DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 13, 15-18 and 20-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodard et al., US 8,210,943 in view of Wan et al., US 2022/0040580.
In Reference to Claims 1, 15, and 20
Woodard et al. teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media containing, in any combination, computer program code, a system comprising one or more memories collectively containing one or more programs, and one or more processors (Fig. 3 and Col. 7 line 22 – Col. 8 line 19), and a method for controlling a virtual object, comprising displaying a graphical user interface, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a virtual scenario, a target virtual object located in the virtual scenario (Fig. 6-8 and Col. 10 lines 6-21), a shooting aiming mark (Fig. 6 ref. 650, Fig. 7 ref. 710, Fig. 8 ref. 810 and Col. 10 lines 38-43, Col. 11 lines 3-31 and Col. 11 line 60 – Col. 12 line 6), and a second-type attack interface element (Fig. 6 ref. 610 Col. 10 lines 6-21), the target virtual object is configured with a virtual firearm (Fig. 6-8 Col. 8 lines 20-36 “heat-seeking missile type weapon,” “cluster missile type weapon,” “EMP-type weapon.” See also Col. 11 lines 3-25 “machine gun” and which teaches firing weapons at a target), and the shooting aiming mark is configured to assist in aiming of the virtual firearm (Col. 10 lines 44-62 “he target display 650 may also include a center indicator (e.g., cross-hairs) to further indicate dead-center and to assist in aiming accuracy.”); in response to a control operation for the second-type attack (Col. 14 lines 1-9 which teaches various control inputs for switching the weapons being used. See also Fig. 9 and Col. 13 lines 15-50 which teaches control inputs to fire the weapons): replacing the shooting aiming mark with a second-type aiming mark (Col. 14 lines 1-9 which teach switching weapons and Fig. 6-7 which show different “target displays” ref. 650 and ref. 710 for aiming based on the weapon currently selected), and determining a to-be-attacked virtual object aimed at by the second-type aiming mark based on the control operation, wherein the second-type aiming mark is used to configured to assist in aiming of a second-type attack; and controlling the target virtual object to attack the to-be-attacked virtual object in a second-type attack mode (Fig. 9 and Col. 10 line 6 – Col. 11 line 59, and Col. 12 line 59 – Col. 13 line 57 which teach processes for a player to aim at virtual objects in a game and fire the chosen weapon from a plurality of weapons at targeted enemies).
Further Woodard et al. teaches various control schemes for aiming and selecting enemy targets and explicitly teaches where the aiming control can be independent of the control for moving the players in game avatar (Col. 13 lines 58-67) and teaches where the video game device can include portable device such as a phone (Col. 5 lines 26-31). However, Woodard et al. does not explicitly teach where the graphical user interface includes a second-type attack widget, or where aiming and attack control are in response to a touch operation for the second-type attack widget.
Wan et al. teaches a combat game where the graphical user interface includes a second-type attack widget (Fig. 4 and Par. 77 and 83 which teach a plurality of ability control widgets ref. 41 and ref. 45 which correspond to game abilities. See also Par. 42, 48-49 which teaches abilities including damaging abilities to attack a virtual object), or where aiming and attack control are in response to a touch operation for the second-type attack widget (Fig. 5-6, 8 and Par. 89-90 and Par. 146 which teaches that the attack widgets include control zones where a touch and drag input by the player can be used to both select the particular ability for use and aim the direction of the attack to select targets based on the relative direction of the players touch inputs. See Fig. 5 “active aiming.” Note that Fig. 4 and Par. 65 teach a different movement control).
It would be desirable to modify the medium, system, and method of Woodard et al. to use a second-type attack widget and a touch operation for providing aiming control as taught by Wan et al. in order to provide controls to quickly and easily select and aim different types of attacks, especially in the situation where the game is being played on a handheld device with primarily touch inputs such as a cellular phone.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the medium, system, and method of Woodard et al. to use a second-type attack widget and a touch operation for providing aiming control as taught by Wan et al.
In Reference to Claims 2 and 16
Woodard et al. teaches wherein the second-type attack widget further comprises an energy progress bar, the second-type attack mode includes comprises a first sub-attack mode and a second sub-attack mode, and the energy progress bar is used to configured to notify whether an attack can be performed in the second sub-attack mode of the second-type attack mode (Woodard et al. Fig. 7 and Col. 11 lines 3-59 which teaches a charge meter and “Once the charge indicator 720 reflects a full charge (e.g., it has wrapped all the way around the target display 710), the weapon may enjoy its full target range, its full attack range, full strength and/or the ability to be fired. If the related weapon is fired prior to a full charge being obtained (e.g., wherein the indicator 720 may only wrap half-way around the display 710), the weapon may fire but may be off target, not travel the intended distance, miss targets otherwise within the target range 440 or not inflict the fullest possible damage.” And “The charge indicator 720 may also be related to game player accuracy. For example, if a user is utilizing a machine gun and is hitting targets with a certain degree of accuracy for every round fired, the charge indicator 720 may increase in power thereby reflecting, for example, additional fire power, additional range, more rapid firing, more damage and so forth.”).
