DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102012218621 to Binder et al. (Binder) in view of U.S. Patent 5,860,857 to Wasastjerna et al. (Wasastjerna).
In reference to claim 1, Binder teaches a connection space (42, FIG. 2) for a hydrogen supply arrangement (40, FIG. 2) having an inner region (region enclosed by housing 42, FIG. 2) surrounded by the connection space for receiving components (50, FIG. 2) of the hydrogen supply arrangement (40, FIG. 2), an inert gas supply device (10, FIG. 2) for flushing the inner region with an inert gas (abstract; inert gas is generated from 18, FIG. 1), and an exhaust gas system (54, FIG. 2) for discharging the inert gas from the inner region (region enclosed by housing 42, FIG. 2), but does not teach explicitly wherein the inert gas supply device is designed to continuously supply the inert gas to the connection space and/or to maintain a constant inert gas pressure in the connection space. Wasastjerna teaches a method and apparatus for controlling the atmosphere of an essentially closed space (FIG. 1) wherein the inert gas supply device (3, FIG. 1) is designed to continuously supply the inert gas (nitrogen) to the connection space (within 1, FIG. 1) in order to provide desired atmosphere within the system with respect to the oxygen content (col 1, lines 5-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Binder, to include the inert gas supply device that is designed to continuously supply the inert gas to the connection space and/or to maintain a constant inert gas pressure in the connection space, as taught by Wasastjerna, in order to provide desired atmosphere within the system with respect to the oxygen content.
In reference to claim 2, Binder and Wasastjerna teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Binder additionally teaches wherein the exhaust gas system (54, FIG. 2) opens out of the connection space (42, FIG. 2) at a highest point of the inner region (region enclosed by housing 42, FIG. 2).
In reference to claim 3, Binder and Wasastjerna teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, but they do not teach wherein the exhaust gas system has a siphon at least partially filled with a liquid.
However, the Examiner takes the Official Notice of facts not in the record by relying on “common knowledge” of various heat transfer systems utilizing syphon as fluid transfer means to be obvious in order to provide fluid transfer means without extra cost or moving parts.
In reference to claim 4, Binder and Wasastjerna teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 3 above, but they do not teach wherein the siphon is arranged at least partially below a floor of the connection space.
However, the Examiner takes the Official Notice of facts not in the record by relying on “common knowledge” of various heat transfer systems utilizing syphon located below the floor level as fluid transfer means to be obvious in order to provide fluid transfer means without extra cost or moving parts, utilizing gravity.
In reference to claim 5, Binder and Wasastjerna teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 3 above, but they do not teach a sensor for monitoring the liquid collected in the siphon.
However, the Examiner takes the Official Notice of facts not in the record by relying on “common knowledge” of various heat transfer systems utilizing syphon as fluid transfer means, along with a sensor to monitor the liquid level to be obvious in order to provide fluid transfer means without extra cost or moving parts, utilizing gravity.
In reference to claim 6, Binder and Wasastjerna teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 3 above, but they do not teach that the exhaust gas system has a bypass line which is guided around the siphon, and wherein the bypass line is sealed by means of a rupture disk.
However, the Examiner takes the Official Notice of facts not in the record by relying on “common knowledge” of various heat transfer systems utilizing syphon as fluid transfer means, along with a bypass line sealed with a rupture disk to be obvious in order to provide fluid transfer means without extra cost or moving parts, utilizing gravity.
In reference to claim 7, Binder and Wasastjerna teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, but they do not teach wherein the connection space is completely or partially surrounded by an insulating layer.
However, the Examiner takes the Official Notice of facts not in the record by relying on “common knowledge” of various heat transfer systems wherein the connection space is completely or partially surrounded by an insulating layer to be obvious in order to prevent heat loss to the atmosphere.
In reference to claim 8, Binder and Wasastjerna teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, but they do not teach wherein the connection space has a stainless steel layer facing the inner region.
However, the Examiner takes the Official Notice of facts not in the record by relying on “common knowledge” of various cryo-heat transfer systems wherein the connection space has a stainless steel layer facing the inner region to be obvious in order to allow for high pressure and low temperature fluid to be stored within the cryo-vessel.
In reference to claim 9, Binder and Wasastjerna teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Binder also teaches wherein the inert gas supply device (10, FIG. 2) has an inert gas storage vessel (12, FIG. 2) in particular a gas cylinder, and an inert gas supply line (14, FIG. 2) for supplying the inert gas from the inert gas storage vessel (12, FIG. 2) to the connection space (42, FIG. 2).
In reference to claim 10, Binder and Wasastjerna teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Binder also teaches an oxygen sensor, a hydrogen sensor and/or a pressure sensor (par 0034; implicit, for leakage purposes), which are arranged in the inner region (42, FIG. 2).
In reference to claim 11, Binder and Wasastjerna teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, but does not teach wherein the connection space has a flat, pyramid-shaped or conical ceiling.
However, it would have been obvious matter of design choice to modify Binder and Wasastjerna by having the connection space has a flat, pyramid-shaped or conical ceiling, since applicant has not disclosed that having ceiling at this specific shape solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the connection space would perform equally well with the ceiling having any shape.
In reference to claim 12, Binder and Wasastjerna teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Binder also teaches wherein there is an overpressure in the inner region compared to an environment of the connection space (par 0036).
In reference to claim 13, Binder and Wasastjerna teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Binder also teaches a hydrogen supply arrangement (40, FIG. 2) having a connection space (42, FIG. 2) according to claim 1 and components (50, FIG. 2) received in the inner region (FIG. 2).
In reference to claim 14, Binder and Wasastjerna teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 13 above, and Binder also teaches a storage vessel (44, FIG. 2) for receiving hydrogen, wherein the storage vessel is connected to the components (50, FIG. 2) by means of a pipeline (48, FIG. 2).
In reference to claim 15, Binder and Wasastjerna teach the system as explained in the rejection of claim 14 above, and Binder also teaches wherein the storage vessel (44, FIG. 2) is arranged in the inner region (region enclosed by housing 42, FIG. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See attached PTO-892 for relevant prior art.
/FILIP ZEC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
7/25/2026