DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on January 27th, 2025 has been acknowledged and entered.
Information Disclosure Statement(s)
The Information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on January 13th, 2025 has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
Claims 1-4, recite(s) limitation(s) that use words like “means” (or “step”) or similar terms with functional language and do invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Claims 1 and 3; recites the limitation, “an acquisition section configured to acquire…” [Line 2] and [line 7].
Claims 1 and 2-3; recites the limitation, “a generation section configured to generate…” [Line 5, line 10] and [line 1] and [line 4].
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “an output section configured to output…” [Line 9].
Claim 4; recites the limitation, “an imaging section provided in an inspection device and configured to capture…” [Line 2, line 8]..
Claim 4; recites the limitation, “an image processing section configured to perform image processing…” [Line 4, line 9].
Claim 4; recites the limitation, “an acquisition section configured to acquire the original image…” [Line 7, line 13].
Claim 4; recites the limitation, “a generation section configured to generate…” [Line 11, line 17].
Claim 4; recites the limitation, “an output section configured to output…” [Line 16].
After a careful analysis, as disclosed above, and a careful review of the specification the following limitations in claims 1-4;
(i) “acquisition section” there is no written support of a structure, material and/or act for the recited acquisition section, in the specification filed January 17th, 2025, to perform the recited functions, thus have insufficient structure, material and/or act.
(ii) “generation section” there is no written support of a structure, material and/or act for the recited generation section, in the specification filed January 17th, 2025, to perform the recited functions, thus have insufficient structure, material and/or act.
(iii) “output section” (Par. [0036]) - the instant specification, filed on January 17th, 2025, provides sufficient written support of a structure for the recited output section to perform the recited functions, wherein Par. [0036] discloses the image display processing and display device correspond to an output section, thus have sufficient structure, material and/or act of a display device.
(iv) “imaging section” (Par. [0015], part 20a of Fig. 2) - the instant specification, filed on January 17th, 2025, provides sufficient written support of a structure for the recited imaging section to perform the recited functions, wherein Par. [0015] discloses mark camera, side camera, and part camera as imaging section, thus have sufficient structure, material and/or act of a mark camera, side camera, and part camera.
(v) “image processing section” there is no written support of a structure, material and/or act for the recited image processing section, in the specification filed January 17th, 2025, to perform the recited functions, thus have insufficient structure, material and/or act.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-4 along with their dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1-4’s limitations:
Claims 1 and 3; recites the limitation, “an acquisition section configured to acquire…” [Line 2] and [line 7].
Claims 1 and 2-3; recites the limitation, “a generation section configured to generate…” [Line 5, line 10] and [line 1] and [line 4].
Claim 4; recites the limitation, “an image processing section configured to perform image processing…” [Line 4, line 9].
Claim 4; recites the limitation, “an acquisition section configured to acquire the original image…” [Line 7, line 13].
Claim 4; recites the limitation, “a generation section configured to generate…” [Line 11, line 17].
Claims 1-4, each respectively invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed functions. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of the ordinary skill in the art would understand which structure performed(s) the claimed function.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim2 1-4 along with their dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function in the recited limitation.
Claims 1-4’s limitations:
Claims 1 and 3; recites the limitation, “an acquisition section configured to acquire…” [Line 2] and [line 7].
Claims 1 and 2-3; recites the limitation, “a generation section configured to generate…” [Line 5, line 10] and [line 1] and [line 4].
Claim 4; recites the limitation, “an image processing section configured to perform image processing…” [Line 4, line 9].
Claim 4; recites the limitation, “an acquisition section configured to acquire the original image…” [Line 7, line 13].
Claim 4; recites the limitation, “a generation section configured to generate…” [Line 11, line 17].
The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaoxiang MA et. al. (“US 2024/0231331 A1” hereinafter as “MA”) and Varunkumar Tripathi et. al. (“US 2022/0043856 A1” hereinafter as “Tripathi”).
