DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the thickness of the one or more trough portions is at most 150 pm”. Such recitation of “pm” is being interpreted as picometers. The specification fails to describe such thickness. Rather, the specification discloses the thickness of the one or more trough portions is at most 150 μm (micrometer) (pg. 4). Claim 8 will be interpreted as micrometers. Similarly, claims 9 and 10 recite “pm” and will be interpreted as micrometers, as detailed in the disclosure (pg. 4).
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the skin surface" in ln. 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-15 are rejected due to dependency on claim 1.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 10 recites the broad recitation “at least 30 pm”, and the claim also recites "preferably at least 50 pm, more preferably at least 100 pm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Millot et al. (Pat. No.: US 6,171,289 B1) in view of Leise, JR. et al. (Pub. No.: US 2003/0171737 A1), hereinafter Leise.
Regarding claim 1, Millot discloses (fig. 1-3, annotated fig. 3) an ostomy appliance (device 1) for attachment to a skin surface of a user (abstract), wherein the ostomy appliance is adapted to form a stomal opening (through-passage 8) with a center point (fig. 2), the stomal opening being configured to allow passage of output through the stomal opening and into an ostomy pouch (ostomy bag 2) attached to the ostomy appliance (abstract, col. 3, ln. 18-22), the ostomy appliance comprising: A support layer (flexible support sheet 13) with a distal surface and a proximal surface (annotated fig. 3);
A plurality of electrode paths (tracks 15, 16) for forming one or more sensors (col. 3, ln. 39-41), the plurality of electrode paths being arranged on the proximal surface of the support layer (annotated fig. 3); and
An adhesive layer (adhesive composition 11) including a distal surface and a proximal surface (annotated fig. 3), the distal surface being arranged on the proximal surface of the support layer and covering the plurality of electrode paths (annotated fig. 3), wherein the adhesive layer comprises one or more trough portions covering a first electrode path (track 15) and a second electrode path (track 1) of the plurality of electrode paths and having a substantially uniform thickness (fig. 3).
Millot annotated fig. 3
Millot fails to disclose a crest portion comprising a maximum thickness of the adhesive layer and being distanced from the one or more trough portions, wherein the substantially uniform thickness of the one or more trough portions is less than a thickness of the crest portion.
Leise teaches (fig. 1) an ostomy appliance (1, abstract) and thus in the same field of endeavor comprising: an adhesive layer (2), wherein the adhesive layer comprises one or more trough portions (thin peripheral portion 9) having a substantially uniform thickness (fig. 1), and a crest portion (thick central portion 10) comprising a maximum thickness of the adhesive layer (fig. 1) and being distanced from the one or more trough portions (fig. 1), wherein the substantially uniform thickness of the one or more trough portions is less than a thickness of the crest portion (¶ 0078, fig. 1), wherein such ostomy appliance is configured to fit into a moat or groove in the peristomal skin surface in a manner providing a certain pressure on said peristomal surface and lateral support pressure on said stoma (¶ 0014).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adhesive layer of Millo such that it comprises a crest portion comprising a maximum thickness of the adhesive layer and being distanced from the one or more trough portions, wherein the substantially uniform thickness of the one or more trough portions is less than a thickness of the crest portion, as taught by Leise, in order to configure the ostomy appliance to fit into a moat or groove in the peristomal skin surface in a manner providing a certain pressure on said peristomal surface and lateral support pressure on said stoma (Leise ¶ 0014).
Regarding claim 2, Millot discloses wherein the one or more trough portions extend circumferentially at least partly around the stomal opening (fig. 2-3). Millot in view of Leise disclose wherein the crest portion extend circumferentially at least partly around the stomal opening (Leise aperture 11, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Millot discloses wherein the distal surface of the adhesive layer is substantially flat and arranged on the proximal surface of the support layer (annotated fig. 3). Millot in view of Leise disclose wherein the crest portion and the one or more trough portions at least partly provide the proximal surface of the adhesive layer with a ripple shape extending radially from the center point (Leise fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Millot in view of Leise fail to disclose wherein the crest portion is arranged on a radially outer side of the one or more trough portions.
However, Millot discloses one trough portion being adjacent the stomal opening (fig. 2) and such electrodes being disposed to detect wetness originating from material collected in the bag (col. 3, ln. 66-col. 4, ln. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the crest portion of Millot in view of Leise such that the crest portion is arranged on a radially outer side of the one or more trough portions in order to dispose the one trough portion adjacent the stomal opening such that the electrodes detect wetness originating from material collected in the bag (Millot col. 3, ln. 66-col. 4, ln. 8).
Regarding claim 5, Millot in view of Leise discloses wherein the crest portion is arranged on a radially inner side of the one or more trough portions (Leise fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Millot in view of Leise fail to disclose wherein the crest portion is arranged between a first trough portion and a second trough portion, the first trough portion covering the first electrode path and the second trough portion covering the second electrode path.
However, Millot discloses such electrodes being disposed to detect wetness originating from material collected in the bag or from transpiration of the patient (col. 3, ln. 66-col. 4, ln. 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ostomy appliance of Millot in view of Leise such that the crest portion is arranged between a first trough portion and a second trough portion, the first trough portion covering the first electrode path and the second trough portion covering the second electrode path in order to dispose the electrodes to detect wetness originating from material collected in the bag or from transpiration of the patient (Millot col. 3, ln. 66-col. 4, ln. 9) while allowing the crest portion to fit into a moat or groove in the peristomal skin surface in a manner providing a certain pressure on said peristomal surface and lateral support pressure on said stoma (Leise ¶ 0014).
