DETAILED ACTION
Applicant filed an Amendment/Request for reconsideration on 17 April 2026 indicating that the incorrect claim set was examined in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 9 March 2026.
The Non-Final Rejection mailed 9 March 2026 is being withdrawn as it is directed to the incorrect claim set filed on 14 July 2025.
Claims 11-16 are pending. Examiner notes that this Non-Final Rejection addresses the claims filed 13 January 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a water inlet groove” (claim 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11, line 2 recites : “ports o n both sides” is a typographic error and should be “ports on both sides.”
Claim 11 recites “the impeller of the water pump are fixedly connected to the main shaft,” the word “are” is in the plural case, however, “the impeller” is in the singular in this claim. Furthermore, all recitations of “the impeller” in claim 11 are in the singular. The word “is” should replace “are” so that it reads “the impeller of the water pump [is] fixedly connected to the main shaft.”
Claim 11 recites two motors each with “the casing,” “the casings,” “the first end of the casing,” and “the second ends of the casings.” The claims and invention are directed to two of each casing and two first ends of the casing and two second ends of the casings. Amend the limitation to be consistent when speaking about the two motors and their components. Examiner suggests putting the structure of the two motors and their components consistently into the plural.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11-16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 11 recites “a water inlet groove.” The element is not labeled in the drawings (See applicant’s fig 14). The element is described in pages 13 and 14 of the specification. Applicant also claims other structures which share the words “water” inlet” and “groove” and the synonyms “notch,” and “slot,” such as “first water inlet slots 1041” “first arc-shaped groove 1044” “first water inlet notch 1043” “second arc-shaped groove 1051” “second water inlet notch 1052” “second water inlet slot 1053,” (See applicant’s spec page 3, 13, 14). Since groove, notch, and slot are synonyms, and all these named structures share some terminology; and these terms all refer to one of applicant’s drawing, the description does not adequately describe the relationship and distinguishability between all these similar terms. Specifically, applicant has not sufficiently disclosed the “water inlet groove” in a manner sufficient to distinguish it in relation to the other named elements, and whether the water inlet groove is a component of one of these other elements, or those elements are a component of the water inlet groove, or whether the water inlet groove is a separate component. Therefore, applicant has not adequately disclosed the invention sufficiently to reasonably convey that applicant had possession of the said “water inlet groove.” Therefore claim 11 is rejected for lack of written description. Dependent claims 12-16 are correspondingly rejected.
Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “a water inlet groove.” The element is not labeled in the drawings. The element is described in pages 13 and 14 of the specification. Applicant also claims other structures which share the words “water” inlet” and “groove” and the synonyms “notch,” and “slot,” such as “first water inlet slots 1041” “first arc-shaped groove 1044” “first water inlet notch 1043” “second arc-shaped groove 1051” “second water inlet notch 1052” “second water inlet slot 1053.” Since groove, notch, and slot are synonyms, and all these named structures share some terminology; it is unclear whether “water inlet groove” is a component of one of these other elements, or those elements are a component of the water inlet groove, or whether the water inlet groove is a separate component. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine what applicant intended to claim with the term “water inlet groove.” Therefore claim 11 is rejected for indefiniteness. Dependent claims 12-16 are correspondingly rejected. For the limited purpose of examination the water inlet groove will be interpreted as the central part of the pump casing which surrounds the impeller.
Claim 12 recites “the casing comprises: a shell disposed between a first end cover and a second end cover.” It is unclear whether applicant is referring to “the casing” as an individual casing for one of the dual motors, or to both motors collectively. For the limited purpose of evaluation “the casing” will be interpreted as referring to the “the casings” collectively. Claim 12 is rejected for indefiniteness. Dependent claims 13-14 are correspondingly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valland (2017/0306966) in view of Huh (US 2017/0146015) in view of Onal (US 3,817,653).
