Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: data acquiring module, a carbon intensity determining module, and a carbon intensity displaying module, each recited in claim 10.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 USC § 101. Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claims 12 and 13 encompass a transitory medium given the claim's broadest reasonable interpretation in light of paragraph [0015] of the specification. Such media have been held to be ineligible subject matter under 35 USC 101. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007).
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Representative claim 1 recites “acquiring power flow data of power nodes in a power system, wherein the power nodes comprise a power station node, a transmission station node, and a load station node; acquiring a node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes by processing the power flow data based on a carbon balance relationship, wherein the node carbon intensity indicates a carbon emission on a power generation side when the power node generates, transmits or consumes a unit amount of power, and the carbon balance relationship indicates a balance between a total carbon emission corresponding to power consumption of the power system and a total carbon emission from power generation by the power system; and ….”. Therefore, the claim as a whole is directed to “Carbon Emissions Data Gathering and Analysis”, which is an abstract idea because it is a mathematical concept, including mathematical relationship, mathematical formula or equation, and mathematical calculations, and mental process including concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). “Carbon Emissions Data Gathering and Analysis” is considered to be is a mathematical concept and mental process because the claims are directed to calculating features of various elements of power systems, combining those calculations to order to allow for visualization for project and system planning. Such calculations and processes have historically been accomplished by humans using mental processes, pen and paper, See, e.g., Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Fin. Corp., 850 F.3d 1332, 1340 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (holding abstract claims "directed to ... collecting, displaying, and manipulating data"); Elec. Power Grp., LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (holding abstract claims directed to "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis"). This is a quintessential "do it on a computer" patent: it acknowledges that data from bedside machines was previously collected, analyzed, manipulated, and displayed manually, and it simply proposes doing so with a computer. We have held such claims are directed to abstract ideas. Univ. of Fla. Rsch. Found., Inc. v. Gen. Elec. Co., 916 F.3d 1363, 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2019). As such, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 recites the following additional element(s): displaying the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes on a topological graph of the power nodes, wherein the topological graph of the power nodes indicates a connection relationship between the power nodes, and different node carbon intensities are displayed in different display patterns. These additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the exception into a practical application. That is, the recitations of additional elements amount merely reciting the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). While the claims discuss displaying the analyzed data on a computer, such processes could also be carried out using pen and paper (perhaps extending to colored pencils). The claims do not address any technical problem or provide any technical solution that alters the function of any technical element recited in the claims. As such, the claimed additional elements do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements are merely being used to apply the abstract idea to a technological environment. As noted above, the claims do not address any technical problem or provide any technical solution that alters the function of any technical element recited in the claims. The claims merely recited commercially available computing elements operating in their ordinary manner. Accordingly, claim 1 is ineligible.
Claims 10 recite substantially similar features to those recited in representative claim 1 and are ineligible based on substantially the same reasons.
Dependent claims 2-9 and 11-13 merely further limit the abstract idea and are thereby considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 2 further limits the abstract idea of “Carbon Emissions Data Gathering and Analysis” by introducing the element of calculating an input amount of power and an output amount of power of the power node based on the power flow data, wherein the input amount of power comprises at least one of an amount of power of an input line and a power generation amount of a node generator set of the power node, and the output amount of power comprises at least one of an amount of power of an output line and a load power consumption of the power node; determining the power consumption of the power system based on the output amount of power and the input amount of power of each of the power nodes; and determining the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes based on the power consumption and a power generation carbon emission of the node generator set of each of the power nodes, wherein the power generation carbon emission of the node generator set is determined based on power supply carbon intensity and the power generation amount of the node generator set, which does not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself. Therefore, dependent claim 2 is also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claim 3 further limits the abstract idea of “Carbon Emissions Data Gathering and Analysis” by introducing the element of constructing a power matrix based on a principle of balance between the output amount of power and the input amount of power of each of the power nodes, wherein a matrix dimension of the power matrix is the same as a quantity of the power nodes, and the power matrix indicates input and output amounts of power or power consumptions of the power nodes; and determining the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes based on the power consumption and the power generation specific carbon emission of the node generator set of each of the power nodes comprises: constructing a power carbon emission vector based on a power generation carbon emission of each node generator set; and determining a carbon intensity matrix based on the power matrix and the power carbon emission vector, wherein the carbon intensity matrix indicates the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes, which does not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, dependent claim 3 is also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claim 4 further limits the abstract idea of “Carbon Emissions Data Gathering and Analysis” by introducing the element of calculating the power generation amount of the node generator set and the amount of power of the output line based on the power flow data of the power station node; calculating the amount of power of the input line and the amount of power of the output line based on the power flow data of the transmission station node; and calculating the amount of power of the input line and the load power consumption based on the power flow data of the load station node, which does not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, dependent claim 4 is also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claim 5 further limits the abstract idea of “Carbon Emissions Data