Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species B, corresponding to claims 1 and 7, in the reply filed on May 25, 2026, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that species B and C are not patently distinct. This is found persuasive and therefore the restriction requirement is partially withdrawn such that species C, corresponding to claims 1 and 8, will be examined together with species B as a single group.
The remainder of the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 2-6 and 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over copending Application No. 18/266,188 (reference application).
Claim 1 is unpatentable over claim 1 of the reference application. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, as detailed below:
A robot apparatus (ref: “system:) comprising:
a robot arm mechanism (ref: “manipulator”) mounted on a base (ref: “free cart”); and
a controller (ref: “control device”) to control the robot arm mechanism to execute a predetermined task, wherein the controller controls the robot arm mechanism to move the base (ref: “the control device… controls the manipulator… to move the robot”).
Claim 8 is unpatentable over claim 8 of the reference application. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, as detailed below:
The robot apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the base is provided movably along a rail (ref: “guide mechanism”), and
the controller controls the robot arm mechanism to push a structure (ref: “fixed object” of claim 1) provided near the rail with a hand of the robot arm mechanism and move the base away from the structure (ref: “the control device operates the manipulator with the hand grasping a fixed object… to move the robot toward or away from the fixed object” of claim 1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because, although a notice of allowance for the reference application has been sent, the patent for the patentably indistinct claims has not yet been issued.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KONNO (JP-H08174449-A).
Regarding Claim 1, KONNO teaches a robot apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising:
a robot arm mechanism (Manipulator 3, Fig. 1) mounted on a base (Trolley 2, Fig. 1); and
a controller (Control Device, Para. [0024]; hereafter: “CD”) to control the robot arm mechanism (3) to execute a predetermined task, wherein the controller (CD) controls the robot arm mechanism (3) to move the base (2) (Para. [0024] teaches that Control Device CD provides a signal to Servo Motor 2b of Manipulator 3 to cause Table 2a of Trolley 2 and Manipulator 3 to move along Guide Rail 1).
Regarding Claim 7, KONNO further teaches that the base (2) is provided movably along a rail (Guide Rail 1, Fig. 1), and
the controller (CD) controls the robot arm mechanism (3) to rotate a pinion gear (Pinion 2c, Fig. 1) meshed with a rack (Rack 1d, Fig. 1) arranged along the rail (1) (Para. [0024] teaches that Control Device CD provides a signal to Servo Motor 2b of Manipulator 3, which rotates Pinion 2c that is meshed with Rack 1d, to cause Table 2a of Trolley 2 and Manipulator 3 to move along Guide Rail 1).
Regarding Claim 8, KONNO further teaches that the base (2) is provided movably along a rail (Guide Rail 1, Fig. 1), and
the controller (CD) controls the robot arm mechanism (3) to push a structure (Leg Column 1a, Fig. 1) provided near the rail (1) with a hand (Hand 3c, Fig. 1) of the robot arm mechanism (3) and move the base (2) away from the structure (1a) (Para. [0025] teaches that Control Device CD operates Hand 3c, and it is understood from at least Fig.1 and Paras. [0022]- [0025] that Control Device CD would be capable of controlling Hand 3c of Manipulator 3 to push against Column 1a in order to move Trolley 2 and Manipulator 3 away from Column 1a).
Further, the examiner notes that the clause “the controller controls the robot arm mechanism to push a structure provided near the rail with a hand of the robot arm mechanism and move the base away from the structure” is considered to be intended use as it is a recitation with respect to the manner in which the claimed apparatus is intended to be employed and – although fully considered – is not understood to affect the scope of the claim because recitations of intended use of the claimed invention do not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. See MPEP 2114. In this case the robot apparatus of KONNO teaches all of the claimed structural limitations as discussed above and, because the hand (Hand 3c) of KONNO would be capable of reaching the structure (Column 1a) in order to push against it, it is understood to be structurally capable of the claimed use.
Conclusion
/TYLER JAY STANLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/ANNE MARIE M BOEHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611