DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claims 1-2, 4-7 and 11-12 have been amended and claims 13-20 have been newly added. The amendments to the specification has been received and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,4-5, 11-15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU (US 2023/0267050) in view of Dobrean (US 10,445,183).
Regarding claim 1, LIU discloses a TV comprising:
a network interface configured to receive data from at least one smartphone using a wired or wireless network standard (a storage device, which can be a TV, is connected to the network and it receives back up data from a phone; see at least Fig. 1, paragraphs 0049-0051);
a display configured to output content (TV; see at least Fig. 1 and paragraph 0050);
a storage configured to store the data received by the TV from at least one smartphone via the wired or wireless network standard (a storage device, which can be a TV, is connected to the network and it receives back up data from a phone; see at least Fig. 1, paragraphs 0049-0051); and
a controller configured to control the network interface, the display, and the storage (the TV inherently has a controller; see at least Fig. 1, paragraphs 0049-0051), wherein the controller is configured to:
determine backup settings for the at least one smartphone using the display and user input (by performing the backup after the user create the backup task; see at least Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0089-0094);
establish communication with the at least one smartphone (a storage device, which can be a TV, is connected to the network and it receives back up data from a phone; see at least Fig. 1, paragraphs 0049-0051); and
receive backup data from the at least one smartphone based on the backup settings (a storage device, which can be a TV, is connected to the network and it receives back up data from a phone based on a backup task; see at least Fig. 1, paragraphs 0043-0044 and 0049-0051. Furthermore, backup setting; see at least paragraphs 0078 and 0085-0086).
LIU discloses that the user can have multiple devices; but is not clear about a plurality of smartphones.
Dobrean discloses the above missing limitation; one or more client devices that can be smartphones; see at least col. 4, lines 10-55.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify LIU by the teachings of Dobrean by having the above limitations so to provide an improved management of backed up data from a client device to a storage device; see at least the Abstract.
Regarding claim 2, LIU in view of Dobrean disclose the TV of claim 1, wherein the backup settings include:
whether to store backup data from a particular smartphone from the plurality of smartphones (selecting a client to backup; Dobrean; see at least Fig. 5),
a storage start setting indicating an operation of the TV to be satisfied for backup data from the particular smartphone to begin being stored (when the device is connected to the network; LIU; see at least paragraphs 0043-0044), and
a storage timing setting indicating a time when backup data from the particular smartphone is to begin being stored (selecting a beginning data/time to backup; Dobrean; see at least Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, LIU in view of Dobrean disclose the TV of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to:
output a backup data list of a first smartphone (LIU; see at least Fig. 4 and paragraphs 0095-0099); and
in response to receiving a request for sharing first backup data included in the backup data list to a second smartphone, transmit the first backup data to the second smartphone (LIU; restoring the data using another device; see at least paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 5, LIU in view of Dobrean disclose the TV of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to:
output a group settings screen (LIU; see at least Fig. 4 and paragraphs 0095-0099);
receive a selection corresponding to at least one file of the received backup data included in the group settings screen (LIU; see at least Fig. 4 and paragraphs 0095-0099); and
create a group composed of the at least one file based on the selection (LIU; see at least Fig. 4 and paragraphs 0095-0099).
Regarding claim 11, LIU in view of Dobrean disclose the TV of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to receive the backup data in at least one of the following situations: at a second time, during power-on of the TV, during power-off of the TV, during execution of a first application, and during channel switching (LIU; see at least paragraph 0063).
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, LIU in view of Dobrean disclose TV of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to store the backup data on the storage of the TV (LIU; see at least the rejection of claim 1).
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 14.
Regarding claim 20, LIU in view of Dobrean disclose TV of claim 18, further comprising a user input interface different from the network interface, wherein the controller is configured to control the user input interface, and wherein the controller receives the user input via the user input interface (I/O interface and input unit such as a mouse; LIU; see at least paragraphs 0125-0126).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of Dobrean and further in view of Dain (US 2020/0241967).
Regarding claim 3, LIU in view of Dobrean disclose the TV of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to:
classify the received backup data into directory structures based on a date of the backup data; and output the classified directory structures via the display (LIU; source directory; see at least Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0054, 0056 and 0093), but are not clear about the owner and a category.
Dain discloses the above missing limitation; metadata corresponding to the content of the storage system is collected, wherein the metadata may include the owner and the type of file or category; see at least paragraphs 0026, 0045, 0048, 0120, 0137 and 0143-0144.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify LIU in view of Dobrean by the teachings of Dain by having the above limitations so to provide intelligent backup of data; see at least the Abstract.
