicating, in the base track, a layout of subpictures; writing, in the container file, a sample group description entry indicative of a first subpicture track or a group of subpicture tracks for each subpicture position in the layout of subpictures, wherein the first subpicture track includes the subpicture sequence for the respective subpicture position and wherein any track among the group of subpicture tracks includes a valid subpicture sequence for the respective subpicture position; and indicating in the container file, samples of the base track for which the sample group description entry is intended to be used for reconstructing the video bitstream. The embodiments also relate to a method for parsing, as well as technical equipment for implementing the method for writing and the method for parsing.
Antony-Euclid C. et. al., “US 20140162598 A1”, discloses methods and systems providing greater customer-control, instant-response anti-fraud/anti-identity theft protections with instant alarm, messaging and secured true-personal identity verifications for numerous registered customers/users, with biometrics and PIN security, operating with manual, touch-screen and/or voice-controlled commands, achieving secured rapid personal/business e-banking, e-commerce, accurate transactional monetary control and management, having interactive audio-visual alarm/reminder preventing fraudulent usage of legitimate physical and/or virtual credit/debit cards, with cheques anti-forgery means, curtailing medical/health/insurance frauds/identity thefts, having integrated cellular and/or satellite telephonic/internet and multi-media means, equipped with language translations, GPS navigation with transactions tagging, currency converters, with or without NFC components, minimizing potential airport risks/mishaps, providing instant aid against school bullying, kidnapping, car-napping and other crimes, applicable for secured military/immigration/law enforcements, providing guided warning/rescue during emergencies and disasters.
BUSSE; Erik et. al., “US 20110098868 A1”, discloses a method and device to control electrical devices using motion detection are presented, through which an object inside a monitoring area which is subdivided into a pre-detection area and a detection area is successively identified as well as verified in the detection area for reducing power input in standby mode and during operation in the main cycle using distance measurements and its position consequently determined. During the course of the distance measurements, the control device is brought into a readiness state and later on into operating state. After finishing the distance measurements and determining the position of the object in the detection area, an output signal which serves to control an external electrical device is generated by a control device.
Conclusion
/PHUONG HAU CAI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673