DETAILED ACTION
The following action is in response to application 18/994,232 filed on January 14, 2025.
Claim Interpretations
With regard to claims 5 and 6, the limitation of the shape is “continuously formed in the vehicle front-and-rear direction on a corrugated-plate surface of the corrugated-plate shape” does not require the shape to be formed along the entire length of the corrugated-plate shape in forward-and-rear direction. This limitation has been interpreted as the shape being continuous in the forward-and-rear direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cooper (US 20190256150 from IDS; see annotated Fig. 2 below for clarity).
With regard to claim 1, Cooper teaches a vehicle impact absorbing structure that absorbs energy during a collision on the side of a vehicle, the vehicle impact absorbing structure comprising: a side sill 16/18 formed in a hollow shape in a vehicle front-and-rear direction; and an impact absorbing member 14 disposed in the side sill, wherein the impact absorbing member is formed in a corrugated-plate shape in the vehicle front-and-rear direction (Fig. 2), and is provided, between ridge lines of the corrugated- plate shape, the ridge lines being arranged in the vehicle front-and-rear direction, with a reinforcing shape 42/68 that prevents or suppresses falling deformation of the ridge lines in the vehicle front-and-rear direction. With regard to claim 2, Cooper teaches the structure, wherein the reinforcing shape 42/68 is a bead shape. With regard to claim 3, Cooper teaches the structure, wherein the bead shape 68 is a recessed shape recessed downward from a corrugated-plate-shape- forming surface. With regard to claim 4, Cooper teaches the structure, wherein the bead shape 42 is a protruding shape protruding upward from a corrugated-plate-shape- forming surface. With regard to claim 5, Cooper teaches the structure, wherein the protruding shape 42 is continuously formed in the vehicle front-and-rear direction on a corrugated-plate surface of the corrugated-plate shape (Fig. 2). With regard to claim 6, Cooper teaches the structure, wherein the recessed shape 68 is continuously formed in the vehicle front-and-rear direction on a corrugated-plate surface of the corrugated-plate shape (Fig. 2).
Suggestions for Applicant
Given the applied and cited art (by both applicant and in the current office action), it is suggested applicant claim the embodiment of Fig. 3. Some key limitation may include:
The corrugated-plate shape comprising peaks and valleys and side walls between the peak and valleys.
Reinforcing shapes comprising protruding members that run in the forward-and-rear direction on both the valleys and peaks.
Reinforcing shapes comprising recess members that run vertically along the side walls of the corrugated-plate shape.
Although point 3 is illustrated in the cited Alwan (US 20170080980), the combination of that and the protruding longitudinal reinforcing shape members on both the peaks and valleys may not be an obvious modification.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Alwan (US 20170080980) has been cited tosh wo a similar structure comprising: a sill 30, an impact absorbing member 90 that is a corrugated-plate shape with recessed bead reinforcing shapes 38 along the side walls of the corrugated-plate shape.
Son (US 20220041219) has been cited tosh wo a similar structure comprising: a sill 11/12, an impact absorbing member 20 that is a corrugated-plate shape with recessed bead reinforcing shapes 21d.
Bodin (US 20230202564) has been cited tosh wo a similar structure comprising: a sill 100, an impact absorbing member 104 that is a corrugated-plate shape with recessed bead reinforcing shapes along the entire length of the corrugated-plate shape (Fig. 9).
Suzuki (US 20230271649) has been cited tosh wo a similar structure comprising: an impact absorbing member 115 that is a corrugated-plate shape with recessed 150 and protruding (between two 150s; Fig. 2) bead reinforcing shapes.
Kuipers (US 20230303179) has been cited tosh wo a similar structure comprising: a sill 12/14, an impact absorbing member 40 that is a corrugated-plate shape with recessed 970 and protruding 870 bead reinforcing shapes.
FACSIMILE TRANSMISSION
Submission of your response by facsimile transmission is encouraged. The central facsimile number is (571) 273-8300. Recognizing the fact that reducing cycle time in the processing and examination of patent applications will effectively increase a patent's term, it is to your benefit to submit responses by facsimile transmission whenever permissible. Such submission will place the response directly in our examining group's hands and will eliminate Post Office processing and delivery time as well as the PTO's mail room processing and delivery time. For a complete list of correspondence not permitted by facsimile transmission, see MPEP 502.01. In general, most responses and/or amendments not requiring a fee, as well as those requiring a fee but charging such fee to a deposit account, can be submitted by facsimile transmission. Responses requiring a fee which applicant is paying by check should not be submitting by facsimile transmission separately from the check.
Responses submitted by facsimile transmission should include a Certificate of Transmission (MPEP 512). The following is an example of the format the certification might take:
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the Patent and Trademark Office (Fax No. (571) 273-8300) on ____________ (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate: _____________________________________
_____________________________________
(Signature)
If your response is submitted by facsimile transmission, you are hereby reminded that the original should be retained as evidence of authenticity (37 CFR 1.4 and MPEP 502.02). Please do not separately mail the original or another copy unless required by the Patent and Trademark Office. Submission of the original response or a follow-up copy of the response after your response has been transmitted by facsimile will only cause further unnecessary delays in the processing of your application; duplicate responses where fees are charged to a deposit account may result in those fees being charged twice.
/ROGER L PANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/ROGER L. PANG/
Examiner
Art Unit 3655B
August 3, 2026