Claims 6-7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of Dobrean and further in view of Lyons (US 2014/0365479).
Regarding claim 6, LIU in view of Dobrean disclose the TV of claim 5, and the discloses the created group, but are not clear about receive an event including a date from a user; and output at least one file based on the date of the event via the display.
Lyons discloses the above missing limitation; a date range can be received to search a backup archive and display the files associated with the date range; see at least paragraphs 0053-0056 and 0059-0064.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify LIU in view of Dobrean by the teachings of Lyons by having the above limitations for the purpose of searching restoring of backups; see at least the Abstract.
Regarding claim 7, LIU in view of Dobrean and further in view of Lyons disclose the TV of claim 6, wherein the controller is configured to output the at least one file in at least one of following situations: at a first time, during power-on of the TV, during power-off of the TV, and during channel switching (Lyons; see at least the rejection of claim 6).
Regarding claim 16, LIU in view of Dobrean disclose most of the claim, but are not clear about receive an event including a date from a user; and output the at least some files based on the date of the event via the display.
Lyons discloses the above missing limitation; a date range can be received to search a backup archive and display the files associated with the date range; see at least paragraphs 0053-0056 and 0059-0064.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify LIU in view of Dobrean by the teachings of Lyons by having the above limitations for the purpose of searching restoring of backups; see at least the Abstract.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of Dobrean and further in view of Newberry (US 2017/0181678).
Regarding claim 8, LIU in view of Dobrean disclose the TV of claim 1, but are not clear about receive account information from a user; and output a health service screen via the display based on the account information and health data received from a smartphone of the user.
Newberry discloses the above missing limitations; a remote device, which can be a smart phone, includes a biosensor that collect data about patient with identifications and display it on the television; see at least paragraphs 0051-0053, 0084 and 0092.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify LIU in view of Dobrean by the teachings of Newberry by having the above limitations so to be able to provide non-invasive, autonomous health monitoring and drug administration; see at least paragraph 0006.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of Dobrean and further in view of Fu (US 2006/0218387).
Regarding claim 9, LIU in view of Dobrean disclose the TV of claim 1, and discloses the smartphone, but are not clear about allocate backup capacity, wherein the allocated backup capacity is determined based on a capacity policy selected by a user.
Fu discloses the above missing limitation; the user can set a volume to be allocated for backup partition; see at least paragraph 0026.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify LIU in view of Dobrean by the teachings of Fu by having the above limitations so to be able to allow the user to allocate a portion of free storing space for backup and giving the user an option to hide or not; see at least paragraph 0026.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of Dobrean and further in view of Alperin (US 2007/0271586) and further in view of Moon (US 2021/0026535).
Regarding claim 10, LIU in view of Dobrean disclose the TV of claim 1, and discloses the smartphone, but are not clear about identify that a user of a third device and a user of a fourth device are watching the TV and transmitting backup data between multiple devices.
Alperin discloses identify that a user of a third device and a user of a fourth device are watching the TV; multiple users in a single household, are associated with multiple end devices and televisions are identified; see at least paragraphs 0036-0042 and 0062.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify LIU in view of Dobrean by the teachings of Alperin by having the above limitations so to be able to provide social interaction for people watching television; see at least the Abstract.
LIU in view of Dobrean in view of Alperin are not clear about transmitting backup data between multiple devices.
Moon discloses the above missing limitation; establishing a secure and encrypted private network with one or more profile computing devices and sending differential information for backup between the devices; see at least Fig. 6 and paragraph 0096.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify LIU in view of Dobrean in view of Alperin by the teachings of Moon by having the above limitations for the purpose of distributed backup on a private network; see at least the Abstract.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of Dobrean and further in view of Hauck (US 2009/0144341).
Regarding claim 19, LIU in view of Dobrean disclose the TV of claim 18, wherein the controller is configured to determine backup settings for each of the plurality of smartphones by:
displaying a list of the plurality of smartphones on the display (the combination of clients of Dobrean; see at least Fig. 5 and the display of LIU as above), but are not clear about displaying a list along with respective whether to store settings, and receiving an on or off command for at least one of the whether to store settings.
Hauck discloses the above missing limitations; displaying a list of data that is eligible for backup and the user can select one or more by checking the boxes; see at least Fig. 5 and paragraphs 0062-0063.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify LIU in view of Dobrean by the teachings of Hauck by having the above limitations for the purpose of identifying data to be backed up; see at least the Abstract.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YASSIN ALATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426