Regarding claim 1, MA teaches an image output device comprising (Abstract discloses an image capturing unit…monitoring apparatus to capture images of the state of the production line): an acquisition section configured to acquire original images (Par. [0059] discloses “the recording processing unit performs processing to associated accompanying information which accompanies the detected anomalous condition with the videos” wherein, the videos include original images as claimed and the recording processing unit is analogous to the recited acquisition section) and accompanying information (Par. [0059] discloses “the recording processing unit performs processing to associated accompanying information which accompanies the detected anomalous condition with the videos”) including a result of image processing performed on the original images as information accompanying the original images (Par. [0059] discloses “accompanying information…with the videos that have undergone the tracking processing and have been connected by the anomaly tracking processing unit” wherein, the tracking processing is analogous to the recited image processing); a generation section configured to generate in advance a thumbnail image of an original image (Par. [0061] discloses “the recording processing unit stores data on…a frame having the highest accuracy in information on an anomalous condition shown therein as thumbnail image data in a data table as well” wherein, the thumbnail in the data table is analogous to the thumbnail image generated in advance and the frame having the highest accuracy is analogous to an original image as claimed and the recording processing unit is analogous to the recited generation section) selected based on the accompanying information among the original images acquired by the acquisition section (Par. [0060] discloses “associate accompanying information which accompanies the anomalous condition that is various types of information related to the identical anomalous condition with the video data” and Par. [0061] discloses “the recording processing unit stores data on, of video frames, a frame having the highest accuracy in information on an anomalous condition shown therein as thumbnail image data in a data table” wherein, a frame in the video of frames is analogous to the recited selected among the original images) and to generate, in response to a request, thumbnail images of original images (Par. [0130] discloses “the data and time information display area displays information on the day and time that fits the results of searching for information that the user wants to display…a list of candidate thumbnail images can be displayed in the thumbnail display area” wherein the user made a request to search and the thumbnail images are displayed [generated]); and an output section configured to output the thumbnail image generated by the generation section in response to a request (Par. [0126] discloses “thumbnail display area, thumbnail images that fit the results of a search with a keyword input from the user and area displayed” by a display screen according to Par. [0124], wherein, the display screen is analogous to the recited output section).
However, MA does not explicitly teach thumbnail images of original images which have not been generated in advance.
Tripathi teaches thumbnail images of original images which have not been generated in advance (Par. [0061] discloses “first the client device submits the thumbnail request to the main queue, which first checks the thumbnail cache and determine that the requested thumbnail is not in the thumbnail cache.” Par. [0062] discloses “the main queue then checks which recording server the thumbnail is required from, and whether there is a corresponding recording server queue. It then either passes the request to an existing recording server queue, or creates a new one”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of MA of having an image output device comprising: an acquisition section configured to acquire original images and accompanying information including a result of image processing performed on the original images as information accompanying the original images; a generation section configured to generate in advance a thumbnail image of an original image selected based on the accompanying information among the original images acquired by the acquisition section and to generate, in response to a request, thumbnail images of original images; and an output section configured to output the thumbnail image generated by the generation section in response to a request, with the teachings of Tripathi of having wherein thumbnail images of original images which have not been generated in advance.
Wherein having Ma’s device having wherein thumbnail images of original images which have not been generated in advance.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve production line monitoring by allowing quick identification of the cause of an anomalous condition to allow anomaly detection efficiently, and further to minimize memory requirement for a video decoder and generating preview thumbnail effectively. Since both MA and Tripathi both perform video thumbnail generation based on user’s request. Wherein MA’s system improves production line monitoring by allowing quick identification of the cause of an anomalous condition to allow anomaly detection efficiently, (see MA’s Par. [0008]) and Tripathi’s system improves video decoding by minimizing memory requirement for a video decoder and generating preview thumbnail effectively, (see Tripathi’s Par. [0002]).
Regarding claim 2, MA in view of Tripathi teaches the image output device according to Claim 1, Ma teaches wherein the generation section generates in advance the thumbnail image (Par. [0061] discloses “the recording processing unit stores data on…a frame having the highest accuracy in information on an anomalous condition shown therein as thumbnail image data in a data table as well” wherein, the thumbnail in the data table is analogous to the thumbnail image generated in advance and the frame having the highest accuracy is analogous to an original image as claimed and the recording processing unit is analogous to the recited generation section) of an abnormal image that is at least an original image (Par. [0061] discloses “the recording processing unit stores data on…a frame having the highest accuracy in information on an anomalous condition shown”), for which an abnormal result is obtained as a result of the image processing (Par. [0059] discloses “accompanying information…with the videos that have undergone the tracking processing and have been connected by the anomaly tracking processing unit” wherein, the tracking processing is analogous to the recited image processing), among the original images acquired by the acquisition section (Par. [0061] discloses “the recording processing unit stores data on, of video frames, a frame having the highest accuracy in information on an anomalous condition shown therein as thumbnail image data in a data table” wherein, a frame in the video of frames is analogous to the recited selected among the original images).
