DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication filed on 01/14/2026.
Claims 9 and 13-15 have been amended by preliminary amendment.
Claims 16-20 have been added by preliminary amendment.
No claims have been canceled.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Farkas et al (EP 3491791 B1 herein after “Farkas”).
As per claim 1, and similarly claims 13 and 15, Farkas discloses a control method, comprising:
configuring and issuing a time gate control list (Farkas, para[0070-0071] the network controller comprises a transmission order information determining module and a transmission order information module, achieving a specific relative transmission order of the first and second packet flow packets using asynchronous, event-based packet gate switching control, see FIG. 2C: determine transmission order information; send transmission order information);
wherein the time gate control list comprises at least one deterministic queue and a plurality of time slices (Farkas, para[0051] time pattern (time points T00 to T99); and in each deterministic queue, a gate corresponding to a periodic time slice of the deterministic queue is open, gates corresponding to periodic time slices of other deterministic queues are closed, and a gate corresponding to a free time slice is open, with the periodic time slice of the deterministic queue being a time slice corresponding to a time when data packets of a deterministic service flow are periodically forwarded in the deterministic queue (Farkas, para[0051-0052] the time gate control list 35 defines, for each of the points in time of a a time pattern, the state of each packet gate of the egress port, i.e. whether the respective packet gate is open or closed; the mask may be a list comprising a binary value for each of the packet gates…the value “1” defines that a respective gate is to be switched in a synchronous manner…according the time-based control list 35), and the free time slice being a time slice other than the periodic time slice of each deterministic queue (Farkas, para[0052] the value “0” defines that a respective associated packet gate is to be switched in an asynchronous manner…in accordance with the asynchronous gate control vector…the mask defines which of the gate control vector 33 and the time-based gate control list 35 determines switching control for the packet gates 32 of egress port 30A).
As per claim 2, Farkas discloses the control method of claim 1, wherein configuring and issuing the time gate control list comprises: configuring a real-phase time gate control list, wherein, in each deterministic queue of the real-phase time gate control list, the gate corresponding to the periodic time slice of the deterministic queue is open, the gates corresponding to the periodic time slices of the other deterministic queues are closed, and the gate corresponding to the free time slice is blank; configuring a virtual-phase time gate control list, wherein, in each deterministic queue of the virtual-phase time gate control list, the gate corresponding to the free time slice is open; and determining the time gate control list according to the real-phase time gate control list and the virtual-phase time gate control list, and issuing the time gate control list (Farkus, para[0051-0054]).
As per claim 8, Farkas discloses the control method of claim 2, wherein determining the time gate control list according to the real-phase time gate control list and the virtual-phase time gate control list and issuing the time gate control list comprises: combining the real-phase time gate control list with the virtual-phase time gate control list according to one-to-one correspondence of time slices and deterministic queues, so as to obtain the time gate control list; and issuing the time gate control list (Farkas, para[0050]).
As per claim 9, Farkas disclose the control method of claim 2, wherein configuring and issuing the time gate control list further comprises: setting a flag bit for the free time slice (Farkas, para[0050-0053]).
As per claim 10, Farkas discloses the control method of claim 9, further comprising: counting data packets of a burst deterministic service flow or a jitter deterministic service flow according to monitoring information reported by a node device (Farkas, para[0064]).
As per claim 11, and similarly claims 14 and 16, Farkas discloses a communication method, comprising:
forwarding data packets of at least one deterministic data stream according to a time gate control list;
wherein, the time gate control list comprises at least one deterministic queue and a plurality of time slices (Farkas, para[0051] time pattern (time points T00 to T99); and in each deterministic queue, a gate corresponding to a periodic time slice of the deterministic queue is open, gates corresponding to periodic time slices of other deterministic queues are closed, and a gate corresponding to a free time slice is open, with the periodic time slice of the deterministic queue being a time slice corresponding to a time when data packets of a deterministic service flow are periodically forwarded in the deterministic queue (Farkas, para[0051-0052] the time gate control list 35 defines, for each of the points in time of a a time pattern, the state of each packet gate of the egress port, i.e. whether the respective packet gate is open or closed; the mask may be a list comprising a binary value for each of the packet gates…the value “1” defines that a respective gate is to be switched in a synchronous manner…according the time-based control list 35), and the free time slice being a time slice other than the periodic time slice of each deterministic queue (Farkas, para[0052] the value “0” defines that a respective associated packet gate is to be switched in an asynchronous manner…in accordance with the asynchronous gate control vector…the mask defines which of the gate control vector 33 and the time-based gate control list 35 determines switching control for the packet gates 32 of egress port 30A).
As per claim 12, Farkas discloses the communication method of claim 11, wherein forwarding the data packets of the at least one deterministic data stream according to the time gate control list comprises: monitoring, according to a flag bit, data packets of a deterministic service flow which are transmitted in the free time slice; and reporting monitoring information to a controller (Farkas, para[0064]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farkas and further in view of Chen et al (CN 111740924 A herein after “Chen”).
As per claim 3, Farkas does not disclose, however, Chen discloses the control method of claim 2, wherein configuring the real-phase time gate control list comprises: calculating a path of a target deterministic service flow; calculating a time gate for a node device on the path to forward data packets of the target deterministic service flow; and configuring the real-phase time gate control list according to the time gate (Chen, para[0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Chen’s teaching of configuring the real-phase gate control list according to the time gate into Farkas teaching of configuring a real-phase time gate control list because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform communication transmission scheduling without affecting deterministic real-time transmission.
As per claim 4, Farkas does not disclose, however, Chen discloses the control method of claim 3, wherein configuring the real-phase time gate control list according to the time gate comprises: in a deterministic queue corresponding to the target deterministic service flow, setting a gate of a time slice corresponding to the time gate to be open; and in other deterministic queues, setting gates of the time slice corresponding to the time gate to be closed (Chen, para[0030-0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Chen’s teaching of configuring the real-phase gate control list according to the time gate into Farkas teaching of configuring a real-phase time gate control list because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform communication transmission scheduling without affecting deterministic real-time transmission.
As per claim 5, Farkas discloses the control method of claim 3, wherein configuring the virtual-phase time gate control list comprises: configuring the virtual-phase time gate control list according to the time gate (Farkas, para[0053]).
As per claim 6, Farkas discloses the control method of claim 5, wherein configuring the virtual-phase time gate control list according to the time gate comprises: determining the free time slice according to the time gate; and setting the gate of the free time slice to be open (Farkas, para[0060]).
As per claim 7, Farkas discloses the control method of claim 5, wherein configuring the virtual-phase time gate control list according to the time gate comprises: removing a gate of a time slice corresponding to the time gate from the virtual-phase time gate control list (Farkas, para[0060]).
As per claim 17, Farkas discloses the control method of claim 3, wherein configuring and issuing the time gate control list further comprises: setting a flag bit for the free time slice (Farkas, para[0050-0053]).
As per claim 18, Farkas discloses the control method of claim 4, wherein configuring and issuing the time gate control list further comprises: setting a flag bit for the free time slice (Farkas, para[0050-0053]).
As per claim 19, Farkas discloses the control method of claim 5, wherein configuring and issuing the time gate control list further comprises: setting a flag bit for the free time slice (Farkas, para[0050-0053]).
As per claim 20, Farkas discloses the control method of claim 6, wherein configuring and issuing the time gate control list further comprises: setting a flag bit for the free time slice (Farkas, para[0050-0053]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See form 892.
/NATISHA D COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458