DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/03/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Steine et al (Steine hereinafter US 20220101271 A1)
As per claim 1
Steine teaches A detection device for monitoring active road studs installed in a roadway, (Figure 5, Paragraph [0020] “The apparatus may be arranged to provide a measurement of the visual range at the aerodrome. Typically, the apparatus may be configured to measure a runway visual range (RVR). That is, the distance over which a pilot of an aircraft on the centre line of a runway can see the runway surface markings or the lights delineating the runway or identifying the centre line’ Paragraph [0023] “The detection unit may comprise a runway light detector, arranged to detect the presence of runway lights and check the proper functioning of lights on the runway.”) the detection device comprising: a video camera for recording a video of the installed active road studs as a vehicle having the detection device is driven along the roadway (Figure 1, Figure 3, Paragraph [0054] “the detection unit 20 comprises a visible light camera comprising an optical sensor arranged to capture a still or moving image of the surroundings”) and a processor configured to analyze the recorded video to detect a level of light emitted by the installed active road studs and to determine therefrom a brightness level and a state of the installed active road studs. (Paragraph [0023] “The detection unit may comprise a runway light detector, arranged to detect the presence of runway lights and check the proper functioning of lights on the runway. The detection and checking of the proper functioning of lights may be affected by measuring the luminosity of a region where a runway light is expected and/or detected. Based on the measured luminosity, the proper functioning of the runway light can be checked—for example by checking whether the luminosity exceeds a threshold value or by comparison with historical data.” Paragraph [0055] “The data can be used by a processor, either on-board the apparatus 1 or remotely, to compare historic data to identify a change. The runway lights can therefore be tracked for proper function over time using a relatively simple system.” )
As per claim 2
Steine teaches all claim limitations previously rejected in claim 2’s 102 rejection. See claim 1’s 102 rejection
Steine teaches wherein: the processor is operable to provide the determined brightness level and state of the installed active road studs to an online data collection platform (Paragraph [0022] “The apparatus has the capability to autonomously roam the runways and taxiways of the aerodrome, find and report potential hazards or anomalous conditions” Paragraph [0024] “In addition to the ability to detect and report hazards” Paragraph [0034] “to transfer data to and from the communications module of the apparatus, via a wired or wireless connection.” Paragraph [0055] “The camera can then be used to check the proper function of the lights on the runway and when a faulty light is detected, this can be reported…he apparatus 1 can then alert, for example via the communications unit 30, air traffic control to the presence of faults (the alert including the exact location of the faulty lights) so that the lights can then be duly fixed” Paragraph [0068] “The communications unit 30 is arranged to handle the exchange of information to and from the apparatus 1. The communications unit 30 comprises a transceiver 31 arranged to communicate with a remote server. The transceiver 31 is typically arranged to transfer data derived from the detection unit 20 from the apparatus 1 to the remote server.” Paragraph [0069] “he transceiver 31 is arranged to provide short-range communications using local area technologies such as Wi-Fi or Bluetooth.” The transfer of data to a “remote server” constitutes an online data collection platform. To be “Online” means to be accessible through a network connection. This can include both the internet and a private intranet. ) for the online data collection platform to generate a report concerning same. (Once the alert/report is sent to the remote server, the transition from data riding along the Wi-Fi frequency to the remote server and or to the traffic controllers computer view constitutes the “online data collection platform” generating the report. In broadest reasonable terms the report is generated when it is rendered on a computer to be seen or interpreted. The server or the computer must interpret, format, layout, and generate visual or textual documents that a human can actually read. Steine states in paragraph [0037] that “collecting runway condition data through the detection unit of the apparatus; and transferring data derived from the detection unit to a remote server, where the data can be processed and displayed.” For the report to be displayed means the computer must generate and reassemble the report for visualization from the Wi-Fi packets/frames.)
As per claim 3
Steine teaches all claim limitations previously rejected in claim 1’s 102 rejection. See claim 1’s 102 rejection.