Regarding claim 3, MA in view of Tripathi teaches the image output device according to Claim 2, MA teaches wherein the accompanying information includes image processing conditions for performing the image processing (Par. [0129] discloses “accompanying information…the position information of the plurality of cameras” indicating the image processing conditions), and the generation section generates in advance the thumbnail image of an original image (Par. [0061] discloses “the recording processing unit stores data on…a frame having the highest accuracy in information on an anomalous condition shown therein as thumbnail image data in a data table as well” wherein, the thumbnail in the data table is analogous to the thumbnail image generated in advance and the frame having the highest accuracy is analogous to an original image as claimed and the recording processing unit is analogous to the recited generation section), for which a normal result is obtained as a result of the image processing (Par. [0171] discloses “an anomaly detection step…compares video data acquired from the plurality of cameras with video data indicating the normal condition of the production line stored in advance, to detect an anomalous condition occurring”) and at least one of the image processing conditions is common to the abnormal image (Par. [0171] discloses “the anomaly detection processing unit compares current videos of the production line acquired from the plurality of cameras with videos showing the production line in the normal condition stored in advance, to detect an anomalous condition occurring”), among the original images acquired by the acquisition section (Par. [0059] discloses “the recording processing unit performs processing to associated accompanying information which accompanies the detected anomalous condition with the videos” wherein, the videos include original images as claimed and the recording processing unit is analogous to the recited acquisition section).
Regarding claim 4, MA teaches an image output system comprising (Abstract discloses an image capturing unit…monitoring apparatus to capture images of the state of the production line): an imaging section provided in an inspection device (Par. [0144] discloses “a production line monitoring system” which is analogous to the recited inspection device) and configured to capture original images (Par. [0059] discloses “the recording processing unit performs processing to associated accompanying information which accompanies the detected anomalous condition with the videos” wherein, the videos include original images as claimed and the recording processing unit is analogous to the recited acquisition section) of an inspection object (Par. [0147] discloses “detect information on the state of the process in the production line” wherein the production line is analogous to the recited inspection object); an image processing section configured to perform image processing on the original images of the inspection object captured by the imaging section (Par. [0059] discloses “accompanying information…with the videos that have undergone the tracking processing and have been connected by the anomaly tracking processing unit” wherein, the tracking processing is analogous to the recited image processing; moreover, the tracking processing is performed by the recording processing unit hence, is analogous to the recited image processing section) and inspect the inspection object (Par. [0059] discloses “the recording processing unit performs processing to associated accompanying information which accompanies the detected anomalous condition with the videos”); an acquisition section configured to acquire the original images of the inspection object captured by the imaging section (Par. [0059] discloses “accompanying information…with the videos that have undergone the tracking processing and have been connected by the anomaly tracking processing unit” wherein, the tracking processing is analogous to the recited image processing; moreover, the tracking processing is performed by the recording processing unit hence, is analogous to the recited image processing section) and accompanying information (Par. [0059] discloses “the recording processing unit performs processing to associated accompanying information which accompanies the detected anomalous condition with the videos”) including an inspection result of the inspection object by the image processing section as information accompanying the original images (Par. [0059] discloses “accompanying information…with the videos that have undergone the tracking processing and have been connected by the anomaly tracking processing unit” wherein, the tracking processing is analogous to the recited image processing); a generation section configured to generate in advance a thumbnail image of an original image (Par. [0061] discloses “the recording processing unit stores data on…a frame having the highest accuracy in information on an anomalous condition shown therein as thumbnail image data in a data table as well” wherein, the thumbnail in the data table is analogous to the thumbnail image generated in advance and the frame having the highest accuracy is analogous to an original image as claimed and the recording processing unit is analogous to the recited generation section) selected based on the accompanying information among the original images of the inspection object acquired by the acquisition section (Par. [0060] discloses “associate accompanying information which accompanies the anomalous condition that is various types of information related to the identical anomalous condition with the video data” and Par. [0061] discloses “the recording processing unit stores data on, of video frames, a frame having the highest accuracy in information on an anomalous condition shown therein as thumbnail image data in a data table” wherein, a frame in the video of frames is analogous to the recited selected among the original images) and to generate, in response to a request, thumbnail images of original images (Par. [0130] discloses “the data and time information display area displays information on the day and time that fits the results of searching for information that the user wants to display…a list of candidate thumbnail images can be displayed in the thumbnail display area” wherein the user made a request to search and the thumbnail images are displayed [generated]); and an output section configured to output the thumbnail images generated by the generation section in response to a request (Par. [0126] discloses “thumbnail display area, thumbnail images that fit the results of a search with a keyword input from the user and area displayed” by a display screen according to Par. [0124], wherein, the display screen is analogous to the recited output section).