Gathering and Analysis” by introducing the element of the node carbon intensity is displayed in a node color; and displaying the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes on the topological graph of the power nodes comprises: determining a node color of the power node and a line color of a node connection line based on a magnitude of the node carbon intensity, wherein the node connection line represents a transmission line between the power nodes, the line color indicates a line carbon intensity, and the line carbon intensity is the same as a node carbon intensity of an output-end node of the transmission line; and …, which does not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, dependent claim 5 is also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claim 6 further limits the abstract idea of “Carbon Emissions Data Gathering and Analysis” by introducing the element of determining a carbon emission or a carbon flow of each of the power nodes and a carbon flow of a transmission line between the power nodes based on the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes; and displaying the carbon emission or the carbon flow of each of the power nodes and the carbon flow of the transmission line on the topological graph of the power nodes, which does not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, dependent claim 6 is also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claim 7 further limits the abstract idea of “Carbon Emissions Data Gathering and Analysis” by introducing the element of determining a product of a total power generation amount of a node generator set of the power station node and a node carbon intensity of the power station node as a power generation carbon emission of the power station node; determining a product of an amount of power of an input line of the transmission station node and a node carbon intensity of the transmission station node as a carbon flow of the transmission station node; determining a product of a load power consumption of the load station node and a node carbon intensity of the load station node as a power consumption carbon emission of the load station node; and determining a product of a transmitted amount of power of the transmission line and a node carbon intensity of an output-end node of the transmission line as a carbon flow of the transmission station node, which does not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, dependent claim 7 is also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claim 8 further limits the abstract idea of “Carbon Emissions Data Gathering and Analysis” by introducing the element of determining a node size of the power node based on the carbon emission or the carbon flow of the power node, wherein the carbon emission or the carbon flow is positively correlated with the node size; determining a line thickness of a node connection line based on the carbon flow of the transmission line, wherein the node connection line represents the transmission line; determining a direction of a flow arrow between the node connection lines based on a carbon flow direction of the transmission line, wherein the direction of the flow arrow represents a carbon flow direction between the power nodes; and displaying each of the power nodes, the node connection line, and the direction of the flow arrow between the node connection lines on the topological graph of the power nodes based on the node size and the line thickness, which does not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, dependent claim 8 is also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claim 9 further limits the abstract idea of “Carbon Emissions Data Gathering and Analysis” by introducing the element of acquiring the power flow data of the power nodes in the power system within target time; and acquiring the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes by processing the power flow data based on the carbon balance relationship comprises: acquiring the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes within the target time by processing the power flow data within the target time based on the carbon balance relationship, which does not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, dependent claim 9 is also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claim 11 further limits the abstract idea of “Carbon Emissions Data Gathering and Analysis” by introducing the element of a processor and a memory storing at least one program therein, wherein the at least one program, when loaded and run by the processor, causes the computer device to perform the method for displaying carbon intensities, which does not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, dependent claim 11 is also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claim 12 further limits the abstract idea of “Carbon Emissions Data Gathering and Analysis” by introducing the element of a computer-readable storage medium storing at least one program therein, wherein the at least one program, when loaded and run by a processor of a computer device, causes the computer device to perform the method for displaying carbon intensities as defined, which does not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, dependent claim 12 is also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claim 13 further limits the abstract idea of “Carbon Emissions Data Gathering and Analysis” by introducing the element of at least one computer instruction stored in a computer-readable storage medium, wherein the at least one computer instruction, when loaded and executed by a processor of a computer device, causes the computer device to perform the method for displaying carbon intensities as defined, which does not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, dependent claim 13 is also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claims 2-9 and 11-13 also do not integrated into a practical application. The dependent claims recite additional elements including displaying each of the power nodes and each node connection line on the topological graph of the power nodes in the node color and the line color in claim 5; displaying the carbon emission or the carbon flow of each of the power nodes and the carbon flow of the transmission line on the topological graph of the power nodes in claim 6; displaying each of the power nodes, the node connection line, and the direction of the flow arrow between the node connection lines on the topological graph of the power nodes based on the node size and the line thickness in claim 8; a processor and a memory storing at least one program therein, wherein the at least one program, loaded and run by the processor in claim 11, a computer-readable storage medium storing at least one program therein, wherein the at least one program, loaded and run by a processor of a computer device in claim 12, at least one computer instruction stored in a computer-readable storage medium in claim 13. These additional elements merely generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) indicates that generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. This has been re-evaluated under the “significantly more” analysis and has also been found insufficient to provide significantly more. MPEP 2106.05(A) indicates that generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide significantly more. As discussed above, the additional elements are merely being used to apply the abstract idea to a technological environment. That is, the claims provide no practical limits or improvements to any technology. Accordingly, dependent claims 2-9 and 11-13 are also ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 105375472 to 张红斌 (hereafter D1, cited in the IDS, translation provided based on Google Patents) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210406425 to Casey et al.