Steine teaches a controller configured to provide an interactivity with a driver of the vehicle so that the driver can determine a start and an end period of analysis of the installed active road studs. (Paragraph [0011] “Movement of the apparatus, through operation of the drive unit, may be manually controlled. For example, the apparatus may be remotely controlled by a remote controller. The remote controller may be operated by a human or machine having knowledge of the surroundings and planned actions of the apparatus. “ Paragraph [0012] “The terrain sensor may comprise a Lidar module, having a rotating laser beam arranged to illuminate surrounding terrain and provide a measure of distances between the apparatus and surrounding obstacles.” Paragraph [0052] “ The drive unit 10 can be manually operated from a remote server (not shown in FIG. 1), to provide manual remote control over the position and movement of the apparatus 1” Paragraph [0055] “The apparatus 1 can be made to roam the runway or directed to a specific region on the airfield, where the camera can detect the presence (or expected presence) of lights on the runway. The camera can then be used to check the proper function of the lights on the runway and when a faulty light is detected, this can be reported. In one example apparatus 1, the location of detected faulty lights is recorded and mapped so as to track the exact location of these faults…As a mapping of the lights is maintained within the apparatus 1, the apparatus can periodically return to the recorded location of the faulty light to check whether or not the light has been fixed, and the efficacy of the repair (by measuring intensity of light, for example, before and after the repair). The data can be used by a processor, either on-board the apparatus 1 or remotely, to compare historic data to identify a change. The runway lights can therefore be tracked for proper function over time using a relatively simple system” Paragraph [0056] “The camera can then be used to check the proper function of the lights on the runway and when a faulty light is detected, this can be reported. In one example apparatus 1, the location of detected faulty lights is recorded and mapped so as to track the exact location of these faults. The apparatus 1 can then alert, for example via the communications unit 30, air traffic control to the presence of faults (the alert including the exact location of the faulty lights) so that the lights can then be duly fixed. As a mapping of the lights is maintained within the apparatus 1, the apparatus can periodically return to the recorded location of the faulty light to check whether or not the light has been fixed, and the efficacy of the repair (by measuring intensity of light, for example, before and after the repair).” Paragraph [0058] “changes can be alerted via the communications unit 30 to a user or remote server. In addition to faults in the runway surface, other properties of the runway can also be mapped” Steine shows that the communication unit on the apparatus can report to a remote server. This remote server can also be where the apparatuses movement is controlled. The apparatus can periodically map the location of faulty lights and can be “tracked for proper function over time” In paragraph [0053] Steine states that the detection unit “measures the time taken to receive the reflected beam and calculates the distance to the nearest object or terrain in that direction” and that “Data generated by the Lidar module can be processed, either on-board the apparatus 1 or by a remote server, to construct a real-time map of its surroundings. The data can also be used to update and maintain an existing map” From the start the driver moves the apparatus and the detection unit detects the first faulty light to when the initial maps are made and the faulty lights are mapped the analysis has started and ended respectively.
As per claim 4
Steine teaches all claim limitations previously rejected in claim 1’s 103 rejection. See claim 1’s 103 rejection.
Steine teaches the video camera is operable to record a video of active road studs installed on both sides of one lane of the roadway (Figure 5, Paragraph [0012] “he optical light camera may be arranged and oriented to capture still or moving images of the terrain surrounding the apparatus” Paragraph [0020] “The apparatus may be arranged to provide a measurement of the visual range at the aerodrome. Typically, the apparatus may be configured to measure a runway visual range (RVR). That is, the distance over which a pilot of an aircraft on the centre line of a runway can see the runway surface markings or the lights delineating the runway or identifying the centre line.” Paragraph [0065] “, at least a part of the detection unit 20 is provided as a module which is removably mounted to the surface of the apparatus 1…The bar can then be mounted on the apparatus 1 such that it overhangs an edge—typically the front edge—of the apparatus 1. Sensors in the bar can be directed downwards towards the runway surface and arranged such that it has 360 degree line of sight around the apparatus 1.” Steine states the apparatus measures a runway visual range and has 360 degree line of sight. It also provides a “measurement of the visual range of the aerodrome”. Furthermore, RVR is defined as the horizontal distance a pilot on the runway centerline can see surface markings or the lights that outline the runway and its centerline.
As per claim 5
Steine teaches all claim limitations previously rejected in claim 1’s 102 rejection. See claim 1’s 102 rejection.