Regarding claim 7, Millot discloses wherein the plurality of electrode paths extends circumferentially at least partly around the stomal opening (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Millot in view of Leise disclose wherein the thickness of the crest portion is 3.85 mm (Leise, t1, table 1) which falls within the claimed range of at least 80 micrometers.
“[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art." Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (see MPEP §2131.03.I).
Regarding claim 10, Millot in view of Leise disclose wherein the difference between the thickness of the one or more trough portions and the thickness of the crest portion is at least 2.5 mm (¶ 0015) which falls within the claimed range of at least 30 micrometers, preferably at least 50 micrometers, more preferably at least 100 micrometers.
“[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art." Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (see MPEP §2131.03.I).
Regarding claim 11, Millot discloses wherein the first and second electrode paths are configured for allowing the provision of a signal indicative of liquid on the proximal surface of the adhesive layer (abstract, col. 3, ln. 66-col. 4, ln. 12).
Regarding claim 12¸ Millot in view of Leise fail to disclose wherein the plurality of electrode paths further includes a third and a fourth electrode path configured for allowing the provision of a signal indicative of the moisture content of the adhesive layer.
However, Millot discloses wherein the plurality of electrode paths include at least electrode paths configured for allowing the provision of a signal indicative of the moisture content of the adhesive layer (col. 2, ln. 1-17), the plurality of electrode paths configured to measure conductivity of the adhesive composition to in order to trigger an alarm when a predetermined level of wetness is reached in the adhesive composition (col. 2, ln. 1-17).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of electrode paths of Millot in view of Leise such that it includes a third and a fourth electrode path configured for allowing the provision of a signal indicative of the moisture content of the adhesive layer, as suggested by Millot, in order to provide additional measurements in the adhesive composition indicative of wetness (Millot col. 2, ln. 1-17).
Regarding claim 13, Millot discloses wherein a first trough portion of the one or more trough portions is delimited by a radially innermost electrode path and a radially outermost electrode path of the plurality of electrode paths (fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 14, Millot discloses wherein the ostomy appliance comprises a base plate, the base plate including the support layer, the plurality of electrode paths, and the adhesive layer (fig. 1-3, abstract).
Regarding claim 15, Millot discloses wherein the ostomy appliance comprises a sensor patch having a distal side and a proximal side, the distal side being adapted for attachment to an adhesive surface of a base plate of the ostomy appliance, and the proximal side being adapted for attachment to a skin surface of a user, the sensor patch including the support layer, the plurality of electrode paths, and the adhesive layer (fig. 1-3, abstract).
Regarding claim 16, Millot discloses (fig. 1-3, annotated fig. 3) a method of manufacturing an ostomy appliance (device 1) (abstract), the method comprising the steps of:
- providing a support layer (flexible support sheet 13) with a distal surface and a proximal surface (annotated fig. 13);
- arranging a plurality of electrode paths (tracks 15, 16) on the proximal surface of the support layer (annotated fig. 3); and
- arranging an adhesive layer (adhesive composition 11) on the proximal surface of the support layer so as to cover the plurality of electrode paths (annotated fig. 3), wherein the adhesive layer comprises one or more trough portions covering a first electrode path (track 15) and a second electrode path (track 16) of the plurality of electrode paths and having a substantially uniform thickness (annotated fig. 13).
Millot fails to disclose a crest portion comprising a maximum thickness of the adhesive layer and being distanced from the one or more trough portions, wherein the substantially uniform thickness of the one or more trough portions is less than the thickness of the crest portion.
Leise teaches (fig. 1) method of manufacturing an ostomy appliance (1, abstract) and thus in the same field of endeavor comprising: an adhesive layer (2), wherein the adhesive layer comprises one or more trough portions (thin peripheral portion 9) having a substantially uniform thickness (fig. 1), and a crest portion (thick central portion 10) comprising a maximum thickness of the adhesive layer (fig. 1) and being distanced from the one or more trough portions (fig. 1), wherein the substantially uniform thickness of the one or more trough portions is less than a thickness of the crest portion (¶ 0078, fig. 1), wherein such ostomy appliance is configured to fit into a moat or groove in the peristomal skin surface in a manner providing a certain pressure on said peristomal surface and lateral support pressure on said stoma (¶ 0014).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Millo such that it the adhesive layer comprises a crest portion comprising a maximum thickness of the adhesive layer and being distanced from the one or more trough portions, wherein the substantially uniform thickness of the one or more trough portions is less than a thickness of the crest portion, as taught by Leise, in order to configure the ostomy appliance to fit into a moat or groove in the peristomal skin surface in a manner providing a certain pressure on said peristomal surface and lateral support pressure on said stoma (Leise ¶ 0014).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Millot in view of Leise, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Svensby et al. (Pub. No.: US 2013/0096522 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Millot in view of Leise fail to disclose wherein the thickness of the one or more trough portions is at most 150 micrometers.
Svensby teaches (fig. 1) an ostomy appliance (body attachment wafer 1) (abstract) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising an adhesive layer (4, ¶ 0012) comprising a trough portion (region C, fig. 1), wherein the thickness of the one or more trough portions is 0.05 mm (50 micrometers) (¶ 0019) which falls within the claimed range of at most 150 micrometers, in order to ensure a sufficient adherence force against skin (¶ 0019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of the one or more trough portions of Millot In view of Leise such that it is at most 150 micrometers, as taught by Svensby, in order to ensure a sufficient adherence force against skin (Svensby ¶ 0019).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Langhorn et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0085510 A1) discloses an ostomy appliance having a crest and a trough. Todd et al. (Pub. No.: US 2012/0232506 A1) discloses an ostomy appliance having a crest and a trough
/MEAGAN NGO/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/PHILIP R WIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781