DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, and 3-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 1, the phrase “the water-soluble polymer other than the polyurethane resin” is misleading as polyurethane is not water-soluble.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-12, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210310194 A1 to TSURUHARA et al. in view of US 20210292503 A1 to KAMINAGA et al. and further in view of US 20220025582 A1 to Nyflött et al.
Re claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-11, 14, and 18, Tsuruhara essentially teaches the claimed invention save the polyurethane and its placement. Tsuruhara discloses a laminate comprising paper layer/water vapor barrier layer/gas barrier layer/water-dispersible resin [0017] in sealant [0019]. The gas barrier layer comprises resins such as a polyurethane [0067] while the water vapor barrier layer comprises the inorganic compound, cationic resin, and anionic binder such as styrene butadiene, i.e. claimed water-suspendable polymer [0019, 0020], vinyl alcohol [0022] and wax [0077] as claimed. Tsuruhara teaches overlapping ranges of the cationic resin and ratios of claims 9-10 [0053-0054] the content of the cationic resin may be appropriately selected depending on the kind of the layered inorganic compound and the anionic binder to be used in the water vapor barrier layer and is, from the viewpoint of improving barrier properties, preferably 1 to 300 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of the layered inorganic compound, more preferably 1 to 250 parts by mass, even more preferably 10 to 150 parts by mass, especially more preferably 20 to 150 parts by mass, and most preferably 20 to 100 parts by mass. [0054] Also the content of the cationic resin is preferably 0.1 to 20 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of the anionic binder in the water vapor barrier layer (overlapping claimed 1-20% by mass cationic resin per claim 4). See further Table 1. Abstract, [0017], [0041-0042], the aspect ratio of the layered inorganic compound is 50 or more, the thickness of the layered inorganic compound is 200 nm or less (overlapping applicant’s requirements of 50 nm or less and 200 or more). [0018] teaches the content of the layered inorganic compound is 0.1 to 800 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of the anionic binder (overlapping 5 to 35% per claim 6). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges taught by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. MPEP 2144.05.
Tsuruhara fails to disclose the polyurethane in the same layer as the inorganic compound.
Kaminaga teaches an aqueous polyurethane into the coating water vapor barrier layer including inorganic minerals [0056], [0088], [0094-0095] and [0124] used to impart flexibility and gas barrier properties, in particular, oxygen barrier properties, to the gas barrier layer [0114].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the water vapor barrier inorganic layer of Tsuruhara with polyurethane with a hydroxy unit for imparting flexibility and gas barrier properties as taught by Kaminaga.
The combination doesn’t teach a different polymer in the barrier from 1-20 wt%; however, Nyflött et al. teaches [38-39] up to 5 wt% (overlapping the ranged claims).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges taught by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. MPEP 2144.05.
Re claim 3, Tsuruhara doesn’t teach the silicate.
[0232], Kaminaga teaches typical examples of the inorganic layered mineral include hydrous silicates such as phyllosilicate minerals, inorganic layered minerals may be used singly or in combination of two or more.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the water vapor barrier inorganic layer of Tsuruhara with silicates as they are typical examples to include in the inorganic layer as taught by Kaminaga.
Re claim 5, Tsuruhara fails to disclose the 30-80% polyurethane.
[0250] Kaminaga teaches overlapping ranges of polyurethane in that the sum (total concentration) of the urethane group concentration and the urea group concentration of the acid group-containing polyurethane resin is preferably 15 mass % or more, and more preferably in a range of 20 to 60 mass %, from the viewpoint of gas barrier properties. When the total concentration is the lower limit or more, higher gas barrier properties are obtained. When the total concentration is the upper limit or less, the gas barrier layer is easily prevented from becoming rigid and brittle. The same overlapping ranges rationale applies here. See MPEP 2144.05.
Re claim 7, Kaminaga discloses various points of water-suspendable polymer to water-soluble polymer in Table 1 within the claimed ratio 20:1 to 1:2. The same rational to overlapping ranges applies. See MPEP 2144.05.
Re claim 12, Tsuruhara teaches hydrocarbon polyolefin wax in [77].
Claims 13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210310194 A1 to TSURUHARA et al. in view of US 20210292503 A1 to KAMINAGA et al. in view of US 20220025582 A1 to Nyflött et al. and further in view US 20230312202 A1 to MULLER et al.
The combination is relied upon above.
Re claims 13 and 15-17, The combination doesn’t teach the various waxes as claimed with resins.
Muller teaches a paper barrier with similar resins containing hydrocarbon natural waxes including microcrystalline and carnauba wax [24-26, 40-42] for blocking certain material within barrier layers wherein the amount of wax is less than 99% (overlapping 1% - 30 % as claimed in 17) being the remainder of the resin from 1 to 100% [43].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the wax of Kaminaga and substitute it for hydrocarbon, microcrystalline and/or carnauba wax within overlapping ranges to benefit barrier functionality of paper with the respective resin. Same overlapping rationale applies herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered. Applicant’s amendment is now mitigated by the new reference. See Office Action above. Applicant’s arguments are moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure including the written opinion and international search report.
US 20230235510 A1 to CARUSO et al. [0118], Caruso teaches in water based resin surface coatings, natural wax like beeswax and candelilla may be added to increase durability of a paper layer.
TAMRA L. DICUS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1787
/TAMRA L. DICUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787