Valland fig 6
Claim 11, Valland discloses an intelligent dual drive pump (fig 6, dual drive pump with controls, par 0029, 0040):
a water pump (subsea water pump, id.) comprising a pump housing (fig 6, housing sections 620/630; axially between bushing 618/688, allowing a leakage separation from the motor, par 0040) and an impeller (back-to-back impeller arrangement in 620/630, par 0040), wherein the pump housing forms a pressure chamber having suction ports on both sides (fig 6 shows the suction arrows on the outside ends of both impellers, which shows conventional suction at each end of the back-to-back impeller), the pump housing further comprising an inlet pipe (inlet 602, id.) and an outlet pipe (fig depicts outlet pipe from 630), the outlet pipe communicating with the pressure chamber (outlet connects to section 630 of the pressure chamber), and the inlet pipe communicating with the suction ports (inlet connects to section 620 of the pressure chamber);
the pump housing further comprising a rotatable main shaft (shaft 606, par 0040) penetrating the pressure chamber (fig 6, shaft 606 passes through bushing s 618/688, par 0040), with both ends of the main shaft extending outward from the pump housing (fig 6 shows shaft extending past bushings 618/688 to the motors);
the impeller disposed within the pressure chamber and between the two suction ports (fig 6 shows back-to-back impellers between suction ports, par 0040; suction is taken from 602/640), the impeller configured to draw water from the inlet pipe through the suction ports into the pressure chamber and discharge it from the outlet pipe (id);
two motors (610/670, par 0050), each motor comprising a casing (fig 6 depicts casing portion 610/670), a stator (614/674), and a rotor (612/672), the casing having a first end with a first bearing (fig 6, outer axial bearings 636, 637, par 0040; the first end of each motor is the outer axial end of each motor 610/670) and a second end with a second bearing (inner axial bearings 638, 690, 626, 628, par 0040) and a through hole (hole through each bearing ), the second bearing disposed in the through hole (fig 6 shows shaft 606 passing through the through hole for each inner axial bearing);
the stator disposed within the casing (inside 610/670), the rotor rotatably disposed within the casing (rotor 612/672 is within housing 610/670);
the main shaft entering the casing through the through hole and disposed on the first bearing and the second bearing (fig 6 shows shaft 606 passing through the through hole for each inner axial bearing and outer axial bearing);
…
*EXAMINER NOTES THAT THE WATER INLET PASSAGES AND OUTLET PASSAGES ARE DISCLOSED AS PART OF THE CIRCUIT FOR MOTOR COOLING (APPLICANT’S SPEC PAGE 11)
wherein the pump housing (housing of back-to-back impeller 620/630) comprises a first water inlet passage (642) and a first water return passage (644), the first water inlet passage communicating with the pressure chamber (642 is an outlet off of pump 620/630), the first water return passage communicating with the inlet pipe (644 returns to inlet pipe 602);
the casing (casings of motor 610/670) comprising a second water inlet passage and a second water return passage (fig 6 shows that each motor 610 and 670 has an inlet passage for cooling water; the fluid flow directions show the inlet and outlet passages; motor cooling inlet 642/688; motor cooling return 618/644), the first end of the casing further comprising a cooling passage connecting the second water inlet passage and the second water return passage and disposed on the outer side of the first bearing (each motor 610/670 has a water passage at the outer end 642/644 as a part of the cooling circuit), the second water inlet passage connected to the first water inlet passage (both motor cooling inlets 642/688 are in a fluid circuit with pump inlets 602/640), the second water return passage connected to the first water return passage (both motor returns 618/644 are fluidly connected to first water return 644); wherein the rotors of the two motors and the impeller of the water pump are fixedly connected to the main shaft (motors 610/670 and back-to-back impeller must be connected to shaft in order for the impeller to be rotated by the motors as intended), the pump housing equipped with the motors on both sides (fig 6, shows dual pump motor, par 0040), the second ends of the casings of the two motors fixed to the pump housing to form a coaxial integrated structure of the motors and the water pump (fig 6 shows the inner/second ends of motors 610/670 connecting to pump housing 620/630 at bushing 618/688); wherein the pump housing comprises a first pump body and a second pump body (back-to-back impeller has one section in 620 and another section in 630, par 0040),
…
The first water inlet passage further comprising a branch passage (fig 6 shows first water inlet 642 is a branch from main line 640), the inner wall of the through hole and the outer wall of the main shaft forming a first auxiliar passage (both motors 610/670 have leakage through bushing 618/688, par 0040; shaft 606 is in the hole for each busing 618/688 which thereby creates this arrangement); the axle hole comprising a mechanical seal assembly (fluid passage through 618/688 is a “leakage restriction” the restriction meets the plain meaning of seal; par 0040; since the interface between shaft 606 and bushing is mechanical, this leakage is plainly mechanical).