With regards to claim 1, D1 teaches
acquiring power flow data of power nodes in a power system, wherein the power nodes comprise a power station node, a transmission station node, and a load station node (“Tracing power flow technology refers under specific run state, by tidal current analysis and calculating, specifies generator or load Distribution situation of the power in transmission of electricity element, measures their usage degrees to power transmission network accordingly, provides theory for charge Foundation. The key of Tracing power flow technology is to propose the floor area sharing of science, reasonably share between power generation side and power consumer Transmission charges and network loss.”);
acquiring a node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes by processing the power flow data based on a carbon balance relationship, wherein the node carbon intensity indicates a carbon emission on a power generation side when the power node generates, transmits or consumes a unit amount of power, and the carbon balance relationship indicates a balance between a total carbon emission corresponding to power consumption of the power system and a total carbon emission from power generation by the power system (“Intelligent distribution network " carbon footprint " calculating, by carbon emission analytical calculation, is realized based on power flow tracing technology The metering of carbon emission provides technology branch by the conversion for the lateral load side that generates electricity for the planning of power distribution network low-carbon, operation in electric system Support. In research relevant to " carbon footprint " electric power, the method for generally using macroscopic statistics is calculated, i.e., first counts each quasi-fossil combustion The total amount consumed of material calculates total carbon emission amount according still further to the carbon emission factor of all kinds of fossil fuels.”); but fails to explicitly teach displaying the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes on a topological graph of the power nodes.
However Casey et al. teaches displaying the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes on a topological graph of the power nodes, wherein the topological graph of the power nodes indicates a connection relationship between the power nodes, and different node carbon intensities are displayed in different display patterns (paragraph [0031], “In some implementations, outputting evaluation results of the one or more metrics includes generating a GUI including a map view of the evaluation results. The map view can include: a line-diagram representation of power lines of the power grid overlaid on a map of a geographic region in which the power grid is located, the line-diagram including a plurality of line segments. A color shading of each line segment can represent the evaluation results at a particular spatial location of the power grid.”; paragraph [0113], “The line-diagram includes one or more line segments 512 (illustrated as dashes in one branch of the line diagram). Each line segment can represent a portion of the wires of the power grid. Attributes of each line segment 512 can represent power grid data at a particular spatial location of the power grid. In some implementations, the spatial resolution (and size in pixels) of each line segment can vary to accommodate the spatial resolution of the received power grid data. For example, if power grid data is available at 1000 foot intervals along a 10,000 foot length of feeder line, the GUI can represent that particular length of feeder line with 10 different line segments. The color and/or shade and/or width, and/or height of a line segment can indicate one or more characteristics of the power grid at that line segment at a particular point in time. Line segments can show moving arrows indicating the direction and magnitude of a characteristic of the power grid at that line segment at a particular point in time.”) .
This part of Casey et al. is applicable to the system of D1 as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to power system analysis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carbon intensity calculation and analysis system of D1 to include carbon intensity data into the graph mapping as taught by Casey et al. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify D1 in order to provide document the operating characteristics of the existing power system, and allow proposed interconnections to be evaluated (see paragraphs [0005]-[0015] of Casey et al.).
With regards to claim 2, D1 teaches
calculating an input amount of power and an output amount of power of the power node based on the power flow data, wherein the input amount of power comprises at least one of an amount of power of an input line and a power generation amount of a node generator set of the power node, and the output amount of power comprises at least one of an amount of power of an output line and a load power consumption of the power node (“The calculating process of each entry value of adverse current tracing matrix in the step (2), comprising the following steps: 2.1) according to balance The calculated result of node power and line power forms intelligent distribution network power digraph to be evaluated;2.2) according to network loss responsibility Define to the effective power flow value tracked under different determining lossy networks, and according to the identified effective power flow to track Value carries out approximate change to intelligent distribution network to be evaluated power digraph obtained in step 2.1);2.3) it is obtained according to step 2.2) Intelligent distribution network power digraph to be evaluated and ratio after the change arrived share principle, establish node inflow power and unit goes out The equilibrium relationships of power, and the vector matrix that node flows into power, unit output and adverse current tracing matrix is established according to equilibrium relationships”);
determining the power consumption of the power system based on the output amount of power and the input amount of power of each of the power nodes (“3.1.4) the P obtained according to step 3.1.3)iIt is strong with node carbon mark calculate node carbon Degree, the physical significance of definition node carbon intensity are as follows: the carbon row of Generation Side is equivalent to caused by the node consumption unit electricity Value is put, then the carbon intensity of node i indicates are as follows:In formula, σiIndicate the carbon intensity of node i, Ci Expression flows through the carbon mark of node i, PiIndicating that the node of node i flows into power, N indicates number of nodes,Representing matrix Au's The i-th inverse row, kth train value, PGkIndicate the unit injecting power of node k, ckIndicate generating set carbon intensity on node k, i Value range be from 1~n;”); and
determining the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes based on the power consumption and a power generation carbon emission of the node generator set of each of the power nodes, wherein the power generation carbon emission of the node generator set is determined based on power supply carbon intensity and the power generation amount of the node generator set (“Intelligent distribution network " carbon footprint " calculating, by carbon emission analytical calculation, is realized based on power flow tracing technology The metering of carbon emission provides technology branch by the conversion for the lateral load side that generates electricity for the planning of power distribution network low-carbon, operation in electric system Support. In research relevant to " carbon footprint " electric power, the method for generally using macroscopic statistics is calculated, i.e., first counts each quasi-fossil combustion The total amount consumed of material calculates total carbon emission amount according still further to the carbon emission factor of all kinds of fossil fuels. This macroscopic view carbon emission Statistical method (referred to as macrostatistical approach) calculates simple, calculating cycle length (usually as unit of year), low for power industry The basic research and macroscopic analysis of carbon development are more accurately, therefore to be widely used, but this practical carbon emission analysis”).
