DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10, 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable (but for the 112 rejections below) if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6, 8, 18, and 20 are rejected because they recite "the application whitelist” and “the view whitelist” without antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11, 12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye, US 2023/0393758 in view of Yang et al., US 2024/0211116.
Claim 1, 11, 12. Ye teaches a screen recording method, comprising:
A processor, memory, and code [Figs. 17-19, para. 178] and display screen [Fig. 2] for:
starting a first application [overall screen recording apparatus 200; “application” also reads on device 100, i.e. phone, tablet, etc. with operating system, Figs. 17-19; paras. 48, 179], and displaying a first interface of the first application [floating window interface on device 100, Figs. 3, 7, 10, para. 56], wherein the first interface comprises a first area and a second area, the first area is a video playing area [window A, showing video content, Figs. 3, 7, 10, 14, paras. 51, 56] and the second area is a non-video-playing area [background screen area with circular icons, Figs. 3, 7, 10, 14, para. 56];
in response to a user operation of calling up a function bar of a video note application, displaying the function bar, wherein the function bar comprises a start recording button, and the video note application comprises a screen recording function [screen recording control B can be used to start recording; also, in window D of Fig. 14, “Yes” acts as a start recording button, Figs. 3, 7, 10, 14, paras. 51-53, 56, 118-121];
in response to a first tap/click operation on the start recording button, recording, by using the video note application, display content corresponding to the first area [screen recording is triggered by clicking recording control, Figs. 1, 3, 4, 9, paras. 49-52, 104],
obtain a first video, wherein the first video comprises the display content in the first area and does not comprise display content in the second area [e.g. window A is designated target display container and is recorded, while background is not, Figs. 1, 3, 4, paras. 49, 52, 57-59, 64, 70-72];
in response to a first user operation, displaying a second interface [split screen interface window C2 is displayed in response to displaying instruction, Figs. 4, 8, paras. 52, 57, 73] of the first application, wherein the second interface does not comprise a video playing area [e.g. C2 may display text/reading information, paras. 51, 52, 57];
in response to a second tap/click operation on the start recording button, recording display content of an entire interface of the second interface by using the video note application [user can record target window C2 by clicking recording control, Figs. 1, 4, 49-52, 104];
obtain a second video wherein the second video comprises all the display content of the second interface [split screen window is the second interface; its displayed content is recorded, Figs. 1, 4, 8, paras. 49, 52, 57-59, 64, 70-72].
Ye is silent on displaying an end recording button and skipping displaying the start recording button. Yang teaches a screen recording system including displaying an end recording button and skipping displaying the start recording button in the function bar [end recording button 205, Fig. 2C, para. 72, 74, 78, 83]; and
in response to a tap/click operation on the end recording button, ending recording to obtain a first or second video [end recording button is pressed, ending recording, Fig. 2C, para. 72, 74, 78, 83] and displaying the start recording button and skipping displaying the end recording button in the function bar [start recording bar is displayed, Fig. 2A; when end recording in 2C is selected, screen changes to Fig. 2D, not showing end recording button, Fig. 2A, para. 72; also see Fig. 2D].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references, allowing intuitive stopping of recording with a floating “end recording” button, which is usable without interrupting the current display. Hiding the start button makes clear to the user that the recording has already started and must be stopped to begin a new recording.
2 and 14. Itakura teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein after the ending recording, the method further comprises:
in response to a second user operation, displaying the second interface [window C2, Figs. 1, 4, 8, paras. 49, 52, 57-59, 64, 70-72] and an interface of a second application [background/desktop application window C1 showing app icons Figs. 1, 4, 8, paras. 49, 52, 57-59, 64, 70-72] in a split-screen display manner, wherein the interface of the second application does not comprise a video playing area [Figs. 1, 4, 8]; and
in response to a third tap/click operation on the start recording button, recording the display content of the entire interface of the second interface by using the video note application, [later video or other information screens can be recorded “during the process of running the application”, i.e. a third operation may be performed, paras. 55-59].
wherein the third video comprises all the display content of the second interface and does not comprise display content of the interface of the second application [split screen window C2 (not background C1) is recorded, Figs. 1, 4, 8, paras. 49, 52, 57-59, 64, 70-72].
Ye is silent on displaying an end recording button and skipping displaying the start recording button.
Yang teaches a screen recording system including displaying an end recording button and skipping displaying the start recording button in the function bar [end recording button 205, Fig. 2C, para. 72, 74, 78, 83]; and
in response to a third tap/click operation on the end recording button, ending recording to obtain a third video [end recording button is pressed, ending recording, Fig. 2C, para. 72, 74, 78, 83], and displaying the start recording button and skipping displaying the end recording button in the function bar [start recording bar is displayed to start new recording, Fig. 2A, para. 72].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references, allowing intuitive stopping of recording with a floating “end recording” button, which is usable without interrupting the current display. Hiding the start button makes clear to the user that the recording has already started and must be stopped to begin a new recording.
3 and 15. Itakura teaches the method according to claim 1 wherein after the ending recording, the method further comprises:
in response to a third user operation, displaying the interface of the second application and an interface of a third application in a split-screen display manner, wherein the interface of the third application does not comprise a video playing area [C2 can show video, while C1 shows desktop/icons, Figs. 1, 4, 8, paras. 49, 52, 57-59, 64, 70-72];
in response to a fourth tap/click operation on the start recording button, recording display content in an entire display area of a display screen by using the video note application Figs. 1, 4, 49-52, 104; entire display area can be recorded, para. 78], wherein the fourth video comprises display content of the interface of the second application and the interface of the third application [all contents of interface, e.g. window C1 and window C2 are recorded, para. 78].
Ye is silent on displaying an end recording button and skipping displaying the start recording button.
Yang teaches a screen recording system including displaying the end recording button and skipping displaying the start recording button in the function bar [end recording button 205, Fig. 2C, para. 72, 74, 78, 83]; and
in response to a fourth tap/click operation on the end recording button, ending recording to obtain a fourth video [end recording button is pressed, ending recording, Fig. 2C, para. 72, 74, 78, 83].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references, allowing intuitive stopping of recording with a floating “end recording” button, which is usable without interrupting the current display. Hiding the start button makes clear to the user that the recording has already started and must be stopped to begin a new recording.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY R NEWLIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2424