Valland does not disclose the claimed details of the controller and drive and back-to-back impellers and their mechanical seals (par 0040), therefore Valland does not disclose the claimed
a controller configured with a variable frequency module for adjusting the power supply frequency of the motors;
…
the first pump body comprising a water inlet groove and a first installation notch on both sides, the water inlet groove communicating with the inlet pipe, the water inlet groove further comprising a protruding structure dividing the water inlet groove into two first water inlet slots communicating with the inlet pipe, the protruding structure forming a first arc-shaped groove communicating with the outlet pipe; both sides of the protruding structure further comprising a first water inlet notch; the second pump body forming a second arc-shaped groove, both sides of the second arc-shaped groove sequentially comprising a second water inlet notch, a second water inlet slot, and a second installation notch;
the second pump body disposed on the first pump body, the first arc-shaped groove and the second arc-shaped groove connecting to form the pressure chamber, the first water inlet notch and the corresponding second water inlet notch connecting to form the suction port, the first water inlet slot and the corresponding second water inlet slot connecting to form a water inlet cavity communicating with the pressure chamber through the suction port;
the first installation notch and the corresponding second installation notch connecting to form an axle hole, the main shaft passing through the suction port and dynamically sealed in the axle hole; the water inlet cavity comprising a guide component with a through hole and a generally conical guide surface configured to guide the water flow in the water inlet cavity towards the suction port;
the guide surface further comprising a protruding guide rib extending along the axis of the main shaft towards the suction port, the two sides of the guide rib forming an arc-shaped surface configured to guide the water flow in the water inlet cavity towards the suction port;
…
the axle hole comprising a mechanical seal assembly, the mechanical seal assembly comprising a mechanical seal cover, a static seal ring, and a dynamic seal ring, the static seal ring disposed on the mechanical seal cover, the dynamic seal ring and the static seal ring forming a dynamic seal area where they contact;
the mechanical seal cover sealed in the axle hole, the main shaft passing through the mechanical seal assembly, the guide component fixed on the mechanical seal cover, and the dynamic seal ring disposed on the main shaft;
the guide component comprising a second auxiliary passage, the branch passage connected to the first auxiliary passage through the second auxiliary passage, the outlet of the second auxiliary passage directing the water flow towards the dynamic seal area; wherein the water flow exiting the second auxiliary passage cleans the dynamic seal area formed between the dynamic seal ring and the static seal ring.
Huh teaches a dual motor drive for a pump system (title) with a controller (36, par 0020) to synchronize the two variable frequency drives (par 0006, 0007), the controller is configured with a variable frequency module (par 0020) for adjusting the power supply frequency (supply frequency is variably provided, par 0020), and the variable frequency module is configured to adjust the power supply frequency of the motors (variably frequency drive changes the power output, par 0020).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dual motor permanent magnet motor drive (par 0029) of Valland with the variable frequency drive for permanent magnet motors of and the controller Huh (par 0020) in order to improve torque management of the motors in order to improve the output torque of the dual motors in a pump (Huh, par 0029-0032).
Annotations on Applicant’s fig 14
Annotations on applicant fig 10
Annotations on Onal fig 2
Onal teaches the details of an analogous back-to-back impeller and its mechanical seals, therefore teaching the claimed
the first pump body comprising a water inlet groove (pump casing 10a, c 7 ln 43) and a first installation notch on both sides (see annotated drawing), the water inlet groove communicating with the inlet pipe (the pump chamber is in the fluid path of the pump inlet pipe), the water inlet groove further comprising a protruding structure dividing the water inlet groove into two first water inlet slots (the first and second water inlet slots are on either side of the pump chamber, see annotated drawing) communicating with the inlet pipe, the protruding structure forming a first arc-shaped groove communicating with the outlet pipe (outlet volutes 22, 23, c 4 ln 6); both sides of the protruding structure further comprising a first water inlet notch (see drawing).
