SUPPLEMENTAL DETAILED ACTION
This office action supersedes the office action filed 3/27/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10-11, 13, 16, 18, 20-21, 24-27, 31, 36-37, 41, and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cowell, US Pub. 2015/0179025.
Regarding claims 1 and 41, Cowell disclose a modular privacy booth for cooperative with teller station, ATM, or the like comprising: at least one booth 100, each booth of the at least one booth accessible from at least a customer side (fig. 6)100. (See figs. 1-2, and 6-7).
Cowell discloses that the at least one booth can be used in medical facilities, for example doctor's offices, hospital emergency room registration desks, pharmacies, or the like, personal information divulged by a client may be overheard. Also, other situations such as general conversation with a teller/customer service rep. can lead to questions and or answers about a current or previous account disclosing sensitive information that could possibly lead to fraud and or Identification theft. When "you the customer/consumer" walk into a business such as a bank or hospital "you should feel safe and trustworthy of that facility disclosing sensitive and confidential information" Knowing that your transactions are strictly between the teller and the customer and not an unwanted third party. Cowell fails to disclose that the booth being used for pharmacy transactions, and the pod or apparatus includes at least one pharmacy transaction device. As well, Cowell does not disclose the details of the positioning and cooperation of the booth with other elements surrounding the pod or apparatus within a pharmaceutical environment (i.e. a floor plan showing bow the pod of apparatus could be placed within a pharmaceutical environment). Further, Cowell does not disclose the additional retail fixtures, shelves, racks, product-storage fixtures, pharmacy transaction device, payment device, pharmacy computer, air exchanger, lighting, wheelchair accessibility, sound insulation rating ranges (i.e. all the details that would make the pod or apparatus best adapted for use in a pharmaceutical environment). Finally, Cowell does not disclose the method of conducting at least one pham1acy transaction using the said pod or apparatus.
It would have been obvious to place the booth between a customer side and a dispensing side of a pharmacy counter, in order for pharmaceutical prescriptions and/or advices to be served and/or provided by the pharmacist or technician to the customer in a more private environment. Regarding the other features, namely the additional retail fixtures, shelves, racks, product-storage fixtures, pharmacy transaction device, payment device, pharmacy computer, air exchanger, lighting, wheelchair accessibility, sound insulation rating ranges, these are all considered to correspond to one or more straightforward possibilities or options which the skilled practitioner would select, without exercising inventive skill, to optimize the use of the pod or apparatus. Of note, these additional features each perform their own function and are unrelated to the pod or apparatus per se. As for the method of conducting at least one pharmacy transaction using the said pod or apparatus, this is not considered to add any inventiveness to the pod or apparatus as such pods and apparatuses were specifically made to conduct private activities within work or business environments. It is considered that it would have been obvious to a skilled practitioner to modify the pod or apparatus of Cowell to incorporate an additional transaction means, and further incorporate various other additional features, as herein discussed, to adapt it to a pharmaceutical environment and use it as a space for doing pharmaceutical related business.
Regarding claims 2 and 36, wherein one or more of the at least one booth is adjacent to the pharmacy counter (in addition to the rejection of claim 1 above, see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, wherein one or more of the at least one booth is integrated into the pharmacy counter or attached to the pharmacy counter (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the pharmacy counter comprises retail fixtures displaying or for displaying pharmacy products on the customer side of the pharmacy counter.
Regarding claim 10, wherein at least some of the retail fixtures are on opposite sides of one or more of the at least one booth (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 11, wherein at least some of the retail fixtures are shelves (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the pharmacy counter comprises product storage fixtures for storing pharmacy products on the dispensing side of the pharmacy counter (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 16, wherein at least some of the product storage fixtures are shelves (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 18, wherein each booth of the at least one booth is substantially enclosed on all sides (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, further comprising the at least one pharmacy-transaction device (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 21, wherein the at least one pharmacy-transaction device comprises at least one payment device (having the booth in a pharmacy environment, it would have been obvious to include a payment device for processing payments of products. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Regarding claims 24 and 31, wherein one or more of the at least one booth comprises at least one translucent exterior wall (with respect to the specific material, such limitation is just merely an engineering choice for meeting specific customer requirements, which therefore, obvious.
Regarding claims 25, 37, wherein one or more of the at least one booth comprises at least one translucent exterior wall on each side of the booth (with respect to the specific material, such limitation is just merely an engineering choice for meeting specific customer requirements, which therefore, obvious.
Regarding claim 26, wherein the at least one translucent exterior wall permits visibility from within the one or more of the at least one booth to at least substantially all of a customer area on the customer side of the pharmacy counter (with respect to the specific material, such limitation is just merely an engineering choice for meeting specific customer requirements, which therefore, obvious.
Regarding claim 27, further comprising at least one air pump in communication with an interior of one or more of the at least one booth and with an exterior of the at least one booth, the at least one air pump operable to exchange air between the interior of the one or more of the at least one booth and the exterior of the at least one booth ( with respect to sound insulation rating ranges, these are all considered to correspond to one or more straightforward possibilities or options which a skilled practitioner would select, without exercising inventive skill, to optimize the use of the booth or apparatus. Of note, these additional features each perform their own function and are unrelated to the booth or apparatus per se. Therefore, it would have been obvious extension as taught by the prior art).
Regarding claim 45, with respect to having the booth being soundproof, such limitations is just merely a method of choice for meeting specific customer requirements. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/14/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See examiner remarks.
Remarks:
In response to the applicant’s argument regarding claim 1, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior art (Cowell US Pub. 2015/0179025) recognizes that the booth can be used for a pharmacy (par. 005), Figs. 1A-1B, 2 and 6, clearly different embodiments than the embodiment of Fig. 5. The applicant focuses on the banking facilities, such as an ATM and/or teller station, it is clearly suggested that the booths can be used for pharmacies. It would not be a challenge to use the embodiments of Figs. 1A-1B, 2, and 6 in pharmacy environments. The applicant’s general arguments are not persuasive. Refer to the rejection above.
It noted that the international search provided by the applicant cited Cowell (US Pub. 2015/0179025) as an X-reference.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DANIEL ST CYR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/DANIEL ST CYR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876