DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the maximum arrival temperature" in claim 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
It is further not clear what “arrival temperature” refers to: is it a targeted temperature where an event occurs? If so, what event? Is it the initial temperature when the iron-powder and aluminum dihydrogen tripolyphosphate is mixed? Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-19, 21-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashita et al. (WO 2021/199525) in view of Ueta et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2004/0126609).
Page citations to Takashita et al. (WO 2021/199525) refer to the machine translation document provided with this office action.
Regarding claim 12, Takashita et al. teaches an iron based magnetic powder (Title) having coating layers on the surface of the magnetic powder including aluminum dihydrogen tripolyphosphate dihydrate as a first layer (page 4, 1st full paragraph and Example 1) and a silicone resin layer attached to the aluminum dihydrogen tripolyphosphate dihydrate layer. (page 4, last paragraph – page 5).
Takashita et al. does not disclose the peak intensity of the (112) plane of aluminum dihydrogen tripolyphosphate is 1.5 times higher than the peak intensity of the (102) plane of aluminum orthophosphate. However, Takashita et al. teaches that coating layer is explicitly condensed aluminum phosphate and preferably aluminum dihydrogen tripolyphosphate which achieves improved densities and resistivity. (page 4, 1st full paragraph and page 7, bottom half). Furthermore, Takashita et al. teaches that prior art patent documents disclose the use of diluted aqueous orthophosphoric acid for forming a conversion film on the surface of magnetic powders but that the presence of free orthophosphoric acid results in the iron-based magnetic powder to become hygroscopic. (page 2, first full paragraph).
Ueta et al. further teaches an iron metal powder composition which is coated with an aluminum containing phosphate or phosphoric acid material for improved insulation. (Abstract). The aluminum phosphate material is disclosed to be crosslinked (i.e. a polyphosphate) to remove free phosphoric acid (i.e. orthophosphates) to prevent absorption of moisture. (par. [0104]-[0105]). Free phosphoric acids are taught to be minimized to improve the corrosion resistance. (par. [0080] and [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to minimize or exclude the amount of free aluminum orthophosphate and maximize the content of condensed phosphate in the form of aluminum dihydrogen tripolyphosphate in view of the teachings of Takashita in view of Ueta et al. The resulting composition would therefore have a peak intensity ratio of (112) to (102) planes that would be 1.5 or higher as claimed, which signifies a higher concentration of the aluminum dihydrogen tripolyphosphate to the orthophosphate.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to minimize the content of free orthophosphate based on the teachings of both Takashita et al. and Ueta et al. that the orthophosphate is responsible for increased hygroscopic properties to the iron-based metal powders which reduces the corrosion resistance thereof. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize a high content of aluminum dihydrogen tripolyphosphate in order to improve the densities and resistivity of the iron-based powder material as taught in Takashita et al.
Regarding claims 13-14, the content of aluminum dihydrogen tripolyphosphate is disclosed to be 0.04 to 0.5% mass (Table 1, first column), overlapping with the presently claimed range. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Takashita et al. teaches a silicone resin layer attached to the aluminum dihydrogen tripolyphosphate dihydrate layer. (page 4, last paragraph – page 5). The content of the silicone resin is disclosed to be 0.05-0.4% mass (Table 1, second column).
Regarding claims 15-16, the magnetic powder furth includes a lubricant. (page 7, 3rd full paragraph).
Regarding claim 17, Takashita et al. teaches a method of making the iron based magnetic powder involving mixing the iron powder and the aluminum dihydrogen tripolyphosphate in a first step to obtain a first coated composite powder. (Example 1, page 7, first paragraph). The mixtures are mixed and stirred. (Id.).
The limitations directed to the peak intensities of the (112) to (102) plane is rejected for substantially the same reasons as the rejection of claim 12, above.
Regarding claim 18, the content of aluminum dihydrogen tripolyphosphate is disclosed to be 0.04 to 0.5% mass (Table 1, first column), overlapping with the presently claimed range.
Regarding claim 19, Takashita et al. teaches a second mixing step wherein the aluminum dihydrogen tripolyphosphate coated iron-based powder is mixed in a second step with a silicone resin powder material and stirred to form a silicone resin layer attached to the aluminum dihydrogen tripolyphosphate dihydrate layer. (page 4, last paragraph – page 5, Example 1: page 7, 2nd and 3rd paragraphs). The content of the silicone resin is disclosed to be 0.05-0.4% mass (Table 1, second column).
Regarding claim 21, Takashita et al. teaches a cooling step after formation of aluminum dihydrogen tripolyphosphate layer to 60oC (Example 1, page 7, 1st paragraph) which lies within the range of 80oC or lower. Takashita et al. teaches that the maximum temperature during stirring is 168oC (Id.) which lies within the presently claimed range of “arrival temperature”. The second mixing step is performed as the first composite powder coated with the aluminum dihydrogen tripolyphosphate layer is being cooled from that high temperature. (Id.).
Regarding claims 22-24 and 26, Takashita et al. teaches a third mixing step involving taking the aluminum dihydrogen tripolyphosphate and silicone resin coated iron-based composite particles and mixing them with a lubricant. (page 7, 3rd full paragraph).
Claims 20 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashita et al. (WO 2021/199525) in view of Ueta et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2004/0126609), further in view of Hwang et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2013/0147081).
Takashita in view of Ueta et al. is relied upon as described in the rejection of claim 19, above.
Takashita in view of Ueta et al. does not disclose stiring and mixing the silicone resin with the aluminum dihydrogen tripolyphosphate coated iron-based powders at a temperature of 80° C or more.
Hwang et al. teaches a method of making a powder magnetic core material, similar to Takashita et al., involving mixing with magnetic powders a thermosetting resin in a hot state to later make a magnetic core. (Abstract). Hwang et al. teaches that the thermosetting powder may include silicone resin materials (par. [0018]-[0019] and [0025]) and that the mixing should be performed at a temperature above the softening temperature of the silicone resin to let it flow onto the surface of the particles. (par. [0013] and [0031]). Suitable temperatures will depend on the type of silicone material but silicone resins typically soften around 70-130oC (par. [0031]) and Hwang et al. performs a mixing step at 130oC. (par. [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to mix the silicone resin powder of Takashita et al. at a temperature in the range of 70-130oC or higher, based on the teachings of Hwang et al., which overlaps with the presently claimed range of 80oC or more.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to perform a stirring a mixing process at a temperature in the range of 70-130oC or higher in order to soften the selected silicone resin material for forming the coating layer of the iron-based powders in a sufficient amount that they can flow onto and around the surface of the iron-based powders. The resulting coating would therefore be expected to be more uniform due to better flowability of the coating resin material.
Regarding claim 25, Takashita et al. teaches a third mixing step involving taking the aluminum dihydrogen tripolyphosphate and silicone resin coated iron-based composite particles and mixing them with a lubricant. (page 7, 3rd full paragraph).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 07/24/2026