the second pump body forming a second arc-shaped groove (See drawing, the second of outlet volutes 21 and 20, c 4 ln 6), both sides of the second arc-shaped groove sequentially comprising a second water inlet notch (see drawing), a second water inlet slot (see drawing), and a second installation notch (see drawing); the second pump body disposed on the first pump body (fig 2 shows them connected), the first arc-shaped groove and the second arc-shaped groove connecting to form the pressure chamber, the first water inlet notch and the corresponding second water inlet notch connecting to form the suction port (see drawing), the first water inlet slot and the corresponding second water inlet slot connecting to form a water inlet cavity communicating with the pressure chamber through the suction port (the slots are at the entrance to the impeller, and can reasonably said to define the cavities) (water flows from the inlet of the pump to the inlet of the pump impeller chambers);
the first installation notch and the corresponding second installation notch connecting to form an axle hole, the main shaft passing through the suction port and dynamically sealed in the axle hole (fig 2 shows this arrangement);
the water inlet cavity comprising a guide component with a through hole (hole for shaft, see drawing) and a generally conical guide surface configured to guide the water flow in the water inlet cavity towards the suction port (see annotated drawing, the cone shaped inlet section) (surface in contact with inlet fluid, see drawing);
the guide surface further comprising a protruding guide rib extending along the axis of the main shaft towards the suction port, the two sides of the guide rib forming an arc-shaped surface configured to guide the water flow in the water inlet cavity towards the suction port;
the first water inlet passage further comprising a branch passage, the inner wall of the through hole and the outer wall of the main shaft forming a first auxiliary passage;
the axle hole comprising a mechanical seal assembly, the mechanical seal assembly comprising a mechanical seal cover, a static seal ring (sleeve 154/254, c 7 ln 57), and a dynamic seal ring (oring 159, c 7 ln 62-63, it is dynamic because it is in contact with the rotary shaft), the static seal ring disposed on the mechanical seal cover, the dynamic seal ring and the static seal ring forming a dynamic seal area where they contact (mechanical seal called stuffing box 150, c 7 ln 45-46) (fig 2, 150 is in contact with 154) (fig 2 shows o-ring and 154 are in contact);
the mechanical seal cover sealed in the axle hole, the main shaft passing through the mechanical seal assembly, the guide component fixed on the mechanical seal cover, and the dynamic seal ring disposed on the main shaft (the seal 150 seals the hole for the shaft and is insert into the hole passage 151, c 78 ln 50);
the guide component comprising a second auxiliary passage, the branch passage connected to the first auxiliary passage through the second auxiliary passage, the outlet of the second auxiliary passage directing the water flow towards the dynamic seal area (172 directs cooling water to the stuffing box, c 8 ln 23-25);
wherein the water flow exiting the second auxiliary passage cleans the dynamic seal area formed between the dynamic seal ring and the static seal ring (reasonably waterflow through the mechanical seal is continually refreshing the fluid in the seal and cleaning out older fluid, thereby meeting the plain meaning of clean).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the back-to-back impeller well submersible pump of Valland and to enable it as a double volute pump with mechanical seals taught by Onal in order have an arrangement which reduces cavitation problems (Onal, abstract).
It would have been further obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bearing cooling system of Valland to supply cooling water to the seal cooling passage of Onal in order to cool the bearings and seals with the cooling water. The combination is reasonable as the cooling water circuit of Valland is used for cooling in the same way in the combination as it is in the original combination, and the mechanical seal of Onal is used in the same way in the combination as it is used in the individual reference.
Claim 15, Valland in view of Huh in view of Onal teaches the intelligent dual drive pump according to claim 11, wherein the first water inlet passage is disposed on the second pump body (Valland; pipe 640 leads water to suction of the portion of back-to-back impeller in pump section 630) and connected to a second arc-shaped groove (Onal has the arc-shaped groove at each back-to-back impeller, See above), while the first water return passage (644) is disposed on the first pump body (return passage 644 returns to the portion of back-to-back impeller on pump 620) and connected to the first water inlet slot (Onal has a water inlet slot at each back-to-back impeller, See above).