Steine teaches the video camera is operable to record a video of active road studs installed on multiple lanes of the roadway as the vehicle having the detection device is driven along one of the multiple lanes of the roadway. (Figure 5, Paragraph [0012] “he optical light camera may be arranged and oriented to capture still or moving images of the terrain surrounding the apparatus” Paragraph [0020] “The apparatus may be arranged to provide a measurement of the visual range at the aerodrome. Typically, the apparatus may be configured to measure a runway visual range (RVR). That is, the distance over which a pilot of an aircraft on the centre line of a runway can see the runway surface markings or the lights delineating the runway or identifying the centre line.” Paragraph [0065] “, at least a part of the detection unit 20 is provided as a module which is removably mounted to the surface of the apparatus 1…The bar can then be mounted on the apparatus 1 such that it overhangs an edge—typically the front edge—of the apparatus 1. Sensors in the bar can be directed downwards towards the runway surface and arranged such that it has 360 degree line of sight around the apparatus 1.” Steine states the apparatus measures a runway visual range and has 360 degree line of light. It also provides a “measurement of the visual range of the aerodrome”. Furthermore, RVR is defined as the horizontal distance a pilot on the runway centerline can see surface markings or the lights that outline the runway and its centerline. In regard to “multiple lanes” The centerline lights effectively divide the runway into two lanes. Figure 5 shows the apparatus moving down one lane. If the apparatus sees RVR which includes the lights that outline the runway as well as the centerline lights and has 360 field of vision, the apparatus effectively sees both lanes of the runway in video capturing the one lane (Left outline and centerline) and the other (right outline and centerline) i.e. multiple lanes. )
As per claim 8
Claim 8 is the parallel method claim of claim 1’s device claim. Therefore, it will be rejected under the same premise.
As per claim 11
Steine teaches A detection device for monitoring active studs installed in an airport environment, (Figure 5, Paragraph [0020] “The apparatus may be arranged to provide a measurement of the visual range at the aerodrome. Typically, the apparatus may be configured to measure a runway visual range (RVR). That is, the distance over which a pilot of an aircraft on the centre line of a runway can see the runway surface markings or the lights delineating the runway or identifying the centre line’ Paragraph [0023] “The detection unit may comprise a runway light detector, arranged to detect the presence of runway lights and check the proper functioning of lights on the runway.”) the detection device comprising: a video camera for recording a video of the installed active studs as a vehicle having the detection device is driven in the runway environment(Figure 1, Figure 3, Figure 5, Paragraph [0054] “he detection unit 20 comprises a visible light camera comprising an optical sensor arranged to capture a still or moving image of the surroundings”) ; and a processor configured to analyze the recorded video to detect a level of light emitted by the installed active studs and to determine therefrom a brightness level and a state of the installed active studs. (. (Paragraph [0023] “The detection unit may comprise a runway light detector, arranged to detect the presence of runway lights and check the proper functioning of lights on the runway. The detection and checking of the proper functioning of lights may be affected by measuring the luminosity of a region where a runway light is expected and/or detected. Based on the measured luminosity, the proper functioning of the runway light can be checked—for example by checking whether the luminosity exceeds a threshold value or by comparison with historical data.” ))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steine et al (Steine hereinafter US 20220101271 A1) in view of Zhang et al (Zhang hereinafter WO 2013170797 A1 “METHOD AND DEVICE FOR PRODUCING REAL-VIEW MAP”)
As per claim 6
Steine teaches all claim limitations previously rejected in claim 1’s 102 rejection. See claim 1’s 102 rejection.
Steine states in paragraph [0009] “The data collected by the apparatus may include, or be associated with, location information. In particular each data point collected by the apparatus may be linked with location data which represents the geographical location at which the data point was collected. The data relating to the runway collected by the apparatus may be used to generate or update a mapping of the information with respect to the location around the runway.’” As well as paragraph [0012] “The optical light camera may be arranged and oriented to capture still or moving images of the terrain surrounding the apparatus.” Furthermore, in paragraph [0051 “communications unit 30 to receive and transmit drive data, such as route information and location information. “ Although location is linked with the captured datapoint in a moving image (video) acquisition, It isn’t clearly expressed that this is using GNSS
Therefore, Steine does not teach the processor is further configured to combine the recorded video with global navigation satellite system (GNSS) information at the time the recorded video was recorded by the video camera to thereby log GNSS information with the installed active road studs.