With regards to claim 3, D1 teaches
constructing a power matrix based on a principle of balance between the output amount of power and the input amount of power of each of the power nodes (“Each entry value of tracing matrix is flowed, and each entry value of adverse current tracing matrix is sent to low-carbon index computing module; (3) low-carbon index calculates Module carries out related carbon emission theoretical calculation according to each entry value of adverse current tracing matrix that step (2) obtains, and obtains each low-carbon index Calculated result, and low-carbon index calculated result is sent to low-carbon performance evaluation module; (4) low-carbon performance evaluation module receives each Low-carbon index calculated result, and according to the electric network information of intelligent distribution network low-carbon to be evaluated planning front and back, low-carbon effect is carried out respectively”),
wherein a matrix dimension of the power matrix is the same as a quantity of the power nodes, and the power matrix indicates input and output amounts of power or power consumptions of the power nodes (“Step (1) the Load flow calculation module carries out the trend meter of the whole network according to the network and load data information that receive It calculates, comprising the following steps: 1.1) node admittance matrix is formed according to be evaluated intelligent distribution network collected network data information, Yij=Gij+jBij; In formula, YijFor the admittance of route i-j, GijFor the conductance of route i-j, BijFor the susceptance of route i-j”); and
determining the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes based on the power consumption and the power generation specific carbon emission of the node generator set of each of the power nodes comprises: constructing a power carbon emission vector based on a power generation carbon emission of each node generator set (“Step (1) the Load flow calculation module carries out the trend meter of the whole network according to the network and load data information that receive It calculates, comprising the following steps: 1.1) node admittance matrix is formed according to be evaluated intelligent distribution network collected network data information, Yij=Gij+jBij; In formula, YijFor the admittance of route i-j, GijFor the conductance of route i-j, BijFor the susceptance of route i-j; 1.2) Each node voltage phase place initial value obtains amount U's and θ to be asked according to the voltage initial value of each PQ node and in addition to balance nodes Initial vector U(0)And θ(0), wherein the amplitude of U expression node voltage; The phase angle of θ expression node voltage; U(0)Indicate node voltage Amplitude initial value; θ(0)Indicate the initial value of the phase angle of node voltage”); and
determining a carbon intensity matrix based on the power matrix and the power carbon emission vector, wherein the carbon intensity matrix indicates the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes (“On, carry out node correlation low-carbon performance evaluation, comprising the following steps: 3.1.1) intelligence to be evaluated according to obtained in step (2) Power distribution network power digraph obtains N-dimensional power load distributing vector, and the adduction of all burdens with power is P on definition node jLj; 3.1.2) according to generating set type obtain generating set carbon intensity vector c, and on definition node j unit carbon emission it is strong Degree is cj; 3.1.3) according to step 3.1.1) obtain power load distributing vector sum step 3.1.2) obtain generating set carbon emission Intensity vector calculates separately node carbon mark and load carbon flow rate; Flow through the carbon mark of node i are as follows: Formula In, Ci Expression flows through the carbon mark of node i, and N indicates number of nodes, Representing matrix Au The i-th inverse row, kth train value, PGk Table Show the unit injecting power of node k, ck Indicate generating set carbon intensity on node k, the value range of i is from 1~n”).
With regards to claim 4, D1 teaches
calculating the power generation amount of the node generator set and the amount of power of the output line based on the power flow data of the power station node (“The calculating process of each entry value of adverse current tracing matrix in the step (2), comprising the following steps: 2.1) according to balance The calculated result of node power and line power forms intelligent distribution network power digraph to be evaluated;2.2) according to network loss responsibility Define to the effective power flow value tracked under different determining lossy networks, and according to the identified effective power flow to track Value carries out approximate change to intelligent distribution network to be evaluated power digraph obtained in step 2.1);2.3) it is obtained according to step 2.2) Intelligent distribution network power digraph to be evaluated and ratio after the change arrived share principle, establish node inflow power and unit goes out The equilibrium relationships of power, and the vector matrix that node flows into power, unit output and adverse current tracing matrix is established according to equilibrium relationships”);
calculating the amount of power of the input line and the amount of power of the output line based on the power flow data of the transmission station node (“The calculating process of each entry value of adverse current tracing matrix in the step (2), comprising the following steps: 2.1) according to balance The calculated result of node power and line power forms intelligent distribution network power digraph to be evaluated;2.2) according to network loss responsibility Define to the effective power flow value tracked under different determining lossy networks, and according to the identified effective power flow to track Value carries out approximate change to intelligent distribution network to be evaluated power digraph obtained in step 2.1); 2.3) it is obtained according to step 2.2) Intelligent distribution network power digraph to be evaluated and ratio after the change arrived share principle, establish node inflow power and unit goes out The equilibrium relationships of power, and the vector matrix that node flows into power, unit output and adverse current tracing matrix is established according to equilibrium relationships”); and
calculating the amount of power of the input line and the load power consumption based on the power flow data of the load station node (“The calculating process of each entry value of adverse current tracing matrix in the step (2), comprising the following steps: 2.1) according to balance The calculated result of node power and line power forms intelligent distribution network power digraph to be evaluated;2.2) according to network loss responsibility Define to the effective power flow value tracked under different determining lossy networks, and according to the identified effective power flow to track Value carries out approximate change to intelligent distribution network to be evaluated power digraph obtained in step 2.1); 2.3) it is obtained according to step 2.2) Intelligent distribution network power digraph to be evaluated and ratio after the change arrived share principle, establish node inflow power and unit goes out The equilibrium relationships of power, and the vector matrix that node flows into power, unit output and adverse current tracing matrix is established according to equilibrium relationships”).