Claim 16, Valland in view of Huh in view of Onal teaches a water supply system (Valland, the pump is a water injection pump, par 0040; these systems receives water via 602), comprising a water supply pipe (602) and the intelligent dual drive pump according to claim 11, wherein the intelligent dual drive pump is connected to the water supply pipe (Valland’s pump receives water through 602, par 0040).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valland in view of Huh in view of Onal in view of Chen (CN 116733743, citations to translation).
Claim 12, Valland in view of Huh in view of Onal teaches the intelligent dual drive pump according to claim 11.
Valland does not explicitly teach the casing comprises a shell disposed between a first end cover, and a second end cover, the stator is disposed within the shell, the first bearing is disposed on the first end cover, the second bearing is disposed on the second end cover;
the outer surface of the first end cover comprising a cooling water groove disposed on the outer side of the first bearing, the first end cover further comprising a sealing component sealing and covering the cooling water groove, the sealing component and the cooling water groove forming the cooling passage;
wherein the second end cover is fixedly connected to the pump housing.
Valland does not teach this because Valland does not specify that the motor portions of its casing have end covers, and a cooling water groove.
Nevertheless, Valland does disclose the connection for the water cooling conduit (642) entering at the end portion of the overall space (par 0040); therefore if this water cooling conduit (642) were connected to an end cover in at the same point in the case, it would meet the cooling water groove limitation.
Chen teaches a dual motor pump with end cover (12) with a cooling water pipe preset in the end cover to provide cooling to the motor and bearings (upper half of pg 4, last paragraph pg 11, first paragraph pg 12).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shell and end with a cooling pipe of Valland, to make it into a shell with end covers as taught by Chen, in order to have access to the motors of a pump for maintenance.
Therefore the combination meets the limitations: a shell (Chen, fig 5, 111) disposed between a first end cover (12), and a second end cover (41), the stator is disposed within the shell (Valland, stator is in the motor part 610/670), the first bearing is disposed on the first end cover (Valland outer bearings 636, 637 are axially outside; in combination with Chen, motor covers that cover axially outside would have bearings in order to support the shaft of the combination), the second bearing is disposed on the second end cover (id. the second end cover is analogous to the first end cover on the other dual motor);
the outer surface of the first end cover comprising a cooling water groove disposed on the outer side of the first bearing (Valland makes obvious the cooling water passage into the outside motor ends), the first end cover further comprising a sealing component sealing and covering the cooling water groove, the sealing component and the cooling water groove forming the cooling passage (Valland makes the cooling circuit using these components);
wherein the second end cover is fixedly connected to the pump housing (Chen shows end covers attached to the pump housing).
Claim 13, Valland in view of Huh in view of Onal in view of Chen teaches the intelligent dual drive pump according to claim 12, wherein: the shell comprises a first passage (Valland, passage through first motor of 610/670) and a second passage (Valland, passage through the second motor of 610/670); the first end cover and the second end cover (Chen, motor end covers of a dual motor pump) respectively comprise a third passage (Valland, outer motor passage for 642) and a fourth passage (Valland, outer motor passage for 644); the first passage connected to the cooling passage through the third passage (all cooling passages are interconnected with fluid); the first passage and the third passage connected to form the second water inlet passage (all cooling passages are interconnected with fluid); the second passage and the fourth passage collectively forming the second water return passage (644 brings water from the second passage through the motor 670, and the fourth passage 644 and returns it to water return passage 644 returning fluid to 602).
Claim 14, Valland in view of Huh in view of Onal in view of Chen teaches the intelligent dual drive pump according to claim 13, wherein the shell forms an annular passage arranged around the stator (Valland, motor is cooled by fluid, par 0032, cooling of the motor, par 0036; the gap between rotor and stator; par 0034; the gap is around the interior of the stator); the first passage and the second passage connected to the annular passage (the sections are fluidly connected to form the cooling circuit).
Conclusion
/GEOFFREY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746