DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 8/28/2026 has been placed of record in the file.
No claims have been amended.
Claims 1-13 are pending.
The applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-13 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite mathematical operations for determining a congruent, which falls within the mathematical concepts grouping of abstract ideas. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because it is unclear what additional structure or function might impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Where the dependent claims recite some structural elements, these elements are generic computer elements and do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. Further, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the use of the claimed computer or processor represents well-understood, routine, conventional activity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Non-Patent Literature “Montgomery Reduction for Gaussian Integers” by Safieh and Freudenberger, hereinafter referred to as Safieh, in view of Shamee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0020470), hereinafter referred to as Shamee.
Safieh disclosed techniques for modular arithmetic over integers. In an analogous art, Shamee disclosed techniques for data transformation using integers. Both systems are directed toward modular reduction.
Regarding claim 1, Safieh discloses a method for generating a cryptographic key and/or for encryption or decryption, the method comprising: determining a Gaussian integer congruent to a given Gaussian integer modulo a Gaussian integer modulus, wherein the norm of the Gaussian integer is smaller than the norm of the square of the Gaussian integer modulus (section 3, Montgomery reduction for Gaussian integers resulting in congruent) by: considering a real integer base raised to a first integer exponent having a norm larger than that of the real and larger than that of the imaginary part of the Gaussian integer modulus (section 3, Montgomery reduction using real part and imaginary part); considering a variable value candidate for the Gaussian integer congruent is considered that is first initialized with the given Gaussian integer (section 3, Montgomery reduction considering candidates); and decrementing the Gaussian integer, either fully or in truncated form, by a multiple of the Gaussian integer modulus (section 3, Montgomery reduction using bit shifts); evaluating the multiple of the Gaussian integer modulus by calculating an auxiliary product of a component-wisely down rounded quotient of the current value of the variable value candidate for the Gaussian integer congruent and the real integer base raised to the sum of the first integer exponent and the second integer exponent with a prefactor (section 3, Montgomery reduction with final reduction satisfying bound).
Safieh does not explicitly state wherein a second integer exponent is considered that is equal to or smaller than -2 and wherein a third integer exponent is considered, that is equal to or larger than the first integer exponent incremented by one and calculating a component-wisely down rounded quotient of this auxiliary product and the real integer base raised to the difference of the third integer exponent and the second integer exponent and multiplying this latter quotient with the Gaussian integer modulus. However, performing modular reduction in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Shamee. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Safieh by adding the ability that a second integer exponent is considered that is equal to or smaller than -2 and wherein a third integer exponent is considered, that is equal to or larger than the first integer exponent incremented by one and calculating a component-wisely down rounded quotient of this auxiliary product and the real integer base raised to the difference of the third integer exponent and the second integer exponent and multiplying this latter quotient with the Gaussian integer modulus as provided by Shamee (see paragraph 179, modular reduction that replaces n-th powers via add left shift until degree is less than n). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that performing modular arithmetic in this way would assist in utilizing encryption that improves the security of a cryptosystem (see Shamee, paragraph 21).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Safieh and Shamee discloses wherein such a second integer exponent is considered that is equal to or smaller than -3 and such a third integer exponent is considered, that is equal to or larger than the first integer exponent incremented by three (Shamee, paragraph 179, modular reduction that replaces n-th powers via add left shift until degree is less than n).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Safieh and Shamee discloses wherein the Gaussian integer is decremented by a multiple of the Gaussian integer modulus in a truncated form such that the Gaussian integer is truncated via modulo reduction of the Gaussian integer modulo the real integer base raised to the difference of the third integer exponent and the second integer exponent and then the multiple of the Gaussian integer modulus is truncated via modulo reduction of the multiple of the Gaussian integer modulus modulo the real integer base raised to the difference of the third integer exponent and the second integer exponent and subtracted from the truncated Gaussian integer (Safieh, section 3, Montgomery reduction using bit shifts).