Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/13/2025 has been considered by the examiner. Initialed copies accompany this action.
Drawings
The Drawings filed 1/13/2025 are approved by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yamanaka et al. (JP 2002304992). The machine translation is replied upon for the rejection purposes.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 3, and 5 Yamanaka discloses a nickel hydroxide powder, which has a composition formula of Ni(OH)2 that meets the claimed formula (I) when x=0, y=0, w=0, z=0 and α =0. The nickel hydroxide powder has a particle strength (compressive strength) of 40 MPa or less (para 0013), an average particle diameter of 10-20 µm (para 0036). The claim recites a moisture content and a sulfate radical content with a lower limit of zero (1% by mass or less), therefore the moisture content can be zero (dry powder) and the powder contains no sulfate radical. Yamanaka is silent about the content of moisture, sulfate radical, standard deviation of particle strength, and tap density. However, the powder disclosed by Yamanaka appears to be the same as set forth by applicant, a person having an ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the powder to have the claimed moisture content, sulfate radical content, standard deviation of particle strength, and tap density. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding claim 4, Yamanaka discloses the nickel hydroxide powder has a BET specific surface area of 2 to 50 m2/g (Table 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita et al. (JP 2016155696) in view of Yamanaka et al. (JP 2002304992). The machine translations are replied upon for the rejection purposes.
Fujita discloses a method for producing a positive electrode active material for lithium secondary battery, the method comprising mixing nickel hydroxide with a lithium compound and calcining the obtained mixture at a temperature of 500-1000 oC in an oxygen containing atmosphere (para 0055, 108). Fujita does not disclose the claimed nickel hydroxide. Yamanaka disclose the nickel hydroxide as described above and is incorporated herein by reference. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the invention to use the nickel hydroxide powder of Yamanaka in the method for producing a positive electrode active material for lithium secondary battery of Fujita, to improve the output characteristics and high-temperature characteristics of the battery (para 0024, 0050).
Conclusion
/HAIDUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
6/27/2026