However, MA does not explicitly teach thumbnail images of original images which have not been generated in advance.
Tripathi teaches thumbnail images of original images which have not been generated in advance (Par. [0061] discloses “first the client device submits the thumbnail request to the main queue, which first checks the thumbnail cache and determine that the requested thumbnail is not in the thumbnail cache.” Par. [0062] discloses “the main queue then checks which recording server the thumbnail is required from, and whether there is a corresponding recording server queue. It then either passes the request to an existing recording server queue, or creates a new one”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of MA of having an image output system comprising: an imaging section provided in an inspection device and configured to capture original images; an image processing section configured to perform image processing on the original images of the inspection object captured by the imaging section and inspect the inspection object; an acquisition section configured to acquire the original images of the inspection object captured by the imaging section and accompanying information including an inspection result of the inspection object by the image processing section as information accompanying the original images; a generation section configured to generate in advance a thumbnail image of an original image selected based on the accompanying information among the original images of the inspection object acquired by the acquisition section and to generate, in response to a request, thumbnail images of original images; and an output section configured to output the thumbnail images generated by the generation section in response to a request, with the teachings of Tripathi of having wherein thumbnail images of original images which have not been generated in advance.
Wherein having Ma’s system having wherein thumbnail images of original images which have not been generated in advance.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve production line monitoring by allowing quick identification of the cause of an anomalous condition to allow anomaly detection efficiently, and further to minimize memory requirement for a video decoder and generating preview thumbnail effectively. Since both MA and Tripathi both perform video thumbnail generation based on user’s request. Wherein MA’s system improves production line monitoring by allowing quick identification of the cause of an anomalous condition to allow anomaly detection efficiently, (see MA’s Par. [0008]) and Tripathi’s system improves video decoding by minimizing memory requirement for a video decoder and generating preview thumbnail effectively, (see Tripathi’s Par. [0002]).
Pertinent Prior Art(s)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lesh, Joseph, “US 2016/0165173 A1”, teaches Methods and systems are described for displaying a thumbnail preview of video content. In an aspect, one or more mosaic images made up of thumbnails corresponding to frames of the video content at multiple time points can be loaded into the system or created by the methods described. In any aspect, the selected thumbnail, as well as any other thumbnails, can be selected in response to receiving a command (e.g., trick play request) from the viewer. The command can dictate the direction from the selected thumbnail that the next thumbnails will be selected. The command can also dictate the frequency with which thumbnails will be selected from the mosaic image. In an aspect, frames comprised of thumbnails can be encoded to create the video content.
Hori, Osamu et. al., “US 2005/0047681 A1”, teaches video frames of original video data are sampled with arbitrary time interval and size, and thumbnail frames are obtained. As thumbnail information concerning these frames, information on frame number of the original video frame corresponding to each of the thumbnail frames and size of each thumbnail frame are described. Further, scene change information on the original video frames or intra-frame frame change value information are described altogether as additional information, and temporal/spatial thumbnail meta-data is obtained. The meta-data is associated with original video data, and a database is constructed. Then, the meta-data is employed, thereby performing typical frame display of original video data or variable speed reproduction. In this manner, even with a device with its low CPU capability, typical frame display or variable speed reproduction is performed for compressed and encoded video data such as MPEG-2, and the contents of video is checked, and retrieval is easily performed.
Cronin, Dennis G. et. al., “US 2009/0172543 A1”, teaches while playing back video on a display device, a user request to display a navigation bar corresponding to the video is received. In response to receiving the user request, the navigation bar is displayed on the display device. This navigation bar includes multiple thumbnails each corresponding to a different location in the video. A user selection of one of the multiple thumbnails is received, and playing of the video is changed to begin playing at a location corresponding to the selected thumbnail.
Frumar, Julian et. al., “US 11340771 B2”, teaches a method for presenting content comprises receiving a content item; receiving a plurality of thumbnails from the content item, each thumbnail associated with a point in the content item; playing the content item starting at a first point; receiving in a user interface a selection at a second point in the content item; presenting, in the user interface, first content of the content item at the second point; and presenting, in the user interface, a subset of the plurality of thumbnails, the subset arranged based on a predetermined order and including a thumbnail associated with the second point.
Conclusion
/PHUONG HAU CAI/Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673