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Safieh and Shamee discloses wherein the prefactor includes the down rounded quotient of the real integer base raised to the sum of the first integer exponent and the third integer exponent and the Gaussian integer modulus (Safieh, section 3, Montgomery reduction with final reduction satisfying bound).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Safieh and Shamee discloses wherein the norm of the determined Gaussian integer congruent is smaller than the norm of the given Gaussian integer (Safieh, section 6, smaller absolute value).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Safieh and Shamee discloses wherein the norm denotes the absolute value (Safieh, section 3, Montgomery reduction using absolute value).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Safieh and Shamee discloses wherein the norm denotes the Manhattan weight or the absolute square value (Safieh, section 4, precision reduction using Manhattan weight).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Safieh and Shamee discloses wherein the method is conducted on a computer that stores numbers in a positional numeral system with a radix, wherein the radix is equal to the real integer base or where a radix raised to an integer power is equal to the real integer base (Safieh, section 2, binary representation).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Safieh and Shamee discloses wherein the real integer base is an ordinary integer base (Safieh, section 2, ordinary integers).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Safieh and Shamee discloses carried out on a processor with a word-size, the real integer base being equal to the word-size of the processor, the word-size equal to 16 or 32 or 64 or 128 (Shamee, paragraph 115, fixed word size).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Safieh and Shamee discloses wherein the Gaussian integer is reduced using a final reduction (Safieh, section 3, Montgomery reduction with final reduction).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Safieh and Shamee discloses wherein the down rounded fractions are evaluated involving bit shifting by an integer number of bits and involving bit truncation down to an integer number of bits (Safieh, section 3, Montgomery reduction using bit shifts).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Safieh and Shamee discloses determining a
reduction of a given Gaussian integer modulo a Gaussian integer modulus by further reducing the Gaussian integer congruent with a final reduction (Safieh, section 3, Montgomery reduction with final reduction).
Response to Arguments
In the remarks, the applicant has argued:
<Argument 1>
The claims are not directed to an abstract idea.
<Argument 2>
The combination of Safieh and Shamee does not disclose the features of independent claim 1 because it does not disclose “wherein a second integer exponent is considered that is equal to or smaller than -2 and wherein a third integer exponent is considered, that is equal to or larger than the first integer exponent incremented by one and calculating a component-wisely down rounded quotient of this auxiliary product and the real integer base raised to the difference of the third integer exponent and the second integer exponent and multiplying this latter quotient with the Gaussian integer modulus” as recited in claim 1.
In response to argument 1, it is maintained that the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Here the applicant argues that the claims recite a particular technique “for cryptographic key generation, encryption, or decryption.” However, no implementation of such processes could be found in the claims. The applicant also argues that the present invention results in “fast software and hardware implementation” and “decreasing total complexity.” However, such a reference to “software and hardware” does not appear to extend beyond the use of generic computer elements. The cited results do not appear to provide any additional structural or functional bounds within the claim language itself. The applicant also argues that “The Specification identifies the first reduction portion as new and as using algorithmic steps and arithmetic operations different from those in the prior art.” However, this statement appears to support the rejection at hand as “algorithmic steps and arithmetic operations” are deemed to be mathematical operations without disclosure of additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In response to argument 2, combination of Safieh and Shamee does disclose the features as recited in claim 1. The rejection cites Shamee, paragraph 179, which shows the use of a modular reduction technique that replaces the n-th powers via an add left shift until the degree is less than n. This is seen to meet the limitation at hand as the claim language appears to present a modular reduction of the same type. In the part of the claim language deemed taught by Shamee, the exponent appears to be cycled or manipulated by incrementation/subtraction in order to determine the particular quotient for the reduction. It is currently unclear from the applicant’s remarks the exact limitation in claim 1 that the applicant feels is fully distinct from this teaching. The applicant further argues the combination of Safieh and Shamee by stating that there would not have been a reasonable expectation for the combination “to preserve the claimed congruence and norm constraint.” Again, it is unclear exactly what limitation in claim 1 is being argued. The terms “congruence” and “norm constraint” do not appear in the claim language.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Victor Lesniewski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493