Zhang teaches in their description “ Based on the panoramic video image, the geographic information is mapped to the panoramic video image in real time in conjunction with the geographic information” and that “The embodiment of the present invention collects and synthesizes a panoramic video image in real time, identifies the target object, performs labeling processing on the target object, and then remaps the image to the panoramic video image according to the target object.” And “Matching the target object with GPS latitude and longitude information; A mark corresponding to the target object and corresponding GPS latitude and longitude information are attached to corresponding positions in the panoramic video image to generate a live view map.”. Zhang also states, “The target objects are mainly streets, intersections, traffic lights, buildings, and the like in a panoramic video image.” Zhang here shows that combining a video that includes a target object with GNSS (GPS) is a known process.
Therefore, in a combined teaching, the modification of Steine in view of Zhang teaches the processor is further configured to combine the recorded video with global navigation satellite system (GNSS) information at the time the recorded video was recorded by the video camera to thereby log GNSS information with the installed active road studs. Steine provides the limitations previously addressed in claim 1 which include an apparatus with a detection unit (which includes video acquisition) logging/mapping the installed active road studs. Steine also states that “The data collected by the apparatus may include, or be associated with, location information. In particular each data point collected by the apparatus may be linked with location data which represents the geographical location at which the data point was collected.”. Zhang shows that a moving machines video acquisition apparatus can map objects on a road and combine the video to a GPS location in real time.
Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time this inventio was effectively filed would have found it obvious to modify Steine’s methodology with Zhang’s concept of combining a video with GPS location in real time for the purpose of mapping objects on a road. A person of ordinary skill in the art understands the modification allows the objects on the road to be the claimed installed active road studs. A person of ordinary skill in the art understands the modification allows Steine’s apparatus, which already correlates the information it detects to be correlated to a location, to be correlated through GPS in real time i.e. at the time the recorded video was recorded by the video camera. This allows the mapping of the runway lights, which are logged at the remote server to have location information via GPS of the light studs done in real time. A person of ordinary skill in the art sees that there is a vast advantage in accuracy, safety and efficiency in this modification. Doing this in real time with instant visual spatial verification eliminates GPS drift caused by signal fluctuation and allows for immediate damage control of malfunctioning light studs. This minimizes possible failures due to visibility in a dynamic environment such as an airport runway.
As per claim 7
Steine teaches all claim limitations previously rejected in claim 1’s 102 rejection. See claim 1’s 102 rejection.
Steine in view of Zhang teaches the processor is further configured to combine the recorded video with time information indicative of the time at which the recorded video was recorded by the video camera to thereby log time information with the installed active road studs. (Steine states that Paragraph [0055] “The runway lights can therefore be tracked for proper function over time using a relatively simple system” Paragraph [0066] “The detection unit 20 at the rear end of the apparatus can provide means to check the conditions of the runway at a later time.” This indicates to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the comparison of the same area has a temporal element. Moreover, in the Stein/Zhang modified methodology the video is combined with GPS information. GPS information uses satellites that continuously broadcast their current time and position. An apparatus that uses a GPS receiver measures exactly how long it took for those signals to arrive. When an apparatus syncs with a satellite for GPS it gets access to coordinated universal time aka UTC. That being said, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include the inherent time information that is associated with GPS ,which was already combined with the video, to log temporal information of the video . The information is sent via the Steine’s apparatus’ communications unit and logged in the remote server.
As per claim 9
Steine teaches all claim limitations previously rejected in claim 8’s 102 rejection. See claim 8’s 102 rejection.
Claim 9 is the parallel method claim of claim 6’s device claim and will be rejected under the same premise.
As per claim 10
Steine teaches all claim limitations previously rejected in claim 8’s 102 rejection. See claim 8’s 102 rejection.
Claim 10 is the parallel method claim of claim 7’s device claim and will be rejected under the same premise.
Conclusion
/SHANE WRENSFORD CODRINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2667 /MATTHEW C BELLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667