With regards to claim 5, D1 teaches but fails to explicitly teach displaying the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes on a topological graph of the power nodes. However Casey et al. teaches the using colors for mapping such power data including
the node carbon intensity is displayed in a node color (paragraph [0031], “The map view can include: a line-diagram representation of power lines of the power grid overlaid on a map of a geographic region in which the power grid is located, the line-diagram including a plurality of line segments. A color shading of each line segment can represent the evaluation results at a particular spatial location of the power grid.”); and
displaying the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes on the topological graph of the power nodes comprises: determining a node color of the power node and a line color of a node connection line based on a magnitude of the node carbon intensity (paragraph [0031], “In some implementations, outputting evaluation results of the one or more metrics includes generating a GUI including a map view of the evaluation results. The map view can include: a line-diagram representation of power lines of the power grid overlaid on a map of a geographic region in which the power grid is located, the line-diagram including a plurality of line segments. A color shading of each line segment can represent the evaluation results at a particular spatial location of the power grid.”), wherein the node connection line represents a transmission line between the power nodes, the line color indicates a line carbon intensity, and the line carbon intensity is the same as a node carbon intensity of an output-end node of the transmission line (paragraph [0105], “Attributes of the line segments of the user interface elements 400 a, 400 b can represent characteristics of the simulated electrical power grid operation. An attribute can be, for example, a color, shading, or thickness of the line segment.”); and
displaying each of the power nodes and each node connection line on the topological graph of the power nodes in the node color and the line color (paragraph [0117], “For the user-selectable icons 532 that permit toggling representation of different characteristics of the power grid, the characteristics themselves are represented by different colors, shown in the third window 530. The magnitude of the value of the characteristics can be represented by shades or gradients. Anomalous values of the characteristics can be represented by different colors or shades.”).
This part of Casey et al. is applicable to the system of D1 as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to power system analysis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carbon intensity calculation and analysis system of D1 to include carbon intensity data into the graph mapping as taught by Casey et al. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify D1 in order to provide document the operating characteristics of the existing power system, and allow proposed interconnections to be evaluated (see paragraphs [0005]-[0015] of Casey et al.).
With regards to claim 6, D1 teaches
upon acquiring the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes by processing the power flow data and the power supply carbon intensity based on the carbon balance relationship (“Intelligent distribution network " carbon footprint " calculating, by carbon emission analytical calculation, is realized based on power flow tracing technology The metering of carbon emission provides technology branch by the conversion for the lateral load side that generates electricity for the planning of power distribution network low-carbon, operation in electric system Support. In research relevant to " carbon footprint " electric power, the method for generally using macroscopic statistics is calculated, i.e., first counts each quasi-fossil combustion”), the method further comprises:
determining a carbon emission or a carbon flow of each of the power nodes and a carbon flow of a transmission line between the power nodes based on the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes (“3.1.2) obtain generating set carbon emission Intensity vector calculates separately node carbon mark and load carbon flow rate; Flow through the carbon mark of node i are as follows: Formula In, Ci Expression flows through the carbon mark of node i, and N indicates number of nodes, Representing matrix Au The i-th inverse row, kth train value, PGk Table Show the unit injecting power of node k, ck Indicate generating set carbon intensity on node k, the value range of i is from 1~n; Section The load carbon flow rate of load on point i are as follows: In formula, CLi Indicate the load carbon of load in node i Flow rate, PLi Indicate the load in node i, Pi Indicating that the node of node i flows into power, N indicates number of nodes, Indicate square Battle array Au The i-th inverse row, kth train value, PGk Indicate the unit injecting power of node k, ck Indicate generating set carbon emission on node k Intensity, the value range of i are from 1~n); but fails to explicitly teach displaying the carbon emission or the carbon flow of each of the power nodes. However Casey et al. teaches the using colors for mapping such power data including
displaying the carbon emission or the carbon flow of each of the power nodes and the carbon flow of the transmission line on the topological graph of the power nodes (paragraph [0031], “The map view can include: a line-diagram representation of power lines of the power grid overlaid on a map of a geographic region in which the power grid is located, the line-diagram including a plurality of line segments. A color shading of each line segment can represent the evaluation results at a particular spatial location of the power grid.”).
This part of Casey et al. is applicable to the system of D1 as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to power system analysis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carbon intensity calculation and analysis system of D1 to include carbon intensity data into the graph mapping as taught by Casey et al. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify D1 in order to provide document the operating characteristics of the existing power system, and allow proposed interconnections to be evaluated (see paragraphs [0005]-[0015] of Casey et al.).
With regards to claim 7, D1 teaches
determining a product of a total power generation amount of a node generator set of the power station node and a node carbon intensity of the power station node as a power generation carbon emission of the power station node (“3.1.2) according to generating set type obtain generating set carbon intensity vector c, and on definition node j unit carbon emission it is strong Degree is cj;3.1.3) according to step 3.1.1) obtain power load distributing vector sum step 3.1.2) obtain generating set carbon emission Intensity vector calculates separately node carbon mark and load carbon flow rate;Flow through the carbon mark of node i are as follows:Formula In, CiExpression flows through the carbon mark of node i, and N indicates number of nodes,Representing matrix AuThe i-th inverse row, kth train value, PGkTable Show the unit injecting power of node k, ckIndicate generating set carbon intensity on node k, the value range of i is from 1~n”);
determining a product of an amount of power of an input line of the transmission station node and a node carbon intensity of the transmission station node as a carbon flow of the transmission station node (“3.2.1) the positive effective power flow P from node i to node j if it existsBij, then the route carbon flow rate table on route i-j It is shown as: Cij=ciPBij;In formula, CijIndicate the route carbon flow rate on route i-j, ciIndicate that generating set carbon emission is strong in node i Degree, PBijPositive effective power flow of the expression node i to node j;3.2.2) if it exists from node i to the positive effective power flow of node j Pij, then the route carbon intensity on route i-j indicates are as follows:In formula, cijIndicate that the route carbon on route i-j is strong Degree, CijIndicate the route carbon flow rate on route i-j, ciIndicate generating set carbon intensity in node i, PBijIndicate that node i arrives The positive effective power flow of node j;3.2.3) route carbon loss is numerically equal to route network loss multiplied by route carbon intensity: Δ Cij= cijΔPij;In formula, Δ CijIndicate the carbon loss on route i-j, Δ PijIndicate the network loss on route i-j, cijIt indicates on route i-j Route carbon intensity.”);
determining a product of a load power consumption of the load station node and a node carbon intensity of the load station node as a power consumption carbon emission of the load station node (“3.1.4) the P obtained according to step 3.1.3) iIt is strong with node carbon mark calculate node carbon Degree, the physical significance of definition node carbon intensity are as follows: the carbon row of Generation Side is equivalent to caused by the node consumption unit electricity Value is put, then the carbon intensity of node i indicates are as follows: In formula, σi Indicate the carbon intensity of node i, Ci Expression flows through the carbon mark of node i, Pi Indicating that the node of node i flows into power, N indicates number of nodes, Representing matrix Au's The i-th inverse row, kth train value, PGk Indicate the unit injecting power of node k, ck Indicate generating set carbon intensity on node k, i Value range be from 1~n”); and
determining a product of a transmitted amount of power of the transmission line and a node carbon intensity of an output-end node of the transmission line as a carbon flow of the transmission station node (“3.1.4) the P obtained according to step 3.1.3)iIt is strong with node carbon mark calculate node carbon Degree, the physical significance of definition node carbon intensity are as follows: the carbon row of Generation Side is equivalent to caused by the node consumption unit electricity Value is put, then the carbon intensity of node i indicates are as follows:In formula, σiIndicate the carbon intensity of node i, Ci Expression flows through the carbon mark of node i, PiIndicating that the node of node i flows into power, N indicates number of nodes,Representing matrix Au's The i-th inverse row, kth train value, PGkIndicate the unit injecting power of node k, ckIndicate generating set carbon intensity on node k, i Value range be from 1~n”).
With regards to claim 8, D1 teaches determining a node size of the power node based on the carbon emission or the carbon flow of the power node, wherein the carbon emission or the carbon flow is positively correlated with the node size (“Carbon footprint is specifically defined the carbon for being a certain product or service system in its Life cycle Total emission volumn or active agent such as individual, tissue, department etc., the carbon emission in a certain active procedure directly or indirectly is total Amount.”); but fails to explicitly teach displaying the carbon emission or the carbon flow of each of the power nodes. However Casey et al. teaches
determining a line thickness of a node connection line based on the carbon flow of the transmission line, wherein the node connection line represents the transmission line (paragraph [0105], “Attributes of the line segments of the user interface elements 400 a, 400 b can represent characteristics of the simulated electrical power grid operation. An attribute can be, for example, a color, shading, or thickness of the line segment. Characteristics of the simulated operation can include e.g., voltage, real power, power factor, line utilization, and transformer utilization.”);
determining a direction of a flow arrow between the node connection lines based on a carbon flow direction of the transmission line, wherein the direction of the flow arrow represents a carbon flow direction between the power nodes (paragraph [0113], “The color and/or shade and/or width, and/or height of a line segment can indicate one or more characteristics of the power grid at that line segment at a particular point in time. Line segments can show moving arrows indicating the direction and magnitude of a characteristic of the power grid at that line segment at a particular point in time.”); and
displaying each of the power nodes, the node connection line, and the direction of the flow arrow between the node connection lines on the topological graph of the power nodes based on the node size and the line thickness (paragraph [0113], “The line-diagram includes one or more line segments 512 (illustrated as dashes in one branch of the line diagram). Each line segment can represent a portion of the wires of the power grid. Attributes of each line segment 512 can represent power grid data at a particular spatial location of the power grid. In some implementations, the spatial resolution (and size in pixels) of each line segment can vary to accommodate the spatial resolution of the received power grid data.”).
This part of Casey et al. is applicable to the system of D1 as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to power system analysis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carbon intensity calculation and analysis system of D1 to include carbon intensity data into the graph mapping as taught by Casey et al. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify D1 in order to provide document the operating characteristics of the existing power system, and allow proposed interconnections to be evaluated (see paragraphs [0005]-[0015] of Casey et al.).
With regards to claim 9, D1 teaches
acquiring the power flow data of the power nodes in the power system comprises: acquiring the power flow data of the power nodes in the power system within target time (“(2) it on the basis of adverse current tracing matrix, carries out route correlation low-carbon index and calculates, comprising the following steps: 1) route carbon flow rate, the i.e. carbon flow that certain route passes through within the unit time with trend are calculated;If it exists from Positive effective power flow P of the node i to node jBij, then the route carbon flow rate on route i-j may be expressed as: Cij=ciPBij In formula, CijIndicate the route carbon flow rate on route i-j, ciIndicate generating set carbon intensity in node i, PBij Positive effective power flow of the expression node i to node”); and
acquiring the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes by processing the power flow data based on the carbon balance relationship comprises: acquiring the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes within the target time by processing the power flow data within the target time based on the carbon balance relationship (“1) route carbon flow rate, the i.e. carbon flow that certain route passes through within the unit time with trend are calculated;If it exists from Positive effective power flow P of the node i to node jBij, then the route carbon flow rate on route i-j may be expressed as: Cij=ciPBij In formula, CijIndicate the route carbon flow rate on route i-j, ciIndicate generating set carbon intensity in node i, PBij Positive effective power flow of the expression node i to node j; 2) route carbon intensity is calculated; Carbon emission of intelligent distribution network stream to be evaluated depends on trend and exists, it is therefore necessary to by carbon emission flow and electric power tide Stream, which combines, to be studied;In view of carbon emission is mainly related to effective power flow in intelligent distribution network to be evaluated, for both characterizations In conjunction with feature, the ratio for defining any route carbon flow rate of intelligent distribution network to be evaluated and effective power flow is the route carbon intensity; In power plant outlet, route carbon intensity is equal to the carbon intensity of generating set, and in the route for entering loaded termination, line Road carbon intensity is equal to the carbon emission value of Generation Side caused by the consumption of line transmission unit quantity of electricity, has specific physical significance”).
With regards to claim 10, D1 teaches
a data acquiring module, configured to acquire power flow data of power nodes in a power system, wherein the power nodes comprise a power station node, a transmission station node, and a load station node (“Tracing power flow technology refers under specific run state, by tidal current analysis and calculating, specifies generator or load Distribution situation of the power in transmission of electricity element, measures their usage degrees to power transmission network accordingly, provides theory for charge Foundation. The key of Tracing power flow technology is to propose the floor area sharing of science, reasonably share between power generation side and power consumer Transmission charges and network loss.”);
a carbon intensity determining module, configured to acquire a node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes by processing the power flow data based on a carbon balance relationship, wherein the node carbon intensity is a carbon emission on a power generation side when the power node generates, transmits or consumes a unit amount of power, and the carbon balance relationship indicates a balance between a total carbon emission corresponding to a power consumption of the power system and a total carbon emission from power generation by the power system (“Intelligent distribution network " carbon footprint " calculating, by carbon emission analytical calculation, is realized based on power flow tracing technology The metering of carbon emission provides technology branch by the conversion for the lateral load side that generates electricity for the planning of power distribution network low-carbon, operation in electric system Support. In research relevant to " carbon footprint " electric power, the method for generally using macroscopic statistics is calculated, i.e., first counts each quasi-fossil combustion The total amount consumed of material calculates total carbon emission amount according still further to the carbon emission factor of all kinds of fossil fuels.”); but fails to explicitly teach displaying the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes on a topological graph of the power nodes.
However Casey et al. teaches a carbon intensity displaying module, configured to display the node carbon intensity of each of the power nodes on a topological graph of the power nodes (“”), wherein the topological graph of the power nodes indicates a connection relationship between the power nodes, and different node carbon intensities are displayed in different display patterns (paragraph [0031], “In some implementations, outputting evaluation results of the one or more metrics includes generating a GUI including a map view of the evaluation results. The map view can include: a line-diagram representation of power lines of the power grid overlaid on a map of a geographic region in which the power grid is located, the line-diagram including a plurality of line segments. A color shading of each line segment can represent the evaluation results at a particular spatial location of the power grid.”; paragraph [0113], “The line-diagram includes one or more line segments 512 (illustrated as dashes in one branch of the line diagram). Each line segment can represent a portion of the wires of the power grid. Attributes of each line segment 512 can represent power grid data at a particular spatial location of the power grid. In some implementations, the spatial resolution (and size in pixels) of each line segment can vary to accommodate the spatial resolution of the received power grid data. For example, if power grid data is available at 1000 foot intervals along a 10,000 foot length of feeder line, the GUI can represent that particular length of feeder line with 10 different line segments. The color and/or shade and/or width, and/or height of a line segment can indicate one or more characteristics of the power grid at that line segment at a particular point in time. Line segments can show moving arrows indicating the direction and magnitude of a characteristic of the power grid at that line segment at a particular point in time.”) .
This part of Casey et al. is applicable to the system of D1 as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to power system analysis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carbon intensity calculation and analysis system of D1 to include carbon intensity data into the graph mapping as taught by Casey et al. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify D1 in order to provide document the operating characteristics of the existing power system, and allow proposed interconnections to be evaluated (see paragraphs [0005]-[0015] of Casey et al.).
With regards to claim 11, D1 fails to explicitly teach, but Casey et al teaches a computer device, comprising: a processor and a memory storing at least one program therein, wherein the at least one program, when loaded and run by the processor, causes the computer device to perform the method for displaying carbon intensities as defined in any one of claim 1 (paragraphs [0124]-[0133]).
This part of Casey et al. is applicable to the system of D1 as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to power system analysis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carbon intensity calculation and analysis system of D1 to include carbon intensity data into the graph mapping as taught by Casey et al. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify D1 in order to provide document the operating characteristics of the existing power system, and allow proposed interconnections to be evaluated (see paragraphs [0005]-[0015] of Casey et al.).
With regards to claim 12, D1 fails to explicitly teach, but Casey et al teaches a computer-readable storage medium storing at least one program therein, wherein the at least one program, when loaded and run by a processor of a computer device, causes the computer device to perform the method for displaying carbon intensities as defined in any one of claim 1 (paragraphs [0124]-[0133]).
This part of Casey et al. is applicable to the system of D1 as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to power system analysis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carbon intensity calculation and analysis system of D1 to include carbon intensity data into the graph mapping as taught by Casey et al. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify D1 in order to provide document the operating characteristics of the existing power system, and allow proposed interconnections to be evaluated (see paragraphs [0005]-[0015] of Casey et al.).
With regards to claim 13, D1 fails to explicitly teach, but Casey et al teaches a computer program product, comprising: at least one computer instruction stored in a computer-readable storage medium, wherein the at least one computer instruction, when loaded and executed by a processor of a computer device, causes the computer device to perform the method for displaying carbon intensities as defined in any one of claim 1 (paragraphs [0124]-[0133]).
This part of Casey et al. is applicable to the system of D1 as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to power system analysis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carbon intensity calculation and analysis system of D1 to include carbon intensity data into the graph mapping as taught by Casey et al. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify D1 in order to provide document the operating characteristics of the existing power system, and allow proposed interconnections to be evaluated (see paragraphs [0005]-[0015] of Casey et al.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170092055 to Brockman et al. discusses a data platform provides a crowd-sourced gaming system for identifying grid elements and determining dynamic electric power topology. The data platform also provides an interactive interface for displaying a view of a certain area with identified grid elements. The data platform communicatively connects to the identified grid elements, collects data from the identified grid elements, and manages the distribution power grid.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180067089 to Kang et al. discusses a system that includes: generation carbon meters, distributed respectively in generators in the power system; network carbon meters, distributed respectively in nodes in the power system; consumption carbon meters, distributed respectively in consumers in the power system; and a center server, in which each carbon meter is configured to collect data for measuring the carbon emissions. The center server is configured to acquire the collected data and to measure the carbon emissions according to the acquired data, and to send measuring results to the corresponding carbon meter. Then each carbon meter is further configured to display according to the measuring results. The carbon emission may be measured in real time.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230198258 to Shi et al. discusses a system to receive a plurality of power flow data from at least a grid monitoring device connected to a grid network including a plurality of nodes, generate a power flow allocation for at least a node in the network as a function of the at least a power consumption datum and the at least a generation datum, determine a carbon flow as a function of the power flow allocation and a first set of stored relational rules, generate an objective function of a carbon flow and a second set of stored relational rules, minimize the objective function of a carbon flow as a function of the carbon optimization model and an optimization algorithm, generate a grid modification as a function of the minimization; and modify a grid parameter of the grid network as a function of the grid modification..
/J.D.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3626
/JESSICA LEMIEUX/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3626