In Reference to Claims 3 and 17
Woodard et al. and Wan et al. teaches wherein the touch operation is comprises a clicking operation (Wan et al. Par. 73 “the first trigger operation is at least one of a tap operation, a double-tap operation, a press operation, a drag operation, and a long press operation.”), determining the to-be-attacked virtual object aimed at by the second-type aiming mark based on the touch operation comprises: determining, in response to detecting that the energy progress bar fails to reach an upper limit (Woodard et al. Col. 11 lines 3-21 which teach firing a weapon with only a partial charge, and changing the weapon properties when that happens), a plurality of first candidate virtual objects within a first distance from the target virtual object (Woodard et al. Col. 11 lines 3-31 which reaches partially charge weapons can have a more limited attack range than a fully charged attack); and determining the to-be-attacked virtual object from the plurality of first candidate virtual objects and controlling the second-type aiming mark to be aimed at the to-be-attacked virtual object, and the step of the controlling the target virtual object to attack the to-be-attacked virtual object in the second-type attack mode comprises: controlling the target virtual object to attack the to-be-attacked virtual object in the first sub-attack mode (Woodard et al. Fig. 4 and 9 and Col. 13 lines 14-34 which teaches selecting targets for the attack based on the attack range of the weapon).
In Reference to Claims 4 and 18
Woodard et al. and Wan et al. teach determining, in response to detecting that the energy progress bar reaches the upper limit, a plurality of second candidate virtual objects between the first distance and a second distance from the target virtual object,
the second distance being larger than the first distance (Woodard et al. Col. 11 lines 3-31 “Once the charge indicator 720 reflects a full charge (e.g., it has wrapped all the way around the target display 710), the weapon may enjoy its full target range, its full attack range, full strength and/or the ability to be fired.” Which teaches a max charged weapon has its “full attack range” when fired); and determining the to-be-attacked virtual object from the plurality of second candidate virtual objects, and the step of the controlling the target virtual object to attack the to-be-attacked virtual object in the second-type attack mode comprises: controlling the target virtual object to attack the to-be-attacked virtual object in the second sub-attack mode (Woodard et al. Fig. 4 and 9 and Col. 13 lines 14-34 which teaches selecting targets for the attack based on the attack range of the weapon).
In Reference to Claim 7
Woodard et al. and Wan et al. teach controlling the second-type aiming mark to be aimed at the to-be-attacked virtual object; and controlling the target virtual object to attack the to-be-attacked virtual object in the second sub-attack mode (Woodard et al. Col. 10 lines 44-62 “aiming accuracy” See also, Fig. 9 and Col. 15-34 which teaches the player aiming the target display to target an enemy for attack in the game).
In Reference to Claims 8 and 21
Woodard et al. and Wan et al. teach determining that a further virtual object is present within a display range of the second-type aiming mark; and, in response to the determination: identifying the further virtual object as the to-be-attacked virtual object, and controlling the second-type aiming mark to be aimed at the to-be-attacked virtual object (Woodard et al. Fig. 9 and Col. 15-37 “In step 950, it may be determined whether the target within the target display is within attack range (450) as may be governed by the particular weapon. If the target is in attack range (450) and the target range (440) as may be indicated by the size of the target display, the target may be locked onto in step 960 and may remain locked until it is out of the attack range (450) or the target range (440) as may be governed by a particular weapon selection. If the target is not in attack range (450), then the user may reorient the display to another target that may be in range or travel closer to that target or select a weapon with greater attack range. (54) After lock has occurred in step 960, the user may target additional targets in step 970 using a similar methodology.”).
In Reference to Claim 9
Woodard et al. and Wan et al. teach wherein the touch operation comprises a sliding operation (Wan et al. Par. 73 and 90 “drag operation”), determining the to-be-attacked virtual object aimed at by the second-type aiming mark based on the touch operation includes comprises: adjusting an aiming orientation of the second-type aiming mark based on the sliding operation (Wan et al. Fig. 5 and 79, 89-90 which teaches adjusting the direction of the ability using the drag operation on the circular control-region shown in Fig. 5. Woodard et al. Col. 13 lines 57-67 which teach various inputs for aiming control including a joystick for controlling weapons aim); determining, in response to detecting that when a third candidate virtual object is present in a current aiming orientation and the sliding operation is ended (Woodard et al. Fig. 9 which teaches firing weapons upon ending the input. See also Wan et al. Par. 90.), whether a progress of the energy progress bar reaches an upper limit; and determining, in response to current energy of the energy progress bar failing to reach the upper limit and a distance between the third candidate virtual object and the target virtual object being located within a first distance, the third candidate virtual object as the to-be-attacked virtual object, and the step of the controlling the target virtual object to attack the to-be-attacked virtual object in the second-type attack mode comprises: controlling the target virtual object to attack the to-be-attacked virtual object in the first sub-attack mode (Woodard et al. Fig. 9 and Col. 13 lines 14-34 which teaches selecting targets for attack based on the attack range of the selected attack. And Fig. 6 and Col. 11 lines 3-31 which teaches an attack with a determined only partial charge of the charge indicator which is subsequently at a lowered effect. Including lower range and lower damage. Examiner considers this to constitute a “first sub-attack mode.”).
