DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment to the claims dated 1/14/2025 is acknowledged. Claim 3 was amended.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description:
115 designating a capacitor as seen in FIG. 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0216692 to Brown et al. (hereinafter Brown) in view of Japanese Patent No. 2020-129904 to Masuda et al. (hereinafter Masuda; provided by Applicant on 1/14/2025) and Japanese Patent No. 2001-28893 to Matsubara et al. (hereinafter Matsubara; provided by Applicant on 1/14/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Brown teaches a power supply system (FIG. 1, 100) comprising:
a servo amplifier (FIG. 1, 110; Paragraph [0014]);
a power supply (Paragraph [0015]-[0016]);
a servo amplifier control circuit (FIG. 1, 105) being connected to the power supply and configured to control the servo amplifier (Paragraph [0014]);
a voltage comparison circuit (FIG. 2; 250, 255) configured to compare voltage output by the power supply with a predefined threshold value (Paragraph [0025]-[0026]).
Brown does not teach the power supply being configured to output voltage of at least two kinds of magnitude in a switchable manner;
switches configured to open and close an electric circuit between the power supply and the servo amplifier; and
a switch control circuit configured to control opening and closing of an electric circuit between the power supply and the servo amplifier by the switches, based on a comparison result by the voltage comparison circuit.
However, Masuda teaches a power supply FIG. 1, 10) configured to output voltage of at least two kinds of magnitude in a switchable manner (FIG. 1; 20, 60; Paragraph [0022]-[0023]) to a motor drive control system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply system of Brown with the teachings of Masuda to provide a switchable power supply to more efficiently provide power to different parts of the system.
Brown in view of Masuda does not teach switches configured to open and close an electric circuit between the power supply and the servo amplifier; and
a switch control circuit configured to control opening and closing of an electric circuit between the power supply and the servo amplifier by the switches, based on a comparison result by the voltage comparison circuit.
However, Matsubara teaches switches configured to open and close an electric circuit between the power supply (FIG. 2, E) and a motor amplifier (FIG. 2, 10); and
a switch control circuit (FIG. 2, 50) configured to control opening and closing of an electric circuit between the power supply and the amplifier by the switches, based on a comparison result by the voltage comparison circuit (Paragraph [0013]-[0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply system of Brown in view of Masuda with the teachings of Matsubara to provide switch control between the power supply and the amplifier to further protect the amplifier and the motor from overvoltage (Paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 2, Brown in view of Masuda and Matsubara teaches the power supply system according to claim 1, wherein Matsubara further teaches the switch control circuit controlling the switches in such a way as to open an electric circuit between the power supply and the servo amplifier when voltage output by the power supply is determined to be equal or less than the threshold value by the voltage comparison circuit (Paragraph [0013]-[0015]; [0017]) and controls the switches in such a way as to close an electric circuit between the power supply and the servo amplifier when voltage output by the power supply is determined to be greater than the threshold value by the voltage comparison circuit (Paragraph [0013]-[0015]; [0017]).
Regarding claim 3, Brown in view of Masuda and Matsubara teaches the power supply system according to claim 1, wherein Masuda further teaches the servo amplifier control circuit including a voltage conversion circuit configured to convert voltage input from the power supply into driving voltage for driving the servo amplifier control circuit (Paragraph [0036]-[0037]).
Conclusion
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834