In Reference to Claim 10
Woodard et al. and Wan et al. teach determining, in response to the energy progress bar reaching the upper limit and the distance between the third candidate virtual object and the target virtual object being located between the first distance and a second distance, the third candidate virtual object as the to-be-attacked virtual object, and the controlling the target virtual object to attack the to-be-attacked virtual object in the second-type attack mode comprises: controlling the target virtual object to attack the to-be-attacked virtual object in the second sub-attack mode (Woodard et al. which teaches selecting targets in range of the weapon for attack and Fig. 6 and Col. 11 lines 3-31 which teach a weapon at “full charge” as reflected by the charge indicator having its “full attack range” compared to a partial charged attack).
In Reference to Claim 13
Woodard et al. teaches wherein the method further comprises updating, in response to detecting that a further virtual object is present in an aiming orientation of the second-type aiming mark, a display color of the second-type aiming mark (Woodard et al. Col. 10 lines 38-52 which teaches changing an aiming mark to red when a target is in in the target display and within range).
Claims 5-6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodard et al., US 8,210,943, Wan et al., US 2022/0040580, further in view of Garvin et al., US 2010/0009733.
In Reference to Claim 5-6 and 19
Woodard et al. and Wan teach a second-type attack in a game which is a shooting attack with a second sub-attack mode with advantageous properties (Woodard et al. Col. 11 lines 3-31) as described above. However, they do not teach determining that the attack aiming mark is not aimed at the to-be-attacked virtual object; and controlling, in response to the determination, the remote attack launched in the attack mode to attack the to-be-attacked virtual object, or controlling, in response to the aiming mark failing to be aimed at the to-be-attacked virtual object, the aiming mark to gradually approach the to-be-attacked virtual object during the remote attack in the attack mode, to be aimed at the to-be-attacked virtual object.
Lu teaches a shooting game which teaches determining that the attack aiming mark is not aimed at the to-be-attacked virtual object; and controlling, in response to the determination, the remote attack launched in the attack mode to attack the to-be-attacked virtual object (Fig. 2 and Par. 46-47 which teaches an auto-aim to assist players which allows them to have attacks target and hit a game enemy even when the target player has not manually aimed the targeting reticule at the enemy. “Automatic adjustment of the aim allows the game character to initiate an action directed at the selected object with increased accuracy and without requiring the game player to manually direct the aim of the game character. For example, the game character may begin shooting a firearm at the selected object without having to first manually aim the firearm.”) and controlling, in response to the aiming mark failing to be aimed at the to-be-attacked virtual object, the aiming mark to gradually approach the to-be-attacked virtual object during the remote attack in the attack mode, to be aimed at the to-be-attacked virtual object (Par. 46-47 “The adjustment of the aim of the game character may not be effected instantaneously but instead may take a certain amount of time to allow for a smooth transition free of `jerkiness` or unnatural motions.” And “The speed at which the targeting display 330 moves toward a selected object may be customized by the user or game player or may be defined by the particular game title.”).
It would be desirable to modify the method of Woodard et al. and Wan et al. to include automatic aim adjustment an enemy target and gradual adjustment of the aiming mark as taught by Garvin et al. in order to increase the enjoyment of the user by making it easier for players to aim at enemy targets, especially for games on mobile or using touch controls, while smoothly adjusting the aiming mark to avoid jerky or unnatural motions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the method of Woodard et al. and Wan et al. to include automatic aim adjustment an enemy target and gradual adjustment of the aiming mark as taught by Garvin et al.
Claim 12 in rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodard et al., US 8,210,943, Wan et al., US 2022/0040580, further in view of Quan, US 11,290,543.
In Reference to Claim 12
Woodard et al. and Wan et al. teach a method for controlling the virtual object as described above in reference to Claim 9 including an attack in a second-type attack mode. However, they do not teach an attack cancel widget or where the method further comprises prohibiting, in response to detecting that the sliding operation slides to the attack cancel widget, the target virtual object from performing an attack.
Quan teaches a combat game which teaches an attack cancel widget or where the method further comprises prohibiting, in response to detecting that the sliding operation slides to the attack cancel widget, the target virtual object from performing an attack (Col. 5 lines 4-15 “If deciding to cancel casting a spell, the user moves the finger to a “cancel spell-casting” button.” Fig. 5 and Col. 6 lines 15-22 “When the user does not need or no longer needs to cast a spell by using a skill on the teammate, the user slides the finger to an identifier of “cancel spell-casting”, as shown in FIG. 5. When the user loosens the finger, the spell is canceled”).
It would be desirable to modify the method of Woodard et al. and Quan to include a cancel widget for cancelling a pending attack input in a touch interface as taught by Quan in order to allow players playing the game on a touch device to cancel their attacks when the user no longer needs to make the attack, thereby saving resources such as ammunition.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the method of Woodard et al. and Quan to include a cancel widget for cancelling a pending attack input in a touch interface as taught by Quan.